Double Patenting
Claims 1 - 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11, 13 - 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 in current application except “a first wireless-frequency transceiver located between two of the layers of the multilayer PCB. It is obvious that a component embedded in a multilayer PCB is located between two layers of the multilayer PCB.
Claim 2 is rejected by claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 3 is rejected by claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 4 is rejected by claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 5 is rejected by claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 6 is rejected by claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 7 is rejected by claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 8 is rejected by claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 9 is rejected by claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 10 is rejected by claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 11 is rejected by claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 12 is rejected by claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 13 is rejected by claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 14 is rejected by claim 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 15 is rejected by claim 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 16 is rejected by claim 25 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim 17 is rejected by claim 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12171058.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 – 12, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20200185299), in view of Choudhury (US 20110147920).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a printed circuit board (PCB) module comprising a multilayer PCB, the multilayer PCB comprising:
a plurality of layers (the multiplayer substrate in Fig. 3A) comprising conductive layers (the metal lines 308) and non-conductive layers (the dielectric routing layer in the redistribution layer 306);
a first outer surface (top surface) and second outer surface (bottom surface) opposite from the first outer surface;
one or more electrical components (top metal layer) coupled to the first outer surface of the multilayer PCB;
one or more electrical contacts (solder bumps 320) coupled to the second outer surface of the multilayer PCB; and
a first embedded semiconductor die (RFIC chip 125 embedded in the molding compound 304) having an active side (top side) facing towards a location of the first outer surface (top surface); wherein
the first embedded semiconductor die comprises a first wireless radio-frequency transceiver (paragraph 69).
Chang does not explicitly disclose the first embedded semiconductor die located between two of the layers of the multilayer PCB.
Choudhury teaches the first embedded semiconductor die (RFIC chip 125, Fig. 1) located between two of the layers (insulating layers and metal layers on top and bottom side of the RFIC chip 125) of the multilayer PCB.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to increase number of routing layers in the circuit board in order to accommodate the increasing complexity of the intended circuitry.
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Chang further suggests the multilayer PCB further comprises a second embedded semiconductor die (the second die 402, Fig. 4E & 4F) having an active side facing towards the location of the first outer surface (top surface) or a location of the second outer surface of the multilayer PCB.
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5. Chang further suggests the second embedded semiconductor die comprises a second wireless radio-frequency transceiver (the chip is a transceiver; paragraph 69).
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Chang further suggests the second wireless radio-frequency transceiver comprises a magnetoinductive transceiver (the antenna controlled by the chip radiating electromagnetic field; paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Chang further suggests the first embedded semiconductor die has a thickness less than 200 microns (the thickness of the chip is a little thicker than the thickness of layer 310. The thickness of layer 310 is less than 100 µm; paragraph 60).
Regarding claim 11, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Chang further discloses the active side of the first embedded semiconductor die comprises a plurality of electrical pads (pads on top surface of the chip 302 connecting to metal lines 308) connected to respective electric traces in the multilayer PCB.
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11. Chang further discloses the active side of the first embedded semiconductor die is electrically connected via the plurality of electronic pads (pads on top surface of the chip 302 connecting to metal lines 308) and the respective electric traces to at least one of the one or more electrical components (top metal is antenna array connected to the internal circuitry controlled by the chip; paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 14, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Chang further discloses the one or more electrical contacts comprise solder bump(s) (solder bumps 320, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 16, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Chang further suggests the multilayer PCB comprises a unitarily formed multilayer PCB (the substrate in Fig. 3A appears to be a unitary substrate).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20200185299), in view of Choudhury (US 20110147920), in further view of Gouchi (US 20140264737).
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Chang does not explicitly disclose the active side of the first embedded semiconductor die comprises an antenna coil.
Chang suggests antenna 412, fig. 4I, embedded in the adhesive layer 440.
Gouchi teaches the embedded internal component 3 is an antenna coil (paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the position of the antenna in order to maximize the data transmission with other electronic devices.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20200185299), in view of Choudhury (US 20110147920), in further view of Kawano (US 8310837).
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11.
Chang does not explicitly disclose the one or more electrical components comprise a resistor, a capacitor, an inductor, or any combination of the foregoing.
Kawano suggests the capacitors and coils 251 mounted on the surface of the substrate (Fig. 2; column 7, line 58 - 59).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include capacitor and/or inductor on the surface of the circuit board in order to form a functional circuitry.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20200185299), in view of Choudhury (US 20110147920), in further view of Augustin (US 20200144723).
Regarding claim 15, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Chang does not explicitly disclose the wireless radio-frequency transceiver comprises a Bluetooth-compliant transceiver.
Augustin suggests Bluetooth being a part of a system working with the patch antenna having the embedded chip (paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a Bluetooth-compliant feature in the transceiver in order to connect the transceiver to common external wireless electronic devices.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 20200185299), in view of Vang (US 20180098162).
Regarding claim 17, Chang discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Chang does not explicitly disclose a head-wearable hearing device configured for use in, or at, an ear of a user, the head-wearable hearing device comprising the printed circuit board (PCB) module of claim 1.
Vang teaches the hearing assistance device having embedded chip in the substrate (Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the circuit board with embedded chip in the hearing aid device in order to fit all required component in the limited space of the hearing aid device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the multilayer PCB comprises a keep-out volume between the first outer surface and the active side of the first embedded semiconductor die, the keep-out volume being defined by a keep-out area of the active side of the first embedded semiconductor die and a keep-out height, the keep-out volume being free from electrically conductive materials. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1 & 5, a combination of limitations that the first embedded semiconductor die and the second embedded semiconductor die are separated by at least one of the layers of the multilayer PCB. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chiu (US 20180025986) discloses an embedded chip in the substrate (Fig. 10).
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847