DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been submitted for examination and are pending further prosecution by the United States Patent & Trademark Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites a system for obtaining and displaying vehicle configuration data. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, claim 1 would fall under the category of mental processes as the claim features limitations performable as mental steps without additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. An analysis of claim 1 according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility test follows:
Step 1: Is the claim directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, claim 1 is directed to a system and, therefore, a machine.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an Abstract Idea, Law of Nature, or Natural Phenomenon?
Yes, claim 1 recites an abstract idea as the following limitations are performable as mental processes: obtain a configuration data of a vehicle; - A person can manually obtain configuration data of a vehicle by examining vehicle specifications in an owner's manual; determine a plurality of vehicle elements associated with the vehicle based on the obtained configuration data; - The person can manually identify vehicle components from the vehicle specifications; determine a connection between one of the plurality of vehicle elements and another of the plurality of vehicle elements based on the obtained configuration data; - The person can manually identify connections between vehicle components by examining diagrams included in the vehicle specifications.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Integrate The Judicial Exception Into A Practical Application?
No. While claim 1 recites the additional elements of A system comprising: a memory storage storing computer-executable instructions; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory storage, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:, said additional elements merely amount to using a computer as a tool for performing the abstract idea and, therefore, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 1 also recites the additional element display the determined plurality of vehicle elements and the determined connection in a graphical user interface. However, simply displaying the obtained configuration data in a GUI amounts to an insignificant post-solution activity in the form of data outputting. Therefore, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Amount To Significantly More Than The Judicial Exception?
No. While claim 1 recites the additional elements of A system comprising: a memory storage storing computer-executable instructions; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory storage, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to:, said additional elements merely amount to using a computer as a tool for performing the abstract idea and, therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claim 1 also recites the additional element display the determined plurality of vehicle elements and the determined connection in a graphical user interface. However, simply displaying the obtained configuration data in a GUI amounts to an insignificant post-solution activity in the form of data outputting. The preceding additional element is also a well understood, routine, and conventional activity (see US 20190347376 A1, paragraphs [0020][0075] and Fig. 3). Therefore, the additional element does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 8, which recites a method for obtaining and displaying vehicle configuration data, is rejected for the same reasons given for analogous claim 1.
Claim 15, which recites a computer-readable medium containing instructions executable by a processor for obtaining and displaying vehicle configuration data, is rejected for the same reasons given for analogous claim 1.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 recite additional elements directed to displaying a predefined element in a first portion of a GUI responsive to selection of the predefined element in a second portion of the GUI, the first portion comprising the determined plurality of vehicle elements and the determined connection. However, the additional elements simply amount to using generic instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer while generally linking use of the abstract idea to the field of vehicles. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 recite additional elements directed to connecting elements displayed in the first portion. However, the additional elements simply amount to using generic instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer while generally linking use of the abstract idea to the field of vehicles. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are also directed to the abstract idea as they simply elaborate upon limitations found abstract in claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively, without including additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 5 and 12 are also directed to the abstract idea as the limitation wherein the plurality of vehicle elements comprise a plurality of electronic control units associated with a type of vehicle simply elaborate upon limitations found abstract in claims 1 and 8, respectively. For example, the person can manually identify electronic control units from examining a vehicle's specifications. Claims 5 and 12 do not recite additional element(s) that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea, as the claims do not recite additional element(s), per se.
Claims 6, 13 and 19 recite the additional elements wherein: the graphical user interface comprises a vehicle selector; and the vehicle selector comprises a plurality of vehicles selectable by a user. However, these additional elements simply amount to using generic instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer while generally linking use of the abstract idea to the field of vehicles. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are also directed to the abstract idea as the limitation obtain a plurality of configuration data of the plurality of vehicles; can be performed by a person manually obtaining configuration data of different vehicles by examining respective vehicle specifications in an owner's manual. While the claims also recite the additional elements receive a selection input selecting one of the plurality of vehicles at the vehicle selector from the user; wherein the determined plurality of vehicle elements and the determined connection are associated with the selected one of the plurality of vehicles, these additional elements simply amount to using generic instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer while generally linking use of the abstract idea to the field of vehicles. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100031212 A1 - hereinafter "Dong".
