DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: it recites "…in the at least one sensor…"; however, it should recite "…in the sensor…". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation ""the at least sensor"" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites “and one or interrupting or enabling in the at least one sensor, a current flow, thereby triggering an action,” which is grammatically unclear and renders the scope of the claimed method uncertain. It is not reasonably clear what the step requires, what “one or” modifies, and whether the “current flow” being interrupted/enabled is a current flow through the sensor or through some other portion of the system. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the method step cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim 8 is rejected the same because it depends upon claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel (US 20080169454 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 103279065 A) and Colmer (US 4057365 A).
Regarding claim 1, Michel discloses a bearing of a sheave assembly of a cableway (Michel is directed to aerial ropeway transport installations (ski lift; chair/gondola), with mixed compression/support sheave assemblies guiding the rope (Michel figs. 1-4, [0002]-[0004], and [0018]).), wherein the bearing comprises a receiving component and a component of the sheave assembly that is mounted on the receiving component via a connecting element so as to be pivotable about an axis of rotation (Michel discloses a cableway sheave assembly structure in which a component of the sheave assembly is mounted to a receiving component via a pin-type connecting element such that the sheave assembly is pivotable about an axis of rotation. Specifically, Michel describes a beam 14 that is arranged to be connected to the bearing/support structure by a swivel-pin 21, thereby permitting articulation about the pin axis (Michel [0022]–[0023]). Michel further describes a main sheave assembly 29 that is “mounted rotating” on a main pin 30 securely fixed to a pylon, which pin defines the axis about which the sheave assembly pivots (Michel [0030]). Accordingly, Michel teaches the claimed bearing environment including (i) a receiving component (e.g., the bearing structure fixed to the pylon) and (ii) a component of the sheave assembly (e.g., beam 14 / frame 28 / main sheave assembly 29) mounted on the receiving component via a connecting element (swivel-pin 21 and/or main pin 30) so as to be pivotable about an axis of rotation (Michel [0018], [0022]–[0023], [0030]).) and the sheave assembly is arranged in a target radial position with respect to the axis of rotation (Michel inherently establishes a normal/nominal installed position of the sheave assembly relative to the pivot pin axis by virtue of the pin-mounted bearing arrangement (e.g., “mounted rotating on a main pin 30” fixed to the pylon). See Michel [0030]. The “target radial position” corresponds to the designed installed position (i.e., the intended alignment/position about the pin axis) during normal operation.).
However, Michel does not expressly disclose an arrangement for monitoring, the arrangement comprising: at least one sensor arranged in a region of the bearing to detect a radial change in position of the sheave assembly relative to the axis of rotation from the target radial position, wherein the at least one sensor is designed to one of interrupt or enable a current flow upon detecting a prespecified radial change in position of the sheave assembly relative to the axis of rotation from a target radial position in order to trigger an action.
Nonetheless, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches providing at least one sensor in the region of a bearing/bush to detect a radial change in position from a normal (target) position. In particular, Zhang discloses a bearing shell (bearing bush) detection system in which a PLC controller 1 is connected to one or more displacement sensors for detecting bearing shell displacement, including a bearing shell radial displacement transducer 5 that detects displacement in the radial direction (i.e., “side-play amount radially”) in real time (Zhang, Abstract/Summary; see also Description of drawings list identifying elements 1–5). Zhang further explains that such displacement sensors are installed at/around the bush seat (e.g., the radial displacement transducer 5 is installed on the bush seat at the top of the bearing shell) so as to directly measure radial displacement of the bearing/bush relative to its intended position (Zhang, Summary/technical measures). Accordingly, Zhang teaches the claimed “at least one sensor arranged in a region of the bearing to detect a radial change in position of the sheave assembly relative to the axis of rotation from the target radial position.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Zhang’s radial displacement sensing (e.g., radial displacement transducer 5) into the pin/bearing region of Michel’s pylon-mounted ropeway sheave assembly—such as at or near the pivot interface about the swivel-pin 21 and/or main pin 30—to detect wear-induced radial looseness/positional change of the sheave assembly relative to the pin axis and thereby monitor bearing condition and improve safety/maintenance predictability.
However, Michel in view of Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one sensor is designed to one of interrupt or enable a current flow upon detecting a prespecified radial change in position of the sheave assembly relative to the axis of rotation from a target radial position in order to trigger an action. Specifically, Zhang teaches that a prespecified displacement threshold may be used to trigger an action. Specifically, Zhang discloses that when a displacement transducer output “surpasses setting value,” a signal is transmitted to the PLC controller 1, which in turn provides the information to a monitoring alarm computer 2 and a drive control system 3 such that the monitoring alarm computer 2 can generate an alarm and the drive control system 3 can control the motor to stop operation (Zhang, Summary/beneficial effect; see also Description of drawings identifying elements 1–3 and displacement sensing including radial displacement transducer 5).
