DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-40 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 34 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 32. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,118,354 in view of Jenkins et al (“Jenkins”) (US 2017/0284100).
Re claim 21 of the pending application and claim 1 of ‘354, each discloses a roofing product, an upper section, an exposure section, a top surface, a bottom surface, a plurality of zones, a first zone with a first algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 including a first concentration of algae-resistant granules), a second zone with a second algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 including a second concentration of algae-resistant granules),
but ‘354 fails to disclose the first algae-resistance intensity is different than the second algae-resistance intensity.
However, Jenkins discloses the first algae-resistance intensity (at one of 120, 112 or 108) ([0067]) is different than ([0067]; as a result of the zones having varying colors, one will have a higher resistance than another) the second algae-resistance intensity (at another of 120, 112 or 108).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of ‘354 with the first algae-resistance intensity is different than the third algae-resistance intensity as disclosed by Jenkins in order to match colors to other parts of the building, or to help control insulation for homes during colder months, or to better deflect sunlight.
Re claim 22 of the pending application and claim 2 of ‘354, each is identical.
Re claim 23 of the pending application and claim 1 of ‘354, each discloses first concentrations (collections) of algaecidal roofing granules.
Re claim 27 of the pending application and claim 5 of ‘354, each discloses wherein the second concentration of the algae-resistant roofing granules is in a range of 1% to 20%.
Re claim 30 of the pending application and claim 7 of ‘354, each discloses wherein the algae-resistant roofing granules in the roofing product have algaecide concentrations in a range from 0.02% by weight to 50% by weight.
Re claim 32 of the pending application and claim 8 of ‘354, each discloses wherein the first zone includes a first group of the algae-resistant granules that have an algaecide time-release characteristic that is different from an algaecide time-release characteristic of any of the algae-resistant roofing granules of the second collection.
Re claim 38 of the pending application and claim 13 of ‘354, each discloses wherein the first zone is disposed at an upper edge of the exposed section of the roofing product or at a lower edge of the exposed section of the roofing product.
Re claim 39 of the pending application and claim 13 of ‘354, each discloses wherein the second zone is disposed at a lower edge of the exposed section of the roofing product or at an upper edge of the exposed section of the roofing product.
Re claim 40 of the pending application and claim 15 of ‘354, each discloses a method of manufacturing a roofing product according to claim 1 including, providing a substrate with, a top surface, a bottom surface, a plurality of zones, a first zone with a first algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 include a first concentration of algae-resistant granules), a second zone with a second algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 include a second concentration of algae-resistant granules),
but ‘354 fails to disclose a first algae-resistance intensity and a second algae-resistance intensity.
However, Jenkins discloses the first algae-resistance intensity (at one of 120, 112 or 108; [0067]; as a result of the zones having varying colors, one will have a higher resistance than another) and a second algae-resistance intensity (at another of 120, 112 or 108).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of ‘354 a first algae-resistance intensity and a second algae-resistance intensity as disclosed by Jenkins in order to match colors to other parts of the building, or to help control insulation for homes during colder months, or to better deflect sunlight.
Claims 24-26, 28-29, 31, 33-37 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim(s) 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 3 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,579 in view of Jenkins et al (“Jenkins”) (US 2017/0284100).
Re claim 21 of the pending application and claims 1, 3, 6 and 19 of ‘579, each discloses a roofing product, an upper section, an exposure section, a top surface, a bottom surface, a plurality of zones, a first zone with a first algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 including a first concentration of algae-resistant granules), a second zone with a second algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 including a second concentration of algae-resistant granules),
but ‘579 fails to disclose the first algae-resistance intensity is different than the second algae-resistance intensity.
However, Jenkins discloses the first algae-resistance intensity (at one of 120, 112 or 108) ([0067]) is different than ([0067]; as a result of the zones having varying colors, one will have a higher resistance than another) the second algae-resistance intensity (at another of 120, 112 or 108).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of ‘579 with the first algae-resistance intensity is different than the third algae-resistance intensity as disclosed by Jenkins in order to match colors to other parts of the building, or to help control insulation for homes during colder months, or to better deflect sunlight.
