DETAILED ACTION
The present office action represents the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Priority
This application claims priority to Provisional Patent Application No. 63/547,642 dated 07 November 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(I). The following figures are unsatisfactory for reproduction because they contain text within shaded areas:
Fig. 1A, 1B, 2A-G, and 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawakami et al. (JP 2023/032569).
REGARDING CLAIM 1
Kawakami teaches the claimed patient engagement system comprising:
a 3D hologram display unit… [Para. 0012 teaches a patient-side computing device (interpreted as a 3D hologram display unit). Para. 0022 teaches that the patient-side device has a display (the display is interpreted to be part of the patient-side device).] …including an exterior cabinet, and… [Para. 0022 teaches the patient-side device has a display. As is known in the art, display screens, whether they be desktop computers, tablets, or smartphones, have a surround, which is interpreted as an “exterior cabinet.” There is no claimed description of what the cabinet must or must not entail, and the cabinet appears to be non-functional in the claim.],
…a transparent 3D hologram display screen on the cabinet… [Para. 0022 teaches a patient-side device has a display. The display screen of the patient-side device is interpreted to be a transparent 3D hologram display screen. This interpretation appears to be consistent with the Applicant’s description of a “transparent 3D hologram display screen,” at page 3, line 17-23, fig. 1B, items 20 and 30 (i.e., a display screen on a computing device).]
…for displaying a remotely located healthcare professional attending to a patient located at the 3D hologram display unit; and [Para. 0022 teaches that the information displayed on the display device 500 is also displayed on the display device in the room where the patient is present (i.e., the display of the patient-side device). Para. 0009 teaches that the positional relationship between the patient hand and the medical staff is displayed (i.e., the data displayed on the display device 500 is also displayed on the patient-side device). The Examiner additionally notes that “for displaying…” is an intended use of the display screen and is not required to occur.]
a plurality of connective mechanisms… [Para. 0007, 0024 teaches an input unit that receives patient information from multiple measuring devices.]
…for connecting patient diagnostic, examination, and monitoring devices to the 3D hologram display unit… [Para. 0007, 0012, 0022 teaches that the three or more measuring devices (diagnostic, examination, and monitoring devices) are connected to the patient-side device and thus the display.]
…wherein the connected diagnostic and medical examination devices are used on the patient for delivering diagnostic and other medical information concerning the patient to the healthcare professional. [Para. 0023, 0036 teaches that patient measurements are taken using the three or more devices. Para. 0037 teaches that the patient data is sent to the provider device, which then is used to diagnose the patient.]
REGARDING CLAIM 2
Kawakami teaches the claimed patient engagement system as recited in Claim 1.
Kawakami further teaches
wherein the diagnostic, examination, and monitoring devices are connected to the 3D hologram display unit via a wired connection. [Para. 0023 teaches that the three or more measurement devices are connected to the patient-side device via wired connected.]
REGARDING CLAIM 6
Kawakami teaches the claimed patient engagement system as recited in Claim 1.
Kawakami further teaches
wherein the diagnostic, examination, and monitoring devices are connected to the 3D hologram display unit via a wireless connection. [Para. 0023 teaches that the three or more measurement devices are connected to the patient-side device via wireless connected.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami in view of Daugirdas (U.S. 2021/0402069).
REGARDING CLAIM 3
Kawakami teaches the claimed patient engagement system as recited in Claim 2.
Kawakami may not explicitly teach
wherein the wired connection is a USB connection.
However, Daugirdas teaches the following:
wherein the wired connection is a USB connection. [Para. 0049 teaches the hemodialysis control system (medical device; the patient-side device of Kawakami) includes sensors. Para. 0053 teaches the sensors include cameras (interpreted to correspond to the camaras of Kawakami). Para. 0056 teaches the holographic system includes communication circuitry to enable wired and/or wireless communication with the hemodialysis control system. The communication circuitry includes communication ports (e.g., a USB port).]
REGARDING CLAIM 4
Kawakami may not explicitly teach
wherein the wired connection is an HDMI connection.
However, Daugirdas teaches the following:
wherein the wired connection is an HDMI connection. [Para. 0049 teaches the hemodialysis control system (medical device; the patient-side device of Kawakami) includes sensors. Para. 0053 teaches the sensors include cameras (interpreted to correspond to the camaras of Kawakami). Para. 0056 teaches the holographic system includes communication circuitry to enable wired and/or wireless communication with the hemodialysis control system. Para. 0056 teaches the communication circuitry includes communication ports (e.g., HDMI).]
REGARDING CLAIM 5
Kawakami may not explicitly teach
wherein the wired connection is an Ethernet connection.
However, Daugirdas teaches the following:
wherein the wired connection is an Ethernet connection. [Para. 0049 teaches the hemodialysis control system (medical device; the patient-side device of Kawakami) includes sensors. Para. 0053 teaches the sensors include cameras (interpreted to correspond to the camaras of Kawakami). Para. 0056 teaches the holographic system includes communication circuitry to enable wired and/or wireless communication with the hemodialysis control system. Para. 0056 teaches the communication circuitry includes communication ports (e.g., Ethernet).]
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Salem (U.S. 2024/0078940) which discloses a system for remote noninvasive contactless assessment and prediction of health.
King et al. (U.S. 2017/0169610) which discloses a method for displaying via a head-mounted display device a third party holographic portal in a user real world environment.
/CAMRYN B LEWIS/
Examiner, Art Unit 3683
/JASON S TIEDEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683