DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 5/3/12026, in which, claim(s) 1-21 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 16-21 is/are newly added.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 1-21 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
The newly amendments are relating to electronic device state and automatically transition from first state to second state based on user’s account. Whereas the original invention is relating to determined the users and login to the server based on the identified users.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 1-21 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims rejected under prior art have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection is maintained based on the original presentation of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrigan et al. (US 20200380972 A1; hereinafter Carrigan) in view of Lopez Moreno et al. (US 20180308472 A1; hereinafter Lopez).
Regarding claim 1, Carrigan discloses an electronic device comprising:
a network interface configured to communicate with a server (network to communicate with remote server [Carrigan; ¶403-404]);
a user input interface configured to transmit a signal related to an input (interface for biometric or voice input [Carrigan; ¶6; Figs. 4, 6 and associated text]); and
a controller, wherein the controller is configured to:
upon receiving a speech signal related to input speech, determine whether a user who has uttered the speech is related to a first user account logged [in to the server] (receiving user’s voice command, determine if the voice identification match the primary user in the profile (e.g., electronic device) (or a remote server hosting the profile) [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323, 403-404; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]). Carrigan discloses multi-user authentication with voice recognition. Although Carrigan discloses of a remote server hosting account profile. Carrigan does not explicilty clarify log in to the server with a log in to the server with the account; however, in a related and analogous art, Lopez teaches this feature.
In particular, Lopez teaches having the speech-enabled device provide queries to a server that include an authentication token speaker of an utterance, the system may enable the speech-enabled device to be shared by multiple different users and provide responses that are personalized to the speaker of the utterance, the server 155 logs into an account of “Dad” using the authentication token for “Dad,” retrieves a calendar of “Dad,” and provides a response to the speech-enabled device 125 with a summary of appointments for “Dad” based on retrieved calendar [Lopez; ¶22-23, 80-90; Figs. 5-6 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Carrigan in view of Lopez with the motivation to create a central system for all user’s information, so the user can easier retrieved information between multiple devices.
log in to the server with a second user account related to the user who has uttered the input speech based on the user who has uttered the input speech not being related to the first user account (determined the matched of account #2, switch to the account $2, and play history playlist [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts] [Lopez; ¶22-23, 80-90; Figs. 5-6 and associated texts]);
update setting values preset for the electronic device to setting values related to the second user account based on logging in to the server with the second user account (account data associated with a user account is updated to reflect prior use of the electronic device (and/or other devices) by the user of the user account (e.g., command, listening history). The account data for user accounts can be updated based on information provided in response to requests from the user of the user account [Carrigan; ¶10, 233-255, 323; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 2, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a memory configured to store setting values related to predetermined user accounts, wherein the controller is configured to obtain the setting values related to the second user account from the memory (the profile is stored at the storage of the server [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323, 403-404; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 3, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the server is configured to store setting values related to predetermined user accounts, and the controller is configured to obtain the setting values related to the second user account from the server (since the server stores the profile, the device would retrieve it from the server [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323, 403-404; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 4, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the server is configured to store the setting values for each of a plurality of pieces of device identification information mapped to the predetermined user accounts, and the controller is configured to: transmit device identification information related to the electronic device to the server and obtain, from the server, the setting values related to the second user account and mapped to the device identification information related to the electronic device (the second account is associated with a group of accounts (e.g., smart devices in a user's home that are linked together (e.g., by an application for controlling such devices) [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323, 345-346, 403-404; Figs. 6s, 8 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 5, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a memory configured to store a user list including at least one piece of user identification information related to a user account with a history of logging in to the server, wherein the controller