DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 2-21 are pending:
Claims 1 are canceled
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/17/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 2, “a cable drawn along said M-shaped cross-section of said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans.”
Claim 8, “wherein said channel faces said surface for concealing said cable between said elongated bar and said surface of said structure.”
Claim 9, “wherein a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods connects to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars at an angle via a swivel rod”
Claim 10, “a cable drawn along said M-shaped cross-section of said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans, said M-shaped cross-section of said elongated bar comprises raised portions forming a channel therebetween, and wherein said channel faces said surface for concealing said cable between said elongated bar and said surface of said structure.”
Claim 16, “wherein said a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods connects to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars via a swivel rod for swiveling said one or more fans at an angle”
Claim 17, “drawing a cable along said M-shaped cross-section of of said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans.”
Claim 18, “wherein said channel faces said surface for concealing said cable between said elongated bar and said surface of said structure.”
Claim 21, “a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars at an angle via a swivel rod”
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17
L8, correct duplicate “of of”
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 8 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2
L7-8, “a cable drawn along said M-shaped cross-section of said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as the support comes from newly amended matter in Para15/33/35/40 which was not in the original is NM. The office explicitly indicates that old Fig8 does not relate to the instant limitation.
Claim 6
L1-2, “wherein said plurality of elongated bars is connected by one or more brackets.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as brackets 17 and equivalents where not disclosed in the original specification.
Claim 7
L1-2, “wherein said one or more brackets slidably connect to said plurality of elongated bars.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as brackets 17 and equivalents where not disclosed in the original specification.
Claim 8
L3-4, “wherein said channel faces said surface for concealing said cable between said elongated bar and said surface of said structure.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as the support comes from newly amended matter in Para15/33/35/40 which was not in the original is NM. The office explicitly indicates that old Fig8 does not relate to the instant limitation.
Claim 9
L1-3, “wherein a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods connects to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars at an angle via a swivel rod.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as the support comes from newly amended matter in Para47 which was not in the original is NM.
Claim 10
L7-11, “a cable drawn along said M-shaped cross-section of said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans, said M-shaped cross-section of said elongated bar comprises raised portions forming a channel therebetween, and wherein said channel faces said surface for concealing said cable between said elongated bar and said surface of said structure.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as the support comes from newly amended matter in Para15/33/35/40 which was not in the original is NM. The office explicitly indicates that old Fig8 does not relate to the instant limitation.
Claim 14
L1-2, “wherein said plurality of elongated bars is connected by one or more brackets.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as brackets 17 and equivalents where not disclosed in the original specification.
Claim 15
L1-2, “wherein said one or more brackets slidably connect to said plurality of elongated bars.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as brackets 17 and equivalents where not disclosed in the original specification.
Claim 16
L1-3, “wherein a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods connects to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars at an angle via a swivel rod.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as the support comes from newly amended matter in Para47 which was not in the original is NM.
Claim 17
L8-9, “drawing a cable along said M-shaped cross-section of of said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as the support comes from newly amended matter in Para15/33/35/40 which was not in the original is NM. The office explicitly indicates that old Fig8 does not relate to the instant limitation.
Claim 18
L3-4, “wherein said channel faces said surface for concealing said cable between said elongated bar and said surface of said structure.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as the support comes from newly amended matter in Para15/33/35/40 which was not in the original is NM. The office explicitly indicates that old Fig8 does not relate to the instant limitation.
Claim 19
L1-2, “connecting said plurality of elongated bars is connected by one or more brackets.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as brackets 17 and equivalents where not disclosed in the original specification.
Claim 20
L1-2, “slidably connecting said plurality of elongated bars using said one or more brackets.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as brackets 17 and equivalents where not disclosed in the original specification.
Claim 21
L1-3, “connecting a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars at an angle via a swivel rod.” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the instant limitation, as the support comes from newly amended matter in Para47 which was not in the original is NM.
Claims dependent on a rejected claim are rejected based on dependency
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 9, 17, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCormick (US 5845,886), in view of Dinh (US 6,889,943)
Claim 2
McCormick discloses:
“An apparatus for mounting a fan, said apparatus comprising:
a plurality of elongated bars (Fig1/2, bar 36), … wherein said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars mounts at a surface of a structure (Fig1/2, flange 47, boot 49; C4L26-34); and
one or more connecting rods attached to said plurality of elongated bars (Fig1/2, arms 22 attached to bars 36), wherein said one or more connecting rods receive one or more fans (best seen Fig1, fan 10); and
a cable drawn along … said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans (Fig2, power cord 52 extends at least partially along direction of bar 36).”
