DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the telescopic stand member, pointed end for ground insertion must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the phrase “can rotate” which is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. Thus the claim scope is unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 9,826,880 to Faraone.
Regarding claim 1, Faraone ‘880 discloses a tool support device comprising: a fastener 50; a hinge 34 attached to the fastener 50; and a stand member 24 attached to the hinge.
Regarding claim 2, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member is comprised of a pointed end 74 (col. 5, lines 34-36 – alternate embodiments – “… includes a rough surface, spikes, bumps, or grooves to provide for frictional engagement with the ground”).
Regarding claim 3, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member 24 is comprised of a flat end 74 (shown as flat in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the fastener 50 is comprised of a magnet, a clip, a clamp (col. 5, lines 53-56 – “…the collar 50 is snap fit to the long-handled tool 22.”), a bolt, a screw, a hinge, a hook and loop fastener, a groove, or an adhesive.
Regarding claim 5, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member 24 is telescopic (col. 3, lines 50-58).
Regarding claim 6, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member is comprised of a locking mechanism (col. 5, lines 58-63 – “… a locking mechanism (not shown) may be connected between, for example, the collar housing 32 and the securement mechanism 34 to lock the rod 24 in position in the inoperative state”).
Regarding claim 7, Faraone ‘880 discloses a tool support device comprising: a fastener 50; a hinge 34 attached to the fastener 50, the hinge comprised of a first locking mechanism (col. 5, lines 58-63 – “… a locking mechanism (not shown) may be connected between, for example, the collar housing 32 and the securement mechanism 34 to lock the rod 24 in position in the inoperative state”); and a stand member 24 attached to the hinge 34.
Regarding claim 8, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member 24 is comprised of a pointed end (col. 5, lines 34-36 – alternate embodiments – “… includes a rough surface, spikes, bumps, or grooves to provide for frictional engagement with the ground”).
Regarding claim 9, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member is comprised of a flat end (shown as flat in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the fastener 50 is comprised of a magnet, a clip, a clamp (col. 5, lines 53-56 – “…the collar 50 is snap fit to the long-handled tool 22.”), a bolt, a screw, a hinge, a hook and loop fastener, a groove, or an adhesive.
Regarding claim 11, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member 24 is telescopic (col. 3, lines 50-58).
Regarding claim 12, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member 24 is comprised of a second locking mechanism (col. 5, lines 62-63 – “… any other locking mechanism that locks the rod 24 in the inoperative position may be utilized).
Regarding claim 13, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the first locking mechanism locks the position of the hinge 34 (col. 5, lines 58-63 – “… a locking mechanism (not shown) may be connected between, for example, the collar housing 32 and the securement mechanism 34 …”).
Regarding claim 14, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the hinge 34 can rotate between 0 and 180 degrees (note angle of device via hinge 34 between figs 1 and 2 – showing angle of rotation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,826,880 to Faraone.
Concerning method claims 15-20 in view of the structure disclosed by Faraone ‘880, the method of operating the device would have been obvious, since it is the normal and logical manner in which the device could be used.
Regarding claim 15, Faraone ‘880 discloses a method of using a tool support device, the method comprising: providing a tool support device comprised of a fastener 50, a hinge 34, and a stand member 24; attaching the fastener 50 to a tool 22; rotating the stand member 24 away from the tool 22 via the hinge 34; and resting the stand member 24 on [or placing the tool stand member into] a ground surface.
Regarding claim 16, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member 24 is comprised of a pointed end 74 (col. 5, lines 34-36 – alternate embodiments – “… includes a rough surface, spikes, bumps, or grooves to provide for frictional engagement with the ground”).
Regarding claim 17, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member 24 is comprised of a flat end 74 (as shown in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the fastener 50 is comprised of a magnet, a clip, a clamp (col. 5, lines 53-56 – “…the collar 50 is snap fit to the long-handled tool 22.”), a bolt, a screw, a hinge, a hook and loop fastener, a groove, or an adhesive.
Regarding claim 19, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member is telescopic (col. 3, lines 50-58).
Regarding claim 20, Faraone ‘880 discloses, wherein the stand member 24 is comprised of a second locking mechanism (col. 5, lines 58-64 – “… a locking mechanism (not shown) may be connected between, for example, the collar housing 32 and the securement mechanism 34 … any other locking mechanism that locks the rod 24 in the inoperative position may be utilized).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure to be used in subsequent office action rejections, as applicable.
The list of supports is as follows: GB-2218028-A OR US-20170089510-A1 OR US-20080093318-A1 OR US-20080083681-A1 OR US-20120137548-A1 OR US-20080135696-A1 OR US-5868374-A OR US-4722512-A OR US-4461458-A OR US-5878563-A OR US-5413329-A OR US-7487948-B2 OR US-7771287-B2 OR US-11118726-B2 OR US-10137564-B2 OR US-D751872-S OR US-5161772-A OR US-9302386-B1 OR US-8714497-B2 OR US-5502857-A OR US-10288216-B1 OR US-5566915-A OR US-5297771-A OR US-11906104-B2 OR US-5482247-A OR US-2269119-A OR US-1752400-A OR US-20080060338-A1.
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632