DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-21 are pending. Claim 1 is cancelled.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not describe the claimed invention. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 2-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites ‘providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets and to the monitored property of the set of monitored properties’ and the meaning of this phrase is not entirely clear, particularly ‘and to the monitored property of the set of monitored properties’.
Claims 14 and 21 recite similar language to claim 2 and are rejected based on the same rationale.
The respective dependent claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as they inherit all of the characteristics of the claim from which they depend and none of the dependent claims provide a cure for the indefiniteness of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 11-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140277761 (hereinafter Matsuoka) in view of Silva et al. U.S. Patent No. 7809472 (hereinafter Silva).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuoka teaches a system [0046, Figs. 1-2 and 4 — a system 100 for managing demand-response programs and events] comprising:
one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers [0093-0095, Fig. 6 — Instructions stored on computer-readable storage medium 612 may direct system 600 to perform the methods and processes described herein… Each such computer-program product may comprise sets of instructions (e.g., codes) embodied on a computer-readable medium that directs the processor of a computer system to perform corresponding operations], to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising:
obtaining, by the one or more computers and for each monitored property of a set of monitored properties in a geographic area and electrically connected to a utility power grid, a corresponding duty cycle for the monitored property [0103-0108, Figs. 1-2 and 7 — a process 700 for controlling an HVAC system during a demand-response event… A DR program is a program that attempts to reduce load on the electrical grid supplying the energy consumer residences 150A-150N (monitored properties) during certain critical times which are generally times when demand gets close to or is expected to exceed supply… the DR event may include information identifying a geographical scope of the DR event, where the geographical scope may describe a region that relates to one or more electrical grids from which load shedding is desired. The region may be defined using any suitable parameters such as state, county, zip code, address, or the like, or may identify one or more particular electrical grids from which such addresses of residences may subsequently be inferred… In operation 704 an optimized control trajectory of an HVAC system is determined to be in effect during the DR event period… The control trajectory may include one or more of a variety of tangible control sequences for controlling the HVAC system, such as a schedule of setpoint temperatures, an HVAC duty cycle schedule, etc. ];
determining, by the one or more computers and for an event for the set of monitored properties, a plurality of runtimes, each runtime of the plurality of runtimes to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property of each of the set of monitored properties [0124, Fig. 9 — The candidate duty cycle schedule includes a number of HVAC system ON periods 818, where the HVAC system is controlled to be in an ON state during those periods and in an OFF state outside of those periods; 0133, Fig. 10 — The HVAC duty cycle 900 includes HVAC ON periods beginning at approximately 1 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, and 5 pm, where the HVAC ON periods beginning at 1 pm and 5 pm; 0137, Fig. 7 — Once the DR event period begins, processing may continue to operation 708, where the HVAC system is controlled in accordance with the control trajectory… where the HVAC control trajectory includes an HVAC duty cycle schedule, thermostat 202 may control an ON/OFF state of HVAC 203 in accordance with the duty cycle schedule. The particular control trajectory used may be that determined as a result of operation 704, and thus may be the control trajectory resulting from optimization of the cost function, a default control trajectory, and/or the original control trajectory];
providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime of the plurality of runtimes and to the monitored property of the set of monitored properties to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property [0124, Fig. 9 — The candidate duty cycle schedule includes a number of HVAC system ON periods 818, where the HVAC system is controlled to be in an ON state during those periods and in an OFF state outside of those periods; 0133, Fig. 10 — The HVAC duty cycle 900 includes HVAC ON periods beginning at approximately 1 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, and 5 pm, where the HVAC ON periods beginning at 1 pm and 5 pm; 0137, Fig. 7 — Once the DR event period begins, processing may continue to operation 708, where the HVAC system is controlled in accordance with the control trajectory… where the HVAC control trajectory includes an HVAC duty cycle schedule, thermostat 202 may control an ON/OFF state of HVAC 203 in accordance with the duty cycle schedule. The particular control trajectory used may be that determined as a result of operation 704, and thus may be the control trajectory resulting from optimization of the cost function, a default control trajectory, and/or the original control trajectory].
But Matsuoka fails to clearly determining, by the one or more computers, a plurality of runtime offsets, each runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property, wherein at least one zone has a runtime offset different from at least one other zone; providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets and to the zone to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property.
