DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 7-11, 15-19, 22-27 and 29-30 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of co-pending Application No. 19/013897, hereinafter “APP897” in view of AZARI (US 20250266945 A1), HASEGAWA (US 20230291523 A1) and HAGHIGHAT (US 20250317938 A1), as obvious from sections 6, 8 and 9 presented below.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations are similar in scope with obvious wording variations.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10, 15-19, 23-27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Azari et al. (US 20250266945 A1 with priority of FI 20245203, hereinafter ‘AZARI’).
Regarding claim 1, AZARI teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at user equipment (UE) (
Fig. 1 UE 110,
[0015] In the example of FIG. 1, the user equipment (UE) 110 is in wireless communication with a wireless network 100.
See also Fig. 3 UE1, UE2,
[0049] FIG. 3 shows a message sequence chart of an example implementation of the herein described solution based on RRC configured OCC set through which the OCC set, i.e. the elements of different orthogonal sequences, to be used by UEs (110-1, 110-2)), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code, and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE (
Fig. 1, [0015] The UE 110 includes one or more processors 120, one or more memories 125 …… the one or more memories 125 and the computer program code 123 may be configured to, with the one or more processors 120, cause the user equipment 110 to perform one or more of the operations as described herein) to:
transmit, for a network entity, an assistance information message that indicates phase impairment information for the UE, wherein the phase impairment information is indicative of a change in phase over time (
[0031] In RAN #102, a new Work Item Description (WID) for NTN targeting NR Rel-19 was approved in RP-234078. Among the objectives of the WI, an objective on Uplink Capacity/Throughput Enhancement for FR1-NTN was approved:
[0038] Described herein are methods for signaling and indication of both UE capability of support of OCC operation and configuration of a UE with OCC operation, including indication of the length of and the actual OCC code the UE should apply to PUSCH repetitions, and the position of the OCC with respect to repetitions.
[0040] …. UE indication of supporting capability of OCC application to PUSCH transmissions, and gNB indication and configuration of a UE with OCC operation for PUSCH transmissions.
[0047] …. the UE may be configured to use a “windowing function” similar to the concept of time domain windows used for DMRS bundling, where a UE is committing to maintaining transmit phase over a given window. In an example, the boundaries of the time domain windows are aligned to the periodicity and phase of the OCC code, such that the UE commits to maintaining phase coherence at the receiver side (as is defined for NR over NTN systems as part of Rel-18) over a well-defined period of time.
(Construed that based on studies for improving UL capacity/throughput improvement considering phase distortion or change over time, AZARI discloses that UE provides assistance information to network indicating to commitment or capability for maintaining phase coherence over a period of time window and supporting OCC operation for repetitive Uplink transmission over a defined period of time));
receive, in association with the network entity and based at least in part on transmission of the assistance information message, a control message that indicates an orthogonal cover code configuration (
[0038] signaling and indication of both UE capability of support of OCC operation and configuration of a UE with OCC operation, including indication of the length of and the actual OCC code the UE should apply to PUSCH repetitions, and the position of the OCC with respect to repetitions.
[0040] For this described herein are the following signaling methods: UE indication of supporting capability of OCC application to PUSCH transmissions, and gNB indication and configuration of a UE with OCC operation for PUSCH transmissions.
See also [0047]
See also Fig. 3, 301-1/301-2 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 302-1/302-2 [Wingdings font/0xE8]303-1/303-2,
[0049] FIG. 3 shows signaling OCC using RRC and DCI fields. In particular, FIG. 3 shows a message sequence chart of an example implementation of the herein described solution based on RRC configured OCC set through which the OCC set, i.e. the elements of different orthogonal sequences, to be used by UEs (110-1, 110-2) are communicated and configured in a semi-static manner.
[0050] Step-by-step signaling is as follows:
[0051] 1 (301-1, 301-2). RRC configures the UEs with OCC set to be potentially used such as [1 1], [1-1]. They can be put in a matrix of OCC codes in which each row represents one orthogonal sequence. In this example it is [1 1;1-1].
