3DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0180574, filed on 12/13/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kwon (KR 101856068, hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding to claim 1, Kwon discloses a device for monitoring an insulation resistance of a vehicle using a vehicle body as a ground point (figs. 1-6, fig. 1 shows a battery pack 11 connected to MCU 31 and battery pack 12 connected to MCU 32), the device comprising:
a monitoring resistance having a predetermined resistance value (figs. 2-5[R2]);
a first switch (figs. 3[SW4]) configured to connect the monitoring resistance (figs. 2-5[R2]) to the ground point (one end of SW4 connected to ground) or to a first node (node formed by SW4 and R2);
a second switch (figs. 3-4[SW3]) configured to connect the monitoring resistance (figs. 2-5[R2]) to the ground point (one end of SW3 connected to ground) or to a second node (node formed by SW3 and R2);
a third switch (figs. 3[SW1] (closed)) configured to connect the first node to a positive electrode of an auxiliary battery pack or to a positive electrode of a main battery pack (node formed by SW4 (closed) and R2 connected to positive terminal of Pack+); and
a fourth switch (figs. 3[SW2] (closed)) configured to connect the second node to a negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack or to a negative electrode of the main battery pack (node formed by SW3 (closed) and R2 connected to negative terminal of Pack-).
Regarding to claim 2, Kwon discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: in an operation mode in which a first insulation resistance (fig. 3 show [RLEAK(+)] measurement) between the positive electrode of the main battery pack (fig. 1 battery 11 and MCU31) and the ground point is measured (controller 220 calculates the anode and cathode insulation resistances RLEAK (+) and RLEAK (-) using the calculated battery pack voltage), the first switch is configured to connect the monitoring resistance to the ground point (figs. 3 shows [SW4] (closed) to connect R2 to ground), the second switch is configured to connect the monitoring resistance to the second node (figs. 3 shows [SW3] always connected to R2 at the second node), and the fourth switch is configured to connect the second node to the negative electrode of the main battery pack (fig. 3 shows [SW2] (closed) to connect to negative electrode of Pack-).
Regarding to claim 4, Kwon discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: in an operation mode in which a second insulation resistance (fig. 4 show [RLEAK(-)] measurement) between the negative electrode of the main battery pack (fig. 1 battery 11 and MCU31) and the ground point is measured (controller 220 calculates the anode and cathode insulation resistances RLEAK (+) and RLEAK (-) using the calculated battery pack voltage), the first switch is configured to connect the monitoring resistance to the first node (figs. 4 shows [SW4] always connected to R2 at the first node), the second switch is configured to connect the monitoring resistance to the ground point, and the third switch is configured to connect the first node to the positive electrode of the main battery pack (fig. 4 shows [SW1] (closed) to connect to negative electrode of Pack-).
Regarding to claim 6, Kwon discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: in an operation mode in which a third insulation (fig. 3 show [RLEAK(-)] measurement) resistance between the positive electrode of the auxiliary battery pack (fig. 1 battery 12 and MCU32) and the ground point is measured (controller 220 calculates the anode and cathode insulation resistances RLEAK (+) and RLEAK (-) using the calculated battery pack voltage), the first switch connects the monitoring resistance to the ground point (figs. 3 shows [SW4] (closed) to connect R2 to ground), the second switch connects the monitoring resistance to the second node (figs. 3 shows [SW3] always connected to R2 at the second node), and the fourth switch connects the second node to the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack (fig. 3 shows [SW2] (closed) to connect to negative electrode of Pack-).
Regarding to claim 8, Kwon discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: in an operation mode in which a fourth insulation resistance (fig. 4 show [RLEAK(-)] measurement) between the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack (fig. 1 battery 12 and MCU32) and the ground point is measured (controller 220 calculates the anode and cathode insulation resistances RLEAK (+) and RLEAK (-) using the calculated battery pack voltage), the first switch is configured to connect the monitoring resistance to the first node (figs. 4 shows [SW4] always connected to R2 at the first node), the second switch is configured to connect the monitoring resistance to the ground point, and the third switch is configured to connect the first node to the positive electrode of the auxiliary battery pack (fig. 4 shows [SW1] (closed) to connect to negative electrode of Pack-).
Regarding to claim 10, Kwon discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: the device is configured to sequentially and repeatedly perform, in a predetermined order:
a first operation mode in which a first insulation resistance (fig. 3 show [RLEAK(+)] measurement) between the positive electrode of the main battery pack and the ground point is measured (fig. 1 battery 11 and MCU31 measured in fig. 3 as SW1 connected to pack+ and SW4 closed position);
a second operation mode in which a second insulation resistance (fig. 3 show [RLEAK(-)] measurement) between the negative electrode of the main battery pack and the ground point is measured (fig. 1 battery 11 and MCU31 measured in fig. 3 as SW2 connected to pack- and SW4 closed position);
a third operation mode in which a third insulation resistance (fig. 3 show [RLEAK(+)] measurement) between the positive electrode of the auxiliary battery pack and the ground point is measured (fig. 1 battery 12 and MCU32 measured in fig. 3 as SW1 closed position connected to pack+ and SW4 closed position); and
a fourth operation mode in which a fourth insulation resistance between the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack and the ground point is measured (fig. 1 battery 12 and MCU32 measured in fig. 3 as SW2 closed position connected to pack- and SW4 closed position).
