Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
This is a final office action in response to the applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 20-Jul-2026. Claims 1-8 are pending in the current office action. Claim 4 has been amended by the applicant.
Status of the Rejection
The specification objections have been overcome by the applicant's amendments.
All 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are modified only in response to the amendments to the claims.
Maintained Rejections and Made Again
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO2013052167A2) (hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of Pei et al. (hereinafter Pei) and Grither et al. (hereinafter Grither).
In regards to Claims 1 and 2, Zhang teaches a PLGA core loaded with an immunological adjuvant and then coated with a cancer cell membrane to treat breast cancer (Example 3, Paragraph 192 and 193). Zhang further teaches the motivation for coating the PLGA core is due to the limitation of individual tumor associate antigens (TAAs), and the strategy of translocating the entire cell membrane onto the nanoparticle, all of the surface membrane TAAs are in their native environment, and can therefore faithfully present antigen presenting cells in their native form (Example 3, Paragraph 190).
In regards to Claim 3 and 6-7, Zhang teaches a method where the patient’s cancer cells or common cancer cell line cells are homogenized and the homogenate is then spun down, with the supernatant with membrane is collected. PLGA nanoparticles are then created by dissolving PLGA and an adjuvant into an organic phase, precipitated using an aqueous phase to form nanoparticles. The PLGA nanoparticles are then coated with the cancer cell membrane to form the final particles (Page 69-70).
In regards to Claims 8, Zhang teaches performing in vitro and in vivo experiments to evaluate the efficacy of the cancer cell membrane coated PLGA nanoparticles including antigen studies, T-cell-activation, and therapeutic efficacy studies in a murine tumor model (Paragraph 194).
However, Zhang does not teach EO771 breast cancer cell membrane, IR780 and the DDR2 inhibitor of WRG-28 of claims 1 and 2. Zhang does not teach loading IR780 and WRG-28 into PLGA nanoparticles, use of a cell extraction kit, phenylmethylsulfonyl fluoride, freeze-thaw processing, purification procedure, or coating nanoparticles with an EO771 breast cancer cell membrane of claims 3-7. Zhang does not teach all of the recited functional testing of the biomimetic nanosphere such as photothermal evaluation and DDR2 inhibition of claim 8. For this reason, Pei and Grither are added.
Pei teaches the incorporation of IR780 into PLGA nanoparticles for photothermal therapy in breast cancers. Pei specifically teaches dissolving IR780 and PLGA into dichloromethane, forming PLGA nanoparticles through ultrasonic emulsification with PVA, washing the resultant nanoparticles, and coating the nanoparticles with a biological membrane (Page 10153) to improve tumor targeting, longevity, and therapeutic efficacy (Page 10155). Pei further teaches that the IR780 functions as a near infrared photothermal agent that generates heat upon laser irradiation to induce tumor cell death, further characterized by the evaluation temperature change (Page 10158, Fig 3B) and tumor effect (Page 10160, Fig 5B).
Grither teaches that DDR2 signaling within cancer-associated fibroblasts (CAFs) promotes tumor progression, collagen remodeling, invasion, and metastasis in breast cancers (Page 7786). WRG-28 as an allosteric inhibitor that inhibits, remodels the tumor stromal extracellular matrix leading to proinvasive collagen organization (Page 7786), and the interaction of DDR2 in breast tumor cells and tumor stromal CAFs is critical to blunting metastasis, migration, and promotes SNAIL1 protein stabilization (Page 7789-7790).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cancer cell membrane coated PLGA nanoparticle platform of Zhang by loading the PLGA nanoparticles with IR780 of Pei and WRG-28 of Grither. One would have been motivated to do so because Zhang teaches a versatile PLGA based, membrane coated drug delivery system designed to encapsulate therapeutic agents while providing specific tumor targeting. Pei teaches that IR780 provides photothermal tumor killing while delivered in a PLGA nanoparticle package, while Grither teaches that inhibition of DDR2 by WRG-28 suppresses CAF mediated stromal remodeling and metastasis in breast cancers. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected that co-delivery of IR780 and WRG-28 within Zhang’s nanoparticle platform would have provided the combined benefits of targeted delivery, tumor ablation, tumor inhibition, metastasis inhibition with reasonable expectation of success.
