Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 31-32, 38, 39, 45 A, 45B, 46A, 46B, 47A, 47B, 48A, 48B: difficult to read mainly when reduced to print; Figs. 40 and 41: x-axis with no label or numbers correspondence; and Figs. 50: there is no difference on the graph what is Control vs After SX.. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The term “about” is a contemplated variation, therefore an exactitude is not claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3-13 and 20 recite “… concentration of manganese is less than about 100 mg/kg.., less than about 50 mg/kg… less than about 30 mg/kg… less than about 20 mg/kg,… is less than about 10 mg/kg… is less than about 5 mg/kg.”
Claims 3-13 and 20 recite “…concentration of silica is less than about 30 mg/kg,… less than about 20 mg/kg,… less than about 10 mg/kg,… less than about 5 mg/kg.”
Claims 3-13 and 20 recite “…concentration of iron is less than about 300 mg/kg,… less than about 200 mg/kg,… less than about 100 mg/kg,… less than about 50 mg/kg…. less than about 5 mg/kg.
These are ranges of manganese, silica, and iron with unbounded lower limit, and as such, it is unclear as to extent the concentrations Applicant is intending to seek patent protection of; as such, the claim is rendered indefinite.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the steps" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All the claims dependent of claim 16 are also rejected.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the steps" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the steps" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the composition" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a nature without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) dissolved minerals amounts of manganese, silica, and iron in an geothermal aqueous. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the geothermal dissolved minerals amount is a naturally event. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim is directed to a nature, and list the minerals contained in a geothermal aqueous, it is nothing more than an attempt to generally link the product of nature to a particular technological environment.
Furthermore, the additional of a geothermal location such as Salton Sea, as claim limitation, do not add significant more to the exception.
In addition, Applicant's Admission of a geothermal minerals as natural event with traces of different minerals. See " ¶[0003] A number of brine sources exist naturally and ¶ [0006] It is known that geothermal brines can include various metal ions, particularly alkali and alkaline earth metals, as well as silica, iron, lead, silver, and zinc, in varying concentrations, depending upon the source of the brine.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (US 5,219,550) ("Brown" herein).
Claim 1-13
Brown discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese ranging from 0 to 200 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from 0 to 80 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron ranging from 0 to 300 mg/kg. mg/kg to 300 mg/kg; (Table: no traces of manganese, silica, and iron Analyses & Example: Col. 6+ & Col. 7 1-+))
Claim 14
Brown discloses a treated geothermal brine composition of Claim 1, wherein the treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea brine. (Table Analyses & Example: Col. 6+ & Col. 7 1-+))
Claim 15
Brown discloses a method of using the treated geothermal brine composition the method comprising the step of providing a treated geothermal brine composition of Claim 1 to a process for mineral extraction. (Col. 4 l. 10-50)
Claim 17
Brown discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese ranging from 0 to 100 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from 0 to 30 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron ranging from 0 to 100 mg/kg, (Table: no traces of manganese, silica, and iron Analyses & Example: Col. 6+ & Col. 7 1-+))
and wherein said treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea geothermal brine. (Table Analyses & Example: Col. 6+ & Col. 7 1-+))
Claim 18
Brown discloses a method of using a treated geothermal brine composition the method comprising the step of supplying the geothermal brine composition of Claim 16 to a process for mineral extraction. (Col. 4 l. 10-50)
Claim 20
Brown discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese less than 10 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from less than 10 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron less than 10 mg/kg, (Table: no traces of manganese, silica, and iron Analyses & Example: Col. 6+ & Col. 7 1-+))
and wherein said treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea geothermal brine. (Table Analyses & Example: Col. 6+ & Col. 7 1-+))
Claim 1-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Duyvesteyn et al. (US 5,236,491) ("Duyvesteyn" herein)
Claim 1-13
Duyvesteyn discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese ranging from 0 to 200 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from 0 to 80 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron ranging from 0 to 300 mg/kg. mg/kg to 300 mg/kg (Col. 5 l. 65+ , Col. 6, 7, & 8- i.e. Table IV for manganese, iron, and no trace of silica)
Claim 14
