DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-33 and 35-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallin et al. (US 2016/0199076; “Fallin”), in view of Davison et al. (US 2013/0296872; “Davison”).
Claim 21, Fallin discloses a system (Fig. 18) for correcting a deformity in a patient's foot (abstract), the system comprising: a guide (200) including: a first bone engagement surface (Figs. 16 and 18; lower surface 230 over the cuneiform bone 306) shaped to match a first contour on a first bone of the patient's foot (Figs. 16-18; paragraph [0052]) ; and a second bone engagement surface (Figs. 16 and 18; lower surface 230 over the metatarsal bone 300) shaped to match a second contour on a second bone of the patient's foot (Figs. 16-18; paragraph [0052]); a first fixation element (302, could be placed through the hole going into the cuneiform) configured to extend through the guide and into the first bone (Fig. 18); and a second fixation element (the other pin 302) configured to extend through the guide and into the second bone (Fig. 18).
However, Fallin does not disclose forming the engagement surfaces from a virtual bone model.
Davison teaches forming a cut guide with engagement surfaces using a virtual bone model (paragraphs [0051]-[0055]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the engagement surfaces of Fallin using a virtual bone model, as taught by Davison, in order to ensure the perfect fit and match to help make cuts exactly where it was planned (paragraphs [0051]-[0055).
Claim 22, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 21, Fallin discloses further comprising a first guide feature (Fig. 15; any edge or slot on the guide) to guide a resection of the first bone (Fig. 15).
Claim 23, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 22, Fallin discloses further comprising a second guide feature (Fig. 15; any edge or slot on the guide) to guide a resection of the second bone (Fig. 15).
Claim 24, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 21, Fallin discloses further comprising a first aperture (Fig. 15; 222) for receiving the first fixation element (Figs. 15-18).
Claim 25, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 24, Fallin discloses further comprising a second aperture (Fig. 15; any of 224, 226, or 228) for receiving the second fixation element (Figs. 15-18).
Claim 26, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 21, Fallin discloses wherein the first bone is a cuneiform (Fig. 18; paragraph [0058]; 306) and the second bone is a metatarsal (Fig. 18; paragraph [0058]; 300).
Claim 27, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 21, Fallin discloses further comprising an implant (Fig. 20; 308, 314, and 316) for placement on the first and second bones (Fig. 21; plate is shown only on the metatarsal but it is capable of being placed on the cuneiform as well, and a screw could be placed in the cuneiform while the plate is entirely on the metatarsal if desired).
Claim 28, Fallin discloses a system (Fig. 18) for correcting a deformity in a patient's foot (abstract), the system comprising: a cutting guide (200) including: a first bone engagement surface (Figs. 16 and 18; lower surface 230 over the cuneiform bone 306) shaped to match a first contour on a first bone of the patient's foot (Figs. 16-18; paragraph [0052]) ; and a second bone engagement surface (Figs. 16 and 18; lower surface 230 over the metatarsal bone 300) shaped to match a second contour on a second bone of the patient's foot (Figs. 16-18; paragraph [0052]); and a first guide feature (Fig. 15; any edge or slot on the guide) that, with the first bone engagement surface overlying the first contour, is positioned to guide resection of at least one of the bones of the patient's foot as part of a correction osteotomy for correcting the deformity (Figs. 15-18).
However, Fallin does not disclose forming the engagement surfaces from a virtual bone model.
Davison teaches forming a cut guide with engagement surfaces using a virtual bone model (paragraphs [0051]-[0055]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the engagement surfaces of Fallin using a virtual bone model, as taught by Davison, in order to ensure the perfect fit and match to help make cuts exactly where it was planned (paragraphs [0051]-[0055).
Claim 29, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 28, Fallin discloses further comprising a first fixation element (302, could be placed through the hole going into the cuneiform) configured to extend through the guide and into the first bone (Fig. 18).
Claim 30, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 29, Fallin discloses further comprising a second fixation element (the other pin 302) configured to extend through the guide and into the second bone (Fig. 18).
