DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first and second fixing parts in claim 1.
Claim 4 describes the structure of fixing parts as having support surfaces.
First two paragraphs on page 7 of Applicant’s Specification also describes the structure of fixing parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satou et al. (US 20120168225 A1) in view of Nishijima et al. (US 20070107926 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Satou discloses a routing structure (Satou, Fig. 1, wire routing structure underneath seat) comprising: a first fixing part (Satou, 11 in Fig. 1c having support surfaces shown in Fig. 5) fixed to a vehicle body (Satou, 5 in Fig. 1) of a vehicle (Satou, paragraph 0058, the structure is for a vehicle); a second fixing part (Satou, 12 in Fig. 1c having support surfaces shown in Fig. 5) fixed to a slide body (Satou, Fig. 1, sliding seat) that moves along a vehicle front-rear direction (Satou, Fig. 1a, X1 direction); an exterior member (Satou, 26 in Fig. 3) having a first end portion held by the first fixing part and a second end portion held by the second fixing part (Satou, Fig. 1b, fixed at two ends p1 and p2); an electric wire (Satou, 21/22 in Fig. 3) inserted through the exterior member; and a biasing member (Satou, 24 in Fig. 3) inserted through the exterior member and forming a curved portion curved in the vehicle front-rear direction between the first end portion and the second end portion of the exterior member (Satou, Fig. 1a), wherein the second fixing part is disposed above the first fixing part in a vehicle up-down direction (Satou, Fig. 1c, 12 above 11), and the first fixing part and the second fixing part hold the first end portion and the second end portion such that the curved portion is inclined with respect to the vehicle up-down direction when viewed from the vehicle front-rear direction (Satou, Fig. 1b-1c, inclined with respect to Y-direction that is the up-down direction).
Satou fails to disclose with respect to an opening provided in a roof of the vehicle body.
Nishijima teaches with respect to an opening provided in a roof of the vehicle body (Nishijima, paragraph 59, wire routing structure can be used in a sliding roof panel of a car, which would have an opening; and can be used on a slidable structure against a base having an opening).
Nishijima is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle wiring structure for sliding bodies including doors (Satou also teaches the wire routing structure can be used in doors) as Satou.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught by Satou to incorporate the teachings of Nishijima with a reasonable expectation of success and either use the routing structure of Satou in a sliding roof such that the sliding roof moves with respect of an opening or have a sliding roof in the vehicle of Satou such that the seat can move with respect to the roof opening. Doing so provides improved wiring efficiency and saves wiring space (Satou, paragraph 9) for a potential sliding roof wiring structure; having a sliding roof in the vehicle of Satou also provides added ventilation.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Satou in view of Nishijima teaches the routing structure according to claim 1, wherein an inclination angle of the curved portion with respect to the vehicle up-down direction is an angle that increases a radius of the curved portion as compared with that in a case where the curved portion is not inclined (Satou, Fig. 1 and paragraph 27, inclined so that the distance between the ends is greater and therefore the radius is greater).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Satou in view of Nishijima teaches the routing structure according to claim 1, wherein the first fixing part holds the first end portion at a first position in a vehicle width direction, and the second fixing part holds the second end portion at a second position different from the first position in the vehicle width direction (Satou, Fig. 1b-1c, Z is the width direction, the two ends are been hold at two different positions along the Z or width direction).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Satou in view of Nishijima teaches the routing structure according to claim 1, wherein the first fixing part has a first support surface (Satou, Fig. 5, horizontal surface of 11 supporting first end p1) inclined with respect to the vehicle up-down direction (Satou, Fig. 5, the surface is horizontal, therefore inclined with respect to the up-down direction Y), and supports the first end portion by the first support surface (Satou, Fig. 5), and the second fixing part has a second support surface (Satou, Fig. 5, horizontal surface of 12 supporting first end p2) inclined with respect to the vehicle up-down direction (Satou, Fig. 5, the surface is horizontal, therefore inclined with respect to the up-down direction Y), and supports the second end portion by the second support surface (Satou, Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Satou in view of Nishijima as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi (US 20080142260 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Satou in view of Nishijima teaches the routing structure according to claim 4, but fails to teach the first fixing part and the second fixing part are disposed such that the first support surface and the second support surface face each other when viewed from the vehicle front-rear direction.
Yamaguchi teaches the first fixing part and the second fixing part are disposed such that the first support surface and the second support surface face each other when viewed from the vehicle front-rear direction (Yamaguchi, Fig. 5, fixing parts 3 and 4 facing each other in the right-side configuration of Fig. 5).
Nishijima is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle wiring structure for sliding bodies as Satou in view of Nishijima.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure as taught by Satou in view of Nishijima to incorporate the teachings of Yamaguchi with a reasonable expectation of success and position the fixing parts such that their support surfaces face each other. Doing so allows the routing structure to occupy less space when appropriate and therefore save installation space.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references that are not relied upon all disclose vehicle wire routing structure with inclined curvature.
/WENWEI ZHUO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612