DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 11/07/2024. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being unpatentable subject matter.
Regarding claim 8, “A computer program” as recited in the claim is not limited in the specification to exclude transitory forms of signal transmission. The aforementioned medium can therefore be interpreted to be directed to transitory forms of signal transmission. Transitory forms of signal transmission are not directed to one of the four statutory categories, i.e. non-statutory and not patentable, as established in In re Nuijten. Refer to MPEP 2106(I). Examiner recommends Applicant to recite claims 8 and 9 as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burckart et al. (US 2014/0281906 A1, hereinafter “Burckart”) in view of Kotecha et al. (US 2015/0023168 A1, hereinafter “Kotecha”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claims 7-9), Burckart discloses:
receiving a request designating a page referencing a set of elements called dynamic elements, at least some of the dynamic elements corresponding to audio-video contents (receiving request for HTML webpage including dynamic data, Burckart: [0035], [0048]),
emitting to the client of a specific page linked to the at least one audio-video content, in response to the request (rendering HTML pages with links referencing dynamic content, Burckart: [0044]).
Burckart does not explicitly disclose:
determining a traffic peak associated with at least one audio-video content.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kotecha teaches:
determining a traffic peak associated with at least one audio-video content (determining traffic congestion associated with video, Kotecha: [0038]-[0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Burckart in view of Kotecha in order to further modify the method of rendering requested webpage with links referencing dynamic content from the teachings of Burckart with the method of determining traffic congestion associated with dynamic content from the teachings of Kotecha.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have reduced network congestion (Burckart: [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein the specific page is adapted to reference the at least one audio-video content, and, possibly, the requested page (rendering HTML pages with links referencing dynamic content, Burckart: [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein the specific page is a static page including no dynamic element (rendering static HTML pages, Burckart: [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein the determining comprises a monitoring of the traffic associated with a set of audio-video contents, and a detection of a traffic peak among the traffics (monitoring traffic flows to determine traffic congestion, Kotecha: [0038]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 5, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein the detection is based on a comparison of the traffics with a determined threshold (determining traffic congestion based on threshold, Kotecha: [0035]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Burckart-Kotecha teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Burckart-Kotecha further discloses:
wherein processing operations corresponding to the determining of a traffic peak are triggered prior to the receiving of the request (monitoring traffic flows to determine traffic congestion, Kotecha: [0038]-[0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Hosur (US 2017/0041372 A1: Content Insertion in Streaming Media Content) and Bacus et al. (US 2013/0002647 A1: Managing Web Page Data in a Composite Document).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/GIL H. LEE/
Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446