DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regard to application # 18/939,654 that was filed on 11/07/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation “laser measuring unit” need to be changed into “laser distance measuring unit” for consistency.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 the phrase “a laser reading unit mounted on a device body associated with a device,…” in line 2 Is vague. The phrase “associated with” lacks a clear boundary. It is unclear whether this requires a physical attachment, electrical connection, , Operational Association pour something broader.
In claim 1, the recitation “…wherein the reference point is a point at which the laser reading unit reads the first laser signal projected by the laser projecting unit…” in lines 4-5 Does not clearly define a spatial location relative to the device body, the leather distance measuring unit, or the ground. It is unclear whether the “point” is the optical impact location on the sensor, a calculated geometric point, or a virtual point in space.
Claim 1 also recites “…a laser distance measuring unit mounted on the device body, wherein the laser distance measuring unit is configured to measure a first vertical distance between the reference point and ground” in lines 6-8. Because the reference point is defined as the location where the reading unit detects the laser signal(on or within the reading unit itself), it is unclear how the distance measurement unit measures a vertical distance from the specific point to the ground. Does the LDM share the exact same optical axis? Is a geometric calculation required? The claim does not resolve this ambiguity. Therefore claim 1 is considered vague and indefinite.
In claim 10, “ Correlate the second vertical distance and the first vertical distance” and “ determine the final vertical distance…. based on the correlation” is indefinite without any description of how the correlation is performed.
In claims 17 and 20, the same issues above apply and the additional requirement that “…laser reading unit and the laser distance measuring unit are mounted on an arm of a construction equipment” . It is unclear whether both units must be on the same arm segment and how’s the vertical distance from laser impact reference point to the ground is obtained when the arm is articulated.
All the dependent claims are rejected under the same rationale as the rejection of the parent claim solely based on their dependency from the rejected parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ake (US 6,263,595) in view of Conner et al. (US 2008/0015811).
Regarding Claim 1, Ake discloses a system comprising: a laser reading unit (laser receiver/photocell assembly, 145,140, Fig. 2) mounted on a device body associated with a device (mounted directly on the dipperstick/arm of an excavator, Fig. 2), wherein the laser reading unit is configured to read a first laser signal projected by a laser projecting unit (rotating laser light transmitter emitting a pulsed plane of laser light) to establish a reference point (the point/position at which the laser plane impacts the receiver, establishing the reference level of the laser plane), and wherein the reference point is a point at which the laser reading unit reads the first laser signal projected by the laser projecting unit (abstract, Figs. illustrating mounting on dipperstick; col. 1, lines 14-30, col. 2, lines 36-63, col. 3, lines 1-67); and
Calculation of vertical distance between the reference level of the laser plane and the actual digging level(to ground/ working surface) using the receiver position and an angle sensor (col. 2 , lines 50-65, col. 3, lines 20-50).
Ake does not explicitly disclose a separate laser distance measuring unit mounted on the device body that directly measures a first vertical distance between the reference point and the ground using laser ranging.
Conner discloses a laser light receiver(reading unit) that includes an integral laser distance measurement (LDM) device (laser distance measuring unit, 50, Fig. 6) configure to measure the distance from the laser plane (22, Fig. 1, reference established by reading the projected laser signal) to a desired physical target point (e.g. ground or point of interest on the job site)(abstract, Figs., para. [0008]-[0012], [0015]-[0020]; claim 1, 7). The LDM uses a second laser source and photosensor to determine the distance while the primary receiver establishes the on-grade/reference relative to the external laser plane.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Ake’s machine mounted laser reading unit (on construction equipment body/arm) that establishes a reference by reading a projected laser signal with Conner’s laser distance measuring unit that measures vertical distance from that reference(laser plane intersection point) to ground for accurate relative elevation measurement on construction job sites using a laser plane reference. A direct laser ranging capability (as in Conner) to Ake’s excavator mounted system provides a more precise or alternative means of determining the vertical distance to ground without relying solely on angle geometry, with predictable results and reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 2-3, modified Ake discloses the device as a construction equipment (excavator) and the laser reading unit mounted on an arm (dipperstick) of the construction equipment (col. 1, line 40-60, Figs, laser receiver/photocell assembly, 145,140, Fig. 2, abstract). Adding the laser distance measuring unit of Connor to the same mounting location is an obvious co-located sensor package.
Regarding Claims 4, Ake and Conner are directed to mobile platforms used for elevation measurement. Extending the same laser reading and leaser distance architecture to an aerial vehicle (UAV/drone) is an obvious application of a known laser elevation technique to another mobile platform that also requires accurate vertical distance relative to laser reference or ground. The optical principles remain identical; only if the platform changes.
Regarding Claims 5, Ake discloses a laser reading unit (laser receiver with photo seal assembly) that generates sign corresponding the position at which the projected laser plane impacts the receiver, thereby establishing the reference point/reference level (abstract, col. 2, line 36-63, col. 3, Figs.). Ake further teaches a microprocessor 450 that receives those signals and provides serial data link (RS-485 interface 480) that transmits data outward from the receiver electronics (description of preferred receiver electronics and Fig. and 6).
