DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/5/2024 and 7/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosugi et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0014236 A1) in view of Salahuddeen et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0078631 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kosugi discloses a method for processing a physical resource block in a wireless communication system (See Par. [450]-[451] of Kosugi for a reference to a method of allocating physical resource block), the method comprising:
identifying, by a distributed unit, user equipment (UE) connected to each of a plurality of radio units (RUs) and acquiring connection information (See Par. [133], [135], [152] of Kosugi for a reference to beam IDs are identified and are unique per radio unit, so the baseband unit [Distributed unit (DU)] learns which UE is connected to which radio unit from the beam forming indicator (BMI) feedback [connection information]);
distributing, by a fronthaul multiplexer (FHM), the resource block area allocated to each of the plurality of RUs based on the physical resource block allocation information (See Par. [4], [158] of Kosugi for a reference to the FHM distributes signals to the radio units and processes them per radio unit using the scheduling (resource allocation) information from the baseband unit); and
Kosugi does not explicitly disclose generating, by the distributed unit, physical resource block allocation information on a resource block area allocated to each of the plurality of RUs based on the connection information; transmitting, by each of the plurality of RUs, a radio signal to at least one piece of UE based on the distributed physical resource block.
However, Salahuddeen discloses generating, by the distributed unit, physical resource block allocation information on a resource block area allocated to each of the plurality of RUs based on the connection information (See Par. [71]-[72], [103] and Fig. 11 of Salahuddeen for a reference to determining, for each slot, the allocation of PRBs to different UEs (block 1102) and the corresponding allocation of a subset of RUs from which the UEs will receive wireless transmissions of the allocated PRBs (block 1104) [The DU scheduler generates PRB allocations tied to the specific RUs serving each UE, based on which RUs serve which UE]);
transmitting, by each of the plurality of RUs, a radio signal to at least one piece of UE based on the distributed physical resource block (See Par. [91], [103] and Fig. 11 of Salahuddeen for a reference to the new section extension 600 and methods 1100, 1200, and 1250 of FIGS. 11, 12A, and 12B can be used to send different sets of data to different RUs (to support wireless transmission therefrom. RU #2 and RU #3 will determine that these third C-plane and U-plane messages are intended for them and will use the RE data stored in the third U-plane message as specified in the third C-plane message to communicate with UE #3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salahuddeen to Kosugi. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead by grouping data efficiently in order to reduce the duplication of data communicated over the fronthaul and to reduce the number of packets used to communicate the C-plane and U-plane messages. (Salahuddeen; Par. [72])
Regarding claim 2, Kosugi discloses wherein the acquiring of the connection information includes transmitting, by the distributed unit, a mapping table related to a beam ID and a section ID to the FHM (See Par. [91], [120] of Kosugi for a reference to reception section 91 of FHM 90 receives beam information 51 transmitted from CU 1 to DUs 3a to 3c. Control section 92 stores beam information 51 received by reception section 91 in storage section 93 [Baseband unit sends a beam-ID, section-ID mapping table to the FHM, which stores it])
Kosugi does not explicitly disclose the transmission is by performing a management plane (M-plane) start-up procedure.
However, Salahuddeen discloses the transmission is by performing a management plane (M-plane) start-up procedure (See Par. [34], [52] of Salahuddeen for a reference to mapping of each RU to a particular bit position in the RU mask field 608 can be configured via a M-plane procedure. Routing/mapping configuration is delivered through the M-plane during initial configuration and bring-up (start-up)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salahuddeen to Kosugi. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead by grouping data efficiently in order to reduce the duplication of data communicated over the fronthaul and to reduce the number of packets used to communicate the C-plane and U-plane messages. (Salahuddeen; Par. [72])
Regarding claim 3, Kosugi discloses wherein the acquiring of the connection information includes: transmitting, by the distributed unit, a user plane (U-plane) message including a UE synchronization control signal to the FHM (See Par. [126], [145] of Kosugi for a reference to the beam-sweep signals that UEs use to acquire the best beam are provided from the baseband unit through the FHM to the radio units)
Kosugi does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the distributed unit, a control plane message including a beam ID and a section ID to the FHM.