[0052] 2 (302-1, 302-2). The gNB 170 informs the UEs (110-1, 110-2) the number of repetitions they require, i.e. via a TDRA (Time Domain Resource Allocation) table.
[0053] 3 (303-1, 303-2). To multiplex UE1 110-1 and UE2 110-2 in the network, the gNB 170 further informs the users if they require to apply OCC to the repetitions and how. For this a DCI field can carry the necessary information that points to each UE which OCC sequence to apply and where the OCC should be applied.), wherein the orthogonal cover code configuration comprises an orthogonal cover code scheme from a set of candidate orthogonal cover code schemes, and wherein the orthogonal cover code configuration comprises an orthogonal cover code factor (
[0042] Regarding gNB indication and configuration of a UE with OCC operation for PUSCH transmissions, in one embodiment, UE is configured to use OCC and the length of the OCC to use via RRC (semi-static) signalling. In one alternative of this embodiment, UE is further RRC configured which OCC code to use among the code set with the configured length. In another alternative, which OCC code to use (among the code set with the configured length) is indicated to the UE dynamically via DCI-either via a new DCI field or via repurposing an existing DCI field. The DCI field can further indicate an offset that specifies the OCC elements (or code) position with respect to first repetition, or specifies which part of the OCC code to be used within the OCC code sequence. The code set with the configured length might either be pre-configured at the UE (from specifications) or be further RRC configured by gNB. The code set might be a set of Walsh-Hadamard sequences or a set of DFT sequences or another set of codes (binary or non-binary, where binary is considered as having two discrete states) that are providing inter-code orthogonality given that UE transmissions are synchronized.); and
transmit, for the network entity, an uplink shared channel communication in accordance with the orthogonal cover code configuration (
Fig. 3, 340/350 (Uplink transmission repetitions 321 and 322 from UE1 to gNB and repetitions 331 and 332 from UE2 to gNB),
[0054] As indicated at 345, the OCC for UE1 110-1 is applied from the first repetition, i.e. offset to the first repetition defined by DCI is 0.).
Regarding claim 19, AZARI teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at network entity (
Fig. 1 RAN Node 170,
[0015] FIG. 1, this figure shows a block diagram of one possible and non-limiting example in which the examples may be practiced. A user equipment (UE) 110, radio access network (RAN) node 170, and network element(s) 190 are illustrated . ….
[0016] The RAN node 170 in this example is a base station that provides access for wireless devices such as the UE 110 to the wireless network 100. The RAN node 170 may be, for example, a base station for 5G, also called New Radio (NR). In 5G, the RAN node 170 may be a NG-RAN node, which is defined as either a gNB or an ng-eNB.
See also Fig. 3 gNB 170,
[0049] FIG. 3 shows signaling OCC using RRC and DCI fields. In particular, FIG. 3 shows a message sequence chart of an example implementation of the herein described solution based on RRC configured OCC set through which the OCC set, i.e. the elements of different orthogonal sequences, to be used by UEs (110-1, 110-2) are communicated and configured in a semi-static manner.), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code, and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the network entity (
Fig. 1 RAN Node 170,
[0017] The RAN node 170 includes one or more processors 152, one or more memories 155.
[0018] the one or more memories 155 and the computer program code 153 are configured to, with the one or more processors 152, cause the RAN node 170 to perform one or more of the operations as described herein.).
Further, claim 19 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 19 or claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 19 or claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the orthogonal cover code scheme comprises a slot-wise orthogonal cover code scheme based at least in part on a phase impairment associated with the phase impairment information below a threshold (
See [0031] Phase impairment, OCC across slots.
[0032] examples described herein specifically focus on the OCC application across intra-slot or inter-slot PUSCH repetitions, i.e. across OFDM symbols and across slots.
[0047] In another embodiment, the UE may be configured to use a “windowing function” similar to the concept of time domain windows used for DMRS bundling, where a UE is committing to maintaining transmit phase over a given window. In an example, the boundaries of the time domain windows are aligned to the periodicity and phase of the OCC code).