With respect to claim 1, Dong teaches,
A system comprising: - Fig. 2
a memory storage storing computer-executable instructions; and - Fig. 3
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory storage, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: - Fig. 3
obtain a configuration data of a vehicle; - "In one embodiment, certain domain-specific data (configuration data) from the various design domains is imported by the E/E system server 202 and converted to a vehicle library having the unified data scheme (and stored in the unified database 234). In at least one embodiment, this domain-specific data is provided by the vehicle manufacturer in a certain format, such as a spreadsheet file or a comma-delimited file." [0044]
determine a plurality of vehicle elements associated with the vehicle based on the obtained configuration data; - "In general, the E/E design for a vehicle manufacturer is separated into three major domains: ...From these main design domains arise two other common domains: ...and the subsystem domain responsible for integration of all of the E/E components on a sub-system level (e.g., for the instrument panel of a vehicle)." [0024] "The domain agent generates the topology schematic 2804 based on the relationships and connections between the components of the selected subsystem as indicated by the data in the local copy of the unified database at the domain agent." [0068]; Fig. 28
determine a connection between one of the plurality of vehicle elements and another of the plurality of vehicle elements based on the obtained configuration data; and - "In general, the E/E design for a vehicle manufacturer is separated into three major domains: ...From these main design domains arise two other common domains: ...and the subsystem domain responsible for integration of all of the E/E components on a sub-system level (e.g., for the instrument panel of a vehicle)." [0024] "The domain agent generates the topology schematic 2804 based on the relationships and connections between the components of the selected subsystem as indicated by the data in the local copy of the unified database at the domain agent." [0068]; Fig. 28
display the determined plurality of vehicle elements and the determined connection in a graphical user interface. - "FIG. 28 is a GUI 2800 that provides a schematic view of the topology of the selected subsystem. The GUI 2800 includes a schematic pane 2802 used to display a topology schematic 2804 of the selected subsystem. As illustrated in FIG. 28, the topology schematic 2804 describes the connections between the components of the subsystem, and utilizes different designators to identify the different component types." [0068] "The domain agent generates the topology schematic 2804 based on the relationships and connections between the components of the selected subsystem as indicated by the data in the local copy of the unified database at the domain agent." [0068]
With respect to claim 8, Dong teaches,
A method comprising:
These limitations are rejected using the mapping from analogous claim 1.
With respect to claim 15, Dong teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon instructions executable by at least one processor to cause the at least one processor to perform a method comprising: - Fig. 3
The remaining limitations are rejected using the mapping from analogous claim 1.