McCormick is silent to the cross-section of bars 36 being “M-shaped”.
Dinh teaches (Fig2-4, channel bars 20/22 – M-shaped interface best seen in Fig3/4 on central walls 25) that it is a known in the art alternative to select channel bars with an M-shaped cross-section for a telescoping slide hanging bar mounting arrangement.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the simple substitution of the box cross-section bars of McCormick for the M-shaped cross-section channel bars of Dinh, as such a modification would merely be a simple substitution of one known in the art hanging bar channel arrangement for another, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing McCormick with an at least equally effective hanging channel bar support alternative arrangement.
Claim 3
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The apparatus of claim 2, wherein said surface comprises a wall in said structure (intended working environment, functional language. C2L37-39).”
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
Claim 4
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The apparatus of claim 2, wherein said surface comprises a ceiling in said structure (intended working environment, functional language. C2L37-39).”
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
Claim 5
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The apparatus of claim 2, wherein said plurality of elongated bars comprises telescopic bars (McCormick: Fig1, telescoping shown by movement arrows between parts 36/22; Dinh: telescoping sliding of channels 20/22 best seen in Fig1).”
Claim 6
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The apparatus of claim 2, wherein said plurality of elongated bars is connected by one or more brackets (McCormick: Fig1/2, bars 36 connected via arms 22 and plate 24; Dinh: channels 20/22 connected within bracket 102/100).”
Claim 7
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The apparatus of claim 6, wherein said one or more brackets slidably connect to said plurality of elongated bars (McCormick: Fig1/2, bars 36 slidably connected via arms 22 and plate 24; Dinh: channels 20/22 slidably connected within bracket 102/100).”
Claim 9
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The apparatus of claim 2, wherein a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods connects to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars at an angle via a swivel rod (McCormick: Fig2, swivel neck 55 of connecting rod/bracket 22/24).”
Claim 17
McCormick discloses:
“A method of providing an apparatus for mounting a fan, said method comprising the steps of:
providing a plurality of elongated bars (Fig1/2, bar 36), … said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars mounting at a surface of a structure (Fig1/2, flange 47, boot 49; C4L26-34, C2L37-39); and
providing one or more connecting rods attached to said plurality of elongated bars (Fig1/2, arms 22 attached to bars 36), said one or more connecting rods receiving one or more fans (best seen Fig1, fan 10); and
drawing a cable along … said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans (Fig2, power cord 52 extends at least partially along direction of bar 36).”
McCormick is silent to the cross-section of bars 36 being “M-shaped”.
Dinh teaches (Fig2-4, channel bars 20/22 – M-shaped interface best seen in Fig3/4 on central walls 25) that it is a known in the art alternative to select channel bars with an M-shaped cross-section for a telescoping slide hanging bar mounting arrangement.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the simple substitution of the box cross-section bars of McCormick for the M-shaped cross-section channel bars of Dinh, as such a modification would merely be a simple substitution of one known in the art hanging bar channel arrangement for another, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing McCormick with an at least equally effective hanging channel bar support alternative arrangement.
Claim 19
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The method of claim 17, further comprising connecting said plurality of elongated bars by one or more brackets (McCormick: Fig1/2, bars 36 connected via arms 22 and plate 24; Dinh: channels 20/22 connected within bracket 102/100).”
Claim 20
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The method of claim 17, further comprising slidably connecting said plurality of elongated bars using said one or more brackets (McCormick: Fig1/2, bars 36 slidably connected via arms 22 and plate 24; Dinh: channels 20/22 slidably connected within bracket 102/100).”
Claim 21
The combination of McCormick and Dinh discloses: “The method of claim 17, further comprising connecting a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars at an angle via a swivel rod (McCormick: Fig2, swivel neck 55 of connecting rod/bracket 22/24).”
Claim(s) 8, 10-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCormick (US 5845,886), in view of Dinh (US 6,889,943) and in further view of Huang (US 5,603,562).
Claim 8
The combination of McCormick and Dinh as applied above discloses: “The apparatus of claim 2, wherein said M-shaped cross-section of said elongated bar comprises raised portions forming a channel therebetween (Dinh: Fig4, internal channel cavities formed between channel bars 20/22), and …”
The combination of McCormick and Dinh is silent the power cable being concealed within the bar as claimed.
Huang teaches (Fig8/9, power cord 72, column 14; C5L17-23) that it is known and the “conventional manner” to conceal power cord 72 within the associated support rod/column 14 prior to the cord reaching a power source 74.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the combination of McCormick and Dinh to conceal the power cord within the existing channel beams of the combination of McCormick and Dinh, as Huang teaches that such an arrangement of the power cord is known and is the “conventional manner” of such an arrangement, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the combination of McCormick and Dinh with the known and “conventional manner” of arranging and concealing the power cord of the arrangement.
