DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Valentin et al. (US 11,429,835 B1, “Valentin”).
As to claim 1, Valentin discloses a method comprising:
during a setup period (Fig. 6):
accessing a target image depicting a face of a first user (step 604, obtaining image data of a user captured by a camera from multiple perspectives of the user relative to the camera; col. 19, lines 15-25);
generating a first face model based on a target set of facial features detected in the target image (steps 606, 608, 610, generating a holodouble of the user based on sparse data, which may include facial landmarks, deconstructed from the captured image data; col. 10, lines 35-40; col. 19, lines 26-63); and
linking the first face model to a target set of facial biometric values of the first user (steps 614, 616, the generated holodouble is saved for subsequent use after approval from the user; col. 20, lines 23-40); and
during an operating period succeeding the setup period (Fig. 7, visual communication session; col. 20, lines 45-55):
accessing a first video feed (step 704, image data of the user captured by the camera during the visual communication session; col. 20, line 56 – col. 21, line 2); and
selecting a first frame, recorded at a first time, from the first video feed (step 706, obtaining image data of the user; col. 21, lines 16-20);
deriving characteristics of a first set of facial features detected in the first frame (step 706, obtaining sparse data based on the image frame data; col. 15, lines 18-28; col. 21, lines 16-20);
extracting a first set of facial biometric values from the first frame (sparse data is processed to obtain facial landmarks and holodouble parameters, col. 15, lines 29-45); and
in response to alignment between the target set of facial biometric values and the first set of facial biometric values (triggering condition that a holodouble should be used may be based on user attributes detected within image data associated with the captured user, col. 13, lines 47-63; a particular holodouble may be automatically selected based on context, determined user state, etc., col. 14, lines 2-16) , at the first device, generating a first synthetic face image based on characteristics of the first set of facial features, the first face model, and a synthetic face generator (step 708, rendering the holodouble to simulate the user, col. 21, lines 44-63); and
transmitting the first synthetic face image to a device at approximately the first time (step 710, providing instructions for rendering the holodouble to simulate the user to the remote second computing system, col. 21, line 64 – col. 22, line 14).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,356,640. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent.
Claim 1 (present application)
Claim 1 (US 11,356,640)
A method comprising:
A method comprising:
during a setup period:
during a setup period:
accessing a target image depicting a face of a first user;
generating a first face model based on a target set of facial features detected in the target image; and
generating a first face model based on a target set of facial features detected in the target image; and
generating a first face model based on a target set of facial features detected in the target image; and
linking the first face model to a target set of facial biometric values of the first user; and
linking the first face model to a target set of facial biometric values of the first user; and
during an operating period succeeding the setup period:
during an operating period succeeding the setup period:
accessing a first video feed; and
accessing a first frame, at a first device, comprising: accessing a first video feed captured by a camera coupled to the first device, during a video call between the first device and a second device; and
selecting a first frame, recorded at a first time, from the first video feed;
selecting the first frame, recorded at a first time, from the first video feed;
deriving characteristics of a first set of facial features detected in the first frame;
deriving characteristics of a first set of facial features detected in the first frame;
extracting a first set of facial biometric values from the first frame; and
extracting a first set of facial biometric values from the first frame; and
in response to alignment between the target set of facial biometric values and the first set of facial biometric values, at the first device, generating a first synthetic face image based on characteristics of the first set of facial features the first face model, and a synthetic face generator; and
in response to alignment between the target set of facial biometric values and the first set of facial biometric values, at the first device, generating a first synthetic face image based on characteristics of the first set of facial features, the first face model, and a synthetic face generator; and
transmitting the first synthetic face image to a device at approximately the first time.
at the first device, transmitting the first synthetic face image to the second device at approximately the first time; and at the second device, rendering the first synthetic face image at approximately the first time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kolagunda et al. (US 2019/0266388 A1) teach using facial recognition and face liveness detection to prevent spoofing.
Rivard et al. (2019/0222807 A1) teach transmitting a face model based on face data points.
Nelson et al. (US 2014/0016696 A1) teach searching a database of previously stored video frames to find the best matching video frame to morph during a low-bandwidth video communication.
Alberth et al. (US 2012/0236105 A1) teach the use of a morphing template based on the context of the video call.
Cohen et al. (US 2004/0218827 A1) teach synthesizing a sender’s image using a matching reference frame.
STELLA L. WOO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/Stella L. Woo/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693