However, Silva teaches determining, by the one or more computers, a plurality of runtime offsets, each runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property, wherein at least one zone has a runtime offset different from at least one other zone; providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets and to the zone to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property [col. 4 lines 37-53 — an environmental control system for controlling the environment within a plurality of zones within a building with a plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units; col. 11 line 49 – col. 12 line 54, Figs. 8-10 — the thermal duty cycle for the area heated or cooled by an HVAC unit 20 and is used to determine the scheduling of HVAC units 20 among controllers 30… each controller 30 joins the LAN 50 network to determine a schedule for staggered (runtime offset) start function and demand leveling function… the first algorithm presents a staggered start function that allows only one HVAC unit 20 to operate at a time… the staggered start function is shown in FIG. 8. The environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 21 in zone 11 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.11. The temperature T.sub.11 within the zone 11 is correspondingly reduced by the operation of HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11. After the termination of operation of the HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11, the environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 22 in zone 12 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.12. ].
Matsuoka and Silva are analogous art. They relate to energy management systems, particularly involving HVAC.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Matsuoka, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Silva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility, as taught by Silva [col. 3 lines 48-51, col. 4 lines 54-65], thus better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010] .
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Matsuoka teaches prior to a time period during on-peak hours, instructing, by the one or more computers, a Heating Ventilation and Air Conditioning (HVAC) system of at least some of the monitored properties to execute a pre-cooling or a pre-heating process including the runtime offset, wherein the pre-cooling or the pre-heating process instructs the HVAC system to reach a set temperature in the monitored property before on-peak hours [0103-0108, Figs. 1-2 and 7 — a process 700 for controlling an HVAC system during a demand-response event… a schedule of setpoint temperatures… a DR event period which defines the time period over which energy reduction mechanisms are to be actively engaged. The time period may be on the order of minutes, tens of minutes, hours, tens of hours, or other suitable time period for which energy shifting is desired. In at least one embodiment, a DR event period may be on the order of a few minutes and referred to as an `instantaneous DR event`, which is an event narrowly tailored to an expected peak in aggregate energy demand; 0117, Fig. 9-11 — optimized schedule of setpoint temperatures should ultimately reduce the amount of energy consumed during the DR event period. To assist in such a reduction, a pre-cooling is performed during the pre-event period. In this particular example, pre-cooling is performed over the course of the pre-event period (i.e., from 1 pm to 2 pm), at a temperature offset defined by the first parameter 810].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Matsuoka teaches adjusting the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for each monitored property of at least some of the set of monitored properties comprises setting a duty cycle of an HVAC system of the monitored property with respect to another HVAC system of a different monitored property of the set of monitored properties [0103-0108, Figs. 1-2 and 7 — a process 700 for controlling an HVAC system during a demand-response event… a DR event period which defines the time period over which energy reduction mechanisms are to be actively engaged. The time period may be on the order of minutes, tens of minutes, hours, tens of hours, or other suitable time period for which energy shifting is desired. In at least one embodiment, a DR event period may be on the order of a few minutes and referred to as an `instantaneous DR event`, which is an event narrowly tailored to an expected peak in aggregate energy demand…. A DR program is a program that attempts to reduce load on the electrical grid supplying the energy consumer residences 150A-150N (monitored properties) during certain critical times which are generally times when demand gets close to or is expected to exceed supply… the DR event may include information identifying a geographical scope of the DR event, where the geographical scope may describe a region that relates to one or more electrical grids from which load shedding is desired. The region may be defined using any suitable parameters such as state, county, zip code, address, or the like, or may identify one or more particular electrical grids from which such addresses of residences may subsequently be inferred… In operation 704 an optimized control trajectory of an HVAC system is determined to be in effect during the DR event period… The control trajectory may include one or more of a variety of tangible control sequences for controlling the HVAC system, such as a schedule of setpoint temperatures, an HVAC duty cycle schedule, etc. ].