is configured to: transmit the user list to the server along with data including the speech signal, and compare first user identification information related to the first user account with second user identification information related to the input speech and received from the server to determine whether the user who has uttered the input speech is related to the first user account (electronic device is associated with (e.g., logged in to) a set of users (e.g., a set of accounts that share one or more services and/or storage of a cloud-based service). The set of criteria includes a first criterion that is met when the respective feature has been enabled a threshold number of user accounts associated with (e.g., registered with, logged into) the one or more devices, in response to receiving a request to log in to a first account on the first device, and in accordance with a determination that a second device (e.g., smart speaker, home media hub) of the one or more devices is logged in to an account other than the first account, the electronic device displays a prompt that includes one or more of an option to log the second device into the first account and an option to keep the second device logged in to the account other than the first account. In some embodiments, in accordance with receiving user input selection of the option to log the second device into the first account, the electronic device causes the second device to log in to the first account. In some embodiments, the first and second devices are both logged in to a second account, and remain both logged in to the second account subsequent to causing the second device to log in to the first account [Carrigan; ¶323, 329-333, 345-346, 403-408; Figs. 6s, 8 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 6, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the memory is configured to store a history of using the electronic device for each user account, and based on the input speech being related to execution of one of a plurality of applications, the controller is configured to: determine an application to be executed in response to the input speech based on a first history related to the first user identification information stored in the memory based on logging in to the server with the first user account, and determine the application to be executed in response to the input speech based on a second history related to the second user identification information stored in the memory based on logging in to the server with the second user account (play the music of the user with their play list history based on the voice command [Carrigan; ¶323, 233-255, 403-404; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 7, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a display, wherein the controller is configured to: provide a first user interface related to the speech through the display based on logging in to the server based on the input speech, and provide a second user interface different from the first user interface through the display based on logging in to the server based on a predetermined input different from the input speech (user interface is based on their profile and how they set it up [Carrigan; ¶323, 233-255, 403-404; Figs. 6s 10s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 8, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the electronic device of claim 7, wherein the first user interface includes a number mapped to an object included in a screen displayed through the display, and the controller is configured to determine that an input for selecting the object mapped to the number is received upon receiving input speech related to the number (per device interfaces, set up by the set, user can set speed dial or other numeric commands [Carrigan; ¶122-123, 173, 323, 350-353; Figs. 4a, 10a and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 9, Carrigan discloses a system comprising:
an electronic device (electronic device [Carrigan; ¶403-404]); and
a server, wherein the electronic device is configured to (remote server [Carrigan; ¶403-404]):
transmit data including a speech signal related to input speech uttered by a user to the server (receiving user’s voice command, determine if the voice identification match the primary user in the profile (e.g., electronic device) (or a remote server hosting the profile) [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 403-404; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]);
determine whether the user who has uttered the input speech is related to a first user account logged [in to the server] based on a result of processing the speech signal received from the server (determined if the user is account #1 or other accounts based on verbal command [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]). Carrigan discloses multi-user authentication with voice recognition. Although Carrigan discloses of a remote server hosting account profile. Carrigan does not explicilty clarify log in to the server with a log in to the server with the account; however, in a related and analogous art, Lopez teaches this feature.
In particular, Lopez teaches having the speech-enabled device provide queries to a server that include an authentication token speaker of an utterance, the system may enable the speech-enabled device to be shared by multiple different users and provide responses that are personalized to the speaker of the utterance, the server 155 logs into an account of “Dad” using the authentication token for “Dad,” retrieves a calendar of “Dad,” and provides a response to the speech-enabled device 125 with a summary of appointments for “Dad” based on retrieved calendar [Lopez; ¶22-23, 80-90; Figs. 5-6 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Carrigan in view of Lopez with the motivation to create a central system for all user’s information, so the user can easier retrieved information between multiple devices.
