DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/451,235 and Provisional Application No. 63/597,932 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The above recited applications fails to provide an enabling disclosure or any disclosure for the entire scope of the limitations of claims 1-22. In particular these prior applications provide no support or disclosure of the claim 1 limitations to “a photovoltaic array comprising a plurality of solar panels configured to absorb solar energy and generate electric power, the array of solar panels being electrically coupled to a plurality of electric heaters comprising heating elements in contact with the first working fluid, the electric heaters being operable to heat the first working fluid” or the claim 22 limitations to “a photovoltaic array comprising a plurality of solar panels configured to absorb solar energy and generate electric power; an auxiliary heating vessel comprising an internal cavity configured to receive the first working fluid from the first closed flow loop, the auxiliary heating vessel comprising a plurality of electric heaters powered by the photovoltaic array, the electric heaters operable to heat the first working fluid and return the heated first working fluid to the thermal energy storage vessel”.
Therefore, the recited Application No. 18/451,235 and Provisional Application No. 63/597,932 do not provide an enabling disclosure of the entire scope of the subject matter of claims 1-22 and as such these claims are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications. The earliest effective filing date for examining claims 1-22 is thus 07 November 2024.
As recited in MPEP 201.11:Any claim in a continuation-in-part application which is directed solely to subject matter adequately disclosed under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application is entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the parent nonprovisional application. However, if a claim in a continuation-in-part application recites a feature which was not disclosed or adequately supported by a proper disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 112 in the parent nonprovisional application, but which was first introduced or adequately supported in the continuation-in-part application, such a claim is entitled only to the filing date of the continuation-in-part application; In re Chu, 66 F.3d 292, 36 USPQ2d 1089 (Fed. Cir. 1995); Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Van Lagenhoven, 458 F.2d 132, 136, 173 USPQ 426, 429 (CCPA 1972); and Chromalloy American Corp. v. Alloy Surfaces Co., Inc., 339 F. Supp. 859, 874, 173 USPQ 295, 306 (D. Del. 1972).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-16, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (CN 116658967A, reference made to attached English machine translation), and further in view of Rondo (US 2022/0170386).
Regarding claim 1 Kong discloses a hybrid solar energy system comprising:
a thermal energy storage vessel defining an internal space containing a thermal mass composition operable to store thermal energy (paras [n0029], [0062], Fig. 2 see: thermal storage tank group including high-temperature thermal storage tank 1 filled with a first phase change heat storage material);
a concentrated solar power collector fluidly coupled to the thermal energy storage vessel by a first closed flow loop (paras [n0029], Fig. 2 see: solar collector 24 coupled to tank 1 by a conduit at heat exchange pipeline 28), the concentrated solar power collector configured to absorb solar energy and heat a first working fluid which is circulated through the first flow loop and the thermal energy storage vessel by a first pump to heat the thermal mass composition (para [n0029], Fig. 2 see: solar collector 24 generates heat from the sun heating a heat transfer oil within the conduit including by first heat transfer oil pump 15);
a photovoltaic power source configured to absorb solar energy and generate electric power, the photovoltaic power source being electrically coupled to an electric heater comprising a heating element in contact with the first working fluid, the electric heater being operable to heat the first working fluid (Abstract, paras [n0029], [n0015] Fig. 2 see: electric heating box 19 having a heating element heating the heat transfer oil and powered by “solar curtailment” considered to mean electricity generated from a photovoltaic solar source); and
a second closed flow loop comprising a second pump configured to circulate a second working fluid through the second closed flow loop and the thermal energy storage vessel, the second working fluid operable to be heated by absorbing stored thermal energy from the thermal mass composition in the thermal energy storage vessel (paras [n0029], [n0033], Fig. 2 see: second closed conduit loop connected to storage tank 1 through evaporator 30 having a working fluid pumped by first working fluid pump 34 which is heated by storage tank 1).
Kong does not explicitly disclose the photovoltaic power source is a photovoltaic array comprising a plurality of solar panels or that the electric heater with heating element are a plurality of electric heaters comprising heating elements.
