DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 05/19/2026. Claim 9 is amended. Claim 8 is canceled. Claims 1-7 and 9 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (pg. 4-7), filed on 05/19/2026, with respect to the 103 rejections of claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest “emitting to the client of a specific page linked to the at least one audio-video content, in response to the request” and “determining a traffic peak associated with at least one audio-video content” as Applicant’s claim 1 recites. However, Burckart et al. (US 2014/0281906 A1) and Kotecha et al. (US 2015/0023168 A1) discloses rendering HTML pages with links referencing dynamic content in response to receiving a request (Burckart: [0035], [0044], [0048]) and determining traffic congestion associated with video content (Kotecha: [0038]-[0043]). Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the prior art of record teaches the claim limitations in combination. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In particular, Applicant mentions audio-video content meeting particular conditions, but it is unclear what those particular conditions are and whether the claimed language actually recites such features. Examiner suggests Applicant to further clarify the claims in view of the argued features in order to obviate the obviousness rejection, perhaps with respect to how the result of determining a traffic peak associated with at least one audio-video content contributes to emitting a specific page linked to the at least one audio-video content since the two limitations currently appear to be two independent, unrelated functionalities.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 05/19/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burckart et al. (US 2014/0281906 A1, hereinafter “Burckart”) in view of Kotecha et al. (US 2015/0023168 A1, hereinafter “Kotecha”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 7 and 9), Burckart discloses:
receiving a request designating a page referencing a set of elements called dynamic elements, at least some of the dynamic elements corresponding to audio-video contents (receiving request for HTML webpage including dynamic data, Burckart: [0035], [0048]),
emitting to the client of a specific page linked to the at least one audio-video content, in response to the request (rendering HTML pages with links referencing dynamic content, Burckart: [0044]).
Burckart does not explicitly disclose:
determining a traffic peak associated with at least one audio-video content.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kotecha teaches:
determining a traffic peak associated with at least one audio-video content (determining traffic congestion associated with video, Kotecha: [0038]-[0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Burckart in view of Kotecha in order to further modify the method of rendering requested webpage with links referencing dynamic content from the teachings of Burckart with the method of determining traffic congestion associated with dynamic content from the teachings of Kotecha.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have reduced network congestion (Burckart: [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein the specific page is adapted to reference the at least one audio-video content, and, possibly, the requested page (rendering HTML pages with links referencing dynamic content, Burckart: [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein the specific page is a static page including no dynamic element (rendering static HTML pages, Burckart: [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein the determining comprises a monitoring of the traffic associated with a set of audio-video contents, and a detection of a traffic peak among the traffics (monitoring traffic flows to determine traffic congestion, Kotecha: [0038]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 5, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein the detection is based on a comparison of the traffics with a determined threshold (determining traffic congestion based on threshold, Kotecha: [0035]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein processing operations corresponding to the determining of a traffic peak are triggered prior to the receiving of the request (monitoring traffic flows to determine traffic congestion, Kotecha: [0038]-[0043]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454