However, Salahuddeen discloses transmitting, by the distributed unit, a control plane message including a beam ID and a section ID to the FHM (See Par. [40], [44] and Fig. 5 of Salahuddeen for a reference to a C-plane message carrying a section identifier (SectionID) field 516 and a beamforming identifier (beamID) field 524 sent from the DU over the fronthaul).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salahuddeen to Kosugi. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead by grouping data efficiently in order to reduce the duplication of data communicated over the fronthaul and to reduce the number of packets used to communicate the C-plane and U-plane messages. (Salahuddeen; Par. [72])
Regarding claim 8, Kosugi does not explicitly disclose wherein the generating of the physical resource block allocation information includes generating the physical resource block allocation information by matching a section ID and a beam ID for a resource block area used by each of the plurality of RUs.
However, Salahuddeen discloses wherein the generating of the physical resource block allocation information includes generating the physical resource block allocation information by matching a section ID and a beam ID for a resource block area used by each of the plurality of RUs (See Par. [54], [58], [94] of Salahuddeen for a reference to a different beamID can be specified for different subsets of the PRBs included in the section data described in the associated C-plane message. Each different subset of PRBs has a corresponding “beamID section” that includes a field 612 that specifies the number of PRBs included in that subset and a beamID field 614 that specifies the beamID to be used for the PRBs included in that subset).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salahuddeen to Kosugi. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead by grouping data efficiently in order to reduce the duplication of data communicated over the fronthaul and to reduce the number of packets used to communicate the C-plane and U-plane messages. (Salahuddeen; Par. [72])
Regarding claim 9, Kosugi discloses wherein the distributing of the physical resource block includes: selecting, by the FHM, one RU to be routed from the plurality of RUs based on the beam ID and the section ID (See Par. [158] of Kosugi for a reference to FHM selects the radio unit from a beam-ID lookup)
Kosugi does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the FHM, a user plane message and a control plane message corresponding to the selected RU to the selected RU.
However, Salahuddeen discloses transmitting, by the FHM, a user plane message and a control plane message corresponding to the selected RU to the selected RU (See Par. [67], [82] and Fig. 12A of Salahuddeen for a reference to C-plane/U-plane messages paired by SectionID are delivered to the intended RU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salahuddeen to Kosugi. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead by grouping data efficiently in order to reduce the duplication of data communicated over the fronthaul and to reduce the number of packets used to communicate the C-plane and U-plane messages. (Salahuddeen; Par. [72])
Regarding claim 10, Kosugi does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting of the radio signal includes transmitting the radio signal for the physical resource block allocated to the selected RU.
However, Salahuddeen discloses wherein the transmitting of the radio signal includes transmitting the radio signal for the physical resource block allocated to the selected RU (See Par. [54], [58], [94] of Salahuddeen for a reference to RU #2 and RU #3 will determine that these third C-plane and U-plane messages are intended for them and will use the RE data stored in the third U-plane message as specified in the third C-plane message to communicate with UE #3 [Selected RU radiates the PRBs (RE data) allocated to it]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salahuddeen to Kosugi. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead by grouping data efficiently in order to reduce the duplication of data communicated over the fronthaul and to reduce the number of packets used to communicate the C-plane and U-plane messages. (Salahuddeen; Par. [72])
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosugi et al. in view of Salahuddeen et al. and further in view of Gorain et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0141876 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kosugi and Salahuddeen does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE synchronization control signal includes a synchronization signal block or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS).
However, Gorain discloses wherein the UE synchronization control signal includes a synchronization signal block or a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (See Par. [40], [41] of Gorain for a reference to downlink synchronization/reference signals includes channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) for channel estimation at the UE and/or a synchronization signal (SS)/PBCH block (SSB)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gorain to the combination of Kosugi and Salahuddeen. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by efficiently, reducing the system’s power/energy consumption as well as processing delay. (Gorain; Par. [72])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kosugi and Salahuddeen does not explicitly disclose wherein the control plane message includes a physical random access channel (PRACH) corresponding to the UE synchronization control signal.