log in to the server with a second user account related to the user who has uttered the input speech based on the user who has uttered the input speech not being related to the first user account (determined the matched of account #2, switch to the account $2, and play history playlist [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]);
update setting values preset for the electronic device to setting values related to the second user account based on logging in to the server with the second user account (account data associated with a user account is updated to reflect prior use of the electronic device (and/or other devices) by the user of the user account (e.g., command, listening history). The account data for user accounts can be updated based on information provided in response to requests from the user of the user account [Carrigan; ¶10, 233-255, 323; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]), and
the server is configured to:
generate identification information related to the speech signal included in the data received from the electronic device (the remote service provides voice identification data to one or more external devices (e.g., each external device for which the voice identification feature of the user account is enabled). In turn, the external devices can use the voice identification data to identify the user in response to received speech inputs. The voice identification data can, for instance, be used to generate and/or update a voice profile for a user for use on an external device [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 291-296, 323; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]);
determine predetermined identification information related to the identification information related to the speech signal from among identification information mapped to user identification information related to user accounts, stored in a database of the server (determined the user is associated to which account based on voice input [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts], the speech-enabled device provide queries to a server that include an authentication token speaker of an utterance, the system may enable the speech-enabled device to be shared by multiple different users and provide responses that are personalized to the speaker of the utterance, the server 155 logs into an account of “Dad” using the authentication token for “Dad,” retrieves a calendar of “Dad,” and provides a response to the speech-enabled device 125 with a summary of appointments for “Dad” based on retrieved calendar [Lopez; ¶22-23, 80-90; Figs. 5-6 and associated texts]); and
transmit the result of processing the speech signal including predetermined user identification information mapped to the predetermined identification information to the electronic device performed the verbal commands of the identified users, such as play their music list, or read their messages, etc., [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 10, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the electronic device is configured to obtain the setting values related to the second user account from a memory in which setting values related to predetermined user accounts are stored (the profile is stored at the storage of the server [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323, 403-404; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 11, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the database stores setting values related to predetermined user accounts, and the electronic device is configured to obtain the setting values related to the second user account from the server (since the server stores the profile, the device would retrieve it from the server [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323, 403-404; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 12, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the database stores the setting values for a plurality of pieces of device identification information mapped to the predetermined user accounts, and the electronic device is configured to: transmit device identification information related to the electronic device to the server and obtain, from the server, the setting values related to the second user account mapped to the device identification information related to the electronic device (the second account is associated with a group of accounts (e.g., smart devices in a user's home that are linked together (e.g., by an application for controlling such devices) [Carrigan; ¶233-255, 323, 345-346, 403-404; Figs. 6s, 8 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 13, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the electronic device comprises a memory configured to store a user list including at least one piece of user identification information related to a user account having a history of logging in to the server, wherein the electronic device is configured to transmit the user list along with the data including the speech signal to the server, and the server is configured to: search the database for user identification information related to the user list, and determine whether identification information mapped to the user identification information related to the user list is related to the identification information related to the speech signal (electronic device is associated with (e.g., logged in to) a set of users (e.g., a set of accounts that share one or more services and/or storage of a cloud-based service). The set of criteria includes a first criterion that is met when the respective feature has been enabled a threshold number of user accounts associated with (e.g., registered with, logged into) the one or more devices, in response to receiving a request to log in to a first account on the first device, and in accordance with a determination that a second device (e.g., smart speaker, home media hub) of the one or more devices is logged in to an account other than the first account, the electronic device displays a prompt that includes one or more of an option to log the second device into the first account and an option to keep the second device logged in to the account other than the first account. In some embodiments, in accordance with receiving user input selection of the option to log the second device into the first account, the electronic device causes the second device to log in to the first account. In some embodiments, the first and second devices are both logged in to a second account, and remain both logged in to the second account subsequent to causing the second device to log in to the first account [Carrigan; ¶323, 329-333, 345-346, 403-408; Figs. 6s, 8 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 14, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the memory stores a history of using the electronic device for each user account, and based on the input speech being related to execution of one of a plurality of applications, the electronic device is configured to: determine an application to be executed in response to the input speech based on a first history related to first user identification information stored in the memory, based on logging in to the server with the first user account, and determine the application to be executed in response to the input speech based on a second history related to second user identification information stored in the memory, based on logging in to the server with the second user account (play the music of the user with their play list history based on the voice command [Carrigan; ¶323, 233-255, 403-404; Figs. 6s-7s and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 15, Carrigan-Lopez combination discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the electronic device is configured to: provide a first user interface related to the speech through a display based on logging in to the server based on the input speech, and provide a second user interface different from the first user interface through the display based on logging in to the server based on a predetermined input different from the input speech (user interface is based on their profile and how they set it up [Carrigan; ¶323, 233-255, 403-404; Figs. 6s 10s and associated texts]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432