Furthermore, in an analogous art, Colmer further teaches implementing the triggered action by a sensor/switch that interrupts or enables current flow via contact opening/closing. Colmer discloses a limit switch 40 having contacts 74, 76, 78 arranged such that, during normal operation, contacts 74–76 are closed to energize a holding relay 88 to supply power to the motor, whereas when bearing-related displacement occurs (shaft drop), contacts 74–76 open to de-energize relay 88 and stop the motor (interrupting current flow), and contacts 74–78 close to energize a warning light 92 (enabling current flow to a signaling circuit). See Colmer Abstract and col 3 ln 57 - col 4 ln 27.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Michel’s pylon-mounted ropeway sheave assembly (pivotably mounted about swivel pin 21 and/or main pin 30) to include Zhang’s displacement-based bearing monitoring (e.g., radial displacement transducer 5 coupled to PLC 1) because Zhang teaches that comparing measured bearing displacement to a preset setting value provides early detection of wear/loosening and enables timely alarm and/or shutdown to improve operational safety. It further would have been obvious to implement the triggering function using Colmer’s limit-switch contact arrangement (switch 40, contacts 74/76/78, relay 88, indicator 92) because Colmer teaches a reliable mechanism to interrupt or enable current flow upon a detected displacement to stop equipment and/or provide a warning indication, thereby achieving the predictable result of protective action before major damage occurs.
Regarding claim 2, Michel in view of Zhang and Colmer discloses the arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the sheave assembly is a carrier unit of the sheave assembly or a carrier of the sheave assembly (Michel teaches that the ropeway sheave assembly includes structural members that function as a carrier unit (i.e., a structure that carries and supports multiple sheaves) and also describes a larger carrier/assembly that supports multiple modules. Specifically, Michel discloses a mixed sheave assembly 10 composed of sheave assembly modules M1, M2 mounted on opposite ends of a holding beam 14 (Michel [0018], [0028]). Each module M1, M2 includes pairs of holding arms 15,16,18,19 and a connecting frame 28 supporting joint pins 17, 20, with the sheaves 11,12 mounted rotating on pins by means of ball-bearings (Michel [0019], [0023], [0026]). Thus, Michel’s module structure (e.g., holding arms 15/16/18/19, frame 28, and/or holding beam 14) constitutes a carrier unit of the sheave assembly in that it carries and supports the sheaves 11,12 as a unit (Michel [0018]–[0019], [0026]–[0028]). Michel further discloses a larger sheave assembly arrangement in which the swivel-pins 21 of elemental beams 14 are supported by ends of a main sheave assembly 29, which is mounted rotating on a main pin 30 securedly fixed to a pylon (Michel [0030]). This main sheave assembly 29 functions as a carrier supporting the sheave assembly modules and associated sheaves. Accordingly, Michel teaches the claim 2 alternative that the sheave assembly is a carrier unit (module/beam/frame carrying sheaves) and/or a carrier (main sheave assembly 29 supporting modules), thereby meeting the limitation of claim 2 (Michel figs. 1-4; [0018]–[0019], [0026]–[0028], [0030]).)
Same motivation to combine/modify as claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Michel in view of Zhang and Colmer discloses the arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the receiving component is a carrier of the sheave assembly and the component of the sheave assembly is a carrier unit of the sheave assembly (Michel teaches this claimed “carrier / carrier unit” relationship within a ropeway sheave assembly. In particular, Michel discloses an arrangement in which the swivel-pins 21 of elemental beams 14 (supporting sheave-assembly modules) are supported by the ends of a main sheave assembly 29, and the main sheave assembly 29 is mounted rotating on a main pin 30) securely fixed to a pylon (Michel [0030]). In this configuration, the main sheave assembly 29 functions as a carrier of the overall sheave assembly because it supports and carries the subordinate beam/module structures via the swivel-pin interfaces, and thus corresponds to the claimed receiving component (carrier). Further, each elemental beam 14 (and the associated module structure mounted thereon) functions as a carrier unit of the sheave assembly because it supports the sheaves and related articulated structures as a unit (e.g., modules mounted on beam 14) and is itself mounted to the carrier 29 via the swivel-pin 21 (Michel [0018], [0026]–[0028], [0030]). Accordingly, Michel expressly teaches the arrangement in which a carrier 29 serves as the receiving component and a carrier unit (e.g., beam 14 / module structure) serves as the component of the sheave assembly mounted thereon, meeting the limitation of claim 3.).