Rondo teaches providing a photovoltaic power source of a photovoltaic array comprising a plurality of solar panels to provide power for a plurality of electric heaters comprising heating elements ([0025]-[0026], [0165]-[0166] Figs. 2-3 see: photovoltaic cells 201/310 providing power for heating elements 207 also shown in Figs. 66(A)-70). Rondo teaches this allows greater control over the heating and temperature within the vessel and can provide greater surface area contact with the media to be heated (paras [0573]-[0574]).
Rondo and Kong are combinable as they are both concerned with energy storage systems that convert energy from renewable energy resources into heat for steam generation and other processes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Kong in view of Rondo such that the photovoltaic power source in Kong is a photovoltaic array comprising a plurality of solar panels and the electric heater with heating element is a plurality of electric heaters comprising heating elements as taught by Rondo ([0025]-[0026], [0165]-[0166] Figs. 2-3 see: photovoltaic cells 201/310 providing power for heating elements 207 also shown in Figs. 66(A)-70) as Rondo teaches this allows greater control over the heating and temperature within the vessel and can provide greater surface area contact with the media to be heated (paras [0573]-[0574]).
Regarding claim 15 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the first working fluid is molten salt or heat transfer oil (para [n0029] see: heat transfer oil), and the second working fluid is water which enters the thermal energy storage vessel in a liquid state and is heated by the thermal mass composition to produce steam (para [n0031] see: high-temperature heat storage box 1 is also equipped with a first heat exchanger 29 absorbing heat from high-temperature heat storage box 1 to provide steam).
Regarding claim 16 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 15, and Kong further discloses wherein the second closed flow loop is associated with a Rankine cycle power generation system comprising a steam turbine and an electric generator operably coupled thereto, the steam flowing through the second closed flow loop to the steam turbine to generate electricity via the generator (paras [n0031], [n0033] see: high-temperature heat storage box 1 is also equipped with a first heat exchanger 29 absorbing heat from high-temperature heat storage box 1 to provide steam, and as loop with evaporator 30, it is known to provide such a working fluid in a closed loop to a turbine 31 for power generation 30).
Regarding claim 22 Kong discloses a hybrid solar energy system comprising:
a thermal energy storage vessel containing a thermal mass composition operable to store thermal energy (paras [n0029], [0062], Fig. 2 see: thermal storage tank group including high-temperature thermal storage tank 1 filled with a first phase change heat storage material);
a concentrated solar power collector fluidly coupled to the thermal energy storage vessel by a first closed flow loop (paras [n0029], Fig. 2 see: solar collector 24 coupled to tank 1 by a conduit at heat exchange pipeline 28), the concentrated solar power collector configured to absorb solar energy and heat a first working fluid which is circulated through the first flow loop and the thermal energy storage vessel by a first pump to heat the thermal mass composition (para [n0029], Fig. 2 see: solar collector 24 generates heat from the sun heating a heat transfer oil within the conduit including by first heat transfer oil pump 15);
a photovoltaic power source configured to absorb solar energy and generate electric power (Abstract, paras [n0029], [n0015] Fig. 2 see: electric heating box 19 powered by “solar curtailment” considered to mean electricity generated from a photovoltaic solar source);
an auxiliary heating vessel comprising an internal cavity configured to receive the first working fluid from the first closed flow loop (Abstract, paras [n0029], [n0015] Fig. 2 see: electric heating box 19 for receiving the heat transfer oil), the auxiliary heating vessel comprising an electric heater powered by the photovoltaic power source (Abstract), the electric heater operable to heat the first working fluid and return the heated first working fluid to the thermal energy storage vessel (Abstract, paras [n0029], [n0015] Fig. 2 see: electric heating box 19 having a heating element heating the heat transfer oil and connected to heat exchange pipeline 28 by valve 22).
Kong does not explicitly disclose the photovoltaic power source is a photovoltaic array comprising a plurality of solar panels or that the electric heater is a plurality of electric heaters.
Rondo teaches providing a photovoltaic power source of a photovoltaic array comprising a plurality of solar panels to provide power for a plurality of electric heaters ([0025]-[0026], [0165]-[0166] Figs. 2-3 see: photovoltaic cells 201/310 providing power for heating elements 207 also shown in Figs. 66(A)-70). Rondo teaches this allows greater control over the heating and temperature within the vessel and can provide greater surface area contact with the media to be heated (paras [0573]-[0574]).
