DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Purkiss (US Pat 10,234,084).
Regarding claim 2, Purkiss discloses an accessory device 1000, comprising: a body 200 configured to be stowed in a cavity 500 of a vehicle (see Figure 8; Col. 5, lines 11-24); and one or more charge contacts 280, 330 on a first end of the body 200, wherein the one or more charge contacts: comprise at least one concentric charge contact 280 (see Figure 7; Col. 4, lines 37-60); and are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle based at least in part on the accessory device 1000 being stowed in the cavity 500 (see Figures 6-8; Col. 5, lines 13-24). The cavity 500 is the passenger compartment of the vehicle (see Figure 8; Col. 5, lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 5, Purkiss discloses the accessory device of claim 2, wherein the one or more charge contacts 330 is configured to engage with, and receive power from, one or more charge terminals of the vehicle 400 regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device 1000 about a device axis (see Figures 6-8; Col. 5, lines 11-24).
Regarding claim 11, Purkiss discloses the accessory device of claim 2, wherein the body 200 further comprises a groove 240 configured to engage a retention feature of the vehicle to retain the accessory device 1000 in the cavity 500 (see Figures 6-8; Col. 5, lines 11-24).
Regarding claim 12, Purkiss discloses the accessory device 1000 of claim 2, wherein the accessory device 1000 comprises a flashlight 100 (see Figures 1-2, and 8; Col. 3, lines 4-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-5, 13-14, 16-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hélot et al. (US Pat 9,783,123) in view of Feustel et al. (US Pat 9,647,473).
Regarding claim 2, Hélot et al. disclose an accessory device 12, comprising: a body 14 configured to be stowed in a cavity 18 of a vehicle 10 (see Figures 6-7; Col. 6, lines 26-34); and one or more charge contacts 28 on a first end of the body 14, and are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle 10 based at least in part on the accessory device 12 being stowed in the cavity 18 (see Figure 3; Col. 7, lines 20-41).
Hélot et al. fail to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprise at least one concentric charge contact.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Hélot et al. to comprise at least one concentric contact, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable charging of the accessory device regardless of orientation relative to the body, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 4, Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., disclose the accessory device of claim 2, wherein: the cavity 18 is defined by an end portion of a vehicle door 36 (see Figure 6; Col. 8, lines 62-65); an opening in the end portion allows access to the cavity 18 (see Figures 5-7; Col. 8, lines 45-65); and the opening is at least partially obstructed when the vehicle door is in a closed position (see Figure 5; Col. 6, lines 50-57).
Regarding claim 5, Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., disclose the accessory device of claim 2, wherein the one or more charge contacts 28 is configured to engage with, and receive power from, one or more charge terminals of the vehicle (see Figure 7; Col. 7, lines 32-41).
Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., fail to disclose the charge contacts engage and receive power regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device about a device axis.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., to engage and receive power regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device about a device axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Feustel et al., to enable a user to quickly stow the device without looking to orient the device in a specific manner.
Regarding claim 13, Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., disclose the accessory device of claim 2, wherein the accessory device 12 comprises a charging bank and is configured to charge a mobile device (see Figures 6-7; Col. 7, lines 20-31).
Regarding claim 14, Hélot et al disclose an apparatus, comprising: a cavity 18 formed in a vehicle door 36 of a vehicle (see Figure 6; Col. 8, lines 62-65); and an accessory device, comprising: a body 14 configured to be stowed in the cavity 18 (see Figures 6-7; Col. 9, lines 3-13); and one or more charge contacts 28 on a first end of the body 14, are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle based at least in part on the accessory device being stowed in the cavity 18 (see Figures 6-7; Col. 7, lines 20-31; Col. 9, lines 10-13).
Hélot et al. fail to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprise at least one concentric charge contact.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Hélot et al. to comprise at least one concentric contact, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable charging of the accessory device regardless of orientation relative to the body, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 16, Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more charge contacts 28 is configured to engage with, and receive power from, one or more charge terminals of the vehicle (see Figure 7; Col. 7, lines 32-41).
Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., fail to disclose the charge contacts engage and receive power regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device about a device axis.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., to engage and receive power regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device about a device axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Feustel et al., to enable a user to quickly stow the device without looking to orient the device in a specific manner.
Regarding claim 17, Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the accessory device 12 comprises a charging bank configured to charge a mobile device (see Figures 6-7; Col. 7, lines 20-31).
Regarding claim 18, Hélot et al disclose a method, comprising: receiving an accessory device 12 in a cavity 18 of a vehicle (see Figures 6-7; Col. 8, lines 62-65), the accessory device comprising: a body 14 configured to be stowed in the cavity 18 (see Figures 6-7; Col. 9, lines 3-13); and one or more charge contacts 28 on a first end of the body 14, are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle based at least in part on the accessory device being stowed in the cavity 18 (see Figures 6-7; Col. 7, lines 20-31; Col. 9, lines 10-13); and providing power to the accessory device 12 via one or more charge terminals of the vehicle (see Figures 6-7; Col. 7, lines 20-31).
