DETAILED ACTION
*Note in the following document:
1. Texts in italic bold format are limitations quoted either directly or conceptually from claims/descriptions disclosed in the instant application.
2. Texts in regular italic format are quoted directly from cited reference or Applicant’s arguments.
3. Texts with underlining are added by the Examiner for emphasis.
4. Texts with
5. Acronym “PHOSITA” stands for “Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art”.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,-2, 4, 7, 12 and 14 of U.S. Patent No.11,551,380 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the instant application is either anticipated by, or the obvious variation of, the claim of copending application/U.S. Patent No. 11,551,380 B2, as shown in the table below.
Instant Application
US 11,551,380 B2
1. A medical interventional system for performing an interventional procedure, The system comprising:
an interactive medical device including a plurality of components;
an augmented reality display device worn by a user and configured to show an image that includes one or more components of the plurality of components of the interactive medical device in an environment during the interventional procedure using the interactive medical device; and
a processor connected to memory and configured to generate a contextual overlay over the image shown on the augmented reality display device, wherein the processor is configured to generate the contextual overlay to indicate one or more steps to perform the interventional procedure.
A medical interventional system, comprising:
an interactive medical device including a plurality of components;
an augmented reality display device worn by a user and configured to show an image of at least one component of the plurality of components of the interactive medical device viewed by the user during an interventional procedure in an environment using the interactive medical device; and
a processor connected to memory and configured to generate a contextual overlay over the image of the at least one component shown on the augmented reality display device, wherein the processor is configured to generate the contextual overlay to include identification of control of the at least one component to assist the user in performing the interventional procedure using the interactive medical device.
4. The system as recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the contextual overlay to include an identification of a step of the interventional procedure to be performed by the user.
2. The system as recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to generate the contextual overlay to further identify the one or more components.
1, 4
3. The system as recited in claim 1, wherein, to indicate each of the one or more steps, the processor is further configured to identify a component of the one or more components and indicate an instruction to control the identified component for performance of the interventional procedure.
1, 4
5. The system as recited in claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to generate the contextual overlay to further identify a specific region in the environment to position a component of the interactive medical device.
7. The system as recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the contextual overlay to include identification of a specific region in the environment.
6. The system as recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain information including at least one of: feedback from the user, feedback from a subject, feedback from the interactive medical device during the interventional procedure, a history of signals from the one or more components, or a history of signals from a database;
determine the one or more steps to perform the interventional procedure based on the information; and
provide signals to generate the contextual overlay to identify the one or more steps.
2. The system as recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive feedback from at least one of the user, a subject, and the interactive medical device during the interventional procedure; and receive the feedback and provide the contextual overlay based on the feedback.
7. The system as recited in claim 1, wherein the one or more steps of the contextual overlay are indicated to be performed by the user.
4. The system as recited in claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the contextual overlay to include an identification of a step of the interventional procedure to be performed by the user.
8
1, 4 and 12, 14
9
1, 4 and 12, 14
10
1, 4 and 12, 14
12
7
13
2
14
4
15
1, 4 and 12, 14
16
1, 4 and 12, 14
17
1, 4 and 12, 14
19
7
20
2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent Claim 8/15 recites the limitation "the user". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Other dependent claims are rejected due to their dependence on their respective independent claims. For examination purpose, the Examiner assumes it is a typo and the cited the user is intended to be “a user”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belei (US 2015/0230768 A1) in view of Boettger et al. (US 2017/0186157 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Belei teaches or suggests a medical interventional system (Fig.2a-c: notice the X-ray imaging system) for performing an interventional procedure ([0002]: In movable X-ray imaging systems, for example mobile C-arm systems, the positioning is of importance for optimal image quality and also for the ease of use. As an example, during an operation or intervention, the X-ray imaging system can be moved at least partially for different purposes. [0002]: In movable X-ray imaging systems, for example mobile C-arm systems, the positioning is of importance for optimal image quality and also for the ease of use. As an example, during an operation or intervention, the X-ray imaging system can be moved at least partially for different purposes), the system comprising:
an interactive medical device including a plurality of components (Fig.2a);
an augmented reality display device (Fig.2a-c: display 22) configured to show an image that includes one or more components (The image 70 in Fig.5 is interpreted as the displayed image that includes one or more components clamps 60. Also see [0077]: FIG. 5 shows a further schematic setup for the alignment movement. An image 58 indicates clamps 60 holding open an operational field 62. As a manually applied outline, a manually applied marking 64 is provided, together with the angular arrangement of the clamps 60, represented by centre lines 66. These manually applied outlines can then be used further, for example as reference points in a further image setup 68, which is a combination of the result of the image 58, in combination with an actual image 70, provided for the combination of image setup 68, as indicated with first arrow 72 and second arrow 74, the latter indicating the provision of the manually applied outline structures) of the plurality of components of the interactive medical device in an environment (see Fig.8 and [0049]: FIG. 8 shows a further example of movable X-ray imaging system in relation with other equipment in an interventional room) during the interventional procedure using the interactive medical device ([0053]: For an acquisition of at least one further X-ray image in a projection coincident with the first projection parameters of the first X-ray image, the display 22 is configured to display at least a graphical representation of the at least one reference point in the first image at least partly overlaid with an actual image provided by the at least one camera 18 to guide an alignment movement of the X-ray source and/or the X-ray detector and the object in relation to each other after an intermediate displacement); and
a processor connected to memory ([0093]: In another exemplary embodiment of the present invention, a computer program or a computer program element is provided that is characterized by being adapted to execute the method steps of the method according to one of the preceding embodiments, on an appropriate system) and configured to generate a contextual overlay over the image shown on the augmented reality display device, wherein the processor is configured to generate the contextual overlay to indicate one or more steps to perform the interventional procedure ([0082]: Further, also on the display, second movement direction indicators 81 are provided in relation to the displayed image data of the object to indicate the possible movement directions of the image acquisition arrangement in relation to the object).
