Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2-3, 6, 9, 11-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCutcheon (EP 3644307 A1). Note applicant provided a copy of this reference on 6/12/25.
Re claims 1 and 13: McCutcheon teaches an open wearable acoustic device (see figure 2), comprising:
a support member (headphone HP);
a speaker (SP), physically connected to the support member, wherein an open space is formed between the speaker and an eardrum (ED) of a user when the acoustic device is worn on the user's head (see space between (SP) and (ED), figure 2;
a sound sensor module (FB MIC), physically connected to the support member, and configured to capture a sound and generate a sound signal (output of the microphone) wherein a first preset relationship is satisfied (see for example equation (8)) between a transfer function (DFBM) from the speaker to the sound sensor module and a transfer function (DE) from the speaker to the eardrum, and the first preset relationship is independent of a pose of the acoustic device; and
a noise reduction circuit (such as a processor (PROC), configured to:
obtain the sound signal from the sound sensor module,
adjust a noise reduction parameter of the noise reduction circuit (by tuning parameters of filter function, figure 3) based on the sound signal and the first preset relationship to obtain an adjusted noise reduction parameter, and
perform active noise reduction based on the adjusted noise reduction parameter (by applying the filter parameters to the playback device (figure 3). The method operation limitations of claim 13 contains similar limitations as that set forth in claim 1. These method limitations correspond to the operation of those elements as discussed in claim 1 and are taught by those elements of McCutcheon as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Re claims 2 and 14: note use of an additional sound sensor (FF-MIC) that generates a signal that includes sounds from ambient noise (paragraph [0041]), perform active noise reduction using processor (such as PROC), obtain an additional sound signal from the additional sound sensor module, using a filter and tuning parameters of this filter generating noise cancellation (see figure 3) and sending this signal to a speaker (playback device) to reduce volume (i.e., amount of noise present) at eardrum (ED)
Re claim 3: se figure 1, relationships of microphones FF-MIC, FB-MIC, speaker SP and eardrum ED
Re claim 9: see figures 2 and 3, step 340 for the use of a feedback filtering and step 360 for use of feedforward filtering which are used in noise reduction being performed.
Re claims 6 and 17: see figure 1 and equation 9 teaching a relationship between AFBM and AE that is independent of the pose of the acoustic device and a noise reduction circuit (PROC) that uses each of the sound signal, the first preset relationship and the second present relationship to adjust parameters used in the noise reduction (by tuning parameters of filter function, figure 3)
Re claim 11: See paragraph [0035] claims 11-13 along with figure 3 teaching the use of a medium storing instructions used by a process for control of the acoustic device to obtain each of the signals as set forth for performing an active noise reduction
Re claim 12: note the device used is disclosed as a headphone (HP), which is a common synonym of the claimed earphone satisfying the alternative language set forth.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7-8 ,10, 15-16, 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claimed acoustic device including in combination those features of claim 2/1 wherein the noise reduction circuit includes a feedforward filter, connected to the first sound sensor module and the speaker, and configured to filter the first sound signal; the noise reduction parameter includes a filter gain of the feedforward filter; and to adjust the noise reduction parameter, the noise reduction circuit is configured to: determine a first filter gain required by the feedforward filter to minimize the second sound signal, determine, based on the first filter gain and the first preset relationship, a second filter gain required by the feedforward filter in order to minimize the ambient noise at the eardrum, and adjust a current filter gain of the feedforward filter to be the second filter gain as set forth in claim 10 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. Similar features of claim 10 are worded using method terminology in claim 20/14/13. The claimed acoustic device including in combination those features of claim 1, wherein to adjust the noise reduction parameter of the noise reduction circuit, the noise reduction circuit is further configured to: measure the transfer function from the speaker to the second sound sensor module to obtain a first transfer function; determine ambient noise at the eardrum based on the first transfer function, the first preset relationship, and the second sound signal; and adjust the noise reduction parameter of the noise reduction circuit with in order to minimize the ambient noise at the eardrum as set forth in claim 4 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. Similar features of claim 4 are worded using method terminology in claim 15/13. The limitations of claim 5 depend upon those features of claim 4/1. The limitations of claim 16 depend upon those features of claim 15/13. The claimed acoustic device including in combination those features of claim 6/1, wherein to adjust the noise reduction parameter of the noise reduction circuit, the noise reduction circuit is configured to: measure the transfer function from the speaker to the second sound sensor module to obtain a first transfer function; determine ambient noise at the eardrum based on the first transfer function, the first preset relationship, the second preset relationship, and the second sound signal; and adjust the noise reduction parameter of the noise reduction circuit in order to minimize the ambient noise at the eardrum as set forth in clam 7 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. Similar features of claim 7 are worded using method terminology in claim 18/17/13. The claimed acoustic device including in combination those features of claim 1, wherein to adjust the noise reduction parameter of the noise reduction circuit, the noise reduction circuit is configured to obtain a target working mode among a plurality of working modes of the acoustic device, wherein in each working mode, the noise reduction circuit has a corresponding default noise reduction parameter, and default noise reduction parameters corresponding to different working modes are different; and adjust, based on the second sound signal and the first preset relationship, the default noise reduction parameter corresponding to the target working mode as set forth in claim 8 is neither taught by nor an obvious variation of the art of record. Similar features of claim 8 are worded using method terminology in claim 19/13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Concerning McCutcheon applicant argues three separate points.
First: that McCutcheon does not teach “an open space is formed between the speaker and an eardrum of a user when the acoustic device is worn in the user’s head”. Examiner does not agree, clearly figure 2 teaches an open space between speaker SP and an eardrum ED such that ambient sound can enter. The claim does not set forth any features that define the term “open space” or as argued an open space that requires an open acoustic configuration that would define over this feature in McCutcheon. Additionally, applicant argues that the device in McCutcheon is disclosed as possible a over-ear headphone that seal the device to the head. Clearly figure 2 teaches that the headphone being used allows ambient sound to enter between the device and the user’s head. Also, applicants own specification indicates that the device can include at least a headphone (paragraph [0065]). No distinction can be made between the headphone as applicant discloses and the headphone used in McCutcheon.
Second: that McCutcheon does not teach the claimed pose-independent relationship as set forth. Examiner does not agree. The claims do not set forth any specifics related to pose changes due to “orientations, fitting conditions, users, or repeated wearing” as argued. Also, note that the transfer functions DFBM, DE, AE and AFBM as pointed out by applicant do not rely on any variably of distance, therefor any slight change in the wearing of the device due to a repeated placement on a user’s head does not change any mathematical ratio and functions in a similar manner as set forth.
Third: that McCutcheon does not use the sound signal generated by the sound sensor together with the relationship between DFBM and DE to determine an adjusted noise reduction parameter. Examiner does not agree. McCutcheon teaches a noise reduction circuit (such as a processor (PROC), configured to:
obtain the sound signal from the sound sensor module, adjust a noise reduction parameter of the noise reduction circuit (by tuning parameters of filter function, figure 3) based on the sound signal and the first preset relationship to obtain an adjusted noise reduction parameter as discussed in paragraphs [0051-0054]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SNIEZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693
/A.S./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693 10/8/26