Rondo and Kong are combinable as they are both concerned with energy storage systems that convert energy from renewable energy resources into heat for steam generation and other processes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Kong in view of Rondo such that the photovoltaic power source in Kong is a photovoltaic array comprising a plurality of solar panels and the electric heater is a plurality of electric heaters as taught by Rondo ([0025]-[0026], [0165]-[0166] Figs. 2-3 see: photovoltaic cells 201/310 providing power for heating elements 207 also shown in Figs. 66(A)-70) as Rondo teaches this allows greater control over the heating and temperature within the vessel and can provide greater surface area contact with the media to be heated (paras [0573]-[0574]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (CN 116658967A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Rondo (US 2022/0170386) as applied to claims 1, 15-16, and 22 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al (US 2014/0290248).
Regarding claim 2 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the concentrated solar power collector comprises a plurality of heliostats and a vertically elongated power tower comprising at least one thermal receiver which forms an integral fluidic part of the first closed flow loop, the heliostats being operable to direct sunlight onto the at least one thermal receiver to heat the first working fluid which flows therethrough.
Kobayashi discloses a system comprising a concentrated solar power collector comprises a plurality of heliostats (Fig. 1 see: heliostats 6) and a vertically elongated power tower (Fig. 1 see: tower-like solar heat receiving device 5) comprising at least one thermal receiver which forms an integral fluidic part of a first closed flow loop ([0035], [0037], Fig. 1 see: solar heat receiver 10 forming an integral part of a working fluid loop through heat medium rising pipe 21 and heat medium falling pipe 22), the heliostats being operable to direct sunlight onto the at least one thermal receiver to heat the first working fluid which flows therethrough ([0035], Fig. 1 see: heliostats 6 focus light through apertures 12 onto solar heat receiver 10).
Kobayashi and modified Kong are combinable as they are both concerned with concentrated solar power collectors for energy generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Kong in view of Kobayashi such that the concentrated solar power collector of Kobayashi comprises a plurality of heliostats as taught by Kobayashi (Fig. 1 see: heliostats 6) and a vertically elongated power tower as taught by Kobayashi (Fig. 1 see: tower-like solar heat receiving device 5) comprising at least one thermal receiver which forms an integral fluidic part of the first closed flow loop of Kong as taught by Kobayashi ([0035], [0037], Fig. 1 see: solar heat receiver 10 forming an integral part of a working fluid loop through heat medium rising pipe 21 and heat medium falling pipe 22), the heliostats being operable to direct sunlight onto the at least one thermal receiver to heat the first working fluid which flows therethrough as taught by Kobayashi ([0035], Fig. 1 see: heliostats 6 focus light through apertures 12 onto solar heat receiver 10) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known concentrated solar power collector design for its intended use in the known environment of a power generation system to accomplish the entirely expected result of concentrating solar heat to heat a working fluid.
Regarding claim 3 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 2, and Kobayashi discloses wherein the at least one thermal receiver comprises a plurality of heat exchange tubes coupled between a top outlet header and a bottom inlet header, the first working fluid being flowable through the heat exchange tubes of the at least one thermal receiver ([0036]-[0037], Figs. 1-2 see: heat receiver tubes 16 coupled between lower header 18 (inlet) and upper header 17 (outlet), with heat medium rising pipe 21 coupled to lower header 18 and heat medium falling pipe 22 coupled to upper header 17).
Claims 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (CN 116658967A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Rondo (US 2022/0170386) as applied to claims 1, 15-16, and 22 above, and further in view of Linwit et al (US 2010/0301062).
Regarding claim 4 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 1, further comprising:
an auxiliary heating vessel comprising an internal cavity fluidly coupled to the first closed flow loop by a third closed flow loop (para [n0029], Fig. 2 see: electric heating box 19 forms a vessel for receiving heat transfer oil and coupled to the solar collector 24 flow loop through a flow loop with valves 18, 22, 26);
the electric heaters being operable to heat the first working fluid which is returned to the first closed flow loop via the third closed flow loop para [n0029], Fig. 2 see: electric heating box 19 (including heating elements) heats the heat transfer oil and returns it to the first flow loop through opening valve 22).
