DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to the application filed on June 18, 2026.
Claims 1 and 9-11 are amended. Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been examined.
Priority
This application claims priority of PCT/JP2022/025670 filed on 06/28/2022. Applicant's claim for the benefit of this prior-filed application is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pietilainen (WO 2013189536 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Pietilainen teaches a relay device comprising: processing circuity: to receive time synchronization messages in a plurality of time synchronization networks using different types of time synchronization profiles with the time synchronization profiles being based on corresponding different network parameters; and to select a grandmaster for use in time synchronization from grandmasters in the plurality of time synchronization networks based on the received time synchronization messages in the plurality of time synchronization networks. (By disclosing, Figure 1 illustrates an example of a computer network to which embodiments of the invention may be applied. The computer network of Figure 1 comprises synchronization islands 100, 101 , 102. The term "synchronization island" refers to a group of network nodes that autonomously selects a master clock to which clocks of the group are synchronized. Each synchronization island comprises a plurality of network nodes 103 to 122. Synchronization islands 100 to 102 are connected to each other via edge routers 104, 1 14, 1 16, 122 called boundary clocks. Additionally, there may be boundary clocks within each synchronization island that do not connect to a neighbouring synchronization island, e.g. boundary clock 1 15. With respect to the embodiments of the invention described below, the embodiments are realized by the boundary clocks connected to the neighbouring synchronization islands. Figure 9 illustrates an embodiment of an apparatus comprising means for carrying out the above-mentioned functionalities of the network node modifying the priority parameters contained in the received announce messages. The apparatus may be the above-mentioned boundary clock which complies with PTP specifications or with specifications of another synchronization scheme where a network node may acquire synchronization from a grandmaster of a neighbouring synchronization island or even from a remote grandmaster. The apparatus may be a router, e.g. an edge router configured to connect to at least one network segment and/or synchronization island. The apparatus may, however, be or may be comprised in another type of network node, e.g. a computer (PC), a measurement device, an industrial device, a base station of a wireless communication system, or a consumer electronic device. According to another aspect, the apparatus carrying out the above-described functionalities is comprised in such a network node, e.g. the apparatus may comprise a circuitry, e.g. a chip, a processor, a micro controller, or a combination of such circuitries in the network node. See at least description associated with fig. 1 and 9)
Regarding Claim 2:
Pietilainen teaches limitations claim 1, Pietilainen further teaches wherein the processing circuitry transmits a time synchronization message indicating time synchronization information of the grandmaster selected, the time synchronization message being along a corresponding time synchronization profile. (By disclosing, Figure 2 illustrates an embodiment of a flow diagram of a process for manipulating announce messages received in the boundary clocks 104, 1 14, 1 16, 122 from another synchronization island. The manipulation of the announce messages may be used to affect the hierarchy of the grandmasters 103, 1 10, 1 12, 120 without requiring changes in a clock selection algorithm, e.g. a best master clock algorithm (BMCA) of the PTP. The process may be carried out as a computer program by at least one processor comprised or applicable to the boundary clock 104, 1 14, 1 16, 122. Referring to Figure 2, a network node of a first synchronization island detects in block 200 that at least one communication port of the network node is connected to a network node of a second synchronization island. This may be determined as a standard procedure when setting up the computer network. The network node of the first synchronization island may be the boundary clock 1 16 of the synchronization island 101 , while the network node of the second. See at least pages 5-6)
Regarding Claim 3:
Pietilainen teaches limitations claim 2, Pietilainen further teaches wherein the processing circuitry performs a time synchronization process based on a time of the grandmaster selected. (See at least description associated with fig. 1 and 4)
Regarding Claim 4:
Pietilainen teaches limitations claim 2, Pietilainen further teaches wherein the processing circuitry selects a grandmaster for use from one or more grandmasters in each of the plurality of time synchronization networks, and selects the grandmaster for use in time synchronization from the selected grandmasters. (See at least description associated with fig. 1 and 4)
Regarding Claim 5:
Pietilainen teaches limitations claim 1, Pietilainen further teaches wherein a priority profile, which is a time synchronization profile with priority, can be set and, when the priority profile is set, the processing circuitry selects, as the grandmaster for use, a grandmaster in a time synchronization network using the priority profile among the plurality of time synchronization networks. (See at least description associated with fig. 3 and 4)
Regarding Claim 6:
Pietilainen teaches limitations claim 5, Pietilainen further teaches wherein when a time synchronization network using a new time synchronization profile is added to an already-laid network, which is a time synchronization network already laid, a time synchronization profile for use in the already-laid network is set as the priority profile. (See at least description associated with fig. 1-4)
Regarding Claim 7:
Pietilainen teaches limitations claim 1, Pietilainen further teaches wherein a comparison target profile, which is a time synchronization profile as a comparison target, can be set and when the comparison target profile is set, the processing circuitry selects the grandmaster for use in time synchronization from grandmasters in time synchronization networks using the comparison target profile among the plurality of time synchronization networks. (See at least description associated with fig. 1-4)
Regarding Claim 8:
Pietilainen teaches limitations claim 7, Pietilainen further teaches wherein a time synchronization profile for use in a time synchronization network in which time accuracy satisfies criteria is set as the comparison target profile. (By disclosing, Figure 1 illustrates an example of a computer network to which embodiments of the invention may be applied. The computer network of Figure 1 comprises synchronization islands 100, 101 , 102. The term "synchronization island" refers to a group of network nodes that autonomously selects a master clock to which clocks of the group are synchronized. Each synchronization island comprises a plurality of network nodes 103 to 122. Synchronization islands 100 to 102 are connected to each other via edge routers 104, 1 14, 1 16, 122 called boundary clocks. Additionally, there may be boundary clocks within each synchronization island that do not connect to a neighbouring synchronization island, e.g. boundary clock 1 15. With respect to the embodiments of the invention described below, the embodiments are realized by the boundary clocks connected to the neighbouring synchronization islands. Figure 9 illustrates an embodiment of an apparatus comprising means for carrying out the above-mentioned functionalities of the network node modifying the priority parameters contained in the received announce messages. The apparatus may be the above-mentioned boundary clock which complies with PTP specifications or with specifications of another synchronization scheme where a network node may acquire synchronization from a grandmaster of a neighbouring synchronization island or even from a remote grandmaster. The apparatus may be a router, e.g. an edge router configured to connect to at least one network segment and/or synchronization island. The apparatus may, however, be or may be comprised in another type of network node, e.g. a computer (PC), a measurement device, an industrial device, a base station of a wireless communication system, or a consumer electronic device. According to another aspect, the apparatus carrying out the above-described functionalities is comprised in such a network node, e.g. the apparatus may comprise a circuitry, e.g. a chip, a processor, a micro controller, or a combination of such circuitries in the network node. See at least description associated with fig. 1 and 9)
Regarding Claim 9:
Pietilainen teaches a relay method comprising: receiving time synchronization messages in a plurality of time synchronization networks using different types of time synchronization profiles with the time synchronization profiles being based on corresponding different network parameters; and selecting a grandmaster for use in time synchronization from grandmasters in the plurality of time synchronization networks based on the time synchronization messages in the plurality of time synchronization networks. (By disclosing, Figure 1 illustrates an example of a computer network to which embodiments of the invention may be applied. The computer network of Figure 1 comprises synchronization islands 100, 101 , 102. The term "synchronization island" refers to a group of network nodes that autonomously selects a master clock to which clocks of the group are synchronized. Each synchronization island comprises a plurality of network nodes 103 to 122. Synchronization islands 100 to 102 are connected to each other via edge routers 104, 1 14, 1 16, 122 called boundary clocks. Additionally, there may be boundary clocks within each synchronization island that do not connect to a neighbouring synchronization island, e.g. boundary clock 1 15. With respect to the embodiments of the invention described below, the embodiments are realized by the boundary clocks connected to the neighbouring synchronization islands. Figure 9 illustrates an embodiment of an apparatus comprising means for carrying out the above-mentioned functionalities of the network node modifying the priority parameters contained in the received announce messages. The apparatus may be the above-mentioned boundary clock which complies with PTP specifications or with specifications of another synchronization scheme where a network node may acquire synchronization from a grandmaster of a neighbouring synchronization island or even from a remote grandmaster. The apparatus may be a router, e.g. an edge router configured to connect to at least one network segment and/or synchronization island. The apparatus may, however, be or may be comprised in another type of network node, e.g. a computer (PC), a measurement device, an industrial device, a base station of a wireless communication system, or a consumer electronic device. According to another aspect, the apparatus carrying out the above-described functionalities is comprised in such a network node, e.g. the apparatus may comprise a circuitry, e.g. a chip, a processor, a micro controller, or a combination of such circuitries in the network node. See at least description associated with fig. 1 and 9)
Regarding Claim 10:
Pietilainen teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a relay program that causes a computer to function as a relay device to execute: a reception process of receiving time synchronization messages in a plurality of time synchronization networks using different types of time synchronization profiles with the time synchronization profiles being based on corresponding different network parameters; and an interprofile selection process of selecting a grandmaster for use in time synchronization from grandmasters in the plurality of time synchronization networks based on the time synchronization messages in the plurality of time synchronization networks received by the reception process. (By disclosing, Figure 1 illustrates an example of a computer network to which embodiments of the invention may be applied. The computer network of Figure 1 comprises synchronization islands 100, 101 , 102. The term "synchronization island" refers to a group of network nodes that autonomously selects a master clock to which clocks of the group are synchronized. Each synchronization island comprises a plurality of network nodes 103 to 122. Synchronization islands 100 to 102 are connected to each other via edge routers 104, 1 14, 1 16, 122 called boundary clocks. Additionally, there may be boundary clocks within each synchronization island that do not connect to a neighbouring synchronization island, e.g. boundary clock 1 15. With respect to the embodiments of the invention described below, the embodiments are realized by the boundary clocks connected to the neighbouring synchronization islands. Figure 9 illustrates an embodiment of an apparatus comprising means for carrying out the above-mentioned functionalities of the network node modifying the priority parameters contained in the received announce messages. The apparatus may be the above-mentioned boundary clock which complies with PTP specifications or with specifications of another synchronization scheme where a network node may acquire synchronization from a grandmaster of a neighbouring synchronization island or even from a remote grandmaster. The apparatus may be a router, e.g. an edge router configured to connect to at least one network segment and/or synchronization island. The apparatus may, however, be or may be comprised in another type of network node, e.g. a computer (PC), a measurement device, an industrial device, a base station of a wireless communication system, or a consumer electronic device. According to another aspect, the apparatus carrying out the above-described functionalities is comprised in such a network node, e.g. the apparatus may comprise a circuitry, e.g. a chip, a processor, a micro controller, or a combination of such circuitries in the network node. See at least description associated with fig. 1 and 9)
Regarding Claim 11:
Pietilainen teaches a time synchronization system comprising: a plurality of time synchronization networks using different types of time synchronization profiles with the time synchronization profiles being based on corresponding different network parameters, wherein at least any of the time synchronization networks among the plurality of time synchronization networks includes a relay device to receive time synchronization messages in the plurality of time synchronization networks and to select a grandmaster for use in time synchronization from grandmasters in the plurality of time synchronization networks based on the received time synchronization messages in the plurality of time synchronization networks. (By disclosing, Figure 1 illustrates an example of a computer network to which embodiments of the invention may be applied. The computer network of Figure 1 comprises synchronization islands 100, 101 , 102. The term "synchronization island" refers to a group of network nodes that autonomously selects a master clock to which clocks of the group are synchronized. Each synchronization island comprises a plurality of network nodes 103 to 122. Synchronization islands 100 to 102 are connected to each other via edge routers 104, 1 14, 1 16, 122 called boundary clocks. Additionally, there may be boundary clocks within each synchronization island that do not connect to a neighbouring synchronization island, e.g. boundary clock 1 15. With respect to the embodiments of the invention described below, the embodiments are realized by the boundary clocks connected to the neighbouring synchronization islands. Figure 9 illustrates an embodiment of an apparatus comprising means for carrying out the above-mentioned functionalities of the network node modifying the priority parameters contained in the received announce messages. The apparatus may be the above-mentioned boundary clock which complies with PTP specifications or with specifications of another synchronization scheme where a network node may acquire synchronization from a grandmaster of a neighbouring synchronization island or even from a remote grandmaster. The apparatus may be a router, e.g. an edge router configured to connect to at least one network segment and/or synchronization island. The apparatus may, however, be or may be comprised in another type of network node, e.g. a computer (PC), a measurement device, an industrial device, a base station of a wireless communication system, or a consumer electronic device. According to another aspect, the apparatus carrying out the above-described functionalities is comprised in such a network node, e.g. the apparatus may comprise a circuitry, e.g. a chip, a processor, a micro controller, or a combination of such circuitries in the network node. See at least description associated with fig. 1 and 9)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection initiated by applicant’s amendment to claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEHA PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3699