Further, Zhang teaches coating nanoparticles with membranes derived from cancer cells, including breast cancer cells, to achieve homologous targeting. EO771 represent a known breast cancer cell line suitable for generating breast cancer derived membrane coatings, and the selection of one known breast cancer cell line over another would have constituted an obvious design choice yielding predictable results. The selection of an EO771 breast cancer cell membrane would have been an obvious choice among breast cancer cell sources since EO771 is a known breast cancer cell line and would have expected predictable results as the membrane coating functionality taught by Zhang.
Zhuang and Pei collectively teach preparations of drug loaded PLGA nanoparticles, isolation of cellular membranes, and coating of nanoparticles with membranes. The use of a membrane extraction kit, PMSF reagent, freeze-thaw cycles, purification procedures, centrifugation conditions, PBS washing, and related membrane isolation techniques represent routine laboratory procedures. Further, the specific process parameters recited include concentration, PLGA characteristics, cell counts, reagent quantity, sonication and stirring times, and washing steps represent result-effective variables affecting nanoparticle formation, yield, and encapsulation efficiency that would have been optimized through routine experimentation to obtain predictable results.
Furthermore, Zhang, Pei, and Grither collective evaluate antitumor activity, immune response, photothermal activity, tumor targeting, and metastatic behavior. Therefore, it would have been obvious to perform the recited functional testing as a matter of routine characterization and efficacy assessment of the modified membrane coated nanoparticle drug delivery system. For the forgoing reasons, Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Pei and Grither, and further in view of Alkholief et al. (hereinafter Alkholief).
The teachings of Zhang, Pei, and Grither are discussed supra. The combined teachings of Zhang, Pei, and Grither teaches the limitations of instant claims 4 and 5, including dissolving the IR780 and the PLGA in an organic solvent, adding a DDR2 inhibitor such as WRG-28, and the processing steps.
However, Zhang, Pei, and Grither does not expressly teach that the organic solvent in which IR780 and PLGA are dissolved in is chloroform. For this reason, Alkholief is added.
Alkholief discloses the preparation of a drug loaded PLGA nanoparticle via an “oil-in-water (o/w) single emulsion solvent evaporation technique” (Page 3, 2.3 Preparation of PLGA Nanoparticles) and teaches that “40 mg of PLGA (50:50; Mol. Wt. of 40–75 kDa) and 4 mg of IND were dissolved into 1 mL of the organic phase consisting of either chloroform or dichloromethane (DCM)” (Page 3, 2.3 Preparation of PLGA Nanoparticles), satisfying instant claim 4. Alkholief further discloses that the PLGA was “Poly (D,L-lactic-co-glycolic acid) (50:50) with molecular weight 40,000–75,000” (Page 3, 2.1 Materials), satisfying instant claim 5.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zhang, Pei, and Grither by employing chloroform as the organic solvent to dissolve IR780 and PLGA, as taught by Alkholief to arrive at the methods of instant claim 4 and 5, because Alkholief presents both chloroform and dichloromethane as the two alternatives for the organic phase in the process the instant claims recite. One would have been motivated to make this modification because the same polymer at the same 50:50 ratio are used along with the same polyvinyl alcohol stabilizer and lipophilic payload. The prior art expressly presents these two solvents as the alternatives for the identical purpose in the identical process, and the selection of either represents simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The 5 mg/mL differ from the prior art only in degree and are result-effective variables that govern drug loading and degradation rates, such that their concentration selection is routine optimization.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making the substitutions. The modification changes only the identity of the solvent, while the polymer, the photothermal agent, the DDR2 inhibitor, the polyvinyl alcohol stabilizer, the ultrasonic emulsification process, the isopropanol addition are all taught by Zhang, Pei, and Grither, and Alkholief demonstrates that PLGA nanoparticles are prepared with chloroform with a polyvinyl alcohol stabilizer. For the foregoing reasons, claims 4-5 are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed on 20-Jul-2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument #1
