DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
A screen (claims 18-19 and 30)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-21 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 18 and 30 line 2, the limitation “a screen” is vague and indefinite. In claim 10, lines 6-7, it is specified that lubricant Is pumped from the cooler to the PCN without being filtered. Then in claim 18 a filter is specified in this location. The screen filters particles – is it appears that the lubricant flowing between the cooler and PCN is filtered. Is the first portion of lubricant flow filtered or not? Is there a screen present or not? What structure is being claimed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 13-17, and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Williams et al., US PGPub 2003/0230274.
Regarding claim 10, Williams et al. discloses a method of providing lubricant (see fig 1) to a bearing system (36-38) of an engine (see [0026]) and piston cooling nozzles (via 30,32,33) of the engine (see [0049]), comprising: pumping (via 12) a lubricant from a lubricant source (11) to a pump outlet (right side in fig 1); routing a first portion (via 13) of the pumped lubricant to the piston cooling nozzles (as described above) without being filtered (a configuration where only one of the filters and cooler is present in the main line is described ([0009]), therefore a configuration where filter is not present is described [0009]); and routing a second portion (via 22) of the pumped lubricant from an outlet of a filter (24) to the bearing system (36-38), wherein the first portion of the pumped lubricant is cooled by a cooler (25).
Regarding claim 25, Williams et al. discloses a method of providing lubricant (see fig 1) to a bearing system (36-38) of an engine (see [0026]) and piston cooling nozzles (via 30,32,33) of the engine (see [0049]), comprising: pumping (via 12) a lubricant from a lubricant source (11); cooling (via 25) a first portion (via 13) of the pumped lubricant with a cooler (25) and routing the first portion (as described above) of the cooled pumped lubricant to the piston cooling nozzles (as described above) without being filtered (a configuration where only one of the filters and cooler is present in the main line is described ([0009]); and filtering (via 24) a second portion (via 22) of the pumped lubricant with a filter (24) and routing the second portion (as described above) of the pumped lubricant to the bearing system (36-38).
Regarding claim 13, Williams et al. discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the first portion (as described above) of the pumped lubricant is cooled by the cooler (25) and routed to the piston cooling nozzles (as described above) from an outlet (top if 25 in fig 1) of the cooler (25).
Regarding claims 14 and 26, Williams et al. discloses the method of claims 10 and 25, further comprising: routing the first portion (as described above) of the pumped lubricant from the piston cooling nozzles (as described above) along a return path (see downward arrow entering 11) to the lubricant source (11); and routing the second portion (lubricant exiting bearings) of the pumped lubricant from the bearing system (36-38) along the return path (as described above) to the lubricant source (11).
Regarding claims 15 and 27, Williams et al. discloses the method of claims 10 and 25, further comprising regulating flow (via 14) of the first portion (as described above) of the pumped lubricant through the piston cooling nozzles (as described above).
Regarding claims 16 and 28, Williams et al. discloses the method of claims 15 and 27, wherein regulating flow of the first portion of the pumped lubricant is based on thermal load (see [0043]).
Regarding claims 17, 22 and 29, Williams et al. discloses the method of claims 10 and 25, wherein the lubricant is pumped with a variable flow pump (see [0027]).
Regarding claim 23, Williams et al. discloses the method of claim 22, wherein the cooler (25) has an inlet (from 13) in fluid communication with an outlet (right side of 12 in fig 1) of the variable flow pump (as disclosed above).
Regarding claim 24, Williams et al. discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the filter (24) has an inlet (bottom of 24 in fig 1) in fluid communication (via 18 when turned 90 degrees from the position shown) with the outlet (as described above) of the variable flow pump (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-21 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams et al. in view of Ulrey, US PGPub 2012/0138010.
Regarding claims 18-21 and 30-31, Williams et al. discloses the method of claims 10 and 25 but does not specify a screen located in the specified position.
Ulrey teaches a similar lubrication system comprising routing the first portion (205) of the pumped (via 216) lubricant through a screen (220) (claims 18 and 30)
wherein the screen (220) is configured to inhibit passage of large particles (see [0032]). (claims 19 and 31)
wherein the screen (220) when incorporated into Williams et al. is disposed between the cooler and the piston cooling nozzles (claim 21)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the screen described by Ulrey to the system disclosed by Williams et al. prevent large particles from contaminating the PCNs and to promote system durability and efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Williams et al. in view of Ulrey discloses the lubrication system of claim 19, but does not specify that the screen is the specified size. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to employ a screen of the specified size since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA). One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to employ a screen of the specified size in order to optimize the filtration properties for the specified system and enhance the system efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7/27/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654