DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to amendment filed on 23 December 2025. Claims 1, 5, 11, 15, and 19 have been amended. Claims 6-10, and 16-18 have been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added. Clims 1-5, 11-15 and 19-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: The claims 1-5 and 19-21 are system and claims 11-18 are a method . Thus, each independent claim, on its face, is directed to one of the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. §101. However, the claims 1-5, 11-15 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A-Prong 1: independent claims (1, 11 and 19) recite receiving, common data for a project from a first source; receiving, product data comprising product specifications for a plurality of fire suppression products from a second source different than the first source; determine based on the first part of ; retrieve the second part of the common data from the first source; the common data a second part of the common data generating, based on the common data and the product data, a plurality of system pairings for the project, each system pairing comprising a list of fire suppression components for the project based on the common data and a unique system configuration. The generating limitation as drafted is a process, under broadest reasonable interpretation cover the limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions for displying certain result in response receiving common data and product data which is a metal process for the recitation of a generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by a processor,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by a processor” language, the claim encompasses the user comparing the one or more parameters to display the result. The mere nominal recitation of a generic processor does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. Simply put, this limitation merely describe “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis, which is clearly a mental step or method or organizing human activity in its purest form. Claims 2-5, 11-15 and 19 -21 merely provide additional abstract concepts and narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 and 11. Further, claims 1-5, 11-15 and 19-21, are recited at such a high level that the claimed steps amount to no more than a mental processes, such as concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) because a human can select received information that meets a specified criteria, to combine and display a certain results. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
Step 2A-Prong 2: The claim recites two additional elements: receiving common data and product data and the generic processor performs both the receiving and generating steps. .
The receiving step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering common and product data for use in the generation step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The processor that performs the receiving and generating step is also recited at a high level of generality, and merely automates the generation step. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (processor) . The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the n processor). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B: As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer
component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be reevaluated in Step 2B. Here, the receiving steps was considered to be extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is reevaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background of the example does not provide any indication that the processor e is anything other than a generic, off the- shelf computer component, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Accordingly, a conclusion that the receiving step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2.
For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dharuman (WO 2023/180801 A1) in view of Neumann et al (US Pub., No., 2007/0179758 A1)
With respect to claim 1, Dharuman teaches a system of configuring a fire suppression system(paragraph [0002], [0007] discloses design a fire suppression system for a kitchen, and paragraph [0069], discloses designing fire suppression equipment’s of the kitchen ) , comprising:
one or more processors (paragraph [0003], discloses system can include a data processing system comprising one or more processors,) to:
receive form a first sources, a first part of , common data for a project (paragraphs [0003]-[0005], discloses generate a three-dimensional graphical representation of a kitchen and cause a display device of a user to .., the data processing system can receive for the user device a user conjugation of appliance for the kitchen vis three-dimensional graphical representation [common data]) ; and
receive, form the second source different than the first source product data comprising product specifications for a plurality of fire suppression products (paragraph [0074], discloses the graphic designer 110 can produce a graphic representation of the kitchen. The graphic representation can be a model that can be rendered in three dimensions, e.g., a Building Information Model (BIM). The graphic representation can be a three-dimensional representation of the kitchen or a two-dimensional representation of the kitchen. The graphic designer 110 can display one or more components of the kitchen, e.g., kitchen appliances (e.g., broilers, char broilers, grills, fryers, salamanders, etc.), paragraph [0091], discloses selecting a fire suppression model for a kitchen design [product specification] , the module can include cylinders, that store the fire suppressant gas, the module includes one or more valves.. and paragraph [0092], discloses elect a primary fires suppression components, the component can be selected from a set of components and be selects as the primary component for the set of component).
Dharuman teaches the above elements including a list of fire suppression components for the project based on the common data and a unique system configuration (paragraph [0073], discloses data processing system designing a kitchen and/or fire suppression system for on the kitchen, the data processing 102 can be configured to combine kitchen design, fire suppression system design, and/or report generation (part list, bill of materials, etc.) into a single platform, paragraph [00125], discloses fire suppression system module selected in a user interface 3700 and a corresponding graphic element 3702 representing the fire suppression system module. The module can be a group of components, e.g., a mechanical release, a gas cartridge, an enclosure, one or more tanks, etc. The module can be generated by combining multiple components together as described the model can be generated by combing multiple compoints together). Dharuman failed to explicitly teach determine, using a rule engine of the second source and based on the first part of common data, a second part of the common data; retrieve the second part of the common data from the first source; and generating, based on the first part of the common data, the second part of the common data and the product data, a plurality of system pairings for the project, each system pairing.