Applicant argues that the combination of Zhang, Pei, and Grither are directed towards fundamentally difference technical solutions: Zhang is a cancer vaccine platform comprising an adjuvant codelivery system for antigens, Pei does not provide teachings, suggestions, or motivations for the use of cancer cell membranes, and does not involve DDR2 inhibition or WRG-28, and Grither discloses WRG-28 only as a small molecule without nanoparticle delivery teachings.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Nonobviousness cannot be established by attacking the references individually where the rejection is based on a combination of references. The rejection does not rely on Pei for the cancer cell membrane; Zhang supplied the membrane. The rejection does not rely on Grither for a delivery vehicle, Zhang and Pei supply the vehicle. See MPEP 2145 (IV). In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981) (“The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.”); In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544, 1550, 218 USPQ 385, 389 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (“[I]t is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review.”); and In re Nievelt, 482 F.2d 965, 179 USPQ 224, 226 (CCPA 1973) (“Combining the teachings of references does not involve an ability to combine their specific structures.”).
Applicant’s Argument #2
Applicant argues that Pei uses macrophage membranes, and that macrophage membranes inherently lack the surface adhesion molecules required for homologous triple negative breast cancer (TNBC) targeting. Thus, a skilled artisan would have no motivation to bridge macrophage membrane with cancer cell membrane.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Pei does not use macrophage membranes. Pei discloses the use of platelet membrane coated nanoparticles isolated from mouse whole blood (Page 10153, Preparation and characterization of PM-NPs). Further, Pei identifies macrophages, T cells, neutrophils, stem cells, red blood cells, and platelet (Page 10152. Introduction) as art recognized sources to derive biomimetic membrane coatings. Lastly, Zhang supplies the membrane source, not Pei.
Applicant’s Argument #3
Applicant argues that Zhang’s carrier is structurally unsuitable for loading hydrophobic photothermal dyes, and incorporating such photothermal agents would introduce thermal stress that would denature proteins and disrupt antigen presentation. Thus, Zhang teaches away from loading photothermal agents into the membrane coated system. Applicant further argues that because Pei teaches that laser irradiation must be applied in order to use and release the IR780, such irradiation would destroy the membrane coating of Zhang and therefore defeat the purpose of the membrane that Zhang teaches, rendering the combination improper.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang does not disclose the effect of photothermal agents, laser irradiation, or thermal stress on membrane proteins. Zhang’s silence on the matter does not teach away. The asserted denaturation mechanism of action is unsupported attorney argument in the absence of declaration, data, or literature citation. See MPEP 716.01(C)(II). n re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Examples of statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor.
Further, the asserted mechanism is contradicted by the prior art. Pei does not teach IR780 and a membrane coating in isolation from one another. Instead, Pei prepares the membrane coated, IR780 loaded construct and then irradiates it.
Pei coats a IR780 PLGA nanoparticle with a biological cell membrane, and proceeds to irradiate them at 808 nm for 5 minutes, and reports that the photothermal conversion efficiency is retained after membrane coating (Page 10156, In vitro Photothermal Performance and Drug Release Characteristics). The photothermal conversion efficacy was retained after being membrane coated, the ηvalue of the uncoated and coated nanoparticles being 15.5% and 17.6%, respectively (Page 10156, In vitro Photothermal Performance and Drug Release Characteristics).
