DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 7, filed 9/24/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art KR 20130001030 which teaches a bidet toilet seat assembly comprising a toilet seat, a toilet cover, an accommodating tank of the assembly located at a rear of the seat and the seat and seat cover rotatably coupled to the accommodating tank through a rotating shaft installed in the accommodating tank.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case JP2020037781 (Harada) is relied upon as a primary teaching of an assembly comprising a toilet seat and accommodating tank as part of a combined bidet seat assembly with a toilet seat cover also provided and rotatably coupled to the assembly. As Harada is silent on how the seat and cover are coupled/mounted teachings of relevant prior art references were relied upon.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., details of the assembly, the accommodating tank acting as a load bearing hub, unclaimed connectors/installation configuration) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
In this case, applicant has argued, Pg. 8, that “Harada's Figure 3 embodiment specifically discloses arranging an ultrasonic spray unit 37 at a height above the upper surface of the toilet seat 13 to spray mist across the disk-shaped seating surface where a person sits ("sterilizing the surface of the toilet seat" [0035])”. It is noted that this response does not identify how this detail distinguishes applicant’s invention from the prior art or makes the prior art incapable of satisfying the claim limitations.
Applicant has argued, Pg. 10, that claims 8-9 are allowable due to their dependency from claim 1. As claim 1 is not being indicated as allowable this argument for the patentability of claim 9 is moot. It is noted that claim 8 has been cancelled by the applicant.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 9/24/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 12,156,618 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
Toilet seat ring rotatably coupled to a cover plate rotating shaft
Seat ring 1 does not appear to be coupleable to rotating shaft 91 in the depicted embodiments
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 has been amended to require that “a liquid outlet end of at least one of the plurality of atomizing nozzles is inserted into the plurality of tank wall through holes”. Claim 10 depends from claim 1 which has been amended to require that the plurality of atomizing nozzles are aligned with a respective one of the plurality of tank wall through holes. Based upon Applicant’s disclosure and the amended language of claim 1 there does not appear to be an embodiment wherein one atomizing nozzle has a single liquid outlet which is inserted into a plurality of tank wall through holes.
For the purpose of examination the claim is being interpreted as requiring ‘a liquid outlet of at least one of the plurality of atomizing nozzles is inserted into a respective one of the plurality of tank wall through holes’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020037781 (Harada) in view of KR 200445466 (KR) and KR 20130001030 (KR2).
Regarding claim 1, Harada discloses a toilet seat assembly comprising:
a seat ring (13) comprising a rear portion (The seat ring will have a rear and Figs. 2-4 are described as depicting the cleaning assembly at a rear of the seat);
a seat cover (23) rotatable between open and closed positions (specification);
an accommodating tank (15) disposed to a rear of the seat ring (Fig. 3) and comprising a front side tank wall; and
a plurality of atomizing (Para. 0020; Atomizers configured to generate mist) nozzles (7/37) disposed in the accommodating tank each aligned with a front of the accommodating tank and configured to spray/dispense through the front wall of the accommodating tank (Figs. 2-4 – spray 10).
Harada discloses the accommodating tank as a ‘bidet toilet seat device’ for containing portions of a bidet system such as a fan which is located at a rear of the seat (Para. 0035; Fig. 2-4) but doesn’t explicitly describe or depict that the accommodating tank, seat and seat cover are part of a singular seat assembly structure or that the seat and cover are coupled to a rotating shaft in the accommodating tank. While Harada discloses that the nozzles are arranged at a front of the accommodating tank and would require an opening to spray from it does not explicitly depict or describe such openings.
KR teaches a toilet seat assembly comprising a seat cover (140), a seat ring (120) and an accommodating tank (110/112/114) disposed at a rear portion of the seat ring (Fig. 1-3) wherein the seat cover is hinged to the accommodating tank (255). The accommodating tank comprises a plurality of tank wall through holes (116) are formed in a front side tank wall (Fig. 6 – opening 116 formed in front wall of 114 for nozzle 160 to extend through) and a plurality of nozzles (160) are disposed in the accommodating tank and are each aligned with a respective one of the plurality of tank wall through holes for spraying onto the seat (Figs. 1-3, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the toilet seat assembly such that the accommodating tank is part of the seat assembly, as taught by KR, so that the entire toilet seat assembly with cleaning system can be installed onto a toilet without requiring additional structures such as supports for installing/supporting the accommodating tank and cleaning system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of tank through holes in the front side tank wall of the accommodating tank each aligned with a respective nozzle, as taught as KR, to facilitate the passage of the nozzles and/or fluid/cleaner dispensed from the nozzle from the accommodating tank to the seat assembly/toilet.