However, Neumann teaches determine, using a rule engine of the second source and based on the first part of common data, a second part of the common data(paragraphs [0048], and [0051], discloses fire or each selected hazard as determined by performing UL standard test for each selected hazer.., and nozzle and flow speciation are correct..); retrieve the second part of the common data from the first source(paragraph [0049], discloses hood dimension and nozzle and flow specification displayed in window are current); and generating, based on the first part of the common data, the second part of the common data and the product data, a plurality of system pairings for the project, each system pairing(paragraph [0051], discloses the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then an "Add" button is activated
so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design. Activation of the "Add" button 164 results in a window forming that is similar to window 168 of FIG. 9 and which automatically displays a schematic drawing of the ventilation hood(s) and duct(s) selected and with the selected dimension). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the module can be generated by combining multiple components together of Dharuman with a feature of the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then Add" button is activated
so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design of Neumann in order to provide the advantage of reducing the time and cost involved in designing and constructing a system require a fire suppression system (paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 2, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Dharuman teaches the system comprising:
the product comprises first product data(paragraph [0092], discloses a primary fire suppression compoints can be selected from a set of components ..); and
the one or more processors (paragraph [0003], discloses data processing system comprising one or more processors)are to:
detect from the common data, at least one of a location of the project or performance criterion for the project(paragraph [0126], discloses the user can turn, zoom, and/or align the view of the kitchen project to location that they wish to capture).
Dharuman teaches the above elements including identify according to the at least one of the location or the performance criterion (paragraph [0076], discloses properties that define the size, location, and/or configuration of the components. A user can set or change the properties via the user device 112 and paragraph [0086], discloses the designer 114 can rank the option in terms of efficiency, performance or easy or safety of installation ..) ). Dharuman failed to explicitly teach a mapping between the at least one of the location or the performance criterion and the first product data and not between the at least one of the location or the performance criterion and second product data; and generate the plurlity of system paring based on mapping.
However, Neumann teaches a mapping between the at least one of the location or the performance criterion and the first product data and not between the at least one of the location or the performance criterion and second product data; and generate the plurlity of system paring based on mapping(paragraph [0051], discloses the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then an "Add" button is activated
so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design. Activation of the "Add" button 164 results in a window forming that is similar to window 168 of FIG. 9 and which automatically displays a schematic drawing of the ventilation hood(s) and duct(s) selected and with the selected dimension). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the module can be generated by combining multiple components together of Dharuman with a feature of the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then Add" button is activated
so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design of Neumann in order to provide the advantage of reducing the time and cost involved in designing and constructing a system require a fire suppression system (paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 3, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Dharuman teaches the system comprising:
the common data comprising a plurality of enclosures, each enclosure of the plurality of enclosures defining a space within the project, a plurality of distribution arrangements, each distribution arrangement of the plurality of distribution arrangements comprising a subset of the plurality of enclosures, and a plurality of actuation groups, each actuation group comprising a subset of the plurality of distribution arrangements(paragraph [0003], discloses generate a three-dimensional graphic representation of a kitchen and cause a display, paragraph [0004], discloses receiving, by the data processing system, from the user device, a user configuration of appliances for the kitchen via the three-dimensional graphic representation of the kitchen.., the three-dimensional graphic representation of the kitchen to include representations of the fire suppression equipment , paragraph [0070], discloses the data processing system 102 can be configured to design a fire suppression system for a cooking space. A cooking space can be a Kitchen for a restaurant, a bar, a hotel, etc., [distribution arrangement], paragraph [0077], discloses identify that a hood is require for a group of appliance.., identify the types and location of nozzles for the appliance .. ).
