Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11034366 to Erharter.
Regarding claim 1, Erharter discloses an apparatus for supporting a sheave assembly on a holding device 2, comprising: at least one holding recess on the holding device (as evident form Fig. 3);
the sheave assembly comprises a carrier unit 6 that includes a bearing part 12 and a connecting recess in the bearing part (as evident from Fig. 3);
a connecting element 5 is inserted through the connecting recess of the bearing part of the carrier unit and through the at least one holding recess of the holding device in order to support the carrier unit on the holding device via the connecting element so as to be pivotable about an axis of rotation (as evident from Fig. 3);
at least one securing element 9 is arranged on the holding device (as evident from Fig. 2, via arrangement 15), so that relative movement between the securing element and the holding device radially to the axis of rotation is prevented by the arrangement (e.g. see col. 4, ln 36-37);
a securing recess is provided on the securing element (as evident from Fig. 2); and the bearing part of the carrier unit is at least partially arranged in the securing recess of the securing element (as evident from Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Erharter discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a gap is formed in the arrangement between the securing recess of the securing element and the bearing part of the carrier unit, wherein the securing element comprises at least one adjustment element 11 which, when the connecting element is removed, is movable radially to the axis of rotation in order to arrange the bearing part of the carrier unit coaxially to the axis of rotation (e.g. see Fig. 3, col. 5, ln 1-13, 20-25, 49-52).
Regarding claim 3, Erharter discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the securing element is firmly connected to the holding device (e.g. see col. 4, ln 36-37).
Regarding claim 4, Erharter discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the securing element is firmly connected to the bearing part of the carrier unit and the securing element is arranged on the holding device so as to be pivotable about the axis of rotation (as evident from Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Erharter discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the holding device has two side plates 3 (see Fig. 3), in each of which the holding recess is provided (as evident from Fig. 3), and a receiving region for the bearing part of the carrier unit is formed between the side plates (as evident from Fig. 3),
wherein the securing element with the securing recess is arranged on each side plate (as evident from Fig. 3),
wherein the relative movement between the relevant securing element and the side plate of the holding device radially to the axis of rotation is prevented by the arrangement 15, and wherein one axial end each of the bearing part of the carrier unit is arranged at least partially in the securing recess of one of the securing elements (as evident from Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Erharter discloses the method for servicing and mounting a bearing of a sheave assembly on a holding device with an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the connecting element is removed from the connecting recess of the bearing part of the carrier unit and from the at least one holding recess of the holding device (col. 5, ln 20-24),
whereby the carrier unit remains mounted on the holding device due to the arrangement of the bearing part of the carrier unit in the securing recess of the securing element (col. 5, ln 20-24), the method comprising: via one of: when the previously removed connecting element is reinserted through the connecting recess of the bearing part of the carrier unit and through the at least one holding recess of the holding device or when a different connecting element is inserted through the connecting recess of the bearing part of the carrier unit and through the at least one holding recess of the holding device (col. 5, ln 38-48), mounting the carrier unit on the holding device via the connecting element so as to be pivotable about the axis of rotation (col. 5, ln 38-48).
Regarding claim 7, Erharter discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein a gap formed in the arrangement between the securing recess of the securing element and the bearing part of the carrier unit and the method further comprises, before the connecting element is inserted into the connecting recess, moving the adjustment element of the securing element radially to the axis of rotation in order to arrange the bearing part of the carrier unit coaxially to the axis of rotation (e.g. see Fig. 3, col. 5, ln 1-13, 20-25, 49-52).
Conclusion
directed to SCOTT A BROWNE whose telephone number is (571)270-0151. The examiner can normally
be reached on Variable Workweek/IFP.
Mercado can be reached on (571) 270-5744. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-
direct. uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666