Upon irradiation in vivo, the membrane coated particles reaches a final temperature of 56.6°C, versus 56.4°C for the uncoated particle, thus the coated particle experienced the same photothermal heating as the uncoated particle (Page 10161, In vivo Tumor-Targeted Combined
Therapeutic Efficacy of PM-NPs). Pei demonstrates the efficacy of this modality in Figure 7D (Page 10163), thus demonstrates the opposite of the asserted incompatibility. The “[l]aser irradiation was performed 24 h after the different treatments (808 nm 1W/cm2, 5 min)” (Page 10161, In vivo Tumor-Targeted Combined Therapeutic Efficacy of PM-NPs). Pei identifies disassociation of the PM-NPs as a step illustrated in the mechanism of action (Figure 1C), explaining that “the PM-NPs reached the tumor site, where they released Dox” (Page 10161, In vivo Tumor-Targeted Combined Therapeutic Efficacy of PM-NPs):
For the foregoing reasons, the combination that the applicant asserts to be unworkable is reduced to a matter of practice in the prior art, and subjected to the very irradiation Applicant alleges is destructive, and reported success.
Furthermore, the argument misunderstands when the membrane coating performs its function. The coating performs its circulation and tumor accumulation functions throughout the 24-hour interval between administration and irradiation, and does so before any irradiation is applied. Disruption to the coating after than 24-hour interval would not deprive the nanoparticle construct of the benefit that the coating has already conferred. Therefore, the asserted conflict between the coating and the irradiation does not arise since the two operate at different stages of the same method. Pei affirms that disruption of the coating at the tumor site as a step in its mechanism of action, rather than an alleged failure of the mechanism. Release of the payload at the tumor site presupposes that the coating does not remain intact.
The Applicant’s conjecture that Zhang cannot carry hydrophobic payloads is similarly contradicted by Zhang. Zhang discloses that the neoplasm membrane coated nanoparticle comprises further of another active ingredient or releasable cargo (Paragraph 26), and loads into the PLGA core the lipophilic dye DiD, doxorubicin, and rhodamine-DPME dyes (Fig. 2, Fig 7, and Fig 10-12). Therefore, Zhang contemplates payloads beyond any single embodiment, and the selection of a lipophilic photothermal agent as the cargo is within the delivery architecture of Zhang.
Applicant’s Argument #4
Applicant argues that WRG-28 in free small molecule form exhibits a short in vivo half-life, causes systemic toxicity, and cannot penetrate the collagen rich extracellular matrix of solid tumors. Thus, these technical hurdles would have dissuaded a person having ordinary skill in the art from the combination.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited limitation is exact motivation a skilled artisan would have encapsulated WRG-28 in a targeted nanocarrier. Pei discloses that free photothermal agents “cannot accumulate at the tumor site efficiently due to solubility issues, fast metabolism, or restrictions in their direct administration because of safety considerations” (Page 10151, Introduction).
Applicant’s Argument #5
Applicant argues that WRG-28 mediates cancer associated fibroblast apoptosis and collagen degradation to soften the stroma and facilitates deep penetration of IR780 loaded nanoparticles is not taught or suggested by any reference, and that neither Zhang, Pei, or Grither addresses the interaction between stromal modulation and photothermal efficacy.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Pei address this interaction directly since Pei teaches that the “tissue penetration depth of laser irradiation is sometimes not enough to eliminate tumors thoroughly, so chemotherapy was also designed in this study to improve antitumor efficacy” (Page 10152, Introduction), and that the membrane coated particles “could not completely inhibit tumor growth without the effect of thermal ablation, which only has a limited depth” (Page 10161, In vivo Tumor-Targeted Combined Therapeutic Efficacy of PM-NPs). Thus, Pei teaches the addition of a second therapeutic agent to an IR780 loaded membrane coated PLGA particle for the express reason that photothermal ablation does not penetrate enough to reach full tumor volumes. Furthermore, the Applicant’s reason is not recited in claim 1, which is a composition of matter.
