CTNF 18/940,367 CTNF 98426 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4 – 5, 7 – 10, and 12 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osama et al. (US11710991B2) in view of Carignan et al. (US20230283152A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Osama et al. discloses a stator system (214A, 214B) for an axial flux machine (electric machine 200) (Osama et al. Fig. 8) for an aircraft (10) (Osama et al. Fig. 1), the stator system (Osama et al. Fig. 8) comprising: a plurality of inverters (124A – 124F) (Osama et al. Fig. 3). Osama et al. does not disclose: a stator including a plurality of disks, wherein each disk comprises at least one dielectric substrate and at least a one conductive trace included in at least one conductive layer defined by the at least one dielectric substrate, the at least one conductive trace forming at least a part of a winding of at least one phase of the stator, wherein each disk is associated and connected to a single inverter, and each inverter connected to a single disk. Carignan et al. discloses: a stator (PCB stator 600) including a plurality of disks (panels 600.1, 600.2, 600.3) (Carignan et al. Fig. 9A), wherein each disk comprises at least one dielectric substrate (615) (Carignan et al. Fig. 8A) and at least a one conductive trace (612) (Carignan et al. 8B) included in at least one conductive layer defined by the at least one dielectric substrate (Carignan et al. Para [0042] lines 1 – 8 disclose parallel traces including coils 610 are etched in a copper foil and are supported by the dielectric structure 615), the at least one conductive trace forming at least a part of a winding (610) (Carignan et al. 8B) of at least one phase of the stator (Carignan et al. Para [0047] first sentence). Osama et al. and Carignan et al. structurally disclose: wherein each disk (of Carignan et al. Fig. 9A) is associated and connected to a single inverter (of Osama et al. Fig. 3), and each inverter (of Osama et al. Fig. 3) connected to a single disk (of Carignan et al. Fig. 9A). Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose axial flux motors therefore, Carignan et al. constitutes as prior art. Carignan et al. discloses an axial motor having a plurality of printed circuit board stators. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a stator including a plurality of disks, wherein each disk comprises at least one dielectric substrate and at least a one conductive trace included in at least one conductive layer defined by the at least one dielectric substrate, the at least one conductive trace forming at least a part of a winding of at least one phase of the stator of Carignan et al., and wherein each disk is associated and connected to a single inverter, and each inverter connected to a single disk of structurally disclosed Osama et al. and Carignan et al. for the purpose of 1) providing structural support and electrical insulation between conductive layers and 2) powering conductive traces that form part of the windings of at least one phase of the stator via individual inverters. Regarding Claim 4, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 1. Osama et al. does not disclose: wherein each disk comprises at least one PCB. Carignan et al. discloses: wherein each disk comprises at least one PCB (Carignan et al. Para [0004] lines 2 – 3). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each disk comprises at least one PCB of Carignan et al. for the purpose of having a thinner, lighter, and efficient stator system within an axial flux machine. Regarding Claim 5, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 4. Osama et al. does not disclose: wherein the at least one PCB comprises a multilayer PCB. Carignan et al. discloses: wherein the at least one PCB comprises a multilayer PCB (Carignan et al. Para [0004] lines 3 – 4). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one PCB comprises a multilayer PCB of Carignan et al. for the purpose of maximizing routing capacity and improve electrical performance in the stator system. Regarding Claim 7, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 1. Osama et al. does not disclose: wherein each inverter is arranged on an associated disk or in a separate power electronic module connected to the plurality of disks. Carignan et al. discloses: a plurality of disks (Carignan et al. Fig. 9A). Osama et al. and Carignan et al. structurally disclose: wherein each inverter (of Osama et al. Fig. 3) is arranged on an associated disk (of Carignan et al. Fig. 9A) or in a separate power electronic module (of Osama et al. c. 7, l. 49 – 52 discloses inverters 124A – 124F can be separate components from the electric motor 14 such that they can be separate modular inventers) connected to the plurality of disks (of Carignan et al. Fig. 9A). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each inverter is arranged on an associated disk or in a separate power electronic module connected to the plurality of disks of structurally disclosed Osama et al. and Carignan et al. for the purpose of isolating control signals and prevent electromagnetic interference. Regarding Claim 8, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 1. Osama et al. does not disclose: wherein the at least one conductive trace comprises at least one loop part for forming a part of a pole of the stator and at least one connection part for connecting the loop part to the inverter, wherein connection parts of a first and a second conductive trace are configured antiparallel to each other. Carignan et al. discloses: wherein the at least one conductive trace (Carignan et al. Fig. 8B) comprises at least one loop part for forming a part of a pole of the stator (Carignan et al. Fig. 8A and Fig. 8B discloses 24 poles are formed from the plurality of coils 610, 620.m, 630.n and are also formed in part via conductive traces 612 which are looped), wherein connection parts (terminals 611) of a first and a second conductive trace are configured antiparallel to each other (Carignan et al. Fig. 9B discloses conductive traces 612 in panel 600.1 and the conductive traces in panel 600.2 are antiparallel, thus respective terminals 611 are also antiparallel). Osama et al. and Carignan et al. structurally discloses: at least one connection part for connecting the loop part (of Carignan et al. Fig. 8B) to the inverter (Osama et al. Fig. 3). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one conductive trace comprises at least one loop part for forming a part of a pole of the stator and wherein connection parts of a first and a second conductive trace are configured antiparallel to each other of Carignan et al., and wherein at least one connection part for connecting the loop part to the inverter of structurally disclosed Osama et al. and Carignan et al. for the purpose of having the magnetic fields generated by the currents of respective connection parts be offset so that there is no generation of stray fields. Regarding Claim 9, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 8. Osama et al. does not disclose: wherein the one connection part for connecting the loop part to the inverter comprises a circular arc. Carignan et al. discloses: wherein the one connection part for connecting the loop part comprises a circular arc (Carignan et al. Fig. 8B discloses terminal 611 has a first end 611.1 that comprises a circular arc). Osama et al. and Carignan et al. structurally discloses: wherein the one connection part for connecting the loop part (of Carignan et al. Fig. 8B) to the inverter (of Osama et al. Fig. 3) comprises a circular arc (of Carignan et al. Fig. 8B). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the one connection part for connecting the loop part to the inverter comprises a circular arc of structurally disclosed Osama et al. and Carignan et al. for the purpose of representing a visual indicator to connect the inverter to the at least one connection part. Regarding Claim 10, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 1, wherein at least some of the inverters or a subgroup of the inverters are connected in parallel (Osama et al. Fig. 3 discloses all inverters 124A – 124F are connected in parallel). Regarding Claim 12, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose an axial flux machine (Osama et al. Fig. 8) for an aircraft (Osama Fig. 1), comprising: the stator system according to claim 1 (see above in claim 1 rejection), and a rotor (212) (Osama et al. Fig. 8). Regarding Claim 13, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the axial flux machine of claim 12, wherein the rotor comprises a permanent magnet rotor (Osama et al. c. 9, l. 40 – 41) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osama et al. in view of Carignan et al. and further in view of Bruneau et al. (US20220224207A1) . Regarding Claim 2, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 1. Osama et al. do not disclose: wherein each disk comprises at least one of: at least a first conductive trace included in a first conductive layer defined by a first dielectric substrate, the first conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a first coil, pole or phase of the stator and being connected to a first terminal of the inverter; at least a second conductive trace included in a second conductive layer defined by the first or a second dielectric substrate, the second conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a second coil, pole or phase of the stator and being connected to a second terminal of the inverter; at least a third conductive trace included in a third conductive layer defined by the first, the second or a third dielectric substrate, the third conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a third coil, pole or phase of the stator and being connected to a third terminal of the inverter; or combinations thereof. Carignan et al. discloses: wherein each disk (Carignan et al. Fig. 9A) comprises at least one of: at least a first conductive trace (of Carignan et al. Para [0043] lines 6 – 8) included in a first conductive layer (also panel 600.1) defined by a first dielectric substrate (Carignan et al. Para [0042] lines 1 – 8 disclose parallel traces including coils 610, 620.m, and 630.n are etched in a copper foil and are supported by the dielectric structure 615), at least a second conductive trace (of Carignan et al. Para [0043] lines 6 – 8) included in a second conductive layer (also panel 600.2) defined by the first or a second dielectric substrate (Carignan et al. Para [0042] lines 1 – 8 disclose parallel traces including coils 610, 620.m, and 630.n are etched in a copper foil, a conductive layer, which is supported by the dielectric structure 615), at least a third conductive trace (of Carignan et al. Para [0043] lines 6 – 8) included in a third conductive layer (also panel 600.3) defined by the first, the second or a third dielectric substrate (Carignan et al. Para [0042] lines 1 – 8 