DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figs. 2-11, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 8/21/20263 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the circumference of each of the rectangular frames” but circumferences are for circles or other curved geometric shapes, not rectangles or straight sided shapes. It is unclear what is meant by “circumference”. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets the claim to mean the perimeter.
Dependent claim 6 fails to solve the deficiency.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the upper end of the static arm" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurtgis (US 4478312).
Regarding claim 1, Kurtgis teaches of (fig. 1) a static arm platform for mounting onto a static arm (abstract, portable cage 4 for mounting on a power line bundle of one or more conductors) comprising a rigid saddle adapted for releasable mounting down onto the static arm (col. 3 lines 15-27, “U”-shaped cross-section of the cage is used to place the cage 4 onto power lines), at a desired location along the static arm dictated by a pre-chosen static arm cross section profile formed as lower cut-outs in a pair of gusset plates mounted at each end of the saddle (col. 4 lines 38-41, skids 22 are attached to the lower side of the crossframe 20 for engagement to and electrical interconnection between the cage and the power lines via the lower openings over the power lines),
wherein the gusset plates (22) are mounted so as to cross between a pair of rigid flanks extending down the sides of the saddle (fig. 2, each skid 22 extends between a pair of vertical bars that extend down each side of the cage 4) and the lower cut-outs snuggly fit onto and over the static arm at the desired locations on the static arm with sufficiently close tolerance fit so as to resist a rotation of the saddle relative to the static arm when a lineman is standing on one of a pair of foot decks mounted at the lower ends of the rigid flanks (col. 4 lines 41-45, skids 22 have flared sides to enlarge the lower opening to facilitate positioning the cage properly over the bundle of conductors. The skids also serve as a built-in brake in that, once the cage is placed onto the power line bundle by the helicopter, no further lateral movement along the length of the power lines occurs.; col. 2 lines 60-68, Skids 22 support two baskets 16, 18 on either side of the bundle of conductors. Where only one workman is required, a dead-weight counter-balance may be placed in the other basket. The brake and balancing resists a rotation of the saddle relative to the static arm when a lineman is standing on one of a pair of baskets 16, 18 mounted at the lower ends of the rigid flanks), and
further wherein the rigid flanks define a static arm receiving cavity to envelope the static arm when the static arm platform is mounted on the static arm (col. 4 lines 50-54, The cavity between the vertical bars receives the bundle of conductors).
Regarding claim 2, Kurtgis teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 2) wherein the rigid flanks are parallel (vertical bars on the sides of skid 22 are parallel), and laterally spaced apart a sufficient lateral distance so that the static arm receiving cavity formed between the rigid flanks fits over the static arm as the saddle is lowered into place (col. 4 lines 44-54, the cavity between the vertical bars receives the bundle of conductors when cage 4 is lowered onto them).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtgis in view of VanMeter (US 20140298731).
Regarding claim 3, Kurtgis teaches of claim 2, and when being lowered, is adapted to be guided by the lineman also simultaneously lowered as a combination underslung load by a helicopter (fig. 1, col. 2 lines 60-66 and col. 4 lines 41-47, one or more workman in the basket guide the helicopter to lower the cage 4 along with lowering the one or more workman as a combination underslung load by the helicopter) so that, as the lower ends of the rigid flanks slide down past the sides of the static arm (conductors), the lower cut-outs in the gusset plates, engage the static arm, and snugly seat down onto the static arm (col. 4 lines 36-47, As the vertical bars are lowered over the bundle of conductors, the skids 22 have flared sides to engage the bundle of conductors. The skids 22 are shaped to be positioned over and around the bundle of conductors).
Kurtgis does not appear to teach of where the corresponding cross sectional profiles of the static arm dimensionally match the dimensions and shape of the cut-outs
VanMeter is in the field of connections and (fig. 3) teaches of where the corresponding cross sectional profiles of the static arm dimensionally match the dimensions and shape of the cut-outs (¶0065-0066, The external polygonal shape 35 of the torsion bar member 30 functions to allow either end of the torsion bar member 30 to slide into and grip onto the polygonal socket 54 of the floating end socket 50, which each have identically shaped polygonal sockets or internal shapes.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of VanMeter of where the corresponding cross sectional profiles of the static arm dimensionally match the dimensions and shape of the cut-outs in order to have a snug and secure connection between the static arm and the cut-out.
Regarding claim 8, Kurtgis teaches of claim 1, but does not appear to teach of wherein the gusset plates are removable from the saddle and replaceable with replacement gusset plates chosen from a set of gusset plates having different cut-out profiles to match differently shaped static arms.
VanMeter teaches of wherein the gusset plates are removable from the saddle and replaceable with replacement gusset plates chosen from a set of gusset plates having different cut-out profiles to match differently shaped static arms (fig. 3, ¶0055-0057, and 0065, two end sockets 20 are removable from hatch 80. Sockets 20 may be changed to triangular, rectangular, pentagonal, or other polygonal internal cross sections and must match with the polygonal shape 35 of bar member 30 to which they are mounted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of VanMeter of wherein the gusset plates are removable from the saddle and replaceable with replacement gusset plates chosen from a set of gusset plates having different cut-out profiles to match differently shaped static arms in order to allow the saddle to be mounted on supports with different cross sections.
Regarding claim 9, Kurtgis as modified teaches of claim 8, but does not appear to teach of wherein cross sections of the differently shaped static arms are polygons having different numbers of panels forming the polygonal cross section of each static arm.
VanMeter teaches of wherein cross sections of the differently shaped static arms are polygons having different numbers of panels forming the polygonal cross section of each static arm (fig. 6B, ¶0065, the polygonal shape 35 of the torsion member may be triangular, square, pentagonal, or other polygon shapes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of VanMeter of wherein cross sections of the differently shaped static arms are polygons having different numbers of panels forming the polygonal cross section of each static arm in order to allow the saddle to be mounted on supports with different cross sections.
