Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 7, 2024 has been entered and the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "320" and "325" are reversed between Figs. 3A and 3B and Figure 3C. In other words, in Figure 3C, the lines connecting the “pinion” and “rack” should be reversed. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 10, the preamble should recite “claim 8” instead of “claims 8.” Furthermore, “the intermediate member” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lary (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0125044) in view of Cunningham et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0074417).
In regard to claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 13-15, Lary teaches a medical device comprised of an incision device comprised of a catheter 28 with a cutting means 38 coupled to the distal end of the catheter 28 (see Fig. 2A). In Figures 5A and 5B, the cutting means 38 (blade 60) resides in a channel and is actuated to move between a retracted position (Fig. 3A) and a deployed position outside the channel (Fig. 3B). The blade 60 is attached to braces 67, 68 which in turn are attached to nuts 62, 64 so that when a screw rod 63 is turned by a controller 34, the nuts 62, 64 move away from one another causing the blade 60 to extend from the side of the catheter 28 (see Figs. 3A and 3B and para. 0046). While Lary teaches a mechanism for deploying the blade 60, it is not a gear mechanism. However, Cunningham et al. teach a similar medical device 100 with a cutting mechanism 140 that is deployed using a rack 142, 148 and pinion 160 mechanism (see para. 0081 and Figs. 4-7). Cunningham et al. thus demonstrate that the use of rack and pinion mechanisms to deploy a cutting blade are well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of Lary with the rack and pinion mechanism of Cunningham et al., in lieu of the screw rod and nut mechanism, in order to deploy the blade 60 from the channel as the two structures are art-recognized equivalents for deploying a cutting blade. In regard to claim 12, see para. 0049 of Lary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/940,674 in view of Cunningham et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0074417).
Claim 1 of copending application no. 18/940,674 teaches all of the features of claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 13-15 with the exception of a gear mechanism. However, as noted above, Cunningham et al. teach a similar medical device 100 with a cutting mechanism 140 that is deployed using a rack 142, 148 and pinion 160 mechanism (see para. 0081 and Figs. 4-7). Cunningham et al. thus demonstrate that the use of rack and pinion mechanisms to deploy a cutting blade are well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of claim 1 of copending application no. 18/940,674 with the rack and pinion mechanism of Cunningham et al., in order to deploy the blade 60 from the channel.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 12-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of copending Application No. 18/944,661 in view of Cunningham et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0074417).
Claims 1 and 10 of copending application no. 18/944,661 teaches all of the features of claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 12-15 with the exception of a gear mechanism. However, as noted above, Cunningham et al. teach a similar medical device 100 with a cutting mechanism 140 that is deployed using a rack 142, 148 and pinion 160 mechanism (see para. 0081 and Figs. 4-7). Cunningham et al. thus demonstrate that the use of rack and pinion mechanisms to deploy a cutting blade are well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of claims 1 and 10 of copending application no. 18/944,661 with the rack and pinion mechanism of Cunningham et al., in order to deploy the blade 60 from the channel.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 13-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/954,953 in view of Cunningham et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0074417).
Claim 1 of copending application no. 18/954,953 teaches all of the features of claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 13-15 with the exception of a gear mechanism. However, as noted above, Cunningham et al. teach a similar medical device 100 with a cutting mechanism 140 that is deployed using a rack 142, 148 and pinion 160 mechanism (see para. 0081 and Figs. 4-7). Cunningham et al. thus demonstrate that the use of rack and pinion mechanisms to deploy a cutting blade are well known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the device of claim 1 of copending application no. 18/954,953 with the rack and pinion mechanism of Cunningham et al., in order to deploy the blade 60 from the channel.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
Claims 3-5, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest either a force transmitting gear mechanism connected between the torsion gear mechanism and the rotatable gear actuator or an intermediate actuation member disposed between the force transmitting gear mechanism and the torsion gear mechanism. Cunningham et al. teaches only a torsion gear mechanism (see above). Brown et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2015/048545) teaches a similar medica device with a single gear mechanism (see para. 0051).
/BEVERLY M FLANAGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794