DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an extraction circuit that is configured to extract information about an electron density difference at an interface between different materials included in a target structure and information about a surface element included at the interface from data representing the target structure” and “a calculation circuit that is configured to calculate a surface integral at the interface based on the information about the electron density difference and the information about the surface element, and to calculate a scattering intensity distribution of X-rays irradiated to the target structure based on the surface integral” in claims 1 and 8.
The Examiner has interpreted the “extraction circuit” and “calculation circuit” as the computer device with a processor disclosed in [0033] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishibashi (U.S. 2013/0243154).
Regarding claim 1:
Ishibashi discloses an X-ray analysis device, comprising:
an extraction circuit that is configured to extract information about an electron density difference at an interface between different materials included in a target structure and information about a surface element included at the interface from data representing the target structure (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as any computing device that can perform the claimed function as disclosed in the specification; Ishibashi discloses a data processor that is able to extract electron density in [0031] and [0049]); and
a calculation circuit that is configured to calculate a surface integral at the interface based on the information about the electron density difference and the information about the surface element (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as any computing device that can perform the claimed function as disclosed in the specification; Ishibashi discloses a data processor that is able to calculate a surface integral in [0031]-[0032]), and to calculate a scattering intensity distribution of X-rays irradiated to the target structure based on the surface integral (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as any computing device that can perform the claimed function as disclosed in the specification; Ishibashi discloses a data processor that is able to calculate scattering profiles in [0031]-[0032]).
Regarding claim 13:
Ishibashi discloses an X-ray analysis device, comprising:
at least one processor ([0016], processor); and
memory ([0016], processor) comprising a non-transitory storage medium having instructions stored therein that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the X-ray analysis device to:
extract, from data representing a target structure, information about an electron density difference at an interface between different materials included in the target structure and information about a surface element included at the interface ([0031] and [0049], extract electron density);
calculate a surface integral at the interface based on the information about the electron density difference and the information about the surface element ([0031]-[0032], integral calculation); and
calculate a scattering intensity distribution of X-rays irradiated to the target structure based on the surface integral ([0031]-[0032], scattering profiles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishibashi (U.S. 2013/0243154) in view of Ito (U.S. 2020/0333268).
Regarding claim 20:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 13.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein a plane wave X-ray is irradiated to the target structure having periodicity.
Ito teaches a plane wave X-ray is irradiated to the target structure having periodicity ([0070], X-rays having periodicity).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the device of Ishibashi with the periodic X-ray of Ito in order to improve shape calculation accuracy (Ito; [0019]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13 are allowable.
Claims 2-7, and 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 1, wherein the interface between the different materials included in the target structure comprises a first different material interface ([0049], two materials) and a second different material interface ([0049], two materials) having a same shape (Fig. 7).
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the extraction circuit is configured to store the information about the surface element of the first different material interface in a storage circuit, and wherein the calculation circuit is configured to use information based on the information about the surface element of the first different material interface read from the storage circuit as information about a surface element of the second different material interface.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Regarding claim 3:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 1.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the calculation circuit is configured to classify the surface element into one of a plurality of groups according to a direction of the surface element, and to calculate the surface integral based on a classification result.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Regarding claim 4:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 1.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the calculation circuit is configured to calculate a respective surface integral for each of a plurality of surface elements at respective interfaces between different materials, and calculate the scattering intensity distribution based on a sum of the respective surface integrals.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim. Claim 5 is allowable by virtue of its dependency.
Regarding claim 6:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 1.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the data representing the target structure comprises unstructured mesh data, and wherein the calculation circuit is configured to calculate the scattering intensity distribution without generation of rectangular parallelepiped mesh data from the unstructured mesh data.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Regarding claim 7:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 1.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose the X-ray analysis device of claim 1, wherein the information regarding the electron density difference represents a difference between a first electron density corresponding to a first side of the interface and a second electron density corresponding to a second side of the interface opposite to the first side.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Regarding claim 8:
Ishibashi discloses an X-ray analysis device, comprising:
an extraction circuit that is configured to extract information about an electron density difference at an interface between different materials included in a target structure and information about a surface element included at the interface from data representing the target structure (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as any computing device that can perform the claimed function as disclosed in the specification; Ishibashi discloses a data processor that is able to extract electron density in [0031] and [0049]); and
a calculation circuit that is configured to calculate a surface integral at the interface based on the information about the electron density difference and the information about the surface element (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as any computing device that can perform the claimed function as disclosed in the specification; Ishibashi discloses a data processor that is able to calculate a surface integral in [0031]-[0032]), and to calculate a scattering intensity distribution of X-rays irradiated to the target structure based on the surface integral (This element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as any computing device that can perform the claimed function as disclosed in the specification; Ishibashi discloses a data processor that is able to calculate scattering profiles in [0031]-[0032]).
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the data representing the target structure comprises unstructured mesh data, and wherein the calculation circuit that is configured to calculate the scattering intensity distribution without generation of rectangular parallelepiped mesh data from the unstructured mesh data.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record. Claims 9-12 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Regarding claim 14:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 13, wherein the interface between the different materials included in the target structure comprises a first different material interface ([0049], two materials) and a second different material interface ([0049], two materials) having a same shape (Fig. 7).
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the X-ray analysis device to: store the information about the surface element of the first different material interface in a storage circuit; and use information based on the information about the surface element of the first different material interface read from the storage circuit as information about a surface element of the second different material interface.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Regarding claim 15:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 13.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the X-ray analysis device to: classify the surface element into one of a plurality of groups according to a direction of the surface element; and calculate the surface integral based on a result of the classifying.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Regarding claim 16:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 13.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the X-ray analysis device to: calculate a respective surface integral for each of a plurality of surface elements at respective interfaces between different materials; and calculate the scattering intensity distribution based on a sum of the respective surface integrals.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim. Claim 17 is allowable by virtue of its dependency.
Regarding claim 18:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 13.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the data representing the target structure comprises unstructured mesh data, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the X-ray analysis device to: calculate the scattering intensity distribution without generation of rectangular parallelepiped mesh data from the unstructured mesh data.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Regarding claim 19:
Ishibashi discloses the X-ray analysis device of claim 13.
However, Ishibashi fails to disclose wherein the information regarding the electron density difference represents a difference between a first electron density corresponding to a first side of the interface and a second electron density corresponding to a second side of the interface opposite to the first side.
Since the prior art of record fails to teach the details above, nor is there any reason to modify or combine prior art elements absent of applicant’s disclosure, the claim is deemed patentable over the prior art of record, if rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Conclusion
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884