However, Gorain discloses wherein the control plane message includes a physical random access channel (PRACH) corresponding to the UE synchronization control signal (See Par. [54], [56] of Gorain for a reference to a section type 3 message of the C-plane may specify a scheduling and beamforming commands frame format for a PRACH and mixed numerology is sent from the O-DU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gorain to the combination of Kosugi and Salahuddeen. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by efficiently, reducing the system’s power/energy consumption as well as processing delay. (Gorain; Par. [72])
Regarding claim 6, Kosugi discloses wherein the acquiring of the connection information includes:
acquiring, by the FHM, the beam ID and the section ID based on header information of the received control plane message (See Par. [91], [120] of Kosugi for a reference to reception section 91 of FHM 90 receives beam information 51 transmitted from CU 1 to DUs 3a to 3c. Control section 92 stores beam information 51 received by reception section 91 in storage section 93 [Baseband unit sends a beam-ID, section-ID mapping table to the FHM, which stores it]);
selecting, by the FHM, a RU to be routed among the plurality of RUs based on the acquired beam ID and section ID (See Par. [177], [182] of Kosugi for a reference to The FHM itself selects the radio unit by looking up the received beam ID in the stored table); and
Kosugi does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the FHM, the user plane message and the control plane message corresponding to the selected RU to the selected RU.
However, Salahuddeen discloses transmitting, by the FHM, the user plane message and the control plane message corresponding to the selected RU to the selected RU.
(See Par. [62], [73] of Salahuddeen for a reference to the DU narrowcasts each of the C-plane and U-plane messages to a subset of the RUs [Selected Rus]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salahuddeen to Kosugi. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by reducing signalling overhead by grouping data efficiently in order to reduce the duplication of data communicated over the fronthaul and to reduce the number of packets used to communicate the C-plane and U-plane messages. (Salahuddeen; Par. [72])
Regarding claim 7, Kosugi discloses wherein the acquiring of the connection information includes: transmitting, by the selected RU, the UE synchronization control signal to at least one piece of UE (See Par. [126], [128] of Kosugi for a reference to DUs 3a to 3c include the beam identification information respectively assigned to the own units, which is acquired from beam information 51, in the beams subject to sweeping beams. Each radio unit transmits its sweep (synchronization) beams to the UEs);
The combination of Kosugi and Salahuddeen does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the selected RU, a PRACH preamble corresponding to the UE synchronization control signal from the UE; transmitting, by the selected RU, the received PRACH preamble to the FHM; and transmitting, by the FHM, the received PRACH preamble to the distributed unit.
However, Gorain discloses receiving, by the selected RU, a PRACH preamble corresponding to the UE synchronization control signal from the UE (See Par. [54], [56] of Gorain for a reference to a section type 3 message of the C-plane may specify a scheduling and beamforming commands frame format for a PRACH and mixed numerology is sent from the O-DU); transmitting, by the selected RU, the received PRACH preamble to the FHM; and transmitting, by the FHM, the received PRACH preamble to the distributed unit (See Par. [54]-[56] of Gorain for a reference to a section type 3 message of the C-plane may specify a scheduling and beamforming commands frame format for a PRACH that is sent to the O-DU via the FHM).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gorain to the combination of Kosugi and Salahuddeen. The motivation for combination would be to improve the system’s performance, by efficiently, reducing the system’s power/energy consumption as well as processing delay. (Gorain; Par. [72])
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hwang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/0129913 A1) discloses an electronic device and a method for indicating a non-scheduling layer in a fronthaul interface.
Berg et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0014537 A1) discloses systems and methods for shared cell Transmit/Receive Point (TRP) selection and combining.
Nath et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0182172 A1) discloses wireless communications, including dynamic bit width determination for resource block group mask.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413