DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a generally planar base plate” and first/second “generally U shaped region”, and it is not clear what is required in consideration of the use of the term “generally”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-4 recite “U” shaped region and use of quotation marks in the claim text renders the claims indefinite.
Claim 3 recites an endoscope cart and it is not clear if the claim is positively reciting the cart or if it should be clearly written only in terms of functional language limitations so as to not require the cart.
Claim 5 recites “generally pentagonal” and it is not clear what is required in consideration of the use of the term “generally”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites “the hanger is a single monolithic structure” and the claim is indefinite because monolithic would having an ordinary meaning or interpretation to require only a single piece while claim 1 requires the hanger to be comprised of a base plate and an arched member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Haden (US 10,450,125).
Regarding claim 1, Haden (hereafter “D1”) discloses a hanger (mount 22, structure 100) for hanging a fluid reservoir (12) relative to an endoscope cart (mounted via structure 100 to a pole/bed/chair etc.; capable of attaching to an endoscope cart – col. 8, lines 3-8), the hanger comprising: a generally planar base plate (structure 100); an arched member (22 is curved to comprise multiple curved portions) extending from an upper surface of the base plate (figure 2), the arched member including a first generally "U" shaped region (end having attachments clips 32/36) and a second generally "U" shaped region (end holding 12); and at least one arm extending from the arched member (at clips 32/36), the at least one arm configured to receive a tubing (14); wherein the second generally "U" shaped region is configured to receive a portion of a fluid reservoir (12) (figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the first generally "U" shaped region (end of 22 having clips 32/36) extends from the upper surface of the base plate (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, D1 discloses wherein the first generally "U" shaped region (end of 22 having clips 32/36) has a height greater than a raised perimeter of a shelf of an endoscope cart (capable of cart attachment so as to be higher than a perimeter).
Regarding claim 4, D1 discloses wherein the second generally "U" shaped region (end supporting 12) curves away from a lateral edge of the base plate (at 100) (figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses a silicone coating of the mount (22) which is secured to a lower surface of the base (100) thereby discloses a gasket secured to a lower surface of the base plate.
Regarding claim 8, D1 discloses wherein the at least one arm (32/36) extends generally parallel to a plane of the base plate (figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, D1 discloses further comprising a clamp (clip 36) at a free end of the at least one arm.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, D1 discloses wherein the hanger is a single monolithic structure (forms a whole or unitary device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haden (US 10,450,125) in view of Foote et al. (US 2020/0230272).
Regarding claim 10, D1 discloses use of metal or metal alloy for the mount (22) (col. 8, line 14) but does not specifically state the use of ionic silver or copper.
Foote et al. discloses use of ionic silver or copper for tubes (111, 112) of an IV pole (being a fluid support device) for the purpose of anti-microbial properties ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to utilize ionic silver or copper for the metal material of D1 (as taught in Foote et al.) for the purpose of providing anti-microbial properties.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631