disclose parallel traces including coils 610, 620.m, and 630.n are etched in a copper foil, a conductive layer, which is supported by the dielectric structure 615). Carignan et al. and Bruneau et al. structurally disclose: the first conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a first coil, pole or phase of the stator (of Carignan et al. 8A and Fig. 9B discloses a conductive trace in panel 600.1 that forms a first phase) and being connected to a first terminal of the inverter (18) (of Bruneau et al. Para [0058] lines 8 – 9); the second conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a second coil, pole or phase of the stator (of Carignan et al. 9B discloses a conductive trace in panel 600.2 that forms a second phase) and being connected to a second terminal of the inverter (of Bruneau et al. Para [0058] lines 8 – 9); the third conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a third coil, pole or phase of the stator (of Carignan et al. 9B discloses a conductive trace in panel 600.2 that forms a third phase) and being connected to a third terminal of the inverter (of Bruneau et al. Para [0058] lines 8 – 9); or combinations thereof (of Carignan et al. 9A and of Bruneau et al. Para [0058] lines 8 – 9). Osama et al., Carignan et al., and Bruneau et al. disclose stators therefore, Bruneau et al. constitutes as prior art. Bruneau et al. discloses a drive unit comprising a motor connected to an inverter. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a first conductive trace included in a first conductive layer defined by a first dielectric substrate, at least a second conductive trace included in a second conductive layer defined by the first or a second dielectric substrate, at least a third conductive trace included in a third conductive layer defined by the first, the second or a third dielectric substrate of Carignan et al., and the first conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a first coil, pole or phase of the stator and being connected to a first terminal of the inverter; the second conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a second coil, pole or phase of the stator and being connected to a second terminal of the inverter; the third conductive trace forming at least a part of one winding of a third coil, pole or phase of the stator and being connected to a third terminal of the inverter; or combinations thereof of structurally disclosed Carignan et al. and Bruneau et al. for the purpose of 1) increasing routing density for the conductive traces in individual layers and preventing electromagnetic interference, and 2) powering individually layered conductive traces that form part of the windings of at least one phase of the stator via individual inverters. Regarding Claim 3, Osama et al., Carignan et al., and Bruneau et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 2, wherein the stator system further comprises a control unit (controller 130) for controlling the inverters (Osama et al. Fig. 3). Osama et al. does not disclose: wherein the disks are axially stacked, wherein the first conductive traces are arranged to form together a first pole or a first phase of the stator, wherein the control unit is configured such that the plurality of inverters power the first conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the first pole or phase of the stator, or wherein the second conductive traces are arranged to form together a second pole or second phase of the stator, wherein the control unit is configured such that the inverters power the second conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the second pole or phase of the stator, or wherein the third conductive traces are arranged to form together a third pole or phase of the stator, wherein the control unit is configured such that the plurality of inverters power the third conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the third pole or phase of the stator, or a combination thereof. Carignan et al. discloses: wherein the disks are axially stacked (Carignan et al. Fig. 9A), wherein the first conductive traces are arranged to form together a first pole or a first phase of the stator (Carignan et al. Fig. 8B and Fig. 9B discloses first conductive traces of traces 612 are formed in panel 600.1 and forms a first phase), or wherein the second conductive traces are arranged to form together a second pole or second phase of the stator (Carignan et al. Fig. 8B and Fig. 9B discloses second conductive traces of traces 612 are formed in panel 600.2 and forms a second phase), or wherein the third conductive traces are arranged to form together a third pole or phase of the stator (Carignan et al. Fig. 8B and Fig. 9B discloses third conductive traces of traces 612 are formed in panel 600.3 and forms a third phase). Osama et al. and Carignan et al. structurally disclose: wherein the control unit is configured such that the plurality of inverters (of Osama et al. Fig. 3) power the first conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the first pole or phase of the stator (of Carignan et al. Fig. 8B and Fig. 9B), wherein the control unit is configured such that the inverters (of Osama et al. Fig. 3) power the second conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the second pole or phase of the stator (of Carignan et al. Fig. 8B and Fig. 9B), wherein the control unit is configured such that the plurality of inverters (of Osama et al. Fig. 3) power the third conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the third pole or phase of the stator (of Carignan et al. Fig. 8B and Fig. 9B), or a combination thereof (of Osama et al. Fig. 3 and of Carignan et al. Fig. 8B and Fig. 9B). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the disks are axially stacked, wherein the first conductive traces are arranged to form together a first pole or a first phase of the stator, or wherein the second conductive traces are arranged to form together a second pole or second phase of the stator, or wherein the third conductive traces are arranged to form together a third pole or phase of the stator of Carignan et al., and wherein the control unit is configured such that the plurality of inverters power the first conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the first pole or phase of the stator, wherein the control unit is configured such that the inverters power the second conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the second pole or phase of the stator, wherein the control unit is configured such that the plurality of inverters power the third conductive traces so that they cooperate to form the third pole or phase of the stator, or a combination thereof of structurally disclosed Osama et al. and Carignan et al. for the purpose of having individual conductive traces, respectively controlled by a plurality of inverters, be designed to handle different power distributions while safely routing power and control signals to other components in the stator system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osama et al. in view of Carignan et al. and further in view of Han et al. (US20150236634A1) . Regarding Claim 6, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 1. Osama et al. and Carignan et al. do not disclose: wherein each disk is powered by a single 3-phase inverter. Han et al. discloses: a single 3-phase inverter (400) (Han et al. Fig. 4). Carignan et al. and Han et al. structurally disclose: wherein each disk (of Carignan et al. Fig. 9A) is powered by a single 3-phase inverter (of Han et al. Fig. 4). Osama et al., Carignan et al., and Han et al. disclose an electrical system therefore, Han et al. constitutes as prior art. Han et al. discloses a three-phase inverter connected to a respective phase of an electric motor. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each disk is powered by a single 3-phase inverter of structurally disclosed Carignan et al. and Han et al. for the purpose of having a singular 3-phase inverter power each disk than having multiple inverters power each disk to reduce the size of the stator system. Regarding Claim 11, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the stator system according to claim 1. Osama and Carignan et al. do not disclose: wherein at least some of the plurality of inverters or subgroups of the inverters are connected in series. Han et al. discloses: wherein at least some of the plurality of inverters (400a – 400n) or subgroups of the inverters are connected in series (Han et al. Fig. 7). Osama et al., Carignan et al., and Han et al. disclose an electrical system therefore, Han et al. constitutes as prior art. Han et al. discloses a plurality of multi-phase inverters connected in series. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein at least some of the plurality of inverters or subgroups of the inverters are connected in series of Han et al. for the purpose of allowing a double output of voltage and create high voltage setups for the stator system . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osama et al. in view of Carignan et al. and further in view of Schuler et al. (US20180198355A1) . Regarding Claim 14, Osama et al. and Carignan et al. disclose the axial flux machine according to claim 12 (see above in rejection of claim 12). Osama et al. and Carignan et al. do not disclose: a drive train for an aircraft. Schuler et al. discloses: a drive train for an aircraft (Schuler et al. Para [0129] whole paragraph discloses the motor can include a drivetrain for an aircraft). Osama et al., Carignan et al., and Schuler et al. disclose stators therefore, Schuler et al. constitutes as prior art. Schuler et al. discloses there are many applications that can have a type of motor including a type of power drive/generator system for many types of vehicles. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a drive train for an aircraft of Schuler et al. for the purpose maintaining high efficiency for the stator system. Regarding Claim 15, Osama et al., Carignan et al., and Schuler et al. disclose an aircraft (Osama et al. Fig. 1) comprising: the drive train according to claim 14 (see above in rejection of claim 14). Regarding Claim 16, Osama et al., Carignan et al., and Schuler et al. disclose the aircraft according to claim 15, further comprising a propulsion element (100) powered by the axial flux machine (Osama et al. Fig. 1). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THEODORE L PERKINS whose telephone number is (703)756-4629. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00am- 17:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached on (571) 272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 12 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 13 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 14 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 15 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/940,367 Page 16 Art Unit: 2834