KR2 teaches a bidet seat assembly comprising a toilet seat (110), an accommodating tank (100) positioned at a rear of the seat for enclosing the bidet components (Fig. 5) and a seat cover (120). The toilet seat and the toilet seat cover are rotatably connected to a cover plate rotating shaft (210) installed in the accommodating tank (Para. 0026; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rotatably mount the seat and cover to the accommodating tank through a cover plate rotating shaft installed in the accommodating tank, as taught by KR2, to provide a more compact assembly (doesn’t have to install around/over existing seat and cover hinges), to provide additional room at the rear of the toilet for a larger accommodating tank (doesn’t need to fit between a hinge assembly and a flush tank or wall), to provide a more convenient assembly (doesn’t require matching with or working around an existing hinge) and/or to protect the rotating shaft/hinge assembly from damage or exposure to filth.
Regarding claim 2, Harada states that the atomizing nozzles comprise a nozzle shell (20) comprising an installation cavity (Figs. 6, 7 – interior containing 8/21) and an atomizing sheet (8) comprising at least one spray hole (18).
Regarding claim 3, Harada states that the atomizing nozzle comprises a piezoelectric sheet (21) connected to one side of the atomizing sheet, wherein a liquid inlet (40/supply side; annotated below) and a liquid outlet (10/outlet side; annotated below) are respectively disposed on the nozzle shell and are respectively communicated with the installation cavity.
Regarding claim 4, Harada states that the at least one spray hole (18) and the liquid outlet end are coaxially arranged (Fig. 6, annotated above; Para. 0028).
Regarding claim 5, Harada states that the piezoelectric sheet is a piezoelectric ring surrounding the at least one spray hole (Fig. 6B; Para. 0011).
Regarding claim 6, Harada states that the piezoelectric sheet and the atomizing sheet are disposed in the installation cavity (Fig. 6B) and the at least one spray hole faces the liquid outlet end (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Harada states the provision of a liquid reservoir (31) configured to store disinfectant and be disposed in the accommodating tank (Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 10, Harada in view of KR and KR2 teaches aligning a plurality of nozzles with respective tank wall through holes in the front of an accommodating tank as previously discussed. Harada further states that each of the plurality of atomizing nozzles comprises a liquid outlet end (annotated figure below) from which a liquid/cleanser is dispensed.
KR further teaches that a liquid outlet end (160a) of the nozzles (16) is inserted into a respective through hole (116) (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert a liquid outlet of a nozzle into a tank wall through hole, as taught by KR, to prevent dispensed liquid/cleaner from remaining within the accommodating tank and failing to exit through the tank wall through hole.
Regarding claim 11, Harada discloses a toilet comprising:
a toilet bowl (14); and
a toilet seat assembly comprising:
a seat ring (13) comprising a rear portion (The seat ring will have a rear and Figs. 2-4 are described as depicting the cleaning assembly at a rear of the seat);
a seat cover (23) rotatable between open and closed positions (specification);
an accommodating tank (15) disposed to a rear of the seat ring (Fig. 3) and comprising a front side tank wall; and
at least one atomizing (Para. 0020; Atomizers configured to generate mist) nozzle (7/37) disposed in the accommodating tank and aligned with a front of the accommodating tank and configured to spray/dispense through the front wall of the accommodating tank (Figs. 2-4 – spray 10).
Harada discloses the accommodating tank as a ‘bidet toilet seat device’ for containing portions of a bidet system such as a fan which is located at a rear of the seat (Para. 0035; Fig. 2-4) but doesn’t explicitly describe or depict that the accommodating tank, seat and seat cover are part of a singular seat assembly structure or that the seat and cover are coupled to a rotating shaft in the accommodating tank. While Harada discloses that the at least one nozzle is arranged at a front of the accommodating tank and would require an opening to spray from it does not explicitly depict or describe such openings.
KR teaches a toilet seat assembly comprising a seat ring (120) and an accommodating tank (110/112/114) disposed at a rear portion of the seat ring (Fig. 1-3). The accommodating tank comprises a plurality of tank wall through holes (116) are formed in a front side tank wall (Fig. 6 – opening 116 formed in front wall of 114 for nozzle 160 to extend through) and a plurality of nozzles (160) are disposed in the accommodating tank each aligned with a respective one of the plurality of tank wall through holes (Figs. 1-3, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the toilet seat assembly such that the accommodating tank is part of the seat assembly, as taught by KR, so that the entire toilet seat assembly with cleaning system can be installed onto a toilet without requiring additional structures such as supports for installing/supporting the accommodating tank and cleaning system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide at least one tank wall through hole in the front side tank wall of the accommodating tank aligned with the nozzles, as taught as KR, to facilitate the passage of the nozzle and/or fluid/cleaner dispensed from the nozzle from the accommodating tank to the seat assembly/toilet.
