Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202020106054.
DE ‘054 disclose:
1. Attic stairs, comprising:
a frame assembly (1, figure 2), comprising a plurality of side plates (figures 1 & 2), wherein the plurality of side plates successively enclose an accommodation space (figure 1);
a door panel assembly (2), movably mounted below the plurality of side plates (figure 2), wherein the door panel assembly comprises a door panel (lower, wider panel of 2) and a fixed frame (upper, narrower panel of 2), and the fixed frame is fixedly mounted on the door panel (figure 2);
a plurality of adjustment members (40, figure 2, plus 40 on other side not shown), mounted on two sides of the fixed frame;
an attic stair assembly (3), comprising a plurality of foldable stair segments (31, 32), wherein a lowermost stair segment (31, lowermost when folded/stored, figure 1) of the plurality of foldable stair segments is mounted on the plurality of adjustment members (figure 1), a distance between the lowermost stair segment (31) and the door panel is adjusted along the plurality of adjustment members (figures 1-2), and the attic stair assembly (3) is allowed to be accommodated in the accommodation space (figure 1); and
a hinge assembly (4; 41-44, figures 1- 2), comprising two unfolding hinge mechanisms (41, 42, one set on either side of ladder) and two limiting hinge mechanisms (43, 44, figure 1, one set on either side of ladder), wherein first ends of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms are respectively arranged at end portions of two sides of the fixed frame (figure 1), and second ends of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms are connected to end portions of inner sides of two side plates of the plurality of side plates (figure 1), so that the door panel is allowed to rotate downward along a side of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms to be opened (figure 2) and closed (figure 1); first ends (@52) of the two limiting hinge mechanisms are respectively arranged at a middle of the fixed frame (figure 1), and second ends (@41, figure 1) of the two limiting hinge mechanisms are connected to middles of the inner sides of the two side plates for limiting an unfolding angle of the door panel (figure 2).
4. The attic stairs according to claim 1, wherein each of the two limiting hinge mechanisms comprises a lower connection rod (43, see below), an upper connection rod (42, see below), a connection piece (see below), a first hinge arm (see below) and a second hinge arm (see below), wherein the connection piece is rotatably connected to each of the middles of the inner sides of the two side plates (fig 1 vs fig 2); and a first end of the lower connection rod is hinged to the middle of the fixed frame (fig 1 vs fig 2), and a second end of the lower connection rod is hingedly connected to a first end of the upper connection rod (fig 1 vs fig 2), a second end of the upper connection rod is fixed to a first end of the connection piece (see below), and a second end of the connection piece is hingedly connected to a first end of the first hinge arm (see below); a second end of the first hinge arm is hinged to a first end of the second hinge arm (see below), and a second end of the second hinge arm is connected to an elastic member (313, see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 20204752 in view of EP 2578768.
DE ‘752 discloses:
1. Attic stairs (figure 1, see below), comprising:
a frame assembly (9), comprising a plurality of side plates (figures 1-2), wherein the plurality of side plates successively enclose an accommodation space (7, figures 1-2);
a door panel assembly (8), movably mounted below the plurality of side plates (figure 1), wherein the door panel assembly comprises a door panel (section of 8 with spotted cross sectional material) and a fixed frame (sections of 8 with diagonal line cross sectional material to which 12 are mounted), and the fixed frame is fixedly mounted on the door panel (figures 1-2);
a plurality of adjustment members (12, see below), mounted on two sides of the fixed frame (figures 1-2);
an attic stair assembly (1), comprising a plurality of foldable stair segments (2, 3, 4), wherein a lowermost stair segment (4, figure 1) of the plurality of foldable stair segments is mounted on the plurality of adjustment members (figure 1), a distance (a, figure 2) between the lowermost stair segment (4) and the door panel (8) is adjusted along the plurality of adjustment members (along path 15), and the attic stair assembly is allowed to be accommodated in the accommodation space (figures 1-2); and
a hinge assembly (10, figure 2).
