DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 9/16/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the concave-convex pattern must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The pattern that is labeled concave-convex in the drawings is not concave or convex. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the zigzag form must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The form shown in the drawings is not a zigzag form. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite because it is not clear what is meant by “concave-convex pattern”. Does this mean that it alternates between concave and convex? The drawings do not show a concave or convex pattern. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation. Concave is defined as curving in. Convex is defined as curved out (Cambridge dictionary). Since the drawings are not showing concave or convex, it is not clear what the Applicant is attempting to claim with this pattern and requests that the Applicant please clarify.
Claim 8 is indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “zigzag form”. What is meant by form? Does it just have to look like a zigzag? What is meant by form? The drawings do not show a zigzag, so it is unclear what is meant by this limitation. A zig zag is a line or pattern that looks like a ‘z’ (Cambridge dictionary) or series of short lines inclined at angles in alternate directions (Oxford dictionary). If the Applicant is attempting to claim what is in the drawings, that it is different from a “zigzag form” The Examiner is not sure what is meant by this claim and requests that the Applicant please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Straub (6,257,478).
Regarding claim 1, Straub discloses a reflow flip chip bonding tool apparatus comprising: a heater 6 configured to heat air; and a bonding tool body 5 disposed on an upper surface of the chip, wherein a movement path (arrows) is formed between a lower surface of the bonding tool body and the upper surface of the chip, the air heated by the heater heats the chip through non-contact convection heat transfer while flowing through the movement path and a solder disposed between the lower surface of the chip and an electrode pad of the substrate is melted (figure 4).
The italicized limitations are functional language and/or material worked upon. These limitations do not further limit the structure of the apparatus. It is the Examiner’s position that the prior art would be capable of performing the claimed function.
Regarding claim 3, Straub discloses an air inlet path (downward arrows in the middle of 6) which vertically passes through the bonding tool body and is connected to the movement path is formed at each of both end portions of the bonding tool body (figure 4).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Zovko et al. (4,552,300).
Regarding claim 1, Zovko discloses a reflow flip chip bonding tool apparatus comprising: a heater 62 configured to heat air; and a bonding tool body 12, 14 disposed on an upper surface of the chip, wherein a movement path is formed between a lower surface of the bonding tool body and the upper surface of the chip, the air heated by the heater heats the chip through non-contact convection heat transfer while flowing through the movement path, and a solder disposed between the lower surface of the chip and an electrode pad of the substrate is melted (figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Zovko discloses an air inlet path (downward arrows, figure 1) which vertically passes through the bonding tool body and is connected to the movement path is formed at each of both end portions of the bonding tool body.
The italicized limitations are functional language and/or material worked upon. These limitations do not further limit the structure of the apparatus. It is the Examiner’s position that the prior art would be capable of performing the claimed function.
Regarding claim 4, Zovko discloses an air outlet path (upward arrows, figure 1), which vertically passes through the bonding tool body and discharges the heated air passing through the movement path to the outside, is formed at a center of the bonding tool body.
Regarding claim 7, Zovko discloses that the heater comprises: a body (where 62 is located on 14) including an internal path through which the air flows (figure 1, 5); and a heating cable 62 configured to surround the body, convert electrical energy into thermal energy, and heat the air by using the thermal energy (column 3 lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 8, Zovko discloses the internal path is formed in a zigzag form (figure 5). The heater segments form a zigzag form. The claim does not require the air to flow in the zigzag form. This zigzag is based on the Applicant’s figure showing a “zigzag”. Please refer to the 112 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straub (6,257,478) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Cox et al. (6,220,503).
Regarding claim 5, Straub does not disclose a vacuum valve configured to discharge the heated air, discharged through the air outlet path, to the outside. However, Cox discloses a rework and underfill nozzle for electronic components where there is a vacuum valve configured to discharge heated air through the air outlet path (figure 5, column 5 line 55 to column 6 line 38). To one skilled in the art at the time of the invention it would have been obvious to have a vacuum valve as claimed in order to control the heated air in the apparatus. This allows the user to control the amount of heated air within the apparatus and the amount of air being released from the apparatus during use. This allows one skilled in the art to ensure a proper heating.
Regarding claim 6, Straub does not disclose an air valve configured to allow the air to flow into the heater, based on an opening operation. However, Cox a rework and underfill nozzle for electronic components where there is an air valve configured to allow the air to flow into the heater, based on an opening operation (figure 5, column 5 line 55 to column 6 line 38).
Conclusion
/ERIN B SAAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735