Claims 4-7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtgis in view of Davis (US 20110036663).
Regarding claim 4, Kurtgis teaches of claim 2, but does not appear to teach of wherein upper ends of the rigid flanks support an end mount on a coupling arm extending from the upper ends of the rigid flanks so as to anchor the saddle onto the distal end of the static arm.
Davis is in the field of support saddles and teaches of wherein upper ends of the rigid flanks support an end mount on a coupling arm extending from the upper ends of the rigid flanks so as to anchor the saddle onto the distal end of the static arm (figs. 4-5, ¶0033-0035, vertical side walls 20, 22 of the saddle 16 support a mounting assembly at an upper end 24 of saddle 16. The mounting assembly includes a pair of grippers 108, 118, which grip the end of a roof chord 12 to anchor the saddle 16 to the upper end of a roof chord 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of Davis of wherein upper ends of the rigid flanks support an end mount on a coupling arm extending from the upper ends of the rigid flanks so as to anchor the saddle onto the distal end of the static arm in order improve the versatility of the saddle by allowing it to be mounted on angled supports.
Regarding claim 5, Kurtgis as modified teaches of claim 4, but does not appear to teach of wherein the rigid flanks are rectangular planar frames having vertical legs, and horizontal upper and lower members outlining the circumference of each of the rectangular frames.
Davis teaches of wherein the rigid flanks are rectangular planar frames (fig. 1, vertical walls 20, 22 are rectangular) having vertical legs, and horizontal upper and lower members outlining the circumference of each of the rectangular frames (fig. 1, ¶0026-0029, vertical walls 20, 22 have perimeters partially surrounded by vertical members 34, 36 of lower hanger assembly 28, and vertical members 42, 44 of upper hanger assembly 38, which each have horizontally extending edges).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of Davis of wherein the rigid flanks are rectangular planar frames having vertical legs, and horizontal upper and lower members outlining the circumference of each of the rectangular frames in order to provide additional support to the foot decks.
Regarding claim 6, Kurtgis as modified teaches of claim 5, but does not appear to teach of wherein the lower members of each frame are formed as backing plates bracing the vertical legs and supporting the foot decks.
Davis teaches of wherein the lower members (fig. 2, 34, 36, 42, 44) of each frame are formed as backing plates bracing the vertical legs and supporting the foot decks (footrests 54, 68) (fig. 1, ¶0026-0029, lower members 34, 36, 42, 44 brace the walls 20, 22 of the saddle 16 and also support foot decks 54, 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of Davis of wherein the lower members of each frame are formed as backing plates bracing the vertical legs and supporting the foot decks in order to provide additional support to the foot decks.
Regarding claim 7, Kurtgis as modified teaches of claim 4, but does not appear to teach of wherein rigging holes are provided on both sides of the end mount so as to provide a lifting attachment for a chain hoist or the like for lifting a static wire running under the upper end of the static arm.
Davis teaches of wherein rigging holes are provided on both sides of the end mount (fig. 2, ¶0030, The mounting assembly at the upper end 24 has a pair of spaced-apart ears 74, 76 that have has holes for receiving bolt 78 extending through the collar 80 of a handle 82) so as to provide a lifting attachment for a chain hoist or the like for lifting a static wire running under the upper end of the static arm (figs. 5-6, ¶0035, handle 82 can be lifted and lowered to actuate grippers 108, 118, which extend into the interior space within saddle 16 and into the chord 12 of a roof. The grippers are able to be used to grip and lift a wire at an upper end of the chord 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of Davis of wherein rigging holes are provided on both sides of the end mount so as to provide a lifting attachment for a chain hoist or the like for lifting a static wire running under the upper end of the static arm in order to secure the saddle to the arm for improved safety.
Regarding claim 10, Kurtgis teaches of claim 1, but does not appear to teach of wherein the elevation of the foot decks on the rigid flanks are selectively adjustable.
Davis teaches of (fig. 2) wherein the elevation of the foot decks on the rigid flanks are selectively adjustable (¶0027-0028, The lower ends of hanger members 42 and 44 are provided with a plurality of vertically spaced openings 48 and 50 formed therein respectively to provide an adjustment for foot decks 54, 68 for roofs of various pitches).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of Davis of wherein the elevation of the foot decks on the rigid flanks are selectively adjustable in order to ensure the lineman is properly positioned with respect to the location of the work required.
Regarding claim 11, Kurtgis as modified teaches of claim 10, and (figs. 2 and 4) wherein the foot decks (baskets 16, 18) are rigidly cantilevered outwardly, in opposed directions, from the rigid flanks of the saddle (the foot decks 16, 18 extend outwardly and in opposite directions from the vertical bars on horizontal beams).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtgis.
Regarding claim 12, Kurtgis teaches of claim 1, but the embodiment seen in fig. 2 does not appear to teach of wherein the elevations of the gusset plates relative to the rigid flanks are selectively adjustable.
However, the embodiment seen in fig. 5 teaches of wherein the elevations of the gusset plates relative to the rigid flanks are selectively adjustable (col. 5 lines 1-8, elevations of center cage supports 32 are vertically adjustable via hinge 38, so that the center support can be folded upward when no middle conductor line is present).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the embodiment seen in fig. 2 of Kurtgis to incorporate the teachings of the embodiment seen in fig. 5 of wherein the elevations of the gusset plates relative to the rigid flanks are selectively adjustable in order to use the gusset plates to mount the saddle to an arrangement of cables with or without a center cable.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least claim 1.
/ZOE TAM TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3647