With respect to the hinge assembly, DE ‘752 does not disclose the hinge assembly comprising two unfolding hinge mechanisms and two limiting hinge mechanisms, wherein first ends of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms are respectively arranged at end portions of two sides of the fixed frame, and second ends of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms are connected to end portions of inner sides of two side plates of the plurality of side plates, so that the door panel is allowed to rotate downward along a side of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms to be opened and closed; first ends of the two limiting hinge mechanisms are respectively arranged at a middle of the fixed frame, and second ends of the two limiting hinge mechanisms are connected to middles of the inner sides of the two side plates for limiting an unfolding angle of the door panel.
However, EP ‘768 teaches: a hinge assembly (41, 42) comprising two unfolding hinge mechanisms (41, figure 1) and two limiting hinge mechanisms (42), wherein first ends of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms (41) are respectively arranged at end portions of two sides of the fixed frame (figure 9), and second ends of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms are connected to end portions of inner sides of two side plates of the plurality of side plates (figure 1), so that the door panel is allowed to rotate downward along a side of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms to be opened (figure 1) and closed; first ends of the two limiting hinge mechanisms (42) are respectively arranged at a middle of the fixed frame (figure 1), and second ends of the two limiting hinge mechanisms are connected to middles of the inner sides of the two side plates for limiting an unfolding angle of the door panel (figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the hinge assembly of DE ‘752 with two unfolding hinge mechanisms and two limiting hinge mechanisms as taught by EP ‘768, so as to provide a well-supported and controlled opening and closing of the assembly, limiting the range of motion and providing safe climbing angles.
Re: claims 3 and 9: and the hinge assembly, EP ‘768 teaches:
3. The attic stairs according to claim 1 wherein each of the two unfolding hinge mechanisms comprises a first fixing member (see below), a first connection rod (see below), a second connection rod (see below), and a second fixing member (see below);
the first fixing member is fixed to each of the end portions of the inner sides of the two side plates, and the first fixing member is arranged parallel to a length direction of each of the two side plates (see below);
the second fixing member is fixed to an end portion of the fixed frame (see below), and the second fixing member is arranged parallel to a length direction of the door panel (see below); and
two ends of the first connection rod are hingedly connected to a first end of the first fixing member and a first end of the second fixing member (see below), respectively, and two ends of the second connection rod are hingedly connected to a second end of the first fixing member and a second end of the second fixing member (see below), respectively, so that the first fixing member, the first connection rod, the second connection rod and the second fixing member are connected to form a quadrangle (fig 10, see below).
9. The attic stairs according to claim 3, wherein two protruding portions (see below) are arranged on the first fixing member, and the two protruding portions are located at a hinge joint of the first connection rod and the second connection rod (see below).
Re: claims 6-8 and 14, DE ‘752 disclose:
6. The attic stairs according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of adjustment members (12, fig 7) comprises a connection plate (21, figure 7) and a fastening member (16, figure 7), wherein an end (22, fig 4) of the connection plate is fixed to the fixed frame (via screws through 23, fig 4), and an adjustment groove (14) is formed in the connection plate (fig 7); a first adjustment end (18, fig 7) and a second adjustment end (19, fig 7) are at least arranged on the adjustment groove (fig 7); a distance between the first adjustment end (18) and the door panel is smaller than a distance between the second adjustment end and the door panel (figures1, 2, 7); and the fastening member (16) mounts the lowermost stair segment (4) on the first adjustment end or the second adjustment end (figure 1).
7. The attic stairs according to claim 6, wherein the adjustment groove is L-shaped (figures 3-4)
8. The attic stairs according to claim 6, wherein when the fastening member mounts the lowermost stair segment (4) on the first adjustment end, the lowermost stair segment is in contact with the fixed frame (figure 1).
14. The attic stairs according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of adjustment members (12) comprise four adjustment members (2 adjustment members per side, figure 1), wherein the four adjustment members are respectively located at two end portions of two sides of the door panel (2 adjustments members 12 per side, figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634