Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/31/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 10, the limitation of “wherein the first adjustment portion is at least partially located between adjacent the first portions” is unclear language. It is not clear what is meant by this limitation. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanari (US 20240090300 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Hanari teaches a display panel (at least Fig.3), comprising:
a base plate 10; an isolation structure (rib 5) arranged at one side of the base plate and encircling a plurality of isolation openings (location of OR3); a light-emitting functional layer LE3 arranged at one side of the base plate and comprising a light-emitting structure arranged corresponding to the isolation opening;
an encapsulation protection layer (first sealing layer SE1) arranged at a side of the light-emitting functional layer away from the base plate and comprising a first encapsulation layer,
the first encapsulation layer comprising a plurality of first encapsulation portions respectively arranged in the plurality of isolation openings;
and an optical functional portion comprising a plurality of second adjustment portions CF3, the second adjustment portions located at a side of the first encapsulation portion away from the base plate, and the second adjustment portion at least partially embedded in the isolation opening, the second adjustment portion comprising a color filter ([0068]).
Regarding claim 5, Hanari teaches a display panel, comprising: a base plate; an isolation structure arranged at one side of the base plate and encircling a plurality of isolation openings; a light-emitting functional layer arranged at one side of the base plate and comprising a light-emitting structure arranged corresponding to the isolation opening:
an encapsulation protection layer arranged at a side of the light-emitting functional layer away from the base plate and partially embedded in the isolation opening (see rejection in claim 1, the same citations apply);
and an optical functional portion (62 and [0080]) arranged in the encapsulation protection layer SE1, an orthographic projection of the optical functional portion on the base plate overlapping an orthographic projection of at least one of the isolation structure or the light-emitting structure on the base plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Joo (US 20210408162 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Joo teaches a display panel (Fig.2), comprising: a base plate 100; an isolation structure 129 arranged at one side of the base plate and encircling a plurality of isolation openings; a light-emitting functional layer 121 ([0043]) arranged at one side of the base plate and comprising a light-emitting structure arranged corresponding to the isolation opening; an encapsulation protection layer arranged at a side of the light-emitting functional layer away from the base plate and comprising a first encapsulation layer 140, the first encapsulation layer comprising a plurality of first encapsulation portions respectively arranged in the plurality of isolation openings; and an optical functional portion comprising a plurality of second adjustment portions 161, the second adjustment portions located at a side of the first encapsulation portion away from the base plate, and the second adjustment portion at least partially embedded in the isolation opening, the second adjustment portion comprising a color filter (161,[0043]).
Regarding claim 2, Joo teaches a display panel, wherein the optical functional portion further comprises a first adjustment portion 169, and an orthographic projection of the first adjustment portion on the base plate is at least partially located between orthographic projections of adjacent second adjustment portions 161 on the base plate; wherein the first adjustment portion comprises a light-absorbing material ([0052]).
Regarding claim 3, Joo teaches a display panel, the encapsulation protection layer further comprises a second encapsulation layer 180 located at a side of the first encapsulation layer away from the base plate, and both the first adjustment portion and the second adjustment portions are at least partially located between the first encapsulation layer 140 and the second encapsulation layer 180; and the encapsulation protection layer further comprises a third encapsulation layer 190 located at a side of the second encapsulation layer away from the base plate; the first encapsulation layer ([0100]) and the third encapsulation layer comprise an inorganic material ([0116]), and the second encapsulation layer comprises an organic material ([0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Joo teaches a display panel, comprising: a base plate; an isolation structure arranged at one side of the base plate and encircling a plurality of isolation openings; a light-emitting functional layer arranged at one side of the base plate and comprising a light-emitting structure arranged corresponding to the isolation opening; an encapsulation protection layer arranged at a side of the light-emitting functional layer away from the base plate and partially embedded in the isolation opening (see rejection in claim 1, the same citations apply);
and an optical functional portion 169 arranged in the encapsulation protection layer, an orthographic projection of the optical functional portion on the base plate overlapping an orthographic projection of at least one of the isolation structure 129 or the light-emitting structure on the base plate.
Regarding claim 6, Joo teaches a display panel, wherein the encapsulation protection layer comprises a first encapsulation layer, a second encapsulation layer, and a third encapsulation layer stacked in sequence along a direction away from the base plate; the first encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of first encapsulation portions respectively arranged in the plurality of isolation openings; and the first encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer respectively comprise an inorganic material, and the second encapsulation layer comprises an organic material (see rejection of claim 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Joo teaches a display panel, wherein the optical functional portion 169 is at least partially located between the first encapsulation layer and the second encapsulation layer;(180 and 140) (- - or the optical functional portion is at least partially located between the second encapsulation layer and the third encapsulation layer- -).
Regarding claim 11, Joo teaches a display panel, wherein the optical functional portion comprises a first adjustment portion arranged at a side of the isolation structure away from the base plate; the first adjustment portion comprises a black matrix; and an orthographic projection of the first adjustment portion on the base plate covers the orthographic projection of the isolation structure on the base plate (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Regarding claim 12, Joo teaches a display panel, wherein the optical functional portion comprises a plurality of second adjustment portions, the second adjustment portion is at least partially embedded in the isolation opening and comprises a color filter (see rejection in claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Joo teaches a display panel, wherein the encapsulation protection layer comprises a first encapsulation layer 140, and the first encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of first encapsulation portions respectively arranged in the isolation openings; the second adjustment portion 161 is located at a side of the first encapsulation portions away from the base plate; and the second adjustment portion is arranged in contact with the first encapsulation portion.