Modified Kong does not explicitly disclose where the heating elements of the electric heaters being immersed in the first working fluid in the internal cavity of the auxiliary heating vessel.
Linwit teaches it is known to provide such electric heaters as immersion electric heaters in a first working fluid in the internal cavity of a heating vessel ([0023], Fig. 2A see: one or more immersion heaters 62 used to heat hot storage region fluid within cavity 45 of storage tank).
Linwit and modified Kong are combinable as they are both concerned with concentrated solar power collectors for energy generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Kong in view of Linwit such that the heating elements of the electric heaters of modified Kong are immersed in the first working fluid in the internal cavity of the auxiliary heating vessel of Kong as taught by Linwit ([0023], Fig. 2A see: one or more immersion heaters 62 used to heat hot storage region fluid within cavity 45 of storage tank) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known electric heater arrangement for its intended use in the known environment of a thermal storage vessel to accomplish the entirely expected result of heating the heat transfer oil in modified Kong.
Regarding claim 5 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 4, and Kong discloses wherein the third closed flow loop comprises a third pump configured and operable to extract the first working fluid from the first closed flow loop and circulate the first working fluid through the third closed flow loop and the auxiliary heating vessel ([n0029], Fig. 2 see: third flow loop includes second heat transfer oil pump 21 for circulating heat transfer oil through third flow loop including electric heating box 19 and including from the first flow loop).
Regarding claim 6 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 5, wherein the third pump is operable to recirculate the first working fluid in a flow path through the third closed flow loop, the auxiliary heating vessel, and the thermal energy storage vessel independently of the solar collector ([n0029], Fig. 2 see: second heat transfer oil pump 21 for circulating heat transfer oil where circulation can be independent of solar heat collectors 24 when valves 23, 26, and 27 are closed).
Regarding claim 7 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 6, wherein the first working fluid leaving the auxiliary heating vessel after heating by the electric heaters is returned to the first closed flow loop on an inlet fluid side of the thermal energy storage vessel to heat the thermal mass composition therein ([n0029], Fig. 2 see: heat transfer oil from electric heating box 19 enters tank 1 at the inlet side of heat exchanger pipeline 28).
Regarding claim 8 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 6, wherein the third closed flow loop is arranged to extract the first working fluid from the first closed flow loop downstream of the thermal energy storage vessel ([n0029], Fig. 2 see: flow loop with electric heating box 19 extracts heat transfer oil downstream of tank 1 when valve 18 is open).
Regarding claim 9 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 6, wherein the first and third closed flow loops are configured so that the first working fluid circulating in the first closed flow loop is combinable with the first working fluid circulating simultaneously in the third closed flow loop to heat the thermal mass composition in the thermal energy storage vessel using solar energy derived from both the photovoltaic array and concentrated solar power collector ([n0029], Fig. 2 see: heat transfer oil from both electric heating box 19 and solar heat collectors 24 is combinable in the flow loop to high temperature heat storage box (tank) 1 when valves 22 and 27 are open).
Regarding claim 10 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 6, wherein the first and third closed flow loops are configurable via valving in each to form a first flow path configuration in which the first working fluid is circulated via the third pump through the thermal energy storage vessel and the auxiliary heating vessel but bypassing the concentrated solar power collector which is fluidly isolated from third closed flow loop ([n0029], Fig. 2 see: second heat transfer oil pump 21 for circulating heat transfer oil from electric heating box 19 to high temperature heat storage box (tank) 1 where circulation can be independent of solar heat collectors 24 when valves 23, 26, and 27 are closed).
Regarding claim 11 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 5, wherein the first and third closed flow loops are configurable via valving in each to form a second flow path configuration in which the first working fluid is circulated via the first and third pumps through the thermal energy storage vessel and the auxiliary heating vessel in combination with being circulated through the concentrated solar power collector ([n0029], Fig. 2 see: heat transfer oil from both electric heating box 19 and solar heat collectors 24 is combinable in the flow loop to high temperature heat storage box (tank) 1 when valves 22 and 27 are open and using pumps 15, 21).