Same motivation to combine/modify as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Michel in view of Zhang and Colmer discloses the arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is a limit switch or a proximity sensor (Colmer teaches using a limit switch as the sensor in a bearing-monitoring context to trigger protective actions by changing circuit continuity. Specifically, Colmer discloses a limit switch 40 positioned to detect a predetermined displacement (shaft drop due to thrust bearing wear/failure) and expressly provides that the system shuts down the motor and signals “upon the opening of the contacts in the switch” (Colmer Abstract). Colmer further discloses that the limit switch 40 includes switch contacts 74, 76, 78 arranged such that, during normal operation, contacts 74–76 are closed to energize a holding relay (88) to supply power to the motor, and upon displacement (shaft drop) contacts 74–76 open to de-energize relay 88 and stop the motor, while contacts 74–78 close to energize a warning light 92 (Colmer col 3 ln 57 - col 4 ln 27; FIGS. 4–5). Thus, Colmer teaches that the “at least one sensor” may be a limit switch, which corresponds to the limitation of claim 4. Also, Zhang additionally teaches displacement sensing at a bearing/bush via a displacement transducer (including a bearing shell radial displacement transducer (5)) for detecting radial displacement and providing an output to a control system (PLC 1) for alarm/shutdown when displacement exceeds a preset setting value (Zhang, Abstract/Summary; Summary/beneficial effect; Description of drawings list identifying elements 1–5).).
Same motivation to combine/modify as claim 1.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 over Michel (US 20080169454 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 103279065 A) and Colmer (US 4057365 A) for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1. Claims 7-8 recites a method configured to perform the same operations/functions recited in claim 1. The step limitations of claims 7-8 correspond to the operations/functions of claim 1 in method form, and the scope and content of the recited features are substantially the same as those addressed in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michel (US 20080169454 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 103279065 A) and Colmer (US 4057365 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Segafredo (US 4269123 A).
Regarding claim 5, Michel in view of Zhang and Colmer discloses the arrangement according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the receiving component has at least one securing element to bear the sheave assembly on the receiving component via the at least one securing element in the event of failure of the connecting element.
Nonetheless, in an analogous art, Segafredo teaches providing a securing/retaining element on the receiving/support structure that bears and retains a sheave/rocker assembly in the event of failure of the connecting spindle. In particular, Segafredo discloses a rocker having side-plates 20 that is mounted to rotate about a support spindle 22 carried by main side-plates 24, which correspond to a receiving/support component. Segafredo further discloses a cross-piece 78 mounted on the main side-plates 24 (via spindles 74, 76) that interferes with excessive movement and acts as a stop for the rocker. Segafredo expressly teaches that an appendix 88 associated with the cross-piece 78 “forms a temporary support” in the event of breaking of the spindle 22, thereby retaining/bearing the rocker/sheave support on the receiving structure even when the connecting element fails. See Segafredo figs. 1-2 and col 1 ln 47 - col 2 ln 45.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Segafredo’s receiver-mounted fail-safe retaining structure (cross-piece 78 and/or appendix 88) into Michel’s (as modified by Zhang and Colmer) pylon-mounted sheave assembly to provide a redundant support path upon pivot pin failure because Segafredo teaches that such structure temporarily supports/retains the assembly when the support spindle 22 breaks, thereby improving operational safety and avoiding catastrophic loss in an overhead cable transport environment.
Regarding claim 6, Michel in view of Zhang and Colmer discloses the arrangement according to claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one securing element comprises the at least one sensor. Specifically, Colmer teaches a sensor implemented as a limit switch 40 having contacts 74, 76, 78 that change state (open/close) to interrupt or enable current flow to trigger protective actions, such as stopping a motor via relay 88 and energizing a warning light 92 (Colmer Abstract, col 3 ln 57 - col 4 ln 27; FIGS. 4-5).
Nonetheless, in an analogous art, Segafredo teaches a securing/retaining element on a receiving/support structure that bears/supports a sheave/rocker assembly in the event of failure of the connecting spindle. Specifically, Segafredo discloses a rocker having side-plates 20 mounted to rotate about a support spindle 22 carried by main side-plates 24, and further discloses a cross-piece 78 mounted to the main side-plates 24, wherein an associated appendix 88 “forms a temporary support” in the event of breaking of the spindle 22, i.e., the securing element bears/supports the assembly when the connecting element fails. See Segafredo figs. 1-2 and col 1 ln 47 - col 2 ln 45.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Segafredo’s receiver-mounted securing/retaining structure (cross-piece 78 and/or appendix 88) into Michel’s (as modified by Zhang and Colmer) pylon-mounted sheave assembly (e.g., about swivel-pin 21 and/or main pin 30) to provide a redundant support path in the event of pin/spindle failure or excessive movement, and to further integrate a Colmer-type limit switch 40 into/on that securing element because the securing element is the point of mechanical engagement in the failure condition and Colmer teaches a reliable contact-based switch output (contacts 74, 76, 78) for interrupting/enabling current flow to trigger shutdown/alarm. The combination yields the predictable result of a mechanically fail-safe support with immediate electrical detection/response when the securing element is engaged.
Conclusion
/RAJSHEED O BLACK-CHILDRESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2685