Further, Silva teaches adjusting the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for each monitored property comprises staggering a duty cycle of an HVAC system of the zone with respect to another HVAC system of a different zone [col. 11 line 49 – col. 12 line 54, Figs. 8-10 — the thermal duty cycle for the area heated or cooled by an HVAC unit 20 and is used to determine the scheduling of HVAC units 20 among controllers 30… each controller 30 joins the LAN 50 network to determine a schedule for staggered (runtime offset) start function and demand leveling function… the first algorithm presents a staggered start function that allows only one HVAC unit 20 to operate at a time… the staggered start function is shown in FIG. 8. The environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 21 in zone 11 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.11. The temperature T.sub.11 within the zone 11 is correspondingly reduced by the operation of HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11. After the termination of operation of the HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11, the environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 22 in zone 12 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.12].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Matsuoka, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Silva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility, as taught by Silva [col. 3 lines 48-51, col. 4 lines 54-65], thus better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Matsuoka teaches setting duty-cycles across the set of monitored properties, wherein the duty cycles are used by control units instructing HVAC systems of respective monitored properties to turn on and off to pre-cool or pre-heat respective temperatures of respective monitored properties before on-peak power usage hours [0103-0108, Figs. 1-2 and 7 — a process 700 for controlling an HVAC system during a demand-response event… a DR event period which defines the time period over which energy reduction mechanisms are to be actively engaged. The time period may be on the order of minutes, tens of minutes, hours, tens of hours, or other suitable time period for which energy shifting is desired. In at least one embodiment, a DR event period may be on the order of a few minutes and referred to as an `instantaneous DR event`, which is an event narrowly tailored to an expected peak in aggregate energy demand…. A DR program is a program that attempts to reduce load on the electrical grid supplying the energy consumer residences 150A-150N (monitored properties) during certain critical times which are generally times when demand gets close to or is expected to exceed supply… the DR event may include information identifying a geographical scope of the DR event, where the geographical scope may describe a region that relates to one or more electrical grids from which load shedding is desired. The region may be defined using any suitable parameters such as state, county, zip code, address, or the like, or may identify one or more particular electrical grids from which such addresses of residences may subsequently be inferred… In operation 704 an optimized control trajectory of an HVAC system is determined to be in effect during the DR event period… The control trajectory may include one or more of a variety of tangible control sequences for controlling the HVAC system, such as a schedule of setpoint temperatures, an HVAC duty cycle schedule, etc.; 0117, Fig. 9-11 — optimized schedule of setpoint temperatures should ultimately reduce the amount of energy consumed during the DR event period. To assist in such a reduction, a pre-cooling is performed during the pre-event period. In this particular example, pre-cooling is performed over the course of the pre-event period (i.e., from 1 pm to 2 pm), at a temperature offset defined by the first parameter 810 ].
Further, Silva teaches staggering duty-cycles across the set of zones [col. 11 line 49 – col. 12 line 54, Figs. 8-10 — the thermal duty cycle for the area heated or cooled by an HVAC unit 20 and is used to determine the scheduling of HVAC units 20 among controllers 30… each controller 30 joins the LAN 50 network to determine a schedule for staggered (runtime offset) start function and demand leveling function… the first algorithm presents a staggered start function that allows only one HVAC unit 20 to operate at a time… the staggered start function is shown in FIG. 8. The environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 21 in zone 11 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.11. The temperature T.sub.11 within the zone 11 is correspondingly reduced by the operation of HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11. After the termination of operation of the HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11, the environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 22 in zone 12 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.12].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Matsuoka, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Silva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility, as taught by Silva [col. 3 lines 48-51, col. 4 lines 54-65], thus better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Matsuoka teaches adjusting a scheduled operation for an HVAC system at the monitored property [0124, Fig. 9 — The candidate duty cycle schedule includes a number of HVAC system ON periods 818, where the HVAC system is controlled to be in an ON state during those periods and in an OFF state outside of those periods; 0133, Fig. 10 — The HVAC duty cycle 900 includes HVAC ON periods beginning at approximately 1 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, and 5 pm, where the HVAC ON periods beginning at 1 pm and 5 pm; 0137, Fig. 7 — Once the DR event period begins, processing may continue to operation 708, where the HVAC system is controlled in accordance with the control trajectory… where the HVAC control trajectory includes an HVAC duty cycle schedule, thermostat 202 may control an ON/OFF state of HVAC 203 in accordance with the duty cycle schedule. The particular control trajectory used may be that determined as a result of operation 704, and thus may be the control trajectory resulting from optimization of the cost function, a default control trajectory, and/or the original control trajectory].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Matsuoka teaches providing, to at least some of the monitored properties of the set of monitored properties, data to cause an adjustment to a local energy model used by the respective the monitored property to generate adjusted runtimes [0126-0128, Fig. 8 — the candidate setpoint schedule for each candidate parameter set may be applied to a prediction model-based simulation of the HVAC system. A prediction model-based simulation of the HVAC system may include, and may continuously update, a model of the HVAC system that is operable to predict the thermodynamic behavior of a structure, for example the model may be operable to predict an indoor temperature profile and/or an HVAC duty cycle schedule for a schedule of setpoint temperatures; 0065, Fig. 2 — an intelligent, network-connected device 300; 0072, Figs. 3-6 — intelligence components 316 can be implemented in the form of general-purpose processors carrying out computer code stored in local memory (e.g., flash memory, hard drive, random access memory), special-purpose processors or application-specific integrated circuits, combinations thereof, and/or using other types of hardware/firmware/software processing platforms. The intelligence components 316 can furthermore be implemented as localized versions or counterparts of algorithms carried out or governed remotely by central servers or cloud-based systems].