Regarding claim 14, Joo teaches a display panel, wherein the optical functional portion 169 further comprises a first adjustment portion, and an orthographic projection of the first adjustment portion on the base plate is at least partially located between orthographic projections of adjacent second adjustment portions 161 on the base plate; wherein the first adjustment portion comprises a light-absorbing material (black matrix 169); and the encapsulation protection layer further comprises a second encapsulation layer 180 located at a side of the first encapsulation layer away from the base plate, and both the first adjustment portion and the second adjustment portion are at least partially located between the first encapsulation layer 140 and the second encapsulation layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Joo in view of Choung (US 11348983 B1)
Regarding claim 4, Joo teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding the isolation structure120 comprises a first isolation portion and a second isolation portion stacked in sequence along a direction away from the base plate, and an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the base plate is located within an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the base plate.
Choung teaches multiple portions for the isolation structure namely 110A and 110C and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the multiple partitions in the device of Joo, as disclosed in Choung in order to use various materials for different functions (see in Choung: The top portion 110B includes a metal material that includes, but is not limited to, Ti, Cu, Mo, ITO, IZO or combinations thereof And the base portion 110A includes a conductive oxide of at least one of the TCO material or the TMO material).
Regarding claim 8, Joo teaches the invention set forth in claim 5 above, but is silent regarding the isolation structure120 comprises a first isolation portion and a second isolation portion stacked in sequence along a direction away from the base plate, and an orthographic projection of the first isolation portion on the base plate is located within an orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the base plate.
Choung teaches multiple portions for the isolation structure namely 110A and 110C and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the multiple partitions in the device of Joo, as disclosed in Choung in order to use various materials for different functions (see in Choung: The top portion 110B includes a metal material that includes, but is not limited to, Ti, Cu, Mo, ITO, IZO or combinations thereof And the base portion 110A includes a conductive oxide of at least one of the TCO material or the TMO material).
Further, Joo in view of Choung teaches the display panel further comprises a first electrode layer 114 (Fig.1A in Choung) arranged between the light-emitting functional layer 112 (Choung) and the encapsulation protection layer 116, and the first electrode layer comprises a plurality of first electrodes arranged corresponding to the isolation openings; and the first isolation portion comprises an electrically conductive material, and the first electrode is electrically connected with the first isolation portion; (see in Choung:
The TCO material, the TMO material, or the metal alloy material having the metal oxide surface allows the overhang structures to remain conductive to ensure that the base portion and the cathode are permanently connected).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Joo in view of Choung and further in view of Hanari (US 20240090300 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Joo in view of Choung teaches the invention set forth in claim 8 above, but does not teach the optical functional portion comprises a first adjustment portion arranged at a side of the second isolation portion away from the base plate; a light reflectivity corresponding to the first adjustment portion is less than a light reflectivity corresponding to the second isolation portion; the first adjustment portion comprises a black matrix; and an orthographic projection of the first adjustment portion on the base plate covers the orthographic projection of the second isolation portion on the base plate.
Hanari teaches a display panel (Fig.3) wherein the optical functional portion comprises a first adjustment portion BM arranged at a side of the second isolation portion 62 away from the base plate 10; a light reflectivity corresponding to the first adjustment portion is less than a light reflectivity corresponding to the second isolation portion (since BM has low reflectivity and see [0140]) ; the first adjustment portion comprises a black matrix BM; and an orthographic projection of the first adjustment portion BM on the base plate covers the orthographic projection of the second isolation portion 62 on the base plate and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the first adjustment portion made of black matrix; over the second isolation portion, as disclosed in Hanari, in the device of Joo in view of Choung in order to prevent reflection of external light on to the partition layers ([0140] in Hanari).
Regarding claim 10, Joo in view of Choung and Hanari teaches the display wherein the encapsulation protection layer SE1 (Hanari) comprises a first encapsulation layer, a portion of the first encapsulation layer is arranged in contact with the isolation structure (61,62),
and the first encapsulation layer comprises a first portion (area of SEI surrounding 62 on top in Hanari) located at the side of the second isolation portion away from the base plate;
the first adjustment portion 62 is at least partially located at a side of the first portion away from the base plate and arranged in contact with the first portion;
and the isolation structure encircles two or more isolation openings, the first encapsulation layer comprises a plurality of first encapsulation portions arranged corresponding to the two or more isolation openings, and first portions corresponding to at least a portion of adjacent first encapsulation portions are spaced apart (since the ceiling of SE1 on top of 62 is spaced from its neighboring counterparts); wherein the first adjustment portion is at least partially located between adjacent the first portions (see 112 rejection above).
Claim Objection
Claim 15 is objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
For claim 15, the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests the limitation of “ the third portion and the fourth portion are spaced apart in the thickness direction of the base plate to form a gap space, and the first adjustment portion is at least partially located at the side of the gap space away from the base plate; and the first adjustment portion is partially located within the gap space”.
The inventive feature refers to Applicant’s Fig.5, wherein there is a gap between the third and fourth portions B3 and B4 respectively, and the first adjustment portion is partially located within the gap space.
Other art
US 10680052 B2; US 20220077257 A1
US 20220206612 A1:
US 20220028954 A1:
US 20220006052 A1: light reflection in wall
US 20080309235 A1: light shielding layer 13
US 20210066643 A1
US 20200058896 A1
US 20220093690
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875