Applicant’s Argument #6
Applicant argues that there would have been no expectation of success in co-loading IR780 and WRG-28, noting that the encapsulation between agents have different loading mechanisms of action, and would result in incompatible release kinetics between photothermal effects, pharmaceutical effects, and unknown retention through the membrane layer.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Pei encapsulates two agents of differing character: hydrophobic IR780 and hydrophilic doxorubicin within a single PLGA core (Page 10157, In vitro Photothermal Performance and Drug Release Characteristics, and Table. S-1):
Thus, the applicant’s assertion that Pei “only tested single agent IR780 loading” is incorrect.
In regards to the release characteristic, the applicant’s premise is inaccurate. IR780 converts light into heat within the particle, and does not need to be released in order to do so. Pei demonstrates that a single PLGA matrix supports photothermal heating and sustained, pH dependent release of the coloaded agent such that the “prepared NPs and PM-NPs could release more Dox in acidic environments than in neutral environments…the PM-coating could make the drug release from NPs smoother and longer” Page 10157, In vitro Photothermal Performance and Drug Release Characteristics).
Lastly, the examiner notes that no instant claim recites any release profile, and the argument is not commensurate with the instantly claimed subject matter.
Applicant’s Argument #7
Applicant argues that the three components produces a hierarchical and cascading synergistic effect unattainable by any one single component or two component combinations. The complete construct of the instant claims against IR780 alone, WRG-28 alone, and a co-loaded construct lacking the membrane coating yields unexpected results.
The examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
First, the asserted results are those that the prior art predicts. Grither teaches that DDR2 inhibition reduces proinvasive collagen and attenuates metastasis (Page 7786 and 7789). Pei teaches that membrane coating confers tumor targeting, prolonged circulation in the body, and reduction of off-target distribution, and that IR780 photothermal therapy in a construct yields complete tumor elimination without recurrence (Page 10151, Abstract).
Second, the applicant’s assertion is not commensurate in scope with the claims. Instant claim 1 does not recite drug ratios, loading levels, particle sizes, dosing parameters, or irradiation parameters, and instant claim 8 is directed to testing. Data from a single construct cannot establish unexpected results across the entire claimed scope. See MPEP 716.02(d). In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 741, 218 USPQ 769, 777 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to certain catalysts containing an alkali metal. Evidence presented to rebut an obviousness rejection compared catalysts containing sodium with the prior art. The court held this evidence insufficient to rebut the prima facie case because experiments limited to sodium were not commensurate in scope with the claims.).
Third, the applicant’s assertion is attorney characterization of the instant specification figures rather than evidence. Objective evidence of nonobviousness must be presented either by affidavit or declaration, and must establish that the asserted difference would have unexpected to one of ordinary skill.
For the foregoing reasons, this comparison does not establish unexpected results over the closest prior art. The unexpected results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims. Accordingly, the Applicant’s assertion has been considered, and does not establish unexpected results over the closest prior art
Applicant’s Argument #8
Applicant argues that EO771 is more than an ordinary breast cancer cell line, being a rare murine triple negative model with orthogonal membrane protein profiles that govern homologous targeting efficiencies, and that its selection is a deliberate inventive selection rather than routine design selection.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The argument is unsupported by evidence and inconsistent. Applicant’s assertion that the benefit of EO771 for homologous targeting is the property that Zhang expressly discloses to cancer cell membrane (Paragraph 190 and 192). Zhang expressly directs the use of an established cell line and names breast cancer as one of the targets (Paragraph 192). EO771 is an established murine breast cancer cell line (See Casey et al., Published: 1951). The selection of a known material for its established and known suitability for an art recognized purpose is within ordinary skill. A cell line that is characterized as rare does not render its selection nonobvious.
Applicant’s Argument #9
Applicant argues that triple negative breast cancer has high mortality rate exceeding 80% and that the dense tumor stroma barrier represents a long-felt but unresolved unmet need that is addressed by the claimed invention.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The assertion of the applicant is offered without citation. Long-felt need requires evidence, failure of others to solve the problem, and nexus that translates between need and the instantly claimed features.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614