Regarding claim 8, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the orthogonal cover code scheme comprises a symbol-wise orthogonal cover code scheme based at least in part on a phase impairment associated with the phase impairment information above a threshold (
See [0031] Phase impairment, OCC across OFDM symbols.
[0032] examples described herein specifically focus on the OCC application across intra-slot or inter-slot PUSCH repetitions, i.e. across OFDM symbols and across slots.
[0047] In another embodiment, the UE may be configured to use a “windowing function” similar to the concept of time domain windows used for DMRS bundling, where a UE is committing to maintaining transmit phase over a given window. In an example, the boundaries of the time domain windows are aligned to the periodicity and phase of the OCC code).
Regarding claim 9, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the orthogonal cover code scheme comprises a sub-physical resource block orthogonal cover code scheme based at least in part on a phase impairment associated with the phase impairment information above a threshold (
See [0031] Phase impairment, OCC within OFDM symbol.
[0032] More specifically, this objective targets enhancements to the DFT-s-OFDM PUSCH channel via Orthogonal Cover Codes (OCC) to enable multiplexing of multiple UEs in the same time-frequency resources. As can be seen from the description of the objective, the study can consider orthogonal cover codes across OFDM symbols, across slots, and/or within an OFDM symbol…
(indicating OCC applied to one or more sub-carriers or sub-PRB within an OFDM symbol)
See also [0047] cited above for claim 7 or claim 8.).
Regarding claim 10, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the orthogonal cover code scheme comprises a symbol-wise orthogonal cover code scheme, a slot-wise orthogonal cover code scheme, a sub-physical resource block orthogonal cover code scheme, or a combination thereof (
See [0031, 0032, 0047] cited above for claims 7-9).
Regarding claim 15, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive, via the control message, scheduling information for the uplink shared channel communication, wherein transmission of the uplink shared channel communication is in accordance with the scheduling information (
[0037] It is indeed fundamental that UEs scheduled in the same time frequency resources use different (and orthogonal) codes for their transmissions, and this can be guaranteed via gNB indication and management of UEs OCC code selection.
Fig. 3, [0052] 2 (302-1, 302-2). The gNB 170 informs the UEs (110-1, 110-2) the number of repetitions they require, i.e. via a TDRA (Time Domain Resource Allocation) table.).
Regarding claim 16, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a second control message that comprises scheduling information for the uplink shared channel communication, wherein transmission of the uplink shared channel communication is in accordance with the scheduling information (
Fig. 3, [0051] 1 (301-1, 301-2). RRC configures the UEs with OCC set to be potentially used such as [1 1], [1-1]. They can be put in a matrix of OCC codes in which each row represents one orthogonal sequence. In this example it is [1 1;1-1].
[0052] 2 (302-1, 302-2). The gNB 170 informs the UEs (110-1, 110-2) the number of repetitions they require, i.e. via a TDRA (Time Domain Resource Allocation) table.
[0054] As indicated at 345, the OCC for UE1 110-1 is applied from the first repetition …
(Construed 302-1, 302-2 are second control message that comprises scheduling information for the uplink shared channel communication)).
Regarding claim 17, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the orthogonal cover code configuration further comprises an orthogonal cover code codeword (
Fig. 2, [0034] FIG. 2 illustrates the principle of OCC. FIG. 2 shows an example of OCC of length 2 for 2 UEs doing 2 PUSCH repetitions in the same time-frequency resources. …. in this example UE1 110-1 is applying the OCC [1, 1] whereas UE2 is applying the OCC [1,−1].).
Regarding claim 18, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the control message is conveyed via one of a downlink control information, radio resource control, or a medium access control (MAC) control element (
Fig. 3, 301-1/301-2,
[0051] 1 (301-1, 301-2). RRC configures the UEs with OCC set to be potentially used such as [1 1], [1-1]. They can be put in a matrix of OCC codes in which each row represents one orthogonal sequence. In this example it is [1 1;1-1].).