Dharuman teaches the above elements including a system configuration, the plurality of system of different system configurations for the same actuation group paragraph [0073], discloses data processing system designing a kitchen and/or fire suppression system for on the kitchen, the data processing 102 can be configured to combine kitchen design, fire suppression system design, and/or report generation (part list, bill of materials, etc.) into a single platform, paragraph [00125], discloses fire suppression system module selected in a user interface 3700 and a corresponding graphic element 3702 representing the fire suppression system module. The module can be a group of components, e.g., a mechanical release, a gas cartridge, an enclosure, one or more tanks, etc. The module can be generated by combining multiple components together as described the model can be generated by combing multiple compoints together). Dharuman failed to explicitly teach the corresponding designing a kitchen and/or fire suppression component, each system pairing based on an actuation group and pairings including system pairings
However, Neumann teaches each system pairing based on an actuation group and pairings including system pairings (paragraph [0051], discloses the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then an "Add" button is activated
so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design. Activation of the "Add" button 164 results in a window forming that is similar to window 168 of FIG. 9 and which automatically displays a schematic drawing of the ventilation hood(s) and duct(s) selected and with the selected dimension). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the module can be generated by combining multiple components together of Dharuman with a feature of the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then Add" button is activated
so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design of Neumann in order to provide the advantage of reducing the time and cost involved in designing and constructing a system require a fire suppression system (paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 4 Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Dharuman teaches the system comprising:
one or more processors are to determine, based on a comparison of at least one parameter of each of the plurality of system pairings, a target system pairing of the plurality of system pairings(paragraph [0093], discloses the configuration can set parameters for the fire suppression model, set the various modules to trigger each other, select physical location and connection for the modules); and
provide, an indication of the target system pairing(paragraph [0095], discloses the user interface 300 includes various diffent project indication project name, owner, customer, county , system type and status..).
With respect to claim 5, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 1, furthermore, Dharuman teaches the system comprising:
one or more processors, are to:
compare the confidence value to a threshold and provide an indication to of the selected system paring of plurality of pairing based on the confidence value being greater than the threshold (paragraph [0105], discloses the solution can be ranked in order of efficiency within the window, paragraph [0091], discloses module can be set as a primary module which when triggered cause other components and/or modules to trigger and paragraph [0092], dislcies a primary fire suppression compoints can be selected from a set of compoints .. ).
Dharuman teaches the above elements including determine, based on at least one of the common data or the product data, a confidence value of a selected system the confidence value indicative of a probability of an outcome of the project (paragraph [0093], discloses fire suppression components to rank the fire suppression components in order of their performance as a primary fire suppression component corresponding to the selected system pairing). Dharuman failed to teach pairing of the plurality of system parings,
However, Neumann teaches pairing of the plurality of system parings, (paragraph [0051], discloses the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then an "Add" button is activated so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design. Activation of the "Add" button 164 results in a window forming that is similar to window 168 of FIG. 9 and which automatically displays a schematic drawing of the ventilation hood(s) and duct(s) selected and with the selected dimension). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the module can be generated by combining multiple components together of Dharuman with a feature of the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then Add" button is activated so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design of Neumann in order to provide the advantage of reducing the time and cost involved in designing and constructing a system require a fire suppression system (paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 11, Dharuman teaches a method of configuring a fire suppression system(paragraph [0002], [0007] discloses design a fire suppression system for a kitchen, and paragraph [0069], discloses designing fire suppression equipment’s of the kitchen ) , comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a first part of common data for a project from a first source(paragraphs [0003]-[0005], discloses generate a three-dimensional graphical representation of a kitchen and cause a display device of a user to .., the data processing system can receive for the user device a user conjugation of appliance for the kitchen vis three-dimensional graphical representation [common data]) ; and
receiving, by the one or more processors, product data comprising product specifications for a plurality of fire suppression products from a second source different than the first source (paragraph [0074], discloses the graphic designer 110 can produce a graphic representation of the kitchen. The graphic representation can be a model that can be rendered in three dimensions, e.g., a Building Information Model (BIM). The graphic representation can be
a three-dimensional representation of the kitchen or a two-dimensional representation of the
kitchen. The graphic designer 110 can display one or more components of the kitchen, e.g.,
kitchen appliances (e.g., broilers, char broilers, grills, fryers, salamanders, etc.), paragraph [0091], discloses selecting a fire suppression model for a kitchen design [product specification] , the module can include cylinders, that store the fire suppressant gas, the module includes one or more valves.. and paragraph [0092], discloses elect a primary fires suppression components, the component can be selected from a set of components and be selects as the primary component for the set of component).
