DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the acute or obtuse inwardly extending lips of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 10-13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5: It is unclear how the inwardly extending lip is generally parallel to the end wall section from which it depends. Would it not be perpendicular from which it extends?
Regarding claim 10: It is unclear if the combination including the stud is being claimed or just that the composite beam is capable of being used with a stud.
Regarding claims 11-13: It is assumed that the combination including a composite beam and a stud is now recited and will be examined accordingly.
Regarding claim 19: It is unclear to what degree “closely” refers to.
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Strickland et al. (US Patent No 8,225,581) (“Strickland”).
Referring to claim 1: Strickland teaches a hollow outer shell (item 60) formed from a C-section beam that has a closed end wall, a pair of side walls extending from the end wall, end wall sections that extend inwardly towards each other from ends of the side walls remote from the closed end wall, opposed ends of the end wall sections being spaced apart to define an elongate gap between the end wall sections, the closed end wall, the side walls and the end wall sections defining a shell interior, and at least one of the end wall sections comprising an inwardly extending lip that extends in a direction towards the closed end wall inwardly into the interior (figure 13), the interior of the shell being substantially filled with a settable material which engages about the inwardly extending lip (item 64).
Referring to claim 2: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches the hollow outer shell being formed from a steel C-section beam (figure 13).
Referring to claim 3: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches the settable material being concrete (item 64 is concrete).
Referring to claim 4: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches the inwardly extending lip extending at an acute or an obtuse angle to the end wall section from which it extends (figure 27).
Referring to claim 6: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches the inwardly extending lip extending along substantially the full elongate gap (figure 13).
Referring to claim 7: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches each of the end wall sections comprising an inwardly extending lip that extends in a direction towards the closed end wall inwardly into the interior and the concrete engaging about each inwardly extending lip (figure 13).
Referring to claim 8: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 7 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches the inwardly extending lips extending along substantially the full elongate gap (figure 13).
Referring to claim 9: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches the outer shell comprising one or more openings (item 46) through which concrete can be fed or pumped into the shell.
Referring to claim 10: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches the outer shell comprising one or more openings for receipt of or to accommodate one or more studs (item 160, figure 26).
Referring to claim 17: Strickland teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Strickland teaches a closure member (item 42) to close the elongate gap between the end wall sections (figure 23).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK J MAESTRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635