Further, Silva teaches adjusted runtimes in response to one or more load shifts at the monitored property [col. 4 lines 37-53 — an environmental control system for controlling the environment within a plurality of zones within a building with a plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units; col. 11 line 49 – col. 12 line 54, Figs. 8-10 — the thermal duty cycle for the area heated or cooled by an HVAC unit 20 and is used to determine the scheduling of HVAC units 20 among controllers 30… each controller 30 joins the LAN 50 network to determine a schedule for staggered (runtime offset) start function and demand leveling function… the first algorithm presents a staggered start function that allows only one HVAC unit 20 to operate at a time… the staggered start function is shown in FIG. 8. The environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 21 in zone 11 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.11. The temperature T.sub.11 within the zone 11 is correspondingly reduced by the operation of HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11. After the termination of operation of the HVAC unit 21 (load shift) in the zone 11, the environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 22 in zone 12 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.12. ].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Matsuoka, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Silva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility, as taught by Silva [col. 3 lines 48-51, col. 4 lines 54-65], thus better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010] .
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Silva teaches providing instructions to cause a controller at a respective monitored property to perform operations comprising: detecting usage of a first appliance during on-peak hours; and in response, adjusting a duty cycle for a second appliance during the on-peak hours to reduce a total energy usage at the property during the on-peak hours [col. 4 lines 37-65 — an environmental control system for controlling the environment within a plurality of zones within a building with a plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units… the controller controls the thermostat control to reduce the peak demand in electrical power required by all of the plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units.; col. 11 line 49 – col. 12 line 54, Figs. 8-10 — the thermal duty cycle for the area heated or cooled by an HVAC unit 20 and is used to determine the scheduling of HVAC units 20 among controllers 30… each controller 30 joins the LAN 50 network to determine a schedule for staggered (runtime offset) start function and demand leveling function… the first algorithm presents a staggered start function that allows only one HVAC unit 20 to operate at a time… the staggered start function is shown in FIG. 8. The environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 21 in zone 11 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.11. The temperature T.sub.11 within the zone 11 is correspondingly reduced by the operation of HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11. After the termination of operation of the HVAC unit 21 (first appliance) in the zone 11, the environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 22 (second appliance) in zone 12 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.12. ; col. 13 lines 19-42 — environmental control system 5 has the ability to control the total peak demand of multiple HVAC units 21-23… The first algorithm presents a non-overlapping mode, which provides for staggered start function and continuing peak demand leveling function using a mechanism that allows only one of the HVAC units 21-23 to operate at a time].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Matsuoka, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Silva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility, as taught by Silva [col. 3 lines 48-51, col. 4 lines 54-65], thus better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010] .
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Matsuoka teaches providing instructions to cause a reduction of a duty-cycle budget for the appliance [0103-0108, Figs. 1-2 and 7 — a process 700 for controlling an HVAC system during a demand-response event… a schedule of setpoint temperatures… a DR event period which defines the time period over which energy reduction mechanisms are to be actively engaged. The time period may be on the order of minutes, tens of minutes, hours, tens of hours, or other suitable time period for which energy shifting is desired. In at least one embodiment, a DR event period may be on the order of a few minutes and referred to as an `instantaneous DR event`, which is an event narrowly tailored to an expected peak in aggregate energy demand; 0124-0125, Fig. 9 — The candidate duty cycle schedule includes a number of HVAC system ON periods 818 (reduced duty-cycle compared to maximum duty cycle 820), where the HVAC system is controlled to be in an ON state during those periods and in an OFF state outside of those periods. In some embodiments, a fourth parameter 820 is indicative of a maximum HVAC duty cycle period. For example, the maximum HVAC duty cycle period may indicate a maximum ON time of 45 minutes for every 60 minute period. The fourth parameter 820 need not be indicative of a maximum ON time, …. the maximum duty cycle length].