Belei discloses display 22 is an augmented reality display since the display is configured to display at least a graphical representation of the at least one reference point in the first image at least partly overlaid with an actual image provided by the at least one camera to guide an alignment movement of the X-ray source and/or the X-ray detector and the object in relation to each other after an intermediate displacement ([0006]). But Belei fails to disclose the display is a augmented reality display device worn by a user.
However Boettger discloses it had been known to use a wearable augmented reality display device during interventional procedure ([0127]: In accordance with one form of embodiment of the invention the first output module features a first viewing device, in particular in the form of data eyeglasses, a data contact lens and/or a retinal projector. [0143]: One application of medical imaging lies in the field of intervention, in which the images provided by the medical imaging device are used during a medical intervention in order to plan the intervention and to check the progress of the intervention. Also see Fig.6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Boettger into that of Belei and to include an augmented reality display device worn by a user so that the user does not need to shift his/her view back and forth between the intervention area and the one or more monitors during the course of the intervention as suggested by Boettger ([0005]).
Regarding Claim 2, Belei further teaches or suggests wherein the processor is configured to generate the contextual overlay to further identify the one or more components (see Fig.5: notice the clamps 60 which is interpreted as the one or more components).
Regarding Claim 6, Belei disclose overlaying a first image captured previously with a current image and providing a movement direction indicators 81 as shown in Fig.7 during an interventional procedure. Belei discloses the display is configured to display at least a graphical representation of the at least one reference point in the first image at least partly overlaid with an actual image provided by the at least one camera to guide an alignment movement of the X-ray source and/or the X-ray detector and the object in relation to each other after an intermediate displacement ([0006]). Therefore it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Belei and to obtain information including at least one of: feedback from the user, feedback from a subject, feedback from the interactive medical device during the interventional procedure, a history of signals from the one or more components, or a history of signals from a database; determine the one or more steps to perform the interventional procedure based on the information; and provide signals to generate the contextual overlay to identify the one or more steps in order to assist the alignment until the alignment is completed.
Regarding Claim 7, Belei teaches or suggests wherein the one or more steps of the contextual overlay are indicated to be performed by the user ([0082]: Further, also on the display, second movement direction indicators 81 are provided in relation to the displayed image data of the object to indicate the possible movement directions of the image acquisition arrangement in relation to the object. [0085]: The movement direction indicators provide the possibility for an error-free and robust communication between the surgeon and the operating stuff for moving the X-ray imaging system).
Regarding Claims 8-9 and 13-14, Claims 8-9 and 13-14 are similar to Claims 1-2 and 6-7 except in the format of method. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claims 1-2 and 6-7 is/are also applied to Claims 8-9 and 13-14.
Regarding Claims 15-16 and 20, Claims 15-16 and 20 are similar to Claims 1-2 and 6 except in the format of method. Therefore the same reason(s) for rejection is/are applied to Claims 1-2 and 6 is/are also applied to Claims 15-16 and 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 10-13 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and above double patent rejection and 112 (b) rejection are overcome.
Prior art, either individually or in combination, fails to disclose or render obviousness the limitation of identify a component of the one or more components and indicate an instruction to control the identified component for performance of the interventional procedure as claimed in dependent claim 3 (similar limitation is cited in Claim 10/17). The closest prior art, Belei (US 2015/0230768 A1), discloses identifying a component of the one or more components such as clamps 60. However, prior art fails to disclose indicate an instruction to control the identified component for performance of the interventional procedure. Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 18-19 are objected due to their dependency on Claim 3/10/17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lang (US 2020/0138518 A1) discloses the use of virtual surgical guides such as a distal femoral cut block displayed by an OHMD and physical surgical guides such as physical distal femoral cut blocks ([1541]) as shown in Fig.19a-d.
/YINGCHUN HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613