DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2/13/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-40 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 25-32, and 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (U.S. 2016/0349429) in view of Camardello et al. (U.S. 2019/0280165).
Regarding claim 21, Song discloses a display (Fig. 1; page 2, para [0045]) comprising at least one LED light source (LED light source comprising 100, Fig. 1; page 3, para [0051]) and a red subpixel (111, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]), a green subpixel (112, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]), a blue subpixel (113, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]) and a fourth subpixel (114, Fig. 3; second light source 102 emits a cyan color to transparent photoresist T of fourth subpixel 114, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098-0099]; page 6, para [0115]).
Song does not expressly disclose that the fourth subpixel (114, Fig. 3) is a teal subpixel or a saturated green subpixel that includes a uranium containing phosphor, and wherein uranium in the uranium containing phosphor is present in stoichiometric amount with ions/elements. However, Camardello discloses a display (page 2, para [0019]) comprising a saturated green LED subpixel (10, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0020]) including a uranium containing phosphor (14, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0014, 0016]) wherein the uranium is present in stoichiometric amount with ions/elements (page 2, para [0014, 0016]) in order to provide a display with high color gamut and luminosity (page 4, para [0038]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the fourth subpixel (Song: 114, Fig. 3) of Song with the saturated green LED subpixel (Camardello: 10, Fig. 1) including a uranium containing phosphor of Camardello (page 2, para [0016]) wherein the uranium is present in stoichiometric amount with ions/elements (page 2, para [0016]) in order to obtain the benefits of providing a display with high color gamut and luminosity as taught by Camardello (page 4, para [0038]).
Regarding claim 25, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the display (Song: Fig. 1) is a liquid crystal display (Song: Fig. 1; page 2, para [0045]) and the display further comprises a liquid crystal display panel (Song: 110, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0047]).
Regarding claim 26, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the at least on LED light source (Song: LED light source comprising 100, Fig. 1) comprises at least one LED backlight unit (Song: 100, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0047]), wherein the at least one LED backlight unit comprises a combination of a blue LED (Camardello: blue LED 12, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0020]) optically coupled to the uranium containing phosphor material (Camardello: 14, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0014, 0016]) and a red phosphor (Camardello: Fig. 1; page 2, para [0022]).
Regarding claim 27, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the uranium containing phosphor material (Camardello: 14, Fig. 1) and the red phosphor (Camardello: Fig. 1; page 2, para [0022]) are disposed on at least a portion of the blue LED (Camardello: 12, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the uranium containing phosphor material (Camardello: 14, Fig. 1) and the red phosphor (Camardello: Fig. 1; page 2, para [0022]) are in the form of a film.
Regarding claim 29, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the blue LED (Camardello: 12, Fig. 1) is a mini LED (Camardello: Fig. 1; page 2, para [0020]).
Regarding claim 30, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the at least one LED light source (Song: LED light source comprising 100, Fig. 1) comprises a red micro-LED (Song: red micro-LED of 101, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0094]; page 6, para [0118]), a green micro-LED (Song: green micro-LED of 101, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0094]; page 6, para [0118]), a blue micro-LED (Song: blue micro-LED of 101, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0094]; page 6, para [0118]) and a saturated green micro-LED (Song: 102, Fig. 3; Camardello: page 2, para [0016]).
Regarding claim 31, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the uranium containing phosphor material (Camardello: page 2, para [0016]) further comprises a scattering agent (Camardello: such as a red phosphor that scatters red light as broadly interpreted, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0022]).
Regarding claim 32, Song discloses a display (Fig. 1; page 2, para [0045]) comprising at least one LED light source (LED light source comprising 100, Fig. 1; page 3, para [0051]) and a red subpixel (111, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]), a green subpixel (112, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]), a blue subpixel (113, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]) and a fourth subpixel (114, Fig. 3; second light source 102 emits a cyan color to transparent photoresist T of fourth subpixel 114, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098-0099]; page 6, para [0115]).