Re claim 23 of the pending application and claims 1, 3 and 19 of ‘579, each discloses a first collection of algaecidal roofing granules.
Re claim 27 of the pending application and claim 6 ‘579, each discloses wherein the second algaecide concentration is in the range of 0.02% by weight to 20% by weight.
Re claim 36 of the pending application and claim 3 ‘579, each discloses the first zone disposed at an upper edge of the lower section of the roofing product.
Re claim 39 of the pending application and claim 3 ‘579, each discloses the second zone disposed at a lower edge of the lower of the roofing product.
Claims 22, 24-26, 28-35, 37-38 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim(s) 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,152,932 in view of Jenkins et al (“Jenkins”) (US 2017/0284100).
Re claim 21 of the pending application and claim 1 of ‘932, each discloses a roofing product, an upper section, an exposure section, a top surface, a bottom surface, a plurality of zones, a first zone with a first algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 including a first concentration of algae-resistant granules), a second zone with a second algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 including a second concentration of algae-resistant granules),
but ‘354 fails to disclose the first algae-resistance intensity is different than the second algae-resistance intensity.
However, Jenkins discloses the first algae-resistance intensity (at one of 120, 112 or 108) ([0067]) is different than ([0067]; as a result of the zones having varying colors, one will have a higher resistance than another) the second algae-resistance intensity (at another of 120, 112 or 108).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of ‘392 with the first algae-resistance intensity is different than the third algae-resistance intensity as disclosed by Jenkins in order to match colors to other parts of the building, or to help control insulation for homes during colder months, or to better deflect sunlight.
Re claim 23 of the pending application and claim 1 of ‘932, each discloses a first collection of algaecidal roofing granules.
Re claim 38 of the pending application and claim 2 of ‘932, each discloses wherein the first zone is disposed at an upper edge of the exposed section of the roofing product or (at a lower edge of the exposed section of the roofing product; being an or clause) .
Re claim 39 of the pending application and claim 3 of ‘932, each discloses wherein the second zone is disposed at a lower edge of the exposed section of the roofing product or (at an upper edge of the exposed section of the roofing product; being an or clause).
Re claim 40 of the pending application and claim 19 of ‘932, each discloses a method of manufacturing a roofing product according to claim 1 including, providing a substrate with, a top surface, a bottom surface, a plurality of zones, a first zone with a first algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 include a first concentration of algae-resistant granules), a second zone with a second algae-resistance intensity (as a result of claim 1 include a second concentration of algae-resistant granules),
but ‘932 fails to disclose a first algae-resistance intensity and a second algae-resistance intensity.
However, Jenkins discloses the first algae-resistance intensity (at one of 120, 112 or 108; [0067]; as a result of the zones having varying colors, one will have a higher resistance than another) and a second algae-resistance intensity (at another of 120, 112 or 108).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of ‘932 a first algae-resistance intensity and a second algae-resistance intensity as disclosed by Jenkins in order to match colors to other parts of the building, or to help control insulation for homes during colder months, or to better deflect sunlight.
Claims 24-26, 28-29, 31, 33-37 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 25, 27 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claims 25 and 27, claims 25 and 27 recite, “concentration of…roofing granules in the range of 1% to 20% (claim 25), “concentration of…roofing granules in a range of 0% to 15%” (claim 25), and “concertation of…roofing granules in a range of 0% to 20% (claim 27). This language requires a range of roofing granule concentration. But it does not provide for what this concentration is compared to. For example, the roofing granules are 1% to 20% of what? For the purposes of this examination, this language will be interpreted as requiring roofing granule compositions in ranges as compared to the other claimed zones.
Re claim 40, claim 40 recites various features such as “a substrate” and “a top surface” for example. However, claim 40 is dependent on claim 21 which already introduces these features. Thus, it is unclear if the features of claim 40 which are again introduced, but are also introduced in claim 21, are the same or different than those in claim 21. For the purposes of this examination, this language will be interpreted as the same features as claim 21, interpreted as “the substrate” and “the top surface,” for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 35, 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Jenkins et al (“Jenkins”) (US 2017/0284100).