Regarding claim 12 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 4, wherein the first closed flow loop comprises a first plurality of first heat exchange tubes embedded in the thermal mass composition in the thermal energy storage vessel, and the second closed flow loop comprises a second plurality of second heat exchange tubes embedded in the thermal mass composition ([0059], [n0033] Fig. 2 see: heat exchange pipeline 28 of the high-temperature heat storage tank 1 and evaporator 30 are immersion heat exchangers located inside the high-temperature heat storage tank 1).
Regarding claim 13 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 12, wherein the first heat exchange tubes transfer heat from the first working fluid to the thermal mass composition, and the second heat exchange tubes absorb heat from the thermal mass composition ([n0029], Fig. 2 see: heat exchange pipeline 28 transfers heat from heat transfer oil to high temperature heat storage box (tank) 1 which then transfer heat to evaporator 30 and heat exchanger 29).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (CN 116658967A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Rondo (US 2022/0170386) in view of Linwit et al (US 2010/0301062) as applied to claims 1,4-13, 15-16, and 22 above, and further in view of France et al (US 2020/0363132).
Regarding claim 14 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first plurality of heat exchange tubes are vertically oriented and fluidly coupled to a top inlet header and bottom outlet header forming integral fluidic parts of the first closed flow loop, the first and third closed flow loops each being fluidly coupled directly to the top inlet header.
France discloses a thermal energy storage tank having a first plurality of heat exchange tubes vertically oriented and fluidly coupled to a top inlet header and bottom outlet header forming integral fluidic parts of a first closed flow loop ([0053]-[0057], [0076] Figs. 3A-3B see: heat exchange tubes between an upper and lower header with second fluid 26, although this can be first fluid 24, and flow directions can be reversed). France discloses this arrangement increases heat transfer rates to and from the phase change material of the heat storage tank (para [0038]).
France and modified Kong are combinable as they are both concerned with concentrated solar power collectors for energy generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Kong in view of France such that the first plurality of heat exchange tubes are vertically oriented and fluidly coupled to a top inlet header and bottom outlet header forming integral fluidic parts of the first closed flow loop as in France ([0053]-[0057], [0076] Figs. 3A-3B see: heat exchange tubes between an upper and lower header with second fluid 26, although this can be first fluid 24, and flow directions can be reversed) as France discloses this arrangement increases heat transfer rates to and from the phase change material of the heat storage tank (para [0038]). Furthermore, by such a modification, the first and third closed flow loops of Kong are each fluidly coupled directly to the top inlet header.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (CN 116658967A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Rondo (US 2022/0170386) as applied to claims 1, 15-16, and 22 above, and further in view of Shen et al (CN 110332086A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 17 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 16, and although Kong discloses such second closed flow loops can include a condenser operable to receive and condense steam exhausted from the steam turbine (Fig. 2 see: first organic Rankine cycle condenser) Kong does not explicitly disclose a seawater desalination plant fluidly coupled to the condenser to receive waste heat extracted from the condensing the steam.
However, Shen teaches such working fluid loops can further include a condenser operable to receive and condense steam exhausted from the steam turbine and a seawater desalination plant fluidly coupled to the condenser to receive waste heat extracted from the condensing the steam (page 3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: steam generator 6 sending steam to steam turbine 9 and connected to condenser type seawater/brackish water desalination system 8) where Shen teaches this allows waste heat from the steam turbine 9 to be used for water desalination (bottom of page 3 of translation).
Shen and modified Kong are combinable as they are both concerned with concentrated solar power collectors for energy generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Kong in view of Shen such that a second closed flow loop of Kong includes a condenser operable to receive and condense steam exhausted from the steam turbine with a seawater desalination plant fluidly coupled to the condenser to receive waste heat extracted from the condensing the steam as in Shen (page 3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: steam generator 6 sending steam to steam turbine 9 and connected to condenser type seawater/brackish water desalination system 8) as Shen teaches this allows waste heat from the steam turbine 9 to be used for water desalination (bottom of page 3 of translation).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (CN 116658967A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Rondo (US 2022/0170386) as applied to claims 1, 15-16, and 22 above, and further in view of Muren (US 2014/0251310).