Hélot et al. fail to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprise at least one concentric charge contact.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Hélot et al. to comprise at least one concentric contact, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable charging of the accessory device regardless of orientation relative to the body, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 21, Hélot et al., as modified by Feustel et al., disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the accessory device 12 comprises a charging bank configured to charge a mobile device (see Figures 6-7; Col. 7, lines 20-31).
Claims 2-12, 14-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogut (US Pat 9,849,843) in view of Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 2, Kogut discloses an accessory device, comprising: a body 700 configured to be stowed in a cavity 108 of a vehicle 100; and one or more charge contacts on a first end of the body 700 (not shown; see Col. 7, lines 22-28), and are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle 100 based at least in part on the accessory device 700 being stowed in the cavity 108 (see Figures 1 and 3A-3B; Col. 7, lines 22-28).
Kogut fails to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprise at least one concentric charge contact.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Kogut to comprise at least one concentric contact, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable charging of the accessory device regardless of orientation relative to the body, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 3, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the accessory device of claim 2, wherein: the cavity 108 is defined by a vehicle door 102 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 30-38); and the accessory device is configured to be urged, by a spring 306, in a direction out of the cavity 108 (see Figure 3A; Col. 3, lines 37-59; Col. 5, lines 19-39).
Regarding claim 4, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the accessory device of claim 2, wherein: the cavity 108 is defined by an end portion of a vehicle door 102 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 30-61); an opening 110 in the end portion allows access to the cavity 108 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 51-61); and the opening 110 is at least partially obstructed when the vehicle door 102 is in a closed position (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 51-61).
Regarding claim 5, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the accessory device of claim 2, wherein the one or more charge contacts is configured to engage with, and receive power from, one or more charge terminals of the vehicle (see Col. 7, lines 22-28).
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., fails to disclose the charge contacts engage and receive power regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device about a device axis.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., to engage and receive power regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device about a device axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Feustel et al., to enable a user to quickly stow the device without looking to orient the device in a specific manner.
Regarding claim 6, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. twice, discloses the accessory device of claim 5.
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. twice, fail to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprises two charge contacts arranged on a plane that is normal to the device axis.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26). The charge contacts 360 are two charge contacts arranged on a plane that is normal to the flashlight axis (see Figures 9 and 11; Col. 10, lines 4-15). There is one positive contact and one negative or neutral contact (see Col. 10, lines 4-5) and the configuration encourages the establishment of an electrical connection (see Col. 10, lines 19-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the one or more charge contacts of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. twice, as two charge contacts arranged on a plane that is normal to the device axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have one positive contact and one negative or neutral contact that encourages electrical connection to be established, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 7, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. thrice, discloses the accessory device of claim 6.
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. thrice, fails to disclose each of the two charge contacts comprises a concentric charge contact.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26). The charge contacts 360 are two charge contacts arranged on a plane that is normal to the flashlight axis (see Figures 9 and 11; Col. 10, lines 4-15). There are two charge contacts 360 that are each concentric (see Col. 10, lines 4-10) and the configuration encourages the establishment of an electrical connection (see Col. 10, lines 19-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct each of the charge contacts of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. thrice, as concentric contacts, with a reasonable expectation of success, to encourage an electrical connection to be established, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 8, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. four times, discloses the accessory device of claim 7.
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. four times, fails to disclose the concentric charge contacts comprise two concentric circles having different diameters.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26). The charge contacts 360 are two charge contacts arranged on a plane that is normal to the flashlight axis (see Figures 9 and 11; Col. 10, lines 4-15). There are two charge contacts 360 that are each concentric (see Col. 10, lines 4-10) and the configuration encourages the establishment of an electrical connection (see Col. 10, lines 19-21). The first charge contact is disposed in a center of the second charge contact in a concentric ring separated by an insulated layer (see Col. 10, lines 4-10), making the concentric circles of different diameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the concentric charge contacts of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. four times, as concentric circles having different diameters, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide an insulating layer between the charge contacts that prevents shorting of the circuit, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 9, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., disclose the accessory device of claim 2.
