DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 07, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
EXAMINER’S AMENDMENT
An examiner’s amendment to the record appears below. Should the changes and/or additions be unacceptable to applicant, an amendment may be filed as provided by 37 CFR 1.312. To ensure consideration of such an amendment, it MUST be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee.
The application has been amended as follows:
Regarding claims 22-27, line 1 all this claims should be depended on claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite the steps that direct towards an abstract idea can be done by a human without a practical application or significantly more. For example, a human can obtain a bone interface, pushing the bone interface into a hole, nothing in the claim precludes the above steps from being practically performed by a human, See MPEP 2106.04.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23-27 and 36-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westerkull (US 2006/0126874 A1).
As to claim 21, Westerkull discloses a method [§0002], comprising:
obtaining a bone interface [An abutment 102 on FIG. 1 ] of a transcutaneous bone conduction [Fixture 104 on FIG. 1] assembly [“The abutment with a fixture to convert sound into vibrations.” §0056]; and
pushing the bone interface into a hole [106 on FIG.1] in a skull of a human [“The fixture is screwed into a skull bone of a user (human).” §0056].
As to claim 23, Westerkull discloses the method of claim 21, wherein: the bone interface extends from an implantable transcutaneous bone conduction device [“The fixture is screwed into a skull bone of a user (human).” §0056].
As to claim 24, Westerkull discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: attaching the bone interface to an implantable transcutaneous bone [102 on FIG. 1] conduction device [“The fixture is screwed into a skull bone of a user (human), therefore the fixture is attached to the abutment device.” §0056].
As to claim 25, Westerkull discloses the method of claim 24, wherein: the action of attaching the bone interface to the implantable transcutaneous bone conduction device is executed prior to putting the bone interface into the hole [“The action of attaching is prepared by drilling a hole into the skull.” §0061].
As to claim 26, Westerkull discloses the method of claim 21, wherein: a depth of insertion of the bone interface into the hole is limited by a component attached to the bone interface [“The direct bone conduction hearing-aid fixture provided has a thread depth.” §0061].
As to claim 27, Westerkull discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: turning the bone interface in the hole [“The fixture is screwed, therefore turning into the hole in the skull bone.” §0061].
As to claim 36, Westerkull discloses an apparatus [100 on FIG. 1], comprising:
an implantable component [102 on FIG.1], wherein the implantable component is a component of a bone conduction device [108 on FIG. 1], and the component includes a skull facing side [104 on FIG. 1] and a skin facing side [102 on FIG. 1], the skull facing side including half of a male-female interface arrangement configured to interface with the other half of a male-female interface arrangement of a bone implant [“A connection screw (male-female interface) is usually placed through the abutment and then screwed into the a threaded hole in the fixture.” §0017 and §0018].
As to claim 37, Westerkull discloses the apparatus of claim 36, wherein: the implantable component is part of a transcutaneous bone conduction device [102 on FIG. 1 and §0056].
As to claim 38, Westerkull discloses the apparatus of claim 36, wherein: the half of the male-female interface arrangement includes a circular groove [“The grove is circular.” §0040].
As to claim 39, Westerkull discloses the apparatus of claim 38, wherein: the bone implant is attached to the implantable component, and a circular wall of the bone implant is located in the circular groove [“The grove is circular.” §0040].
As to claim 40, Westerkull discloses the apparatus of claim 36, wherein: male-female interface arrangement establishes alignment between the component and the bone implant when the implant is attached to the component [“The embodiment showed along a line view of the fixture, therefore there is an alignment between the component.” §0060].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull in view of Kashiwabara et al. (US 2013/0017511 A1).
As to claim 22, Westerkull discloses the method of claim 21, but fails to disclose the bone interface is a pedestal.
However, Kashiwabara teaches wherein the bone interface is a pedestal [23 on FIG.2 and “The pedestal is to receive the model in close contact with inner surface of the outer model.” §0041].
Westerkull and Kashiwabara are analogous because they are all directed to implant fixture system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Westerkull reference with the teaching of Kashiwabara, so that the pedestal would include the implant fixture of Westerkull, would have been combined into an implant, for the obvious purpose of providing the pedestal in close contact with an inner surface, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull in view of Gibson (US 7,937,156 B2) .
As to claim 28, Westerkull discloses an apparatus [100 on FIG.1], comprising:
an osseointegrating lateral stability device configured for removable attachment to an implantable medical component [“The fixture is fully osseointegrated with the skull bone.” §0061], but fails to disclose a pocket on a side of the device.
However, Gibson teaches the device including at least one pocket on a side of the device [“The surface of the patient’s skull on placement of housing in a periosteal pocket formed in bone.” Column 6, lines 21-26].
Westerkull and Gibson are analogous because they are all directed to implant fixture system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Westerkull reference with the teaching of Gibson, so that the pocket would include in the implant fixture of Westerkull, would have been combined into an implant, for the obvious purpose of providing the pocket loops gradually sink into the bone, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 29, Westerkull discloses the apparatus of claim 28, but fails to disclose a distal end of the device.
However, Gibson teaches wherein: the at least one pocket extends from a distal end of the device towards a proximal end of the device [“The distal end of each screw is positioned so as to abut the bony surface.” Column 7, lines 30-37].
Westerkull and Gibson are analogous because they are all directed to implant fixture system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Westerkull reference with the teaching of Gibson, so that the distal end would include in the implant fixture of Westerkull, would have been combined into an implant, for the obvious purpose of providing the abutting the bony surface under pressure, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 30, Westerkull discloses the apparatus of claim 28, wherein: the pocket is configured for at least one of bone anchoring, rotational stability [“The anchoring system provides an effective solution for attaching direct bone conduction. The examiner choosing the anchoring system because of a simple or.” §0038].
As to claim 31, Westerkull discloses the apparatus of claim 28, but fails to disclose the at least one pocket includes at least three pockets.
However, Gibson (US 7937156 B2) teaches the device including the at least one pocket includes at least three pockets [“The surface of the patient’s skull on placement of housing in a periosteal pocket formed in bone.” Column 6, lines 21-26].
Westerkull and Gibson are analogous because they are all directed to implant fixture system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Westerkull reference with the teaching of Gibson, so that the pocket would include in the implant fixture of Westerkull, would have been combined into an implant, for the obvious purpose of providing the pocket loops gradually sink into the bone, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerkull in view of Dunn (US 2009/0029316 A1).
As to claim 41, Westerkull discloses the apparatus of claim 36, but fails to disclose a magnet.
However, Dunn teaches wherein: the component includes a magnet [“Implants comprise a magnetic material to form a magnetic field.” §0038].
Westerkull and Dunn are analogous because they are all directed to implant fixture system. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found obvious to modify Westerkull reference with the teaching of Dunn, so that the magnetic material would include in the implant fixture of Westerkull, would have been combined into an implant, for the obvious purpose of providing a bipolar magnetic environment, by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 32-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Petric et al. (US 2021/0228361 A1) discloses a bone implant comprising at least one means for providing at least one bone stimulation dynamic interaction to at least one area of a bone-implant interface formed when the implant is inserted into bone.
/GERALD GAUTHIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
July 10, 2026