Regarding claim 23, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to:
output, for the UE, an assistance information transmission periodicity, wherein obtention of the assistance information message is in accordance with the assistance information transmission periodicity (
[0047] …. the UE may be configured to use a “windowing function” similar to the concept of time domain windows used for DMRS bundling, where a UE is committing to maintaining transmit phase over a given window. In an example, the boundaries of the time domain windows are aligned to the periodicity and phase of the OCC code, such that the UE commits to maintaining phase coherence at the receiver side (as is defined for NR over NTN systems as part of Rel-18) over a well-defined period of time.).
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 22 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azari et al. (US 20250266945 A1 with priority of FI 20245203, hereinafter ‘AZARI’) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 20230291523 A1, hereinafter ‘HASEGAWA’).
Regarding claim 2, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
AZARI does not explicitly disclose receive, from the network entity, a request for the assistance information message, wherein transmission of the assistance information message is based at least in part on the request.
In an analogous art, HASEGAWA teaches receive, from the network entity, a request for the assistance information message, wherein transmission of the assistance information message is based at least in part on the request (
[0317] The WTRU may receive a request from the base station (e.g., gNB) to indicate capability for maintaining phase and power continuity. The WTRU may send the duration (e.g., maximum duration) during which the WTRU can maintain power and phase continuity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of transmitting a request for capability information for maintaining phase continuity duration of HASEGAWA to system of signaling methods for OCC-enabled PUSCH including UE transmitted capability information of supporting of OCC operation maintaining phase coherence or continuity over a period of AZARI for an advantage of providing a method for increasing the number of symbols utilized for PUSCH transmissions improving communication performance (HASEGAWA: [0093, 0244]).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Claim 11 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azari et al. (US 20250266945 A1 with priority of FI 20245203, hereinafter ‘AZARI’) in view of Haghighat et al. (US 20250317938 A1, hereinafter ‘HAGHIGHAT’).
Regarding claim 11, AZARI teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
AZARI does not explicitly disclose receive, via the antenna and in association with the network entity, one or more reference signals; and
calculate, based at least in part on the one or more reference signals, the phase impairment information.
In an analogous art, HAGHIGHAT teaches receive, via the antenna and in association with the network entity, one or more reference signals (
[0009] The WTRU may be configured to associate a phase tracking radio signal (PTRS) port with a DMRS port. The DCI that is received at the WTRU may specify a first PTRS port.
[0165] A PTRS port may be associated with a DMRS port within the group of DMRS ports for a phase error (e.g., common phase error) estimation…
[0166] The group of DMRS ports may be determined based on the DMRS ports associated with the same antenna panel or antenna group. A WTRU may report its capability related to antenna panel and its associated DMRS ports after initial access procedure (e.g., during RRC connection setup), wherein the DMRS ports associated with the same antenna panel may be indicated as antenna group.); and
calculate, based at least in part on the one or more reference signals, the phase impairment information (
[0165] A PTRS port may be associated with a DMRS port within the group of DMRS ports for a phase error (e.g., common phase error) estimation and/or channel estimation. For example, a WTRU may perform phase error estimation by using the PTRS and corresponding DMRS associated with the PTRS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of transmitting PTRS for phase error estimation at the UE of HAGHIGHAT to system of signaling methods for OCC-enabled PUSCH including UE transmitted capability information of supporting of OCC operation maintaining phase coherence or continuity over a period of AZARI for an advantage of providing a method for improving uplink performance (e.g., in terms of UL throughput and/or reliability) (HAGHIGHAT: [0130]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 12-14, 20-21 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and in intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, AZARI, HASEGAWA, HAGHIGHAT or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
reset an assistance information timer based at least in part on reception of the request, wherein the assistance information timer is associated with trigger of transmission of the assistance information message.
Regarding claim 4, AZARI, HASEGAWA, HAGHIGHAT or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein transmission of the assistance information message is based at least in part on an expiration of an assistance information timer associated with trigger of transmission of the assistance information message.
Regarding claim 5, AZARI, HASEGAWA, HAGHIGHAT or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
detect that a phase impairment condition for the UE exceeds a threshold, wherein transmission of the assistance information message is based at least in part on detection that the phase impairment condition for the UE exceeds the threshold.
