DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/7/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamabi et al (US 20190341409).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamabi teaches a microlens array (abstract; figs. 1 and 5), comprising:
a plurality of microlenses (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2); and
a low refractive index layer formed on the plurality of microlenses (fig. 1, 5; fig. 5, 5) and comprising a hollow filler and a medium (fig. 8, 301, 302; ¶[0134], line 1-6, The functional film 5 contains a hollow particle 301 in plurality and a pore 302 between hollow particles) such that the low refractive index layer has a refractive index that is lower than a refractive index of the plurality of microlenses (¶[0085], line 1-4, A refractive index of the functional film 5 must be lower than a refractive index of the microlenses constituting the microlens array 2; ¶[0087], line 1-4, the refractive index of the functional film 5 is preferably within a range from 1.05 to 1.14; ¶[0105], line 1-3, The refractive index of the microlens array 2 is within a range from, for example, 1.40 to 2.10,),
wherein the low refractive index layer is formed such that a proportion of white pixels in a binarized plan view image of the low refractive index layer is 76% or less (figs. 12-16; ¶[0393], Table 2-1, Example II-12, II-13, II-14, Porosity: 73.3%, 66.7%).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamabi teaches the microlens array according to claim 1, wherein the low refractive index layer is formed such that the proportion of white pixels is 67% or more (figs. 12-16; ¶[0393], Table 2-1, Example II-12, II-13, Porosity: 73.3%).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamabi teaches the microlens array according to claim 1, further comprising: a functional layer formed on the low refractive index layer (fig. 5, 13- antireflection layer).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamabi teaches the microlens array according to claim 1, wherein the hollow filler in the low refractive index layer comprises silica (¶[0233], 1-10, The refractive index of the functional film 5 may be controlled by using such properties to control the agglomeration state of the hollow silica particles based on the type and the additive amount of the flocculant).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamabi teaches the microlens array according to claim 2, further comprising: a functional layer formed on the low refractive index layer (fig. 5, 13- antireflection layer).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamabi teaches the microlens array according to claim 2, wherein the hollow filler in the low refractive index layer comprises silica (¶[0233], 1-10, The refractive index of the functional film 5 may be controlled by using such properties to control the agglomeration state of the hollow silica particles based on the type and the additive amount of the flocculant).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamabi teaches the microlens array according to claim 3, wherein the hollow filler in the low refractive index layer comprises silica (¶[0233], 1-10, The refractive index of the functional film 5 may be controlled by using such properties to control the agglomeration state of the hollow silica particles based on the type and the additive amount of the flocculant).
Regarding Claim 8, Yamabi teaches the microlens array according to claim 5, wherein the hollow filler in the low refractive index layer comprises silica (¶[0233], 1-10, The refractive index of the functional film 5 may be controlled by using such properties to control the agglomeration state of the hollow silica particles based on the type and the additive amount of the flocculant).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamabi teaches a solid-state imaging device, comprising: the microlens array of claim 1 (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Yamabi teaches a solid-state imaging device, comprising: the microlens array of claim 2 (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamabi teaches a solid-state imaging device, comprising: the microlens array of claim 3 (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamabi teaches a solid-state imaging device, comprising: the microlens array of claim 4 (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Yamabi teaches a solid-state imaging device, comprising: the microlens array of claim 5 (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Yamabi teaches a solid-state imaging device, comprising: the microlens array of claim 6 (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Yamabi teaches a solid-state imaging device, comprising: the microlens array of claim 7 (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Yamabi teaches a solid-state imaging device, comprising: the microlens array of claim 8 (fig. 1, 2; fig. 5, 2).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872