Conner teaches a laser distance measuring unit (LDM 50) that generates a second signal corresponding the measure distance from the laser plane reference a physical target point (ground or other point of interest (abstract; col. 9, lines 55-67, claim 1, 7)) . Connor further teaches a processing circuit/position processor 40 that receives both a first signal (from the laser light photo sensor establishing the reference) and the second signal (from the LDM) (Fig. 6).
The combination of Ake’s serial data interface that receives and forwards information associated with the reference point with Conner’s processing circuit that receives information associated with the vertical distance measured by the LDM yields a transceiver (or equivalent data interface configure to receive both sets of information)).
Regarding Claims 6, modified Ake discloses the system wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the information associated with the first vertical distance to a user device (Ake discloses that a serial data link (SR-485 480) transmits data from the receiver to the excavator’s control system/operator interface (description of preferred electron and Fig. 6). Ake further teaches an operator interface consisting of a grade display in the cap that indicates elevation information (high/low/on grade) derived from the reference point data (description of Operator interface, Fig. 6, LED drivers 470). Conner teach that position processor 40 drives a visible readout/display that presents the relative elevation (vertical distance) information (claims). Therefore, the transceiver of the combined system is configured to transmit the information associated with (the first vertical distance to a user device (operator interface)).
Regarding Claim 7, in modified Ake, Conner teaches a processing circuit/position sensor 40 that: receives the signal associated with the reference point (first laser light processor signal); is operatively connected to the LDM 50 so that it can obtain a distance measurement; and drive the display of the resulting vertical distance/relative elevation information (claims, Figs).
Ake teaches a microprocessor 450 that the laser receiver signals, perform the elevation calculation, and transmit the results via serial data to the operator display (Fig. 6; description of preferred electronics). The combined processor is therefore configured to: obtain the information associated with the reference point from the receiver/data interface; (by virtue of its operative connection to the LDM) cause the LDM to produce the distance measurement (the functional equivalent of transmitting a command trigger); obtain the resulting vertical distance information; and transmit that information via the transceiver to the user device, which is configured to display it on the user interface (Ake’s cab grade display; Conner’s visible readout).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ake discloses a system wherein the processor is further configured to calibrate the laser distance measuring unit responsive to obtaining the information associated with the reference point (Conner teaches height correction (calibration) of the measured distance that is performed by the processing circuit in response to reference established by the laser plane photosensor signal together with the gravity sensor signal (abstract, description of capability; claims). The correction is performed in responsive to obtaining the information associated with the reference point (the laser plane intersection). Ake likewise classifies its system under “sensors and their calibration for indicating the position of the work tool” and Patient calculation that rely on calibrated geometric relationships between laser plane packed position and angle sensor (col. 6, equation 1). The processor of the combined system is therefore configured to calibrate the laser distance measurement unit responsive to obtaining information associated with the reference point).
Regarding Claims 11, modified Ake discloses a system wherein the laser projecting unit is configured to project the first laser signal over a 360 degrees range along a horizontal axis of the laser projecting unit, and wherein the horizontal axis is parallel to ground (Ake’s laser projection unit is a rotating laser transmitter that projects the laser signal over 360 degrees horizontal range (The laser plane is generated by continuous rotation, the axis of which is parallel to the ground) (laser plane 102, Fig. 2; 202, Fig. 3)).
Regarding Claims 12, modified Ake discloses a system wherein the laser reading unit and the laser distance measuring unit are removably mounted on the device (both Ake (machine/excavator mounted receivers) and Conner (handheld/ rod-mounted receivers that can be clamped or otherwise attached) teach removable mounting. Providing removable amounts for a units on the device party is the ordinary commercial implementation of the sensors and therefore it’s obvious.)
Regarding Claims 13, modified Ake discloses a system wherein the laser distance measuring unit comprises: a laser emission component configured to project a second laser signal to the ground; a laser receiver component configured to read a reflected laser signal from the ground responsive to projecting the second laser signal; and a controller configured to measure the first vertical distance based on time-of flight associated with the second laser signal and the reflected laser signal (Conner’s LDM comprises a laser emission component that projects a second laser signal, a laser receiver component that reads the reflected signal, and a processing/controller element that determines distance from the time (or phase) relationship between the emitted and reflected signals (para. [0015]-[0020], para. [0032], ‘…direct measurement of time of flight…’). Time-of-flight (ToF) measurement is the conventional operating principle of such LDMs. The claim is therefore obvious over Conner’s explicit LDM structure when combined with Ake’s mounting.)
Regarding Claims 14, modified Ake discloses a system wherein the laser reading unit is disposed in proximity with the laser distance measuring unit (Ake mounts multiple sensors (receiver and angle sensor) in proximity on the dipperstick. Conner integrates the receiver and LDM in a single housing. Mounting the laser reading unit and laser distance measure unit in proximity on the device body is the natural and obvious arrangement taught by both references).