Song does not expressly disclose that the fourth subpixel (114, Fig. 3) is a teal subpixel or a saturated green subpixel that includes a uranium containing phosphor, and wherein uranium in the uranium containing phosphor is part of the host lattice. However, Camardello discloses a display (page 2, para [0019]) comprising a saturated green LED subpixel (10, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0020]) including a uranium containing phosphor (14, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0014, 0016]) wherein the uranium is part of the host lattice (such as host lattice of 14, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0014, 0016]) in order to provide a display with high color gamut and luminosity (page 4, para [0038]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the fourth subpixel (Song: 114, Fig. 3) of Song with the saturated green LED subpixel (Camardello: 10, Fig. 1) including a uranium containing phosphor of Camardello (page 2, para [0016]) wherein the uranium is part of the host lattice (Camardello: host lattice of 14, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0016]) in order to obtain the benefits of providing a display with high color gamut and luminosity as taught by Camardello (page 4, para [0038]).
Regarding claim 36, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations of claim 32 above and further discloses wherein the display (Song: Fig. 1) is a liquid crystal display (Song: Fig. 1; page 2, para [0045]) and the display further comprises a liquid crystal display panel (Song: 110, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0047]).
Regarding claim 37, Song as modified by Camardello discloses a display with all the limitations of claim 32 above and further discloses wherein the at least on LED light source (Song: LED light source comprising 100, Fig. 1) comprises at least one LED backlight unit (Song: 100, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0047]), wherein the at least one LED backlight unit comprises a combination of a blue LED (Camardello: blue LED 12, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0020]) optically coupled to the uranium containing phosphor material (Camardello: 14, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0014, 0016]) and a red phosphor (Camardello: Fig. 1; page 2, para [0022]).
Regarding claim 38, Song discloses a display (Fig. 1; page 2, para [0045]) comprising at least one LED light source (LED light source comprising 100, Fig. 1; page 3, para [0051]) and a red subpixel (111, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]), a green subpixel (112, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]), a blue subpixel (113, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098]) and a fourth subpixel (114, Fig. 3; second light source 102 emits a cyan color to transparent photoresist T of fourth subpixel 114, Fig. 3; page 5, para [0098-0099]; page 6, para [0115]).
Song does not expressly disclose that the fourth subpixel (114, Fig. 3) is a teal subpixel or a saturated green subpixel that includes a uranium containing phosphor, and wherein the teal subpixel or the saturated green subpixel includes a color filter comprising a mixture of blue color filter pigments and green color filter pigments. However, Camardello discloses a display (page 2, para [0019]) comprising a saturated green LED subpixel (10, Fig. 1; page 2, para [0020]) in order to provide a display with high color gamut and luminosity (page 4, para [0038]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the fourth subpixel (Song: 114, Fig. 3) of Song with the saturated green LED subpixel (Camardello: 10, Fig. 1) in order to obtain the benefits of providing a display with high color gamut and luminosity as taught by Camardello (page 4, para [0038]).
Song as modified by Camardello does not expressly disclose wherein the saturated green subpixel (Camardello: page 2, para [0020]) includes a color filter comprising a mixture of blue color filter pigments and green color filter pigments. However, official notice is taken that it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention that a saturated green subpixel can be formed with a color filter comprising a mixture of blue color filter pigments and green color filter pigments in order to produce a saturated green color filter. Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the saturated green subpixel with a color filter comprising a mixture of blue color filter pigments and green color filter pigments in order to obtain the benefits of producing a saturated green color filter for a saturated green subpixel as is well known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-24, 33-35, and 39-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art as presently searched does not disclose the display of claim 22, does not disclose the display of claim 23, does not disclose the display of claim 33, does not disclose the display of claim 34, does not disclose the display of claim 39, and does not disclose the display of claim 40. Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent on claim 23. Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent on claim 34.
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871