Further, Silva teaches providing instructions to cause a change of a duty-cycle budget for the second appliance during the on-peak hours [col. 4 lines 37-65 — an environmental control system for controlling the environment within a plurality of zones within a building with a plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units… the controller controls the thermostat control to reduce the peak demand in electrical power required by all of the plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units.; col. 11 line 49 – col. 12 line 54, Figs. 8-10 — the thermal duty cycle for the area heated or cooled by an HVAC unit 20 and is used to determine the scheduling of HVAC units 20 among controllers 30… each controller 30 joins the LAN 50 network to determine a schedule for staggered (runtime offset) start function and demand leveling function… the first algorithm presents a staggered start function that allows only one HVAC unit 20 to operate at a time… the staggered start function is shown in FIG. 8. The environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 21 in zone 11 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.11. The temperature T.sub.11 within the zone 11 is correspondingly reduced by the operation of HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11. After the termination of operation of the HVAC unit 21 (first appliance) in the zone 11, the environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 22 (second appliance) in zone 12 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.12. ; col. 13 lines 19-42 — environmental control system 5 has the ability to control the total peak demand of multiple HVAC units 21-23… The first algorithm presents a non-overlapping mode, which provides for staggered start function and continuing peak demand leveling function using a mechanism that allows only one of the HVAC units 21-23 to operate at a time].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by Matsuoka, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Silva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility, as taught by Silva [col. 3 lines 48-51, col. 4 lines 54-65], thus better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010] .
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Matsuoka teaches the set of monitored properties comprises a hotel, commercial building, or multi-family home [0051 — Residences 150A-150N are a variety of structures or enclosures that are associated with energy consumption. The structures may span a variety of structure types, such as private residences, houses, apartments, condominiums, schools, commercial properties, single or multi-level office buildings, and/or manufacturing facilities].
Regarding claim 14, Matsuoka teaches a computer-implemented method [0010-0011 — methods for carrying out demand response (DR) events; 0093-0095, Fig. 6 — Instructions stored on computer-readable storage medium 612 may direct system 600 to perform the methods and processes described herein… . Each such computer-program product may comprise sets of instructions (e.g., codes) embodied on a computer-readable medium that directs the processor of a computer system to perform corresponding operations] comprising:
obtaining, by one or more computers and for each monitored property of a set of monitored properties in a geographic area and electrically connected to a utility power grid, a corresponding duty cycle for the monitored property [0103-0108, Figs. 1-2 and 7 — a process 700 for controlling an HVAC system during a demand-response event… A DR program is a program that attempts to reduce load on the electrical grid supplying the energy consumer residences 150A-150N (monitored properties) during certain critical times which are generally times when demand gets close to or is expected to exceed supply… the DR event may include information identifying a geographical scope of the DR event, where the geographical scope may describe a region that relates to one or more electrical grids from which load shedding is desired. The region may be defined using any suitable parameters such as state, county, zip code, address, or the like, or may identify one or more particular electrical grids from which such addresses of residences may subsequently be inferred… In operation 704 an optimized control trajectory of an HVAC system is determined to be in effect during the DR event period… The control trajectory may include one or more of a variety of tangible control sequences for controlling the HVAC system, such as a schedule of setpoint temperatures, an HVAC duty cycle schedule, etc. ];
determining, by the one or more computers and for an event for the set of monitored properties, a plurality of runtimes, each runtime of the plurality of runtimes to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property of the at least some of the set of monitored properties [0124, Fig. 9 — The candidate duty cycle schedule includes a number of HVAC system ON periods 818, where the HVAC system is controlled to be in an ON state during those periods and in an OFF state outside of those periods; 0133, Fig. 10 — The HVAC duty cycle 900 includes HVAC ON periods beginning at approximately 1 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, and 5 pm, where the HVAC ON periods beginning at 1 pm and 5 pm; 0137, Fig. 7 — Once the DR event period begins, processing may continue to operation 708, where the HVAC system is controlled in accordance with the control trajectory… where the HVAC control trajectory includes an HVAC duty cycle schedule, thermostat 202 may control an ON/OFF state of HVAC 203 in accordance with the duty cycle schedule. The particular control trajectory used may be that determined as a result of operation 704, and thus may be the control trajectory resulting from optimization of the cost function, a default control trajectory, and/or the original control trajectory];
providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime of the plurality of runtimes and to the monitored property of the set of monitored properties to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property [0124, Fig. 9 — The candidate duty cycle schedule includes a number of HVAC system ON periods 818, where the HVAC system is controlled to be in an ON state during those periods and in an OFF state outside of those periods; 0133, Fig. 10 — The HVAC duty cycle 900 includes HVAC ON periods beginning at approximately 1 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, and 5 pm, where the HVAC ON periods beginning at 1 pm and 5 pm; 0137, Fig. 7 — Once the DR event period begins, processing may continue to operation 708, where the HVAC system is controlled in accordance with the control trajectory… where the HVAC control trajectory includes an HVAC duty cycle schedule, thermostat 202 may control an ON/OFF state of HVAC 203 in accordance with the duty cycle schedule. The particular control trajectory used may be that determined as a result of operation 704, and thus may be the control trajectory resulting from optimization of the cost function, a default control trajectory, and/or the original control trajectory].