Dharuman teaches the above elements including a list of fire suppression components for the project based on the common data and a unique system configuration (paragraph [0073], discloses data processing system designing a kitchen and/or fire suppression system for on the kitchen, the data processing 102 can be configured to combine kitchen design, fire suppression system design, and/or report generation (part list, bill of materials, etc.) into a single platform, paragraph [00125], discloses fire suppression system module selected in a user interface 3700 and a corresponding graphic element 3702 representing the fire suppression system module. The module can be a group of components, e.g., a mechanical release, a gas cartridge, an enclosure, one or more tanks, etc. The module can be generated by combining multiple components together as described the model can be generated by combing multiple compoints together). Dharuman failed to explicitly teach determine, using a rule engine of the second source and based on the first part of common data, a second part of the common data; retrieve the second part of the common data from the first source; and generating, based on the first part of the common data, the second part of the common data and the product data, a plurality of system pairings for the project, each system pairing.
However, Neumann teaches determine, using a rule engine of the second source and based on the first part of common data, a second part of the common data(paragraphs [0048], and [0051], discloses fire or each selected hazard as determined by performing UL standard test for each selected hazer.., and nozzle and flow speciation are correct..); retrieve the second part of the common data from the first source(paragraph [0049], discloses hood dimension and nozzle and flow specification displayed in window are current); and generating, based on the first part of the common data, the second part of the common data and the product data, a plurality of system pairings for the project, each system pairing(paragraph [0051], discloses the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then an "Add" button is activated
so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design. Activation of the "Add" button 164 results in a window forming that is similar to window 168 of FIG. 9 and which automatically displays a schematic drawing of the ventilation hood(s) and duct(s) selected and with the selected dimension). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the module can be generated by combining multiple components together of Dharuman with a feature of the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then Add" button is activated
so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design of Neumann in order to provide the advantage of reducing the time and cost involved in designing and constructing a system require a fire suppression system (paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 12, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 11, furthermore, Dharuman teaches the method comprising:
the common data comprising a plurality of enclosures, each enclosure of the plurality of enclosures defining a space within the project, a plurality of distribution arrangements, each distribution arrangement of the plurality of distribution arrangements comprising a subset of the plurality of enclosures, and a plurality of actuation groups, each actuation group comprising a subset of the plurality of distribution arrangements(paragraph [0003], discloses generate a three-dimensional graphic representation of a kitchen and cause a display, paragraph [0004], discloses receiving, by the data processing system, from the user device, a user configuration of appliances for the kitchen via the three-dimensional graphic representation of the kitchen.., the three-dimensional graphic representation of the kitchen to include representations of the fire suppression equipment , paragraph [0070], discloses the data processing system 102 can be configured to design a fire suppression system for a cooking space. A cooking space can be a Kitchen for a restaurant, a bar, a hotel, etc., [distribution arrangement], paragraph [0077], discloses identify that a hood is require for a group of appliance.., identify the types and location of nozzles for the appliance .. ).
Dharuman teaches the above elements including a system configuration, the plurality of system of different system configurations for the same actuation group paragraph [0073], discloses data processing system designing a kitchen and/or fire suppression system for on the kitchen, the data processing 102 can be configured to combine kitchen design, fire suppression system design, and/or report generation (part list, bill of materials, etc.) into a single platform, paragraph [00125], discloses fire suppression system module selected in a user interface 3700 and a corresponding graphic element 3702 representing the fire suppression system module. The module can be a group of components, e.g., a mechanical release, a gas cartridge, an enclosure, one or more tanks, etc. The module can be generated by combining multiple components together as described the model can be generated by combing multiple compoints together). Dharuman failed to explicitly teach the corresponding designing a kitchen and/or fire suppression component, each system pairing based on an actuation group and pairings including system pairings
However, Neumann teaches each system pairing based on an actuation group and pairings including system pairings (paragraph [0051], discloses the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then an "Add" button is activated so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design. Activation of the "Add" button 164 results in a window forming that is similar to window 168 of FIG. 9 and which automatically displays a schematic drawing of the ventilation hood(s) and duct(s) selected and with the selected dimension). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the module can be generated by combining multiple components together of Dharuman with a feature of the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then Add" button is activated so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design of Neumann in order to provide the advantage of reducing the time and cost involved in designing and constructing a system require a fire suppression system (paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 13, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 11, furthermore, Dharuman teaches the method comprising:
determining, by the one or more processors, based on a comparison of at least one parameter of each of the plurality of system pairings, a target system pairing of the plurality of system pairings(paragraph [0093], discloses the configuration can set parameters for the fire suppression model, set the various modules to trigger each other, select physical location and connection for the modules); and
providing, by the one or more processors, an indication of the target system pairing(paragraph [0095], discloses the user interface 300 includes various diffent project indication project name, owner, customer, county , system type and status..).
