DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “the first and second single layer armour layers being helically wound in opposing directions” as claimed in 13. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pokojny et al. (4647718) in view of Houghton (WO 97/22899).
Pokojny et al. discloses a power cable comprising a conductor (not shown), and an insulation system (38, 38’) arranged around the conductor, the power cable having a first cable section (left side of the joint 32), a second cable section (right side of the joint 32), and a joint region (36) between the first and second cable sections, wherein the conductor has a conductor joint (32) in the joint region, and an armor (40, 22, 40’) arranged around the insulation system, and extending along the first cable section, the second cable section, and the joint region, the armor including a fist single layer armor layer, wherein in the joint region elongated elements of the first single layer armor layer include a plurality of joint region armoring elements (22) being connected to the cable section armors (40, 40’) (re-claim 1).
Pokojny et al. does not disclose, in the first and second cable sections, the armor (40, 40’) including a plurality of cable section armoring elements and a plurality of filler elements extending along the first cable section and the second cable section (re-claim 1).
Houghton discloses a submarine cable comprising an armor having a plurality of elongated elements being arranged around an insulation system (4) and extending along the cable, wherein the elongated elements of the armor layer comprise a plurality of cable section armoring elements (7) and a plurality of filler elements (8).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the armor (40, 40’) in the first and second cable sections of Pokojny et al. to comprise a plurality of cable section armoring elements (7) and a plurality of filler elements (10), as taught by Houghton, to meet the desired weight and strength of the cable.
It is noted that since the modified cable of Pokojny et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, it is an AC submarine power cable; the joint region armoring elements (22, steel, col. 8 line 10) have a higher stiffness tensile strengh than filler element (10 of Houghton, polyethylene, page 2 line 16); and the stiffness tensional strength of the first single layer armor layer is higher in the joint region (all elements 22 are steel) than in the first and second sections (mix of steel and polethylene, taught by Houghton) (re-claims 1 and 16).
Pokojny et al., as modified, also discloses that the first single layer armor layer in the joint region is formed by 100% of joint region armoring elements (22) (re-claims 2 and 3); first and second connecting elements (48, col. 11 lines 15-16) which are arranged to connect the cable section armoring elements to the joint region armoring elements (re-claims 4 and 17); the connecting elements (48) are adapted to be crimped (clamped) onto the cable section armoring elements and the joint region armoring elements (re-claim 6); the joint region comprises the conductor joint forming part of a flexible joint (re-claims 7 and 18); the filler elements are composed of a material having a lower density (polyethylene, Houghton, polyethylene, page 2 line 16) than the material of the armoring elements (re-claims 8, 9, 19, and 20); the cable section armoring elements and/or the joint region armoring elements comprise steel (re-claim 10); the cable section armoring elements comprise synthetic fibers (10, PVC or polyethylene) (re-claim 11); the elongated elements of the armor are helically wound (stranded armor layer, see abstract of Houghton) (re-claim 12); 40-60% of the elements in the first and/or second cable section are filler elements (see Houghton, page 2 lines 11-12, 50%) (re-claim 15);
Re-claim 5, althought not disclosed in Pokojny et al., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to weld, instead of crimping, the cable section armoring element to the joint region armoring elements to meet the specific design of the cable since welding is another known method, beside crimpring, for joining elements.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pokojny et al. in view of Houghton as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zettervall (2014/0367164).
Claim 14 additionally recites the filler elements being fixated by cable straps in proximity to the joint region. Zettervall discloses a power cable comprising an armor layer including a joint region, wherein elements in the armor layer are fixated by cable straps (20) in proximity to the joint region (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the cable straps, in proximity to the joint region of Pokojny et al., to secure the armor elements thereon in the modified armor layer of the first and second cable sections, as taught by Zettervall.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841