But Matsuoka fails to clearly determining, by the one or more computers, a plurality of runtime offsets, each runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property, wherein at least one zone has a runtime offset different from at least one other zone; providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets and to the zone to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property.
However, Silva teaches determining, by the one or more computers, a plurality of runtime offsets, each runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property, wherein at least one zone has a runtime offset different from at least one other zone; providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets and to the zone to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property [col. 4 lines 37-53 — an environmental control system for controlling the environment within a plurality of zones within a building with a plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units; col. 11 line 49 – col. 12 line 54, Figs. 8-10 — the thermal duty cycle for the area heated or cooled by an HVAC unit 20 and is used to determine the scheduling of HVAC units 20 among controllers 30… each controller 30 joins the LAN 50 network to determine a schedule for staggered (runtime offset) start function and demand leveling function… the first algorithm presents a staggered start function that allows only one HVAC unit 20 to operate at a time… the staggered start function is shown in FIG. 8. The environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 21 in zone 11 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.11. The temperature T.sub.11 within the zone 11 is correspondingly reduced by the operation of HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11. After the termination of operation of the HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11, the environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 22 in zone 12 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.12. ].
Matsuoka and Silva are analogous art. They relate to energy management systems, particularly involving HVAC.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Matsuoka, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Silva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility, as taught by Silva [col. 3 lines 48-51, col. 4 lines 54-65], thus better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010] .
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 21, Matsuoka teaches one or more non-transitory computer storage media encoded with computer program instructions that when executed by one or more computers cause the one or more computers to perform operations [0093-0095, Fig. 6 — Instructions stored on computer-readable storage medium 612 may direct system 600 to perform the methods and processes described herein… . Each such computer-program product may comprise sets of instructions (e.g., codes) embodied on a computer-readable medium that directs the processor of a computer system to perform corresponding operations] comprising:
obtaining, by one or more computers and for each monitored property of a set of monitored properties in a geographic area and electrically connected to a utility power grid, a corresponding duty cycle for the monitored property [0103-0108, Figs. 1-2 and 7 — a process 700 for controlling an HVAC system during a demand-response event… A DR program is a program that attempts to reduce load on the electrical grid supplying the energy consumer residences 150A-150N (monitored properties) during certain critical times which are generally times when demand gets close to or is expected to exceed supply… the DR event may include information identifying a geographical scope of the DR event, where the geographical scope may describe a region that relates to one or more electrical grids from which load shedding is desired. The region may be defined using any suitable parameters such as state, county, zip code, address, or the like, or may identify one or more particular electrical grids from which such addresses of residences may subsequently be inferred… In operation 704 an optimized control trajectory of an HVAC system is determined to be in effect during the DR event period… The control trajectory may include one or more of a variety of tangible control sequences for controlling the HVAC system, such as a schedule of setpoint temperatures, an HVAC duty cycle schedule, etc. ];
determining, by the one or more computers and for an event for the set of monitored properties, a plurality of runtimes, each runtime of the plurality of runtimes to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property of the at least some of the set of monitored properties [0124, Fig. 9 — The candidate duty cycle schedule includes a number of HVAC system ON periods 818, where the HVAC system is controlled to be in an ON state during those periods and in an OFF state outside of those periods; 0133, Fig. 10 — The HVAC duty cycle 900 includes HVAC ON periods beginning at approximately 1 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, and 5 pm, where the HVAC ON periods beginning at 1 pm and 5 pm; 0137, Fig. 7 — Once the DR event period begins, processing may continue to operation 708, where the HVAC system is controlled in accordance with the control trajectory… where the HVAC control trajectory includes an HVAC duty cycle schedule, thermostat 202 may control an ON/OFF state of HVAC 203 in accordance with the duty cycle schedule. The particular control trajectory used may be that determined as a result of operation 704, and thus may be the control trajectory resulting from optimization of the cost function, a default control trajectory, and/or the original control trajectory];
providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime of the plurality of runtimes and to the monitored property of the set of monitored properties to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property [0124, Fig. 9 — The candidate duty cycle schedule includes a number of HVAC system ON periods 818, where the HVAC system is controlled to be in an ON state during those periods and in an OFF state outside of those periods; 0133, Fig. 10 — The HVAC duty cycle 900 includes HVAC ON periods beginning at approximately 1 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm, and 5 pm, where the HVAC ON periods beginning at 1 pm and 5 pm; 0137, Fig. 7 — Once the DR event period begins, processing may continue to operation 708, where the HVAC system is controlled in accordance with the control trajectory… where the HVAC control trajectory includes an HVAC duty cycle schedule, thermostat 202 may control an ON/OFF state of HVAC 203 in accordance with the duty cycle schedule. The particular control trajectory used may be that determined as a result of operation 704, and thus may be the control trajectory resulting from optimization of the cost function, a default control trajectory, and/or the original control trajectory].