With respect to claim 14, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 11, furthermore, Dharuman teaches the method comprising:
providing, by the one or more processors, an indication to a supplier of at least one fire suppression component contained in a list of fire suppression components of a target system pairing of the plurality of system pairings(paragraph [0095], discloses the user interface 300 includes various diffent project indication project name, owner, customer, county , system type and status.. and paragraph [0096], discloses project name, units for the project, and/or a pressure rating for the project. The user can further indicate a billing contact and/or an installer for the project. The status for each project can be color coded, e.g., blue can indicate in progress, green can indicate deployed, orange can indication on hold, red can indicate cancelled).
With respect to claim 15, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 11, furthermore, Dharuman teaches the method comprising:
assigning, by the one or more processors, a confidence value to a selected system pairing of the plurality of pairings based on at least one of the common data or the product data(paragraph [0105], discloses the solution can be ranked in order of efficiency within the window); and
provide an indication to a supplier of at least one fire suppression component contained in the list of fire suppression components of the target system responsive to the confidence value being above a threshold(paragraph [0105], discloses the solution can be ranked in order of efficiency within the window).
With respect to claim 19, Dharuman teaches a system to configure a fire suppression system(paragraph [0004], discloses a configuration for fire suppression equipment) , comprising:
a data processing system comprising one or more processors, coupled with memory(paragraph [0005], discloses one or more readable media storing instruction, the instruction when executed by one or more processor cause one more processors ..), to:
generate a first graphical interface to receive a first part of a common data from a first source(paragraph [0014], discloses user interface element for importing new project form a file ..);
receive, from a rules engine, based on the first part of the common data a request for a second part of the common data(paragraphs [0003]-[0005], discloses generate a three-dimensional graphical representation of a kitchen and cause a display device of a user to .., the data processing system can receive for the user device a user conjugation of appliance for the kitchen vis three-dimensional graphical representation [common data]) ;;
generate, based on the request, a second graphical interface to receive the second part of the common data(paragraphs [0003]-[0005], discloses generate a three-dimensional graphical representation of a kitchen and cause a display device of a user to .., the data processing system can receive for the user device a user conjugation of appliance for the kitchen vis three-dimensional graphical representation [common data]) ;and
receive, from the rules engine, product data comprising system configurations for a plurality of fire suppression products(paragraph [0074], discloses the graphic designer 110 can produce a graphic representation of the kitchen. The graphic representation can be a model that can be rendered in three dimensions, e.g., a Building Information Model (BIM). The graphic representation can be a three-dimensional representation of the kitchen or a two-dimensional representation of the kitchen. The graphic designer 110 can display one or more components of the kitchen, e.g., kitchen appliances (e.g., broilers, char broilers, grills, fryers, salamanders, etc.), paragraph [0091], discloses selecting a fire suppression model for a kitchen design [product specification] , the module can include cylinders, that store the fire suppressant gas, the module includes one or more valves.. and paragraph [0092], discloses elect a primary fires suppression components, the component can be selected from a set of components and be selects as the primary component for the set of component).
Dharuman teaches the above elements including generate, based on the common data and the product data, a for the project, each system pairing comprising a list of fire suppression components based on the common data and a unique system configuration (paragraph [0073], discloses data processing system designing a kitchen and/or fire suppression system for on the kitchen, the data processing 102 can be configured to combine kitchen design, fire suppression system design, and/or report generation (part list, bill of materials, etc.) into a single platform, paragraph [00125], discloses fire suppression system module selected in a user interface 3700 and a corresponding graphic element 3702 representing the fire suppression system module. The module can be a group of components, e.g., a mechanical release, a gas cartridge, an enclosure, one or more tanks, etc. The module can be generated by combining multiple components together as described the model can be generated by combing multiple compoints together). Dharuman failed to explicitly teach the corresponding designing a kitchen and/or fire suppression component is paired to generated plurality of system pairings for the project, each system pairing.