Claim 31, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 30, Fallin discloses further comprising a first aperture (Fig. 15; 222) for receiving the first fixation element (Figs. 15-18) and a second aperture (Fig. 15; any of 224, 226, or 228) for receiving the second fixation element (Figs. 15-18).
Claim 32, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 28, Fallin discloses wherein the first bone is a cuneiform (Fig. 18; paragraph [0058]; 306) and the second bone is a metatarsal (Fig. 18; paragraph [0058]; 300).
Claim 33, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 28, Fallin discloses further comprising an implant (Fig. 20; 308, 314, and 316) for placement on the first and second bones (Fig. 21; plate is shown only on the metatarsal but it is capable of being placed on the cuneiform as well, and a screw could be placed in the cuneiform while the plate is entirely on the metatarsal if desired).
Claim 35, Fallin discloses a system (Fig. 18) for correcting a deformity in a patient's foot (abstract), the system comprising: a guide (200) including: a first bone engagement surface (Figs. 16 and 18; lower surface 230 over the cuneiform bone 306) shaped to match a first contour on a cuneiform of the patient's foot (Figs. 16-18; paragraph [0052]) ; and a second bone engagement surface (Figs. 16 and 18; lower surface 230 over the metatarsal bone 300) shaped to match a second contour on a metatarsal of the patient's foot (Figs. 16-18; paragraph [0052]); a first fixation element (302, could be placed through the hole going into the cuneiform) configured to extend through the guide and into the cuneiform (Fig. 18; paragraph [0058]); and a second fixation element (the other pin 302) configured to extend through the guide and into the metatarsal (Fig. 18; paragraph [0058]).
However, Fallin does not disclose forming the engagement surfaces from a virtual bone model.
Davison teaches forming a cut guide with engagement surfaces using a virtual bone model (paragraphs [0051]-[0055]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the engagement surfaces of Fallin using a virtual bone model, as taught by Davison, in order to ensure the perfect fit and match to help make cuts exactly where it was planned (paragraphs [0051]-[0055).
Claim 36, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 35, Fallin discloses further comprising a first guide feature (Fig. 15; any edge or slot on the guide) to guide a resection of the cuneiform (Fig. 15).
Claim 37, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 36, Fallin discloses further comprising a second guide feature (Fig. 15; any edge or slot on the guide) to guide a resection of the metatarsal (Fig. 15).
Claim 38, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 35, Fallin discloses further comprising a first aperture (Fig. 15; 222) for receiving the first fixation element (Figs. 15-18).
Claim 39, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 38, Fallin discloses further comprising a second aperture (Fig. 15; any of 224, 226, or 228) for receiving the second fixation element (Figs. 15-18).
Claim 40, Fallin in view of Davison discloses the system of claim 35, Fallin discloses further comprising an implant (Fig. 20; 308, 314, and 316) for placement on the cuneiform and metatarsal (Fig. 21; plate is shown only on the metatarsal but it is capable of being placed on the cuneiform as well, and a screw could be placed in the cuneiform while the plate is entirely on the metatarsal if desired).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that Fallin in view of Davison fails to disclose the first and second bone engagement surfaces are formed form a virtual bone model, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Davison, paragraphs [0051]-[0052] are very clear that the guide can be patient specific and to create a patient specific guide they use a virtual bone model, this way the guide can mirror the shape of the bone it is placed on. This teaching in combination of the guide of Fallin discloses all the limitations of the claim as noted in the rejections above.
Furthermore, to provide peace of mind to the Applicant that creating a guide with engagement surfaces formed from a virtual bone model is not a new invention, there are numerous examples in the prior art, such as US Patent Applications 2014/0257309, 2016/0345987, 2017/0135706 which all teach this type of stuff. This was strictly limiting the search to guides, but if you open it up to implants placed on bones the number of matching sources is even greater, and much of the art states how you can use this technique on implants and/or guides or any device that will be required to fit on the bone during a procedure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775