But Matsuoka fails to clearly determining, by the one or more computers, a plurality of runtime offsets, each runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property, wherein at least one zone has a runtime offset different from at least one other zone; providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets and to the zone to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property.
However, Silva teaches determining, by the one or more computers, a plurality of runtime offsets, each runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets to adjust a timing of an on-time of the duty cycle of a respective monitored property, wherein at least one zone has a runtime offset different from at least one other zone; providing, by the one or more computers and to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions based on a runtime offset of the plurality of runtime offsets and to the zone to adjust the timing of the on-time of the duty cycle for the monitored property [col. 4 lines 37-53 — an environmental control system for controlling the environment within a plurality of zones within a building with a plurality of heating, ventilating and air conditioning units; col. 11 line 49 – col. 12 line 54, Figs. 8-10 — the thermal duty cycle for the area heated or cooled by an HVAC unit 20 and is used to determine the scheduling of HVAC units 20 among controllers 30… each controller 30 joins the LAN 50 network to determine a schedule for staggered (runtime offset) start function and demand leveling function… the first algorithm presents a staggered start function that allows only one HVAC unit 20 to operate at a time… the staggered start function is shown in FIG. 8. The environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 21 in zone 11 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.11. The temperature T.sub.11 within the zone 11 is correspondingly reduced by the operation of HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11. After the termination of operation of the HVAC unit 21 in the zone 11, the environmental control system 5 initiates operation of HVAC unit 22 in zone 12 as indicated by electrical power levels P.sub.12. ].
Matsuoka and Silva are analogous art. They relate to energy management systems, particularly involving HVAC.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above one or more non-transitory computer storage media, as taught by Matsuoka, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Silva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility, as taught by Silva [col. 3 lines 48-51, col. 4 lines 54-65], thus better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010] .
Claim(s) 8-9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Matsuoka and Silva in view of Burroughs et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200363776 (hereinafter Burroughs).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Matsuoka teaches determining, for the set of monitored properties in the geographic area, instructions [0103-0108, Figs. 1-2 and 7 — a process 700 for controlling an HVAC system during a demand-response event… A DR program is a program that attempts to reduce load on the electrical grid supplying the energy consumer residences 150A-150N (monitored properties) during certain critical times which are generally times when demand gets close to or is expected to exceed supply… the DR event may include information identifying a geographical scope of the DR event, where the geographical scope may describe a region that relates to one or more electrical grids from which load shedding is desired. The region may be defined using any suitable parameters such as state, county, zip code, address, or the like, or may identify one or more particular electrical grids from which such addresses of residences may subsequently be inferred… In operation 704 an optimized control trajectory of an HVAC system is determined to be in effect during the DR event period… The control trajectory may include one or more of a variety of tangible control sequences for controlling the HVAC system, such as a schedule of setpoint temperatures, an HVAC duty cycle schedule, etc. ].
But the combination of Matsuoka and Silva fails to clearly specify instructions comprising one or more energy sink actions for the set of monitored properties; and providing, at least some of the set of monitored properties, the instructions to cause a respective monitored property to perform the one or more energy sink actions.