However, Neumann teaches generating, based on the common data and the product data, a plurality of system pairings for the project, each system pairing (paragraph [0051], discloses the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then an "Add" button is activated so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design. Activation of the "Add" button 164 results in a window forming that is similar to window 168 of FIG. 9 and which automatically displays a schematic drawing of the ventilation hood(s) and duct(s) selected and with the selected dimension). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the module can be generated by combining multiple components together of Dharuman with a feature of the duct model, duct dimensions and nozzle and flow specifications are correct, then Add" button is activated so that the displayed information is stored for the kitchen design of Neumann in order to provide the advantage of reducing the time and cost involved in designing and constructing a system require a fire suppression system (paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 20, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 19, furthermore, Dharuman teaches the system comprising: the data processing system to determine, based on a comparison of at least one parameter of each of the plurality of system pairings, a target system pairing of the plurality of system pairings (paragraph [0093], discloses the configuration can set parameters for the fire suppression model, set the various modules to trigger each other, select physical location and connection for the modules); and
provide an indication of the target system pairing (paragraph [0095], discloses the user interface 300 includes various diffent project indication project name, owner, customer, county , system type and status..).
With respect to claim 21, Dharuman in view of Neumann teaches elements of claim 1 , furthermore, Dharuman teaches the system comprising the common data comprise data relevant for multiple fire suppression system deigns (paragraph [0077], discloses generate a recommended design of a fire suppression system , the designer recommended the idea and or require location of fire suppression equipment, identify efficient allow of equipment and/or equipment size , identify that a hood require for a group of appliance , identify the types and location of nozzles for appliance , identify the proper models that provide nozzles fire suppressant fluids ..[within the scope of “ common data, data relevant for multiple fire suppression system”]).
Prior arts:
Dharuman (WO 2023/180801 A1) discloses a system can include a data processing system comprising one or more processors, coupled with memory, to generate a three- dimensional graphic representation of a kitchen and cause a display device of a user device to display the three-dimensional graphic representation of the kitchen. The data processing system can receive, from the user device, a user configuration of appliances for the kitchen via the three-dimensional graphic representation of the kitchen. The data processing system can determine, based on the user configuration of the appliances for the kitchen, a configuration for fire suppression equipment, the fire suppression equipment configured to respond to an emergency associated with the appliances for the kitchen.
Neumann et al (US Pub., No., 2007/0179758 A1) discloses a method of designing a fire suppression system that includes displaying one or more components of the fire suppression system on a visual display, wherein the displayed one or more components of the fire suppression system are formatted so as to printable in a form acceptable for a majority of state and local regulatory authorities empowered to regulate installation of the fire suppression system.
Glaser et al (US Pub., No., 2024/0144354 A1) discloses a system and method for actively directing users within an environment that can include accessing item data of a user at an environment; at a sensor-based monitoring system, monitoring location of the user within the environment; and modifying state of a subset of feedback devices based on the item data and the location of the user, wherein the subset of feedback devices are part of a set of feedback devices distributed within the environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments of 35 U.S.C 101 rejections with respect to claims 1-5, 11-15, and 19-21 filed 23 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments of a clam does not recite a mental process when it contains limitation(s) that cannot practically be performed in the human mind, for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitation(s) is not persuasive. The claims are directed to an abstract idea because the claims perform data analysis -receiving, determining and generating pairings which can be performed by a human mind or it a method of organizing human activity (e.g., configuring a project). The recited additional elements of the rule engine and processor steps simply automate the routine task a human designer does (mapping product spec to project needs), it is considering an abstract idea. Thus, the clams directed to an abstract idea, and claims are ineligible.
Applicants’ arguments of a claim integrate a judicial exception into a practical application when the claim technology reflects a disclosed improvement to the technical filed and specification set for the improvement in technology including an improvement to “functioning of computer or other technology or technical filed is not persuasive. The additional limitation of the computer components (processor, rule engine) are a generic computer components performing well-understood, routine and conventual activities, the recited generic computer components provide no improvements to the computer of technology itself. Thus, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejections with respect to claims 1-5, 11-15 and 19-21 is maintained.
Applicant's arguments of 35 U.S.C 103 rejections with respect to claims 1-5, 11-15, and 19-21 filed 23 December 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SABA DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621