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., fails to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprises two charge contacts; a first of the two charge contacts comprises a first concentric circle; and a second of the two charge contacts comprises a second concentric circle positioned within the first concentric circle.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26). The charge contacts 360 are two charge contacts arranged on a plane that is normal to the flashlight axis (see Figures 9 and 11; Col. 10, lines 4-15). There are two charge contacts 360 that are each concentric, one being positive and the other being negative or neutral (see Col. 10, lines 4-10), and the configuration encourages the establishment of an electrical connection (see Col. 10, lines 19-21). The first charge contact is disposed in a center of the second charge contact in a concentric ring separated by an insulated layer (see Col. 10, lines 4-10), making the concentric circles of different diameters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the one or more charge contacts of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., as two charge contacts, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have one positive contact and one negative or neutral contact that encourages electrical connection to be established, as taught by Feustel et al..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the concentric charge contacts of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al. twice, as concentric circles with a first charge contact being a first concentric circle and a second charge contact being a second concentric circle positioned in the first concentric circle, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide an insulating layer between the charge contacts that prevents shorting of the circuit, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 10, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the accessory device of claim 2, wherein: the body 700 is configured to house a battery; and the one or more charge contacts is electrically coupled to the battery (see Col. 7, lines 8-28).
Regarding claim 11, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the accessory device of claim 2, wherein the body 700 further comprises a groove 204 configured to engage a retention feature 318 of the vehicle 100 to retain the accessory device in the cavity 108 (see Figures 1-3B; Col. 4, lines 10-34; Col. 5, lines 65-66).
Regarding claim 12, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the accessory device of claim 2.
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., fails to disclose the accessory device comprises a flashlight.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the body of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., as a flashlight, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Feustel et al., to allow a user to retrieve a light source in the event a light is needed when searching in the bed of the truck.
Regarding claim 14, Kogut discloses an apparatus, comprising: a cavity 108 formed in a vehicle door 102 of a vehicle 100 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 30-38); and an accessory device, comprising: a body 700 configured to be stowed in the cavity 108; and one or more charge contacts on a first end of the body 700 (not shown; see Col. 7, lines 22-28) are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle 100 based at least in part on the accessory device 700 being stowed in the cavity 108 (see Figures 1 and 3A-3B; Col. 7, lines 22-28).
Kogut fails to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprise at least one concentric charge contact.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Kogut to comprise at least one concentric contact, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable charging of the accessory device regardless of orientation relative to the body, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 15, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the accessory device is configured to be urged, by a spring 306, in a direction out of the cavity 108 (see Figure 3A; Col. 3, lines 37-59; Col. 5, lines 19-39).
Regarding claim 16, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more charge contacts is configured to engage with, and receive power from, one or more charge terminals of the vehicle (see Col. 7, lines 22-28).
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., fails to disclose the charge contacts engage and receive power regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device about a device axis.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., to engage and receive power regardless of a rotational orientation of the accessory device about a device axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Feustel et al., to enable a user to quickly stow the device without looking to orient the device in a specific manner.
Regarding claim 17, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the apparatus of claim 14.
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., fails to disclose the accessory device comprises a flashlight or a charging bank configured to a charge a mobile device.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the body of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., as a flashlight, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Feustel et al., to allow a user to retrieve a light source in the event a light is needed when searching in the bed of the truck.
Regarding claim 18, Kogut discloses a method, comprising: receiving an accessory device in a cavity 108 of a vehicle 100 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 30-38); the accessory device, comprising: a body 700 configured to be stowed in the cavity 108 (see Figure 1; Col. 2, lines 51-66; Col. 5, lines 65-66); and one or more charge contacts on a first end of the body 700 (not shown; see Col. 7, lines 22-28) are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle 100 based at least in part on the accessory device 700 being stowed in the cavity 108 (see Figures 1 and 3A-3B; Col. 7, lines 22-28).
Kogut fails to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprise at least one concentric charge contact.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the charge contacts of Kogut to comprise at least one concentric contact, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable charging of the accessory device regardless of orientation relative to the body, as taught by Feustel et al..
Regarding claim 19, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising removing the accessory device from the cavity by urging the accessory device, by a spring 306, in a direction out of the cavity 108 (see Figure 3A; Col. 3, lines 37-59; Col. 5, lines 19-39).
Regarding claim 21, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the method of claim 18.
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., fails to disclose the accessory device comprises a flashlight or a charging bank configured to charge a mobile device.
Feustel et al. disclose an accessory device 100 having a charging bank 500 and a flashlight 110 (see Figure 12; Col. 4, lines 10-21; Col. 10, lines 28-42). The flashlight 100 has charge contacts 360 that are concentric contacts in order to enable charging of the flashlight regardless of the orientation of the flashlight 100 relative to the charging bank 130 (see Figure 11; Col. 10, lines 3-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the body of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., as a flashlight, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Feustel et al., to allow a user to retrieve a light source in the event a light is needed when searching in the bed of the truck.
Claims 2 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rassent et al. (US Pat 9,270,318) in view of Salter et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0056887).
Regarding claim 2, Rassent et al. disclose an accessory device, comprising: a body 30 configured to be stowed in a cavity 18 of a vehicle (see Figures 1-4; Col. 5, lines 1-25); and one or more charge contacts 88 on a first end of the body 30 are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle based at least in part on the accessory device being stowed in the cavity 18 (see Figures 1-4 and 19-22; Col. 9, lines 8-21; Col. 10, lines 61-65).