However, Burroughs teaches instructions comprising one or more energy sink actions for the set of monitored properties; and providing, at least some of the set of monitored properties, the instructions to cause a respective monitored property to perform the one or more energy sink actions [0118, Fig. 4 — asset allocator 402 to nearly any central plant, central energy facility, combined heating and cooling facility, or combined heat and power facility. These features include broadly applicable definitions for subplants 420, sinks 440, storage 430, and sources 410; multiples of the same type of subplant 420 or sink 440; subplant resource connections that describe which subplants 420 can send resources to which sinks 440 and at what efficiency; 0136, Fig. 6 — central plant controller 600 can be configured to monitor and control central plant 200, asset allocation system 400, and various components thereof (e.g., sources 410, subplants 420, storage 430, sinks 440, etc.).; 0318, Fig. 22 — Resource diagram 2200 is shown to include storage 2218 and storage 2220, according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, storage 2218 and storage 2220 store a resource for use at a later time. For example, storage 2218 receives resource D, stores resource D, and may later provide sink 2214 with resource D as determined by asset allocator 402… if the storage device is a battery which stores charge, the stored charge may vary over time, as represented and predicted by a state space model; 0242-0245 — symmetric additive adjustment (SAA) on the baseline load… high level optimizer 632 will tend to charge the battery during the SAA hours and discharge the battery during the participation hours].
Matsuoka, Silva and Burroughs are analogous art. They relate to energy management systems, particularly involving HVAC.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Matsuoka and Silva, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Burroughs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to move the load or shave the peak demand, as suggested by Burroughs [0124], thus reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility and better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Matsuoka, Silva and Burroughs teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Further, Burroughs teaches the one or more energy sink actions cause at least one of the set of monitored properties to perform the actions of (i) heating or cooling the monitored property by additional degrees from a set point, (ii) dehumidifying the monitored property, (iii) running a water heater program, (iv) running auxiliary or emergency mode of an HVAC system at the property, (v) charge one or more batteries at the property, or (vi) any combination thereof [0118, Fig. 4 — asset allocator 402 to nearly any central plant, central energy facility, combined heating and cooling facility, or combined heat and power facility. These features include broadly applicable definitions for subplants 420, sinks 440, storage 430, and sources 410; multiples of the same type of subplant 420 or sink 440; subplant resource connections that describe which subplants 420 can send resources to which sinks 440 and at what efficiency; 0136, Fig. 6 — central plant controller 600 can be configured to monitor and control central plant 200, asset allocation system 400, and various components thereof (e.g., sources 410, subplants 420, storage 430, sinks 440, etc.).; 0318, Fig. 22 — Resource diagram 2200 is shown to include storage 2218 and storage 2220, according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, storage 2218 and storage 2220 store a resource for use at a later time. For example, storage 2218 receives resource D, stores resource D, and may later provide sink 2214 with resource D as determined by asset allocator 402… if the storage device is a battery which stores charge, the stored charge may vary over time, as represented and predicted by a state space model; 0242-0245 — symmetric additive adjustment (SAA) on the baseline load… high level optimizer 632 will tend to charge the battery during the SAA hours and discharge the battery during the participation hours].
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Matsuoka and Silva, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Burroughs.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to move the load or shave the peak demand, as suggested by Burroughs [0124], thus reduce the peak demand in electrical power supplied by the utility and better matching the electricity supply capabilities of the utility and minimizing costs, as suggested by Matsuoka [0003-0010].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above and this claim is otherwise rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Matsuoka and Silva in view of Patel et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210034024 (hereinafter Patel).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Matsuoka and Silva teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But the combination of Matsuoka and Silva fails to clearly specify providing, to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions to cause an update to a rate of power consumption, a maximum amount of power consumption, or a combination of both at the set of monitored properties.
However, Patel teaches providing, to at least some of the set of monitored properties, instructions to cause an update to a rate of power consumption, a maximum amount of power consumption, or a combination of both at the set of monitored properties [0218-0221, 0380, Figs. 1-3 and 7 — each building… demand charge modeler 718 updates {dot over (W)}.sub.peak,past each time a new maximum power consumption is set to ensure that the energy cost model accurately represents the demand charge imposed by the power utility; 0460 — methods, systems and program products on any machine-readable media for accomplishing various operations. The embodiments of the present disclosure can be implemented using existing computer processors, or by a special purpose computer processor for an appropriate system, incorporated for this or another purpose, or by a hardwired system. Embodiments within the scope of the present disclosure include program products comprising machine-readable media for carrying or having machine-executable instructions or data structures stored thereon.].
Matsuoka, Silva and Patel are analogous art. They relate to energy management systems, particularly involving HVAC.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above system, as taught by the combination of Matsuoka and Silva, by incorporating the above limitations, as taught by Patel.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification to ensure that the model accurately represents any demand charge imposed by the power utility, as suggested by Patel [0218-0221].
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gerdes et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 20120323392 that teaches a system and method for synchronizing the duty cycles between household appliances.
Note that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/BERNARD G LINDSAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119