DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 222 and 230, both in fig. 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: reference characters 222, 230, in fig. 2, do not appear in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mortier (EP 0120531 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Mortier discloses a pickup assembly (fig. 1) for an agricultural harvester (a forage harvester), the pickup assembly comprising:
- a pickup assembly frame (1, see fig. 1),
- a pickup unit (13) carried by the pickup assembly frame and configured to pick up crop from a field, and
- at least one skid shoe (21), mounted below at least a portion of the pickup unit.
Regarding claim 2, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one skid shoe is pivotably mounted below at least a portion of the pickup unit (page 6 lines 20-21).
Regarding claim 3, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 2, wherein the at least one skid shoe comprises a biasing member (43), configured to bias the at least one skid shoe towards the field.
Regarding claim 4, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 3, further comprising an adjustment mechanism for adjusting a pivot angle of the at least one skid shoe (page 8 lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 5, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 2, further comprising an adjustment mechanism (25, 30, 14) for adjusting a pivot angle of the at least one skid shoe.
Regarding claim 6, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 5, wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a hydraulic (14) or electric actuator.
Regarding claim 7, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 2, further comprising a skid shoe lock, operable to temporarily lock the at least one skid shoe at a predetermined pivot angle (page 7 lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one skid shoe comprises at least two skid shoes, mounted below at least a portion of the pickup unit and at two respective lateral ends of the pickup unit (page 4 lines 24-26).
Regarding claim 9, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one skid shoe comprises a plurality of skid shoes, mounted below at least a portion of the pickup unit and distributed along a longitudinal axis of the pickup unit (page 4 lines 24-26).
Regarding claim 11, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 1, further comprising at least one support wheel (2), mounted to the pickup assembly frame for supporting the pickup assembly frame above the ground.
Regarding claim 12, Mortier discloses a method for parking a pickup assembly (fig. 1) including a pickup assembly frame (1), a pickup unit (13) carried by the pickup assembly frame and configured to pick up crop from a field, at least one skid shoe (21), pivotably mounted below at least a portion of the pickup unit, and a skid shoe lock (34, 29, 32), operable to temporarily lock the at least one skid shoe at a predetermined pivot angle, the method including steps of:
- pivoting the at least one skid shoe to the predetermined pivot angle (page 8 lines 23-25), and
- activating the skid shoe lock to temporarily lock the skid shoe at the predetermined pivot angle (page 7 lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Mortier discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the at least one skid shoe comprises a biasing member (43), configured to bias the at least one skid shoe towards the field.
Regarding claim 14, Mortier discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the pickup assembly further comprises an adjustment mechanism for adjusting a pivot angle of the at least one skid shoe.
Regarding claim 15, Mortier discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the pickup assembly further comprises an adjustment mechanism (25, 30, 14) for adjusting a pivot angle of the at least one skid shoe.
Regarding claim 16, Mortier discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a hydraulic (14) or electric actuator.
Regarding claim 17, Mortier discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the at least one skid shoe comprises at least two skid shoes, mounted below at least a portion of the pickup unit and at two respective lateral ends of the pickup unit (page 4 lines 24-26).
Regarding claim 18, Mortier discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the at least one skid shoe comprises a plurality of skid shoes, mounted below at least a portion of the pickup unit and distributed along a longitudinal axis of the pickup unit (page 4 lines 24-26).
Regarding claim 20, Mortier discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the pickup assembly further comprising at least one support wheel (2), mounted to the pickup assembly frame for supporting the pickup assembly frame above the ground.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortier (EP 0120531 A2) in view of Karlsson (US 20160088795 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Mortier discloses the pickup assembly of claim 1, wherein the pickup unit comprises a rotatable reel with pickup tines, and
Mortier does not disclose wherein the at least one skid shoe comprises one or more slits provided to allow one or more of the pickup tines to move through the one or more slits during rotation of the reel.
In the same field of endeavor, Karlsson discloses a skid shoe (79, 81) comprising slits (see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the skid shoes of Mortier with slits, as disclosed by Karlsson, in or der to not impede the rotation of the tines of the pick-up during rotation.
Regarding claim 19, Mortier discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the pickup unit comprises a rotatable reel with pickup tines.
Mortier does not disclose wherein the at least one skid shoe comprises one or more slits provided to allow one or more of the pickup tines to move through the one or more slits during rotation of the reel.
In the same field of endeavor, Karlsson discloses a skid shoe (79, 81) comprising slits (see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided the skid shoes of Mortier with slits, as disclosed by Karlsson, in or der to not impede the rotation of the tines of the pick-up during rotation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 4315395 A discloses a skid shoe that may be rotated to a position for parking a header.
/MADELINE I RUNCO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671