Rassent et al. fail to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprise at least one concentric charge contact.
Salter et al. disclose an accessory device having a cavity 66 in which a wireless charger 74 having a concentric charge contact is positioned (see Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 33-34 and 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the one or more charge contacts of Rassent et al. as concentric contacts, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable any mobile device to be charged without requiring a specific charging cable, as taught by Salter et al..
Regarding claim 18, Rassent et al. disclose a method, comprising: receiving an accessory device A in a cavity 18 of a vehicle (see Figures 1-4; Col. 5, line 65-Col. 6, line 12), the accessory device comprising: a body 30 configured to be stowed in the cavity 18 (see Figures 1-4; Col. 5, lines 1-25); and one or more charge contacts 88 on a first end of the body 30 are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle based at least in part on the accessory device being stowed in the cavity; and providing power to the accessory device via one or more charge terminals of the vehicle (see Figures 1-4 and 19-22; Col. 9, lines 8-21; Col. 10, lines 61-65).
Rassent et al. fail to disclose the one or more charge contacts comprise at least one concentric charge contact.
Salter et al. disclose an accessory device having a cavity 66 in which a wireless charger 74 having a concentric charge contact is positioned (see Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 33-34 and 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the one or more charge contacts of Rassent et al. as concentric contacts, with a reasonable expectation of success, to enable any mobile device to be charged without requiring a specific charging cable, as taught by Salter et al..
Regarding claim 19, Rassent et al., as modified by Salter et al., disclose the method of claim 18, further comprising removing the accessory device A from the cavity 18 by urging the accessory device A, by a spring 24, in a direction out of the cavity 18 (see Figures 5-8; Col. 5, lines 5-25).
Regarding claim 20, Rassent et al., as modified by Salter et al., disclose the method of claim 19, wherein moving the accessory device A from the cavity 18 comprises receiving a push inward towards the cavity 18 on the first end of the body 30 (see Figures 5-14; Col. 5, lines 16-25; Col. 6, line 41-Col. 7, line 8).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., in view of Rassent et al..
Regarding claim 20, Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., discloses the method of claim 19.
Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., fails to disclose moving the accessory device from the cavity comprises receiving a push inward towards the cavity on the first end of the body.
Rassent et al. disclose a method, comprising: receiving an accessory device A in a cavity 18 of a vehicle (see Figures 1-4; Col. 5, line 65-Col. 6, line 12), the accessory device comprising: a body 30 configured to be stowed in the cavity 18 (see Figures 1-4; Col. 5, lines 1-25); and one or more charge contacts 88 on a first end of the body 30 are configured to engage with, and receive power from, the vehicle based at least in part on the accessory device being stowed in the cavity; and providing power to the accessory device via one or more charge terminals of the vehicle (see Figures 1-4 and 19-22; Col. 9, lines 8-21; Col. 10, lines 61-65). Moving the accessory device A from the cavity 18 comprises receiving a push inward towards the cavity 18 on the first end of the body 30 (see Figures 5-14; Col. 5, lines 16-25; Col. 6, line 41-Col. 7, line 8) by means of a cam locking system 32 and finger 26 (see Figures 9-14; Col. 6, lines 33-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the spring assembly of Kogut, as modified by Feustel et al., such that moving the accessory device from the cavity comprises receiving a push inward towards the cavity on the first end of the body, with a reasonable expectation of success, as taught by Rassent et al., to provide a simple means of removing the accessory device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Blackmore et al. (US Pat 8,511,733) disclose an accessory device with a body stored in a cavity that is obstructed when a vehicle door is closed. Leach (US Pat 5,077,643) discloses an accessory device comprising a flashlight positioned in a cavity in a vehicle door. Zeidman (US PG Pub 2006/0028043) discloses an accessory device having a body positioned in a cavity obstructed by a vehicle door when the door is closed. Chaloult et al. (US PG Pub 2007/0133219) disclose an accessory device comprising a light with charge contacts positioned in a cavity of a vehicle. Hotary et al. (US Pat 8,233,269) disclose an accessory device comprising a body positioned in a cavity with a charge contact. Thorsell et al. (US Pat 8,624,547) disclose an accessory device having a body stowed in a cavity with a concentric charge contact in a vehicle. Kaushik et al. (US PG Pub 2014/0077758) disclose an accessory device having a concentric charge contact in a cavity in a vehicle. Pericak et al. (US Pat 8,979,160) disclose an accessory device positioned in a cavity obstructed by a vehicle door when closed. Bisson (US PG Pub 2015/0130207) discloses an accessory device positioned in a cavity obstructed by a vehicle door when closed.
/VERONICA M CONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612