Regarding claim 18 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 1, wherein the thermal mass composition comprises a phase change material in the form of solid particles at ambient temperature (para [0117] see: high-temperature heat storage chamber 1 includes a PCM such as NaNO3 KNO3) but does not explicitly disclose said PCM mixed with a metallic material also in the form of solid particles at ambient temperature.
Muren discloses a thermal mass composition comprises a phase change material mixed with a metallic material in the form of solid particles at ambient temperature (Muren, [0032], [0035]-[0038], [0041] Figs. 1, 4-5 see: thermal energy storage medium 106 mixed with filler shapes 401 in forms such as briquettes of aluminum, copper or steel). Muren teaches this metallic material supplements the thermal conductivity of the phase change material enabling more effective transfer of thermal energy into and out of the phase change material (para [0032]).
Muren and modified Kong are combinable as they are both concerned with concentrated solar power collectors for energy generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Kong in view of Muren such that the phase change material of Kong is further mixed with a metallic material in the form of solid particles at ambient temperature as taught by Muren ([0032], [0035]-[0038], [0041] Figs. 1, 4-5 see: thermal energy storage medium 106 mixed with filler shapes 401 in forms such as briquettes of aluminum, copper or steel) as Muren teaches this metallic material supplements the thermal conductivity of the phase change material enabling more effective transfer of thermal energy into and out of the phase change material (para [0032]).
Regarding claim 19 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 18, and in modified Kong, the metallic material (aluminum, copper, steel) has a higher melting temperature than the phase change material (NaNO3 KNO3).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al (CN 116658967A, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Rondo (US 2022/0170386) as applied to claims 1, 15-16, and 22 above, and further in view of HU et al (CN 114593453A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 20 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the photovoltaic array is electrically coupled to an electric switching system which in turn is electrically coupled to the electric heaters and an electric power grid, the electric switching system being configured and operable to direct electric power generated by the solar panels to either the electric power grid or the electric heaters.
HU discloses a solar thermal energy system where a photovoltaic panel power source is electrically coupled to an electric switching system which in turn is electrically coupled to an electric heater and an electric power grid, the electric switching system being configured and operable to direct electric power generated by the solar panel to either the electric power grid or the electric heaters (para [n0019] Fig. 1 see: grid controller 122 operable to control electrical energy output from inverter 102 of photoelectric acquisition unit GD to be connected to the AC mains power grid to realize electricity sales or as the power source of the electric heater 115). HU teaches this allows power from the solar panels to be fed to the grid for electricity sales when the electric heater is not needed or allows grid power to run the electric heater when solar panel power is insufficient (para [n0019]).
HU and modified Kong are combinable as they are both concerned with concentrated solar power collectors for energy generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Kong in view of HU such that the photovoltaic array of modified Kong is electrically coupled to an electric switching system which in turn is electrically coupled to the electric heaters and an electric power grid as in HU, the electric switching system being configured and operable to direct electric power generated by the solar panels to either the electric power grid or the electric heaters as in HU (para [n0019] Fig. 1 see: grid controller 122 operable to control electrical energy output from inverter 102 of photoelectric acquisition unit GD to be connected to the AC mains power grid to realize electricity sales or as the power source of the electric heater 115) as HU teaches this allows power from the solar panels to be fed to the grid for electricity sales when the electric heater is not needed or allows grid power to run the electric heater when solar panel power is insufficient (para [n0019]).
Regarding claim 21 modified Kong discloses the system according to claim 20, and HU further discloses wherein the electric switching system is configured and operable to direct electric power extracted from the electric power grid to the electric heaters when the photovoltaic array is not in operation (para [n0019] Fig. 1 see: grid controller 122 operable to control use of 220V AV mains power as the power source of electric heater 115).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wang et al (CN 109900001A, reference made to attached English machine translation) discloses in Fig 1 a system including a working fluid loop of a tower-type solar heliostat 2 and receiver 3 flowing to a first molten salt tank 4 with a first electric heater 30 powered by solar photovoltaic panels 27 and also flowing to a superheater 5/steam generator 12 for heating a second fluid loop for generating steam to power turbine 7 for electric generator 8.
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726