Regarding claim 6, AZARI, HASEGAWA, HAGHIGHAT or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive, in association with the network entity, an assistance information transmission periodicity, wherein transmission of the assistance information message is in accordance with the assistance information transmission periodicity.
Regarding claim 12, AZARI, HASEGAWA, HAGHIGHAT or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
transmit, for the network entity after reception of the control message, a second assistance information message that indicates second phase impairment information for the UE, wherein the assistance information message is a first assistance information message, wherein the phase impairment information is a first phase impairment information, wherein the control message is a first control message, wherein the orthogonal cover code configuration is a first orthogonal cover code configuration, wherein the orthogonal cover code scheme is a first orthogonal cover code scheme, wherein the orthogonal cover code factor is a first orthogonal cover code factor, and wherein the second phase impairment information for the UE is different than the first phase impairment information; and
receive, in association with the network entity and based at least in part on transmission of the second assistance information message, a second control message that indicates a second orthogonal cover code configuration, wherein the second orthogonal cover code configuration comprises at least one of a second orthogonal cover code scheme different from the first orthogonal cover code scheme or a second orthogonal cover code factor different from the first orthogonal cover code factor.
Regarding claim 13, AZARI, HASEGAWA, HAGHIGHAT or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the phase impairment information is indicative of a phase impairment error in parts per million, a slope of change in temperature of the UE over time, or a slope of change in phase over time.
Regarding claim 14, AZARI, HASEGAWA, HAGHIGHAT or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the phase impairment information indicates a quantized state from a set of candidate quantized states, and
each of the set of candidate quantized states corresponds to a range of phase impairment values.
Regarding claim 20, AZARI, HASEGAWA, HAGHIGHAT or any prior art of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network entity to:
obtain a second assistance information message that indicates second phase impairment information for a second UE, wherein the second phase impairment information is indicative of a second change in phase over time, wherein the assistance information message is a first assistance information message, wherein the phase impairment information is a first phase impairment information, wherein the UE is a first UE, wherein the control message is a first control message, wherein the orthogonal cover code configuration is a first orthogonal cover code configuration, and wherein the uplink shared channel communication is a first uplink shared channel communication;
output, for the second UE and based at least in part on the second assistance information message, a second control message that indicates a second orthogonal cover code configuration, wherein the second orthogonal cover code configuration comprises the orthogonal cover code scheme, wherein the second orthogonal cover code configuration comprises the orthogonal cover code factor; and
obtain, via a same set of time and frequency resources as the first uplink shared channel communication, a second uplink shared channel communication associated with the second UE in accordance with the second orthogonal cover code configuration.
Regarding claim 21, the claim being dependent on claim 20, is interpreted same as claim 20.
Regarding claim 28, the claim having similar features as in claim 12, is interpreted same as claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shah et al. (US 20250317255 A1), describing RATE MATCHING TECHNIQUES FOR TRANSPORT BLOCK PROCESSING OVER MULTIPLE SLOTS WITH ORTHOGONAL COVER CODES
Shah et al. (US 20250266944 A1), describing ORTHOGONAL COVER CODES FOR CLUSTERS IN NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORKS
Marcone et al. (WO 2025171930 A1), describing REDUNDANCY DETERMINATION IN PUSCH REPETITIONS WITH ORTHOGONAL COVER CODE
Liu et al. (US 20250258287 A1), describing COMMUNICATION METHOD AND COMMUNICATION APPARATUS
Shah et al. (US 20250106841 A1), describing ORTHOGONAL COVER CODES FOR UPLINK TRANSMISSIONS
Shah et al. (US 20240406046 A1), describing INTERFERENCE RANDOMIZATION IN ORTHOGONAL COVER CODES
Sun et al. (US 20240031095 A1), describing CONFIGURING AND USING DEVICE-TO-DEVICE DEMODULATION REFERENCE SIGNAL (DMRS)
Yi et al. (US 20240340864 A1), describing METHOD AND DEVICE FOR UPLINK CHANNEL TRANSMISSION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413