KR2 teaches a bidet seat assembly comprising a toilet seat (110), an accommodating tank (100) positioned at a rear of the seat for enclosing the bidet components (Fig. 5) and a seat cover (120). The toilet seat and the toilet seat cover are rotatably connected to a cover plate rotating shaft (210) installed in the accommodating tank (Para. 0026; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rotatably mount the seat and cover to the accommodating tank through a cover plate rotating shaft installed in the accommodating tank, as taught by KR2, to provide a more compact assembly (doesn’t have to install around/over existing seat and cover hinges), to provide additional room at the rear of the toilet for a larger accommodating tank (doesn’t need to fit between a hinge assembly and a flush tank or wall), to provide a more convenient assembly (doesn’t require matching with or working around an existing hinge) and/or to protect the rotating shaft/hinge assembly from damage or exposure to filth.
Regarding claim 12, Harada states the inclusion of a controller (5) configured to provide a vibration circuit to disperse disinfectant using the plurality of atomizing nozzles (Para. 0034).
Regarding claim 13, Harada states that the at least one atomizing nozzle comprises a nozzle shell (20) comprising an installation cavity (Figs. 6, 7 – interior containing 8/21) and an atomizing sheet (8) comprising at least one spray hole (18).
Regarding claim 14, Harada states that the atomizing nozzle comprises a piezoelectric sheet (21) connected to one side of the atomizing sheet, wherein a liquid inlet (40/supply side; annotated below) and a liquid outlet (10/outlet side; annotated below) are respectively disposed on the nozzle shell and are respectively communicated with the installation cavity.
Regarding claim 15, Harada states that the at least one spray hole (18) and the liquid outlet end are coaxially arranged (Fig. 6, annotated above; Para. 0028).
Regarding claim 16, Harada states that the piezoelectric sheet is a piezoelectric ring surrounding the at least one spray hole (Fig. 6B; Para. 0011).
Regarding claim 17, Harada states that the piezoelectric sheet and the atomizing sheet are disposed in the installation cavity (Fig. 6B) and that at least one spray hole (18) faces the liquid outlet end of the at least one atomizing nozzle (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Harada states the provision of a liquid reservoir (31) configured to store disinfectant and be disposed in the accommodating tank (Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 19, Harada in view of KR and KR2 teaches aligning the at least one nozzle with a respective tank wall through hole in the front of an accommodating tank as previously discussed. Harada further states that the at least one atomizing nozzle comprises a liquid outlet end (annotated figure below) from which a liquid/cleanser is dispensed.
KR further teaches that a liquid outlet end (160a) of the nozzle (16) is inserted into a respective through hole (116) (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to insert a liquid outlet of a nozzle into a tank wall through hole, as taught by KR, to prevent dispensed liquid/cleaner from remaining within the accommodating tank and failing to exit through the tank wall through hole.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of KR and KR2 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of GB 2483105 (Davidson).
Regarding claim 9, Harada states that a liquid pump (38) can be utilized on a supply line (16) between the liquid reservoir and a nozzle but doesn’t state providing the liquid pump within the liquid reservoir.
Davidson teaches an atomized spray head system for a toilet bowl comprising an atomized spray head (3) supplied through a conduit (2) from a liquid reservoir (4) through the use of a pump (6) which is located within the liquid reservoir (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate a liquid pump within the liquid reservoir, as taught by Davidson, so as to conserve space and/or so as to facilitate providing pressurized supply of cleaning liquid to a plurality of nozzles with a singular pump for cost/complexity savings.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of KR, Davidson and US 2013/0026250 (Burt).