Regarding to claim 13, Kwon discloses a method for monitoring an insulation resistance of a vehicle using a vehicle body as a ground point (fig. 1-6 show [RLEAK] measurement; fig. 1 shows a battery pack 11 connected to MCU 31 and battery pack 12 connected to MCU 32)), the method comprising:
performing a first operation mode (fig. 3 shows [RLEAK] measurement applied to battery 11 and MCU 31) in which a first insulation resistance (RLEAK(+)) between a positive electrode (Pack+) of a main battery pack (battery pack 11) and the ground point is measured;
performing a second operation mode (fig. 3 shows [RLEAK] measurement applied to battery 11 and MCU 31) in which a second insulation resistance (RLEAK(-)) between a negative electrode (Pack-) of the main battery pack (battery pack 11) and the ground point is measured;
performing a third operation mode (fig. 3 shows [RLEAK] measurement applied to battery 12 and MCU 32) in which a third insulation resistance (RLEAK(+)) between a positive electrode (Pack+) of an auxiliary battery pack (battery pack 12) and the ground point is measured; and
performing a fourth operation mode (fig. 3 shows [RLEAK] measurement applied to battery 12 and MCU 32) in which a fourth insulation resistance (RLEAK(-)) between a negative electrode (Pack-) of the auxiliary battery pack (battery pack 12) and the ground point is measured.
Regarding to claim 18, Kwon discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: determining whether the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the main battery pack are connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack (fig. 3), respectively, by a battery relay (fig. 3 shows the battery 12 connected to the positive by SW1 (close position) and negative by SW2 (close position)); and when it is determined that the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the main battery pack are connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack (fig. 3 shows the battery 11 connected to the positive by SW1 (close position) and negative by SW2 (close position)), respectively, by the battery relay, sequentially and repeatedly performing, in a predetermined order, the first operation mode, the second operation mode, the third operation mode, and the fourth operation mode (see figs. 3-6).
Regarding to claim 19, Kwon discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: when it is determined that the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the main battery pack are not connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack (fig. 4 shows the battery 12 not connected to the positive by SW1 (open position) and fig. 5 shows the battery 12 not connected to negative by SW2 (open position)), respectively, by the battery relay, alternately and repeatedly performing only the first operation mode and the second operation mode (see figs. 4-6).
Regarding to claim 20, Kwon discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: when it is determined that the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the main battery pack are not connected to the positive electrode (fig. 4 shows the battery 11 not connected to the positive by SW1 (open position) and fig. 5 shows the battery 12 not connected to negative by SW2 (open position)) and the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack, respectively, by the battery relay, alternately and repeatedly performing only the third operation mode and the fourth operation mode (see figs. 4-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7, 9, 11-12 and 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claims 3 and 14, the prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the first insulation resistance is calculated according to Equation 1:
where RMISOP represents the first insulation resistance, RST represents the monitoring resistance, VM1 represents a voltage between the negative electrode of the main battery pack and the ground point, VM2 represents a voltage between the positive electrode of the main battery pack and the ground point, and V′ represents a voltage across the monitoring resistance” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding to claims 5 and 15, the prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the second insulation resistance is calculated according to Equation 2:
where RMISON represents the second insulation resistance, RST represents the monitoring resistance, VM1 represents a voltage between the negative electrode of the main battery pack and the ground point, VM2 represents a voltage between the positive electrode of the main battery pack and the ground point, and V′ represents a voltage across the monitoring resistance” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding to claims 7 and 16, the prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein the third insulation resistance is calculated according to Equation 3:
where RSISOP represents the third insulation resistance, RST represents the monitoring resistance, VS1 represents a voltage between the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack and the ground point, VS2 represents a voltage between the positive electrode of the auxiliary battery pack and the ground point, and V′ represents a voltage across the monitoring resistance” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding to claims 9 and 17, the prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “device of claim 8, wherein the fourth insulation resistance is calculated according to Equation 4:
where RSISON represents the fourth insulation resistance, RST represents the monitoring resistance, VS1 represents a voltage between the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack and the ground point, VS2 represents a voltage between the positive electrode of the auxiliary battery pack and the ground point, and V′ represents a voltage across the monitoring resistance” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding to claim 11, the prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein: when the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the main battery pack are connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack, respectively, by a battery relay, the device is configured to alternately and repeatedly perform only: a first operation mode in which a first insulation resistance between the positive electrode of the main battery pack and the ground point is measured; and a second operation mode in which a second insulation resistance between the negative electrode of the main battery pack and the ground point is measured” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding to claim 12, the prior arts of record, alone or in combination, do not fairly teach or suggest “wherein: when the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the main battery pack are connected to the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack, respectively, by a battery relay, the device is configured to alternately and repeatedly performs only: a third operation mode in which a third insulation resistance between the positive electrode of the auxiliary battery pack and the ground point is measured; and a fourth operation mode in which a fourth insulation resistance between the negative electrode of the auxiliary battery pack and the ground point is measured” including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SON T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858