Regarding Claims 15-16, positioning the reading unit and distance measuring unit at the same height from the ground or positioning the projection unit at the predetermined height are ordinary design choices that follow from the geometry already used in Ake (laser plane at a known reference height, see Figs) and Conner (distance measured from the known laser plane intersection, see Figs). Therefore, the limitations are obvious from Ake and Conner references.
Regarding Claims 17-19, claims 17-19 restate the combination of Ake’s construction equipment/arm-mounted laser reading unit that establishes a reference point with Conner’s laser distance measurement unit that measures vertical distance from the reference to ground, plus the transceiver/processor/display feature already addressed under claims 5-8. The combination remains obvious for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 20, the recited method steps of reading the laser signal with a (removably mounted) laser reading unit to establish a reference point, measuring vertical distance to the ground with a laser distance measuring unit, and causing the vertical distance to be displayed on the user interface are the direct operational counterparts of the system of claim 1 as surrendered obvious by the combination of Ake and Conner. Display of the results is ordinary final step thought by both references; operator-indication teachings.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Ake (US 6,263,595) in further view of Song et al. (US 2005/0185168).
Regarding Claim 9, Ake and Conner Teach the best system of clay 7 with laser reading unit establishing a reference point, later distance measuring unit measuring a first vertical distance from the reference point to the ground, a processor that obtains the reference point information and controls/obtains data from the laser distance measuring unit.
Modified Ake lacks, but Song teaches a laser distance measuring unit that measures distance to the target; an altitude measurement unit comprising an atmospheric pressure sensor that measures atmospheric pressure and generates an altitude measurement signal (i.e., second vertical distance/altitude value derived from pressure); and microprocessors receives both the distance signal and atmospheric pressure derived altitude signal (abstract, description of altitude measurement unit; Fig. 5 showing Atmospheric pressure sensor 32 who sought to put this filtered and supplied to the altitude measurement signal to the microprocessor 40; claims; para. [0027)). Song Further teaches that the microprocessor calculates altitude from the atmospheric pressure signal (para. [0027]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Song’s atmospheric pressure sensor (and its associated altitude calculation) into processor-controlled laser distance architecture of modified Ake with great expectation of success for accurate determination of vertical/elevation information. Song shows that atmospheric pressure sensor provides an independent second measurement of vertical distance that can be obtained under processor control. Adding the sensor so that it measures a second vertical distance between reference point in the responsive to a command signal from the existing processor is a direct application of Song’s teaching to the combined system of Ake and Conner.
Regarding Claim 10, Conner teaches a processing circuit that receives multiple independent vertical-related signals (laser-plane reference signal, LDM distance signal, and gravity sensor signal) and correlates/combines them to produce a single final vertical distance value (abstract, claims). Song teaches a microprocessor that receives both laser distance signal and atmospheric-pressure-derived altitude signal and uses them in its calculations (abstract, Fig. 5).
Once the atmospheric pressure sensor of Song is added as in claim 9, the same processor already present in Conner is configured to correlate the second vertical distance (from the pressure sensor) with the first spherical distance (from the LDM) and to determine a final vertical distance between the reference and the ground based on that correlation. Exactly the multi-input correlation architecture already taught by Corner and reinforced it by Song’s dual signal microprocessor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Crozier et al. (US 10,094,654) discloses an integrated sensing device with a suite of sensors assists construction machine operators in finding the correct level to dig a ditch/trench. The sensing device includes a gravity sensor to determine angles, a laser distance meter (LDM), and a laser receiver for detecting a known jobsite elevation. The sensing device is mounted to the dipperstick of an excavator; the gravity sensor detects the angle of the dipperstick, and the laser receiver detects a laser plane of light that represents a known jobsite elevation. The LDM is aimed at another member of the machine that moves in a predetermined path as the bucket is rotated, and the distance between the LDM and the target member is used to calculate the vertical elevation of the working tool edge. A display graphically shows the operator the proper dig depth and the present position of the working tool edge.
Yost et al. (US 6691437) discloses a level sensing system for use with an excavating machine includes a light receiving sensor, mounted on the dipperstick of the machine, and an inclinometer, also mounted on the dipperstick of the machine. The sensor and inclinometer provide indications of the relative location of a beam of light and the inclination of the dipperstick. The inclinometer includes a gyroscopic inclination sensor and an accelerometer arrangement for sensing acceleration due to gravity and providing a static vertical reference. A position determining circuit is responsive to the sensor and the inclinometer and calculates the position of a pivot joint on the dipperstick to which a digging bucket is attached. The beam of light is a beam of laser light which is projected by a laser transmitter. An angle-measuring sensor may be provided for measuring the angular orientation between the dipperstick and a cutting edge of the bucket.
Assres H. Woldemaryam
Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
Art Unit 3642
/ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642