Regarding claim 21, Harada discloses a toilet seat assembly comprising:
a seat ring (13) comprising a rear portion (The seat ring will have a rear and Figs. 2-4 are described as depicting the cleaning assembly at a rear of the seat);
an accommodating tank (15) disposed to a rear of the seat ring (Fig. 3) and comprising a front side tank wall and a top cover plate (annotated figure below);
a liquid reservoir (31) configured to store disinfectant and be disposed in the accommodating tank (Fig. 2-4), the liquid reservoir comprising a liquid inlet (2) that extends upward through the top cover plate of the accommodating tank;
a liquid pump (38) on a supply line (16) between the liquid reservoir and a nozzle configured to pump disinfectant from the reservoir;
a plurality of atomizing (Para. 0020; Atomizers configured to generate mist) nozzles (7/37) disposed in the accommodating tank and fluidly connected to the liquid pump via a plurality of liquid supply hoses (16; Fig. 3), wherein each of the plurality of atomizing nozzles comprises:
a nozzle shell (20) comprising an installation cavity (Figs. 6, 7 – interior containing 8/21);
an atomizing sheet (8) positioned inside the installation cavity and comprising a plurality of micropores (18; Para. 0028); and
a piezoelectric ring (21) connected to one side of the atomizing sheet and configured to direct mist into a toilet bowl when a toilet cover plate is closed.
Harada discloses the accommodating tank as a ‘bidet toilet seat device’ for containing portions of a bidet system such as a fan which is located at a rear of the seat (Para. 0035; Fig. 2-4) but doesn’t explicitly describe or depict that the accommodating tank and seat are part of a singular seat assembly structure. While Harada discloses that a plurality of nozzles are arranged at a front of the accommodating tank and would require openings to spray from it does not explicitly depict or describe such openings. Harada discloses the inclusion of a liquid pump for supplying liquid from the reservoir to the nozzles but doesn’t disclose that the pump is disposed inside the liquid reservoir and while Harada includes a piezoelectric ring it doesn’t specify the piezoelectric material.
KR teaches a toilet seat assembly comprising a seat cover (140), a seat ring (120) and an accommodating tank (110/112/114) disposed at a rear portion of the seat ring (Fig. 1-3) wherein the seat cover is hinged to the accommodating tank (255). The accommodating tank comprises a plurality of tank wall through holes (116) are formed in a front side tank wall (Fig. 6 – opening 116 formed in front wall of 114 for nozzle 160 to extend through) and a plurality of nozzles (160) are disposed in the accommodating tank and are each aligned with a respective one of the plurality of tank wall through holes for spraying onto the seat (Figs. 1-3, 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the toilet seat assembly such that the accommodating tank is part of the seat assembly, as taught by KR, so that the entire toilet seat assembly with cleaning system can be installed onto a toilet without requiring additional structures such as supports for installing/supporting the accommodating tank and cleaning system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of tank through holes in the front side tank wall of the accommodating tank each aligned with a respective nozzle, as taught as KR, to facilitate the passage of the nozzles and/or fluid/cleaner dispensed from the nozzle from the accommodating tank to the seat assembly/toilet.
Davidson teaches an atomized spray head system for a toilet bowl comprising an atomized spray head (3) supplied through a conduit (2) from a liquid reservoir (4) through the use of a pump (6) which is located within the liquid reservoir (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate a liquid pump within the liquid reservoir, as taught by Davidson, so as to conserve space and/or so as to facilitate providing pressurized supply of cleaning liquid to a plurality of nozzles with a singular pump for cost/complexity savings.
Burt teaches a toilet cleaning system comprising a liquid disinfectant which is atomized and dispersed by an atomizing sheet (22) comprising a plurality of micro-pores which is vibrated by a piezoelectric actuator (24) (Para. 0011) which can be ceramic piezo-electric actuators (Para. 0037, 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a ceramic piezoelectric ring, as taught by Burt, as use of piezoelectric ceramics is known in the art, can be lower cost than piezoelectric crystals, can be more easily manufactured into a required shape/form than crystal and can safely operate in the expected environment (exposure to water and/or chemicals).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2008/0060119 (Pinizzotto) teaches a toilet seat assembly comprising a housing into which a rotating shaft is installed and a toilet seat and toilet cover are rotatably coupled to the rotating shaft.
US 2008/0164339 (Durn) teaches an atomizing device comprising a ceramic piezoelectric ring which vibrates a perforated plate to atomize and disperse a liquid.
US 2009/0272818 (Valpey) is an atomizer for use in disinfecting processes comprising a ceramic piezoelectric actuator which vibrates a perforated plate to atomize and disperse a liquid disinfectant.
KR 20100098218 (Moon) teaches a bidet seat assembly comprising an accommodating housing, a toilet seat and a seat cover wherein a cover plate rotating shaft is installed into the accommodating housing for rotatably coupling with both the toilet seat and the toilet lid.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A ROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754