Re claim 1, Jenkins discloses a roofing product (100) including an upper section (at the arrow to 102 in Fig. 1) and an exposed section (118), the roofing product comprising:
a substrate (102, 104) including a top surface (top of 102 and 104) and a bottom surface (bottom of 102 and 104); and
a plurality of zones (at 108, at 106, at 124 in Fig. 6) of roofing granules ([0063]) disposed on the top surface (top of 102 and 104) of the substrate (102, 104), the plurality of zones (at 108, at 106, at 104 in Fig. 6) including:
a first zone (at 106) within the exposed section (118) of the roofing product, the first zone (at 106) having a first algae-resistance intensity (at 106; [0067]; as a result of the zones having colors),
a second zone (at 108) within the exposed section (118) of the roofing product (100), the second zone (104) having a second algae-resistance intensity (at 108; [0067]; as a result of the zones having colors),
wherein the first algae-resistance intensity (at 106) is different from (Fig. 1) the second algae-resistance intensity (at 108 – Fig. 1 shows shaded zones of varying color, as defined in [0063]. Because these areas are comprised of roofing granules defining various shaded colors, light will be absorbed differently at each zone, affecting the resistance to algae growth due to light absorption. The claim presently does not define and particular material defining algae resistance, nor does it define the particular juxtaposition of each zone with respect to the remainder of the roofing product).
Re claim 22, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, wherein the roofing product (100) is a roofing shingle ([0024]), a roofing membrane, or a roofing tile.
Re claim 23, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, wherein the first zone (at 106) has a first concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules (Fig. 1).
Re claim 24, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, wherein the first zone (at 106) has a first concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules (Fig. 1), the second zone (at 104) has a second concentration of algae resistant granules (Fig. 1), and wherein the first concentration (at 106) is higher than (Fig. 1, [0067] disclosing sizing of the granules being different thus effecting the concentrations thereof) the second concentration (at 108).
Re claim 35, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, wherein the first zone (at 106) has a first group of roofing granules (Fig. 1, [0062]) having a first color ([0067]) that is different from ([0067]) a second color ([0067]) of a second group of roofing granules ([0062]) in the second zone (at 108).
Re claim 38, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, wherein the first zone (at 106) is disposed at an upper edge (upper edge of 118) of the exposed section (18) of the roofing product (100) or at a lower edge of the exposed section of the roofing product (as this is an or clause).
Re claim 39, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 38, wherein the second zone (at 108) is disposed at a lower edge (lower edge of 118) of the exposed section (118) of the roofing product (100) or at an upper edge of the exposed section of the roofing product (as this is an or clause).
Re claim 40, Jenkins discloses aa method of manufacturing ([0067]) a roofing product (100) according to claim 21 (see above), the method comprising:
providing (Fig. 1 showing 102/104 provided) a substrate (102, 104) including a top surface (top of 102 and 104) and a bottom surface (bottom of 102 and 104); and
depositing (Fig. 1 showing the zones deposited) a plurality of zones (at 108, at 106, at 124 in Fig. 6) of roofing granules ([0063]) on the top surface (top of 102 and 104) of the substrate (102, 104), the plurality of zones (at 108, at 106, at 104 in Fig. 6) including:
a first zone (at 106) within the exposed section (118) of the roofing product, the first zone (at 106) having a first algae-resistance intensity (at 106; [0067]; as a result of the zones having colors),
a second zone (at 108) within the exposed section (118) of the roofing product (100), the second zone (104) having a second algae-resistance intensity (at 108; [0067]; as a result of the zones having colors – Fig. 1 shows shaded zones of varying color, as defined in [0063]. Because these areas are comprised of roofing granules defining various shaded colors, light will be absorbed differently at each zone, affecting the resistance to algae growth due to light absorption. The claim presently does not define and particular material defining algae resistance, nor does it define the particular juxtaposition of each zone with respect to the remainder of the roofing product).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-27, 30, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins et al (“Jenkins”) (US 2017/0284100).