Claim 10
McCormick discloses:
“An apparatus for mounting a fan, said apparatus comprising:
a plurality of elongated bars (Fig1/2, bar 36), … wherein said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars mounts at a surface of a structure (Fig1/2, flange 47, boot 49; C4L26-34); and
one or more connecting rods attached to said plurality of elongated bars (Fig1/2, arms 22 attached to bars 36), wherein said one or more connecting rods receive one or more fans (best seen Fig1, fan 10); and
a cable drawn along … said elongated bar for supplying electrical energy to said one or more fans (Fig2, power cord 52 extends at least partially along direction of bar 36),
said M-shaped cross-section of said elongated bar comprises raised portions forming a channel therebetween (Dinh: Fig4, internal channel cavities formed between channel bars 20/22), and …”
McCormick is silent to the cross-section of bars 36 being “M-shaped” and is silent the power cable being concealed within the bar as claimed
Dinh teaches (Fig2-4, channel bars 20/22 – M-shaped interface best seen in Fig3/4 on central walls 25) that it is a known in the art alternative to select channel bars with an M-shaped cross-section for a telescoping slide hanging bar mounting arrangement.
Huang teaches (Fig8/9, power cord 72, column 14; C5L17-23) that it is known and the “conventional manner” to conceal power cord 72 within the associated support rod/column 14 prior to the cord reaching a power source 74.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the simple substitution of the box cross-section bars of McCormick for the M-shaped cross-section channel bars of Dinh, as such a modification would merely be a simple substitution of one known in the art hanging bar channel arrangement for another, and to modify the arrangement to conceal the power cord within the existing channel beams of the combination of McCormick and Dinh, as Huang teaches that such an arrangement of the power cord is known and is the “conventional manner” of such an arrangement, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing McCormick with an at least equally effective hanging channel bar support alternative arrangement and with the known and “conventional manner” of arranging and concealing the power cord of the arrangement
Claim 11
The modified arrangement of McCormick by the teachings of Dinh and Huang discloses: “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein said surface comprises a wall in said structure (intended working environment, functional language. C2L37-39).”
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
Claim 12
The modified arrangement of McCormick by the teachings of Dinh and Huang discloses: “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein said surface comprises a ceiling in said structure (intended working environment, functional language. C2L37-39).”
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
Claim 13
The modified arrangement of McCormick by the teachings of Dinh and Huang discloses: “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein said plurality of elongated bars comprises telescopic bars (McCormick: Fig1, telescoping shown by movement arrows between parts 36/22; Dinh: telescoping sliding of channels 20/22 best seen in Fig1).”
Claim 14
The modified arrangement of McCormick by the teachings of Dinh and Huang discloses: “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein said plurality of elongated bars is connected by one or more brackets (McCormick: Fig1/2, bars 36 connected via arms 22 and plate 24; Dinh: channels 20/22 connected within bracket 102/100).”
Claim 15
The modified arrangement of McCormick by the teachings of Dinh and Huang discloses: “The apparatus of claim 14, wherein said one or more brackets slidably connect to said plurality of elongated bars (McCormick: Fig1/2, bars 36 slidably connected via arms 22 and plate 24; Dinh: channels 20/22 slidably connected within bracket 102/100).”
Claim 16
The modified arrangement of McCormick by the teachings of Dinh and Huang discloses: “The apparatus of claim 10, wherein said a connecting rod of said one or more connecting rods connects to said elongated bar of said plurality of elongated bars via a swivel rod for swiveling said one or more fans at an angle (McCormick: Fig2, swivel neck 55 of connecting rod/bracket 22/24).”
Claim 18
The combination of McCormick and Dinh as applied above discloses: “The method of claim 17, further comprising providing raised portions forming a channel therebetween at said M-shaped cross-section (Dinh: Fig4, internal channel cavities formed between channel bars 20/22), …”
The combination of McCormick and Dinh is silent the power cable being concealed within the bar as claimed.
Huang teaches (Fig8/9, power cord 72, column 14; C5L17-23) that it is known and the “conventional manner” to conceal power cord 72 within the associated support rod/column 14 prior to the cord reaching a power source 74.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the combination of McCormick and Dinh to conceal the power cord within the existing channel beams of the combination of McCormick and Dinh, as Huang teaches that such an arrangement of the power cord is known and is the “conventional manner” of such an arrangement, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the combination of McCormick and Dinh with the known and “conventional manner” of arranging and concealing the power cord of the arrangement.
Conclusion
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3745