Duyvesteyn discloses a treated geothermal brine composition of Claim 1, wherein the treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea brine. (Col. 2 l. 3-34)
Claim 15
Duyvesteyn discloses a method of using the treated geothermal brine composition the method comprising the step of providing a treated geothermal brine composition of Claim 1 to a process for mineral extraction. (Col. 4 l. 10-50)
Claim 17
Duyvesteyn discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese ranging from 0 to 100 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from 0 to 30 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron ranging from 0 to 100 mg/kg, (Col. 5 l. 65+ , Col. 6, 7, & 8- i.e. Table IV for manganese, iron, and no trace of silica)
and wherein said treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea geothermal brine. (Col. 2 l. 3-34)
Claim 18
Duyvesteyn discloses a method of using a treated geothermal brine composition the method comprising the step of supplying the geothermal brine composition of Claim 16 to a process for mineral extraction. (Col. 4 l. 5-51)
Claim 20
Duyvesteyn discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese less than 10 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from less than 10 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron less than 10 mg/kg, (Col. 5 l. 65+ , Col. 6, 7, & 8- i.e. Table IV for manganese, iron, and no trace of silica)
and wherein said treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea geothermal brine. (Col. 2 l. 3-34)
Claim 1-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Premuzic et al. (US 6,537,796 B1) (“Premuzic" herein)
Claim 1-13
Premuzic discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese ranging from 0 to 200 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from 0 to 80 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron ranging from 0 to 300 mg/kg. mg/kg to 300 mg/kg. (Fig. 8; Col. 4 l. 66+, Col. 5 l. 1-5)
Claim 14
Premuzic discloses a treated geothermal brine composition of Claim 1, wherein the treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea brine. (Col. 1l. 16-19, & 49+)
Claim 15
Premuzic discloses a method of using the treated geothermal brine composition the method comprising the step of providing a treated geothermal brine composition of Claim 1 to a process for mineral extraction. (Fig. 8; Col. 4 l. 66+, Col. 5 l. 1-5)
Claim 17
Duyvesteyn discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese ranging from 0 to 100 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from 0 to 30 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron ranging from 0 to 100 mg/kg, (Col. 51. 65+ , Col. 6, 7, & 8- i.e. Table IV for manganese, iron, and no trace of silica)
and wherein said treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea geothermal brine. (Col. 2 l. 3-34)
Claim 18
Duyvesteyn discloses a method of using a treated geothermal brine composition the method comprising the step of supplying the geothermal brine composition of Claim 16 to a process for mineral extraction. (Col. 4 l. 10-50)
Claim 20
Duyvesteyn discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese less than 10 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from less than 10 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron less than 10 mg/kg, (Col. 51. 65+ , Col. 6, 7, & 8- i.e. Table IV for manganese, iron, and no trace of silica)
and wherein said treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea geothermal brine. (Col. 2 l. 3-34)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter, “Admissions), and further in view of Premuzic.
Claim 1-13 and 16
Admissions discloses a method of using a treated geothermal brine composition,
(¶ [0003] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that a number of brine sources exist. naturally. Other common brine sources are geothermal, oilfield. Smackover, and relict hydrothermal brines)
the method comprising the steps of injecting the treated geothermal brine composition of into a geothermal reservoir (¶ [0010] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that the geothermal brine compositions may be injected into a geothermal reservoir, such as into the original reservoir.)
Admissions however does not explicitly disclose the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese ranging from 0 to 200 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from 0 to 80 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron ranging from 0 to 300 mg/kg
Premuzic teaches the above limitation ( See Col. 41. 66+, Col. 51. 1-5 & Fig. 8 →Premuzic teaches this limitation in that the geothermal residue as used herein is intended to include geothermal sludge and brine which are waste products from geothermal energy plants. These waste products contain dissolved solids including silica and metal compounds. On cooling of geothermal fluids, a solids-containing sludge is produced. The sludge generally comprises pigmented silica and also metals and metal salts. (Fig. 8: silica, manganese, and iron are within the claim limitation with no traces of silica) for the purpose of producing commercially useful product. (Col. 51. 3-5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Admission, with the above limitation, as taught by Premuzic, in order to produce commercially useful product.