Re claim 25, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the first zone includes a concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in a range of 1% to 20%, and the second zone includes a concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in a range of 0% to 15%.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the first zone includes a concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in a range of 1% to 20%, and the second zone includes a concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in a range of 0% to 15% (such as by varying size of granules in each zone) in order to provide the desired shading and color effect for a better aesthetic appeal. In general, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Re claim 26, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in the first zone is at least 1% higher than the concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in the second zone.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in the first zone is at least 1% higher than the concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in the second zone. (such as by varying size of granules in each zone) in order to provide the desired shading and color effect for a better aesthetic appeal. In general, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Re claim 27, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the second zone includes a concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in a range of 0% to 20%.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the second zone includes a concentration of algae-resistant roofing granules in a range of 0% to 20% (such as by varying size of granules in each zone) in order to provide the desired shading and color effect for a better aesthetic appeal. In general, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Re claim 30, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the roofing product (100) comprises algae-resistant granules ([0063], [0067] due to colorization), but fails to disclose the algae-resistant granules having algaecide concentrations in a range from 0.02% by weight to 50% by weight.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins with the algae-resistant granules having algaecide concentrations in a range from 0.02% by weight to 50% by weight (of the entire roofing product, such as by varying size of granules in each zone) in order to provide the desired shading and color effect for a better aesthetic appeal. In general, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Re claim 36, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 35, but fails to disclose wherein a first group of roofing granules e and the second group of roofing granules have a color difference AE of at least 2.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein a first group of roofing granules e and the second group of roofing granules have a color difference AE of at least 2 in order to provide greater algae-resistance in desired areas such as those that gain more sunlight and/or water. In general, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Claim(s) 28-29, 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins et al (“Jenkins”) (US 2017/0284100) in view of Kalkanoglu et al (Kalkanoglu”) (US 2011/0104422).
Re claim 28, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the first zone comprises an inorganic algaecide, consisting of copper oxide, copper compounds, zinc oxide, titanium oxide, silver, copper, zinc, and mixtures thereof; or an organic algaecide, comprising of zinc pyrithione, amines and ammonium salts, quaternary ammonium chloride, ammonium compounds, chloride compounds; or a combination of inorganic and organic algaecides.
However, Kalkanoglu discloses wherein the first zone (Jenkins: at 106) comprises an inorganic algaecide, consisting of copper oxide, copper compounds, zinc oxide, titanium oxide, silver, copper, zinc, and mixtures thereof ([0090] disclsoign copper and zinc); or an organic algaecide, comprising of zinc pyrithione, amines and ammonium salts, quaternary ammonium chloride, ammonium compounds, chloride compounds; or a combination of inorganic and organic algaecides (as this is an “or” clause).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the first zone comprises an inorganic algaecide, consisting of copper oxide, copper compounds, zinc oxide, titanium oxide, silver, copper, zinc, and mixtures thereof; or an organic algaecide, comprising of zinc pyrithione, amines and ammonium salts, quaternary ammonium chloride, ammonium compounds, chloride compounds; or a combination of inorganic and organic algaecides as disclosed by Kalkanoglu in order to help reduce or delay the formation of algae or other organic growth ([0090]).
Re claim 28, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the first zone includes a first group of algae-resistant granules that have a first algaecide concentration that is different from an algaecide concentration of any of the granules of the second zone.
However, Kalkanoglu discloses a roofing product (10) wherein the first zone (30) includes a first group of algae-resistant granules (34) that have a first algaecide concentration (34) that is different from (Fig. 1) an algaecide concentration (18) of any of the granules (20) of the second zone (18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the first zone includes a first group of algae-resistant granules that have a first algaecide concentration that is different from an algaecide concentration of any of the granules of the second zone as disclosed by Kalkanoglu in order to provide varying leaching rates that can be controlled that the roofing product can be tailored to specific local conditions, and have sustained algae-resistance over extended periods of time ([0013]).
Re claim 31, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the first group of algae-resistant granules have a first algaecide concentration that is higher than any class of granules in the second zone.