With respect to claims 2, 9 and 16, Dong teaches,
wherein: the graphical user interface comprises at least a first portion - schematic pane 2802 [0068]; Fig. 28; and a second portion; - list pane 802 [0051]; Fig. 8
the first portion comprises the determined plurality of vehicle elements and the determined connection; - "The GUI 2800 includes a schematic pane 2802 used to display a topology schematic 2804 of the selected subsystem. As illustrated in FIG. 28, the topology schematic 2804 describes the connections between the components of the subsystem, and utilizes different designators to identify the different component types." [0068]
the second portion comprises a plurality of predefined elements; and - "The GUI 800 includes a list pane 802 having an expanded subsystem list 804 and an expandable vehicle variance list 806. A user can select a particular listed subsystem to access the information related to the selected subsystem." [0051]
the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
receive a selection input selecting one of the plurality of predefined elements from a user; and - "The GUI 800 includes a list pane 802 having an expanded subsystem list 804 and an expandable vehicle variance list 806. A user can select a particular listed subsystem to access the information related to the selected subsystem." [0051]
in response to receiving the selection input, display the selected one of the plurality of predefined elements at the first portion. - "The GUI 2800 includes a schematic pane 2802 used to display a topology schematic 2804 of the selected subsystem. As illustrated in FIG. 28, the topology schematic 2804 describes the connections between the components of the subsystem, and utilizes different designators to identify the different component types." [0068]
With respect to claims 3, 10 and 17, Dong teaches,
receive, from the user, a connection input connecting an element displayed at the first portion to another element displayed at the first portion; and - "As discussed above, information regarding the relationships and connections between the components can be imported from one or more files, the designer can use one or more of the GUIs described to create, modify, or delete relationship and connection information between the components, or a combination thereof." [0068]; Fig. 28
in response to receiving the connection input, connect the element displayed at the first portion to another element displayed at the first portion. - "As discussed above, information regarding the relationships and connections between the components can be imported from one or more files, the designer can use one or more of the GUIs described to create, modify, or delete relationship and connection information between the components, or a combination thereof." [0068]; Fig. 28
With respect to claims 4, 11 and 18, Dong teaches,
wherein the plurality of predefined elements comprise a plurality of predefined elements associated with an environment of a vehicle and/or a plurality of predefined vehicle elements. - "In general, the E/E design for a vehicle manufacturer is separated into three major domains: ...From these main design domains arise two other common domains: ...and the subsystem domain responsible for integration of all of the E/E components on a sub-system level (e.g., for the instrument panel of a vehicle)."
With respect to claims 5 and 12, Dong teaches,
wherein the plurality of vehicle elements comprise a plurality of electronic control units associated with a type of vehicle. - "The GUI 900 includes a list of components associated with the "Engin26Control" subsystem, each component identified by a name field 902 and a component type field 904 (e.g., "device", "ECU", "harness", "network bus", etc.)." [0051]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100031212 A1 - hereinafter "Dong", in view of US 20220374564 A1 - hereinafter "Alberry".
With respect to claims 6, 13 and 19, Dong does not explicitly teach,
wherein: the graphical user interface comprises a vehicle selector; and the vehicle selector comprises a plurality of vehicles selectable by a user.
However, in the analogous field of vehicle testing, Alberry teaches:
"The device selection menu 168 includes user-selectable controls to select characteristics of a device in the form of a vehicle." [0142]; Fig. 12
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Dong's with Alberry's teachings because doing so would provide Dong's system with improved methods and systems for navigating the wiring diagrams of vehicles, as suggested by Alberry [0005].
With respect to claims 7, 14 and 20, Dong does not explicitly teach the following limitations which, in the analogous field of vehicle testing are taught by Alberry as follows:
obtain a plurality of configuration data of the plurality of vehicles; and - "The routing diagram can represent routable components of a device-under-service (DUS) that are routed throughout different portions of the DUS." [0037] "In at least some implementations, outputting the routing diagram includes outputting a GUI that includes the routing diagram, such as a GUI 241 shown in FIG. 15 and FIG. 16." [0105] "DUS identifier 203" (Figs. 15-16)
receive a selection input selecting one of the plurality of vehicles at the vehicle selector from the user; - "The device selection menu 168 includes user-selectable controls to select characteristics of a device in the form of a vehicle." [0142]; Fig. 12
wherein the determined plurality of vehicle elements and the determined connection are associated with the selected one of the plurality of vehicles. - "For the implementations in which a routing diagram includes an electrical routing diagram, examples of a connectable component (e.g., an electrical component) that can be shown on the routing diagram include a sensor, an electronic control unit (ECU), a motor, a solenoid, a relay, a battery, a pump, a compressor, a fuse, a fuse block, a ground lug, a coil, or a transformer." [0049]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement Dong's with Alberry's teachings because doing so would provide Dong's system with improved methods and systems for navigating the wiring diagrams of vehicles, as suggested by Alberry [0005].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In the NPL document "Parsers implementation within the test environment generator in automotive industry" the implementation of three parsers within a C++ based test environment generator (TEG) is analyzed for the automotive industry sector.
/GEOFFREY R ST LEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2192