Claim 14
Admissions discloses a treated geothermal brine composition of Claim 1, wherein the treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea brine. (¶ [0003] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that a number of brine sources exist. naturally. Other common brine sources are geothermal, oilfield. Smackover, and relict hydrothermal brines)
Claim 15
Admissions discloses a method of using the treated geothermal brine composition the method comprising the step of providing a treated geothermal brine to a process for mineral extraction. (See ¶ [0006] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that It is known that geothermal brines can include various metal ions, particularly alkali and alkaline earth metals, as well as silica, iron, lead, silver, and zinc, in varying concentrations, depending upon the source of the brine. Recovery of these metals is potentially important to the chemical, pharmaceutical, and electronic industries. Typically, the economical recovery of metals from natural brines, which may vary widely in composition, depends not only on the specific concentration of the desired metal). Admissions does not explicitly disclose the composition of Claim 1. (See claim 1 above)
Claim 17
Admissions discloses a treated geothermal brine composition) and wherein said treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea geothermal brine, (¶ [0003] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that a number of brine sources exist. naturally. Other common brine sources are geothermal, oilfield. Smackover, and relict hydrothermal brines
Admissions however does not explicitly disclose he composition comprising a treated geothermal brine having a concentration of manganese ranging from 0 to 100 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from 0 to 30 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron ranging from 0 to 100 mg/kg,
Premuzic teaches the above limitation ( See Col. 41. 66+, Col. 51. 1-5 & Fig. 8 →Premuzic teaches this limitation in that the geothermal residue as used herein is intended to include geothermal sludge and brine which are waste products from geothermal energy plants. These waste products contain dissolved solids including silica and metal compounds. On cooling of geothermal fluids, a solids-containing sludge is produced. The sludge generally comprises pigmented silica and also metals and metal salts. (Fig. 8: silica, manganese, and iron are within the claim limitation with no traces of silica) for the purpose of producing commercially useful product. (Col. 51. 3-5).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Admission, with the above limitation, as taught by Premuzic, in order to produce commercially useful product.
Claim 18
Admissions discloses a method of using a treated geothermal brine composition the method comprising the step of supplying the geothermal brine to a process for mineral extraction. (See ¶ [0006] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that It is known that geothermal brines can include various metal ions, particularly alkali and alkaline earth metals, as well as silica, iron, lead, silver, and zinc, in varying concentrations, depending upon the source of the brine. Recovery of these metals is potentially important to the chemical, pharmaceutical, and electronic industries. Typically, the economical recovery of metals from natural brines, which may vary widely in composition, depends not only on the specific concentration of the desired metal). Admissions does not explicitly discloses the composition of Claim 16. (Same as claim 16)
Claim 19
Duyvesteyn discloses a method of using a treated geothermal brine composition (¶ [0003] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that a number of brine sources exist. naturally. Other common brine sources are geothermal, oilfield. Smackover, and relict hydrothermal brines)
the method comprising the step of injecting the treated geothermal brine composition into a geothermal reservoir (¶ [0010] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that the geothermal brine compositions may be injected into a geothermal reservoir, such as into the original reservoir.) of Claim. Admissions does not explicitly discloses the composition of Claim 16. (Same as claim 16)
Claim 20
Admissions discloses a treated geothermal brine composition, the composition comprising a treated geothermal brine and wherein said treated geothermal brine is a Salton Sea geothermal brine. composition (¶ [0003] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that a number of brine sources exist. naturally. Other common brine sources are geothermal, oilfield. Smackover, and relict hydrothermal brines (See ¶ [0006] → Admissions discloses this limitation in that It is known that geothermal brines can include various metal ions, particularly alkali and alkaline earth metals, as well as silica, iron, lead, silver, and zinc, in varying concentrations, depending upon the source of the brine. Recovery of these metals is potentially important to the chemical, pharmaceutical, and electronic industries. Typically, the economical recovery of metals from natural brines, which may vary widely in composition, depends not only on the specific concentration of the desired metal).