However, Kalkanoglu discloses wherein the first group of algae-resistant granules (34) have a first algaecide concentration (34) that is higher than (Fig. 1) any class of granules (20) in the second zone (18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the first group of algae-resistant granules have a first algaecide concentration that is higher than any class of granules in the second zone as disclosed by Kalkanoglu in order to provide varying leaching rates that can be controlled that the roofing product can be tailored to specific local conditions, and have sustained algae-resistance over extended periods of time ([0013]).
Re claim 32, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the first zone includes a first group of algae-resistant granules that have an algaecide time-release characteristic that is different from an algaecide time-release characteristic of any of the granules of the second zone.
However, Kalkanoglu discloses wherein the first zone (30) includes a first group of algae-resistant granules (34) that have an algaecide time-release characteristic (Claim 1, Abstract) that is different from an algaecide time-release characteristic (Claim 1, Abstract) of any of the granules (20) of the second zone (18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the first zone includes a first group of algae-resistant granules that have an algaecide time-release characteristic that is different from an algaecide time-release characteristic of any of the granules of the second zone as disclosed by Kalkanoglu in order to provide varying leaching rates that can be controlled that the roofing product can be tailored to specific local conditions, and have sustained algae-resistance over extended periods of time ([0013]).
Re claim 33, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the second zone comprises an inorganic algaecide, consisting of copper oxide, copper compounds, zinc oxide, titanium oxide, silver, copper, zinc, and mixtures thereof; or an organic algaecide, comprising of zinc pyrithione, amines and ammonium salts, quaternary ammonium chloride, ammonium compounds, chloride compounds; or a combination of inorganic and organic algaecides.
However, Kalkanoglu discloses wherein the second zone (Jenkins: at 108) comprises an inorganic algaecide, consisting of copper oxide, copper compounds, zinc oxide, titanium oxide, silver, copper, zinc, and mixtures thereof ([0090] disclosing copper and zinc); or an organic algaecide, comprising of zinc pyrithione, amines and ammonium salts, quaternary ammonium chloride, ammonium compounds, chloride compounds; or a combination of inorganic and organic algaecides (as this is an “or” clause).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the second zone comprises an inorganic algaecide, consisting of copper oxide, copper compounds, zinc oxide, titanium oxide, silver, copper, zinc, and mixtures thereof; or an organic algaecide, comprising of zinc pyrithione, amines and ammonium salts, quaternary ammonium chloride, ammonium compounds, chloride compounds; or a combination of inorganic and organic algaecides as disclosed by Kalkanoglu in order to help reduce or delay the formation of algae or other organic growth ([0090]).
Re claim 34, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the first zone includes a first group of algae-resistant granules that have an algaecide time-release characteristic that is different from an algaecide time-release characteristic of any of the granules of the second zone.
However, Kalkanoglu discloses wherein the first zone (30) includes a first group of algae-resistant granules (34) that have an algaecide time-release characteristic (Claim 1, Abstract) that is different from an algaecide time-release characteristic (Claim 1, Abstract) of any of the granules (20) of the second zone (18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the first zone includes a first group of algae-resistant granules that have an algaecide time-release characteristic that is different from an algaecide time-release characteristic of any of the granules of the second zone as disclosed by Kalkanoglu in order to provide varying leaching rates that can be controlled that the roofing product can be tailored to specific local conditions, and have sustained algae-resistance over extended periods of time ([0013]).
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins et al (“Jenkins”) (US 2017/0284100) in view of Kalkanoglu et al (Kalkanoglu 2”) (US 2008/0118640).
Re claim 37, Jenkins discloses the roofing product according to claim 21, but fails to disclose wherein the first zone includes a first group of algae-resistant granules that have a release delay that is different from a release delay of any granules of the second zone.
However, Kalkanoglu 2 discloses a release delay ([0103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins with a release delay as disclosed by Kalkanoglu 2 in order to protect from the environemtn ([0103]).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the roofing product of Jenkins wherein the first zone includes a first group of algae-resistant granules that have a release delay that is different from a release delay of any granules of the second zone in order to provide continuous algae resistance over an extended period of time ([0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635