Admissions does not explicitly disclose the composition having a concentration of manganese less than 10 mg/kg, a concentration of silica ranging from less than 10 mg/kg, and a concentration of iron less than 10 mg/kg, (See claim 1 above)
Double Patenting
Claims 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,683,563 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and its dependent claim are incorporated into the limitation of the patent '563 herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lukes (US 6,547,836 B1) Process For Obtaining Monohydrated Lithium Sulfate From Natural Brines teaches A process for obtaining monochlorated lithium sulfate from natural brines by mixing two brines: one saturated or nearly saturated with silvite (KCl), carnallite (KCl, MgCl.sub.2.6H.sub.2 O), and lithium sulfate (Li.sub.2 SO.sub.4.H.sub.2 O), with a magnesium content of 4.7-6%, 0.8-1.2% lithium, and 1.2-4.2% total sulfate; and the other brine is saturated with bischofite (MgCl.6H.sub.2 O), monohydrated lithium sulfate (Li.sub.2 SO.sub.4.H.sub.2 O), and carnallite (KCl, MgCl.sub.2.6H.sub.2 O), and with a lithium content of 2.5-6%, below 6% magnesium, and less than 0.2% total sulfate, such that the resulting brine achieves a lithium sulfate content that exceeds its solubility in the brine, hereby it precipitates as monohydrated lithium sulfate. Crystallization can be accomplished in three stages in order to separate the carnallite from the lithium sulfate by filtering and washing it so as to enhance its purity and then drying the product if the goal is to retain anhydrous lithium sulfate, Boryta (US 7,157,065 B2) Production Of Lithium Compounds Directly From Lithium Containing Brines teaches A continuous process for directly preparing high purity lithium carbonate from lithium containing brines by preparing a brine containing about 6.0 wt % lithium and further containing other ions naturally occurring in brines; adding mother liquor containing carbonate to precipitate magnesium; adding a solution of CaO and sodium carbonate to remove calcium and any residual magnesium; precipitating lithium carbonate from the purified brine by adding soda ash solution; filtering to obtain solid lithium carbonate; preparing an aqueous slurry of the lithium carbonate and introducing carbon dioxide gas at a temperature from at least minus 10 to +40.degree. C.; passing the lithium bicarbonate solution through a filter to clarify the solution; introducing said filtered lithium bicarbonate solution into a reactor and adjusting the temperature of the solution to from 60 100.degree. C. to precipitate ultra-pure lithium carbonate, and Kluksdahl (US 4588566 A) Extraction Of Lithium From Lithium-containing Materials teaches This invention relates to the separation of lithium from lithium-containing materials, primarily ores such as hectoritic montmorillonite, having about 0.02 to 2.0 percent lithium by weight. The process comprises reducing the particle size of the material to less than about 500 microns; slurrying the particles with an aqueous base consisting of carbonates or hydroxides of sodium or potassium; heating the resulting slurry at about 50.degree. to 125.degree. C. for from about 0.1 to 6 hr; separating the solids and acidifying the solids with aqueous sulfuric acid to a pH value of about 0 to 2; heating the acidified slurry at about 50.degree. to 125.degree. C. for about 0.5 to 10 hr; separating the residual solids from the aqueous phase; separating the liquid portion of the cooled slurry, which is treated with sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide or calcium hydroxide and then with sodium carbonate or potassium carbonate with heating to remove interfering alkaline earth metals, cooling and separating the aqueous phase followed by treatment with sufficient alkali carbonate to precipitate the lithium carbonate with filtering of the hot slurry to remove the lithium as solid lithium carbonate. Lithium and its compounds have a variety of uses ranging from a component of a lightweight electric storage battery to pharmaceuticals used in the treatment of depression and other diseases.
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 01/08/2026