Claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 are amended. Claims 9 and 19 are cancelled. Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are currently under review.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 1, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues on page 11 of the remarks that Chen does not disclose that the left side of the trace 121a coincides with the left side of the trace 121b as claimed, and fails to disclose the feature “wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a first long side and a second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a third long side and a fourth long side, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side coincides with the third long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side”.
The Office disagrees. Figures 3 and 5 show that items 121a and 121b are fanned out and coincide at a point to overlap which is clearly shown in figure 5. Each of items 121a and 121b have a left side (from the center to the left edge is the left side, item 121a: first side and item 121b: third side) and a right side (from the center to the right edge is the right side, item 121a: second side and item 121b: fourth side). Therefore in a view perpendicular to the first long side, one would see that the first long side of item 121a completely overlaps and coincides with the third long side of item 121b and that the second long side of item 121a completely overlaps and coincides with the fourth long side of item 121b. Additionally the claims have not clearly defined a first side, a second side, a third side, and a fourth side which can be defined as left and right sides, left and right edges, top and bottom sides of each of item 121a and 121b, etc. Therefore the prior art teaches all the claim limitations as argued.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: some of the limitations have already been included in the independent claims and are redundant. Appropriate correction is required. The following is suggested:
Claim 8, lines 1-5: “The electronic device according to claim 1,
Claim 18, lines 2-5: “
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0114935 A1) hereinafter referred to as Chang in view of Chen (Pub. No.: US 2018/0190225 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Chang teaches an electronic device (fig. 1, item 100: display device; ¶16), comprising: a panel (fig. 1, item 110; ¶16-17), having an active area (fig. 1, item D; ¶17) and a fan-out area (fig. 1, item A12; ¶21); a first fan-out line (figs. 2-3, item T1: T11 and T12), located in the fan-out area and having a first segment (figs. 2-3, portion of T12 extending into D1); a second fan-out line (figs. 2-3, item T2: T21 and T22), located in the fan-out area and having a second segment (figs. 2-3, portion of item T22 extending into D1’), wherein a projection of the first segment overlaps a projection of the second segment in a vertical direction of the substrate (figs. 2-3; ¶30, “The first trace T12 and the second trace T2 form at least one cross point D1 which is corresponding to a projection point D1′ in a vertical projection direction”); and a multiplexer circuit (fig. 1, item A13 includes a plurality of multiplexers; ¶16; ¶23), located between the active area (fig. 1, item D) and the fan-out area (fig. 1, item A12), and coupled to the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line (see figs. 1-2), wherein the first fan-out line (figs. 2-3, item T1: T11 and T12) receives a first data signal (¶26; ¶34, since S11, S12 is connected to a trace with a polarity and connected to a data line, a first data signal must be received by the first fan-outline), the second fan-out line (figs. 2-3, item T2: T21 and T22) receives a second data signal (¶26; ¶34, since S21, S22 is connected to a trace with a polarity and connected to a data line, a second data signal must be received by the second fan-outline), and polarities of the first data signal and the second data signal are opposite (¶26, “A polarity of each of the first polarity pins is opposite to a polarity of each of the second polarity pins”).
Although Chang teaches the panel to have the active area and the fan-out area, Chang does not explicitly mention that the panel comprises a substrate; wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a first long side and a second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a third long side and a fourth long side wherein in a direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side coincides with the third long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side.
Chen teaches a substrate (figs. 1 and 2, item 1; ¶41), having an active area (fig. 2, item 11: display portion; ¶41) and a fan-out area (fig. 2, item 12; ¶41), the fan-out area comprises: a first fan-out line having a first segment (fig. 2, item 121a: first segment overlapped with item 121b: second segment) and a fan-out line having second a second segment (fig. 2, item 121b: second segment overlapped with item 121a: first segment; ¶43); wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a first long side (fig. 4, item 121a has a left side = first long side) and a second long side (fig. 4, item 121a has a right side = second long side), and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a third long side (fig. 4, item 121b has a left side = third long side) and a fourth long side (fig. 4, item 121b has a right side = fourth long side), wherein in a direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side coincides with the third long side (fig. 4), and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side (fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Chang, such that the panel comprises a substrate to have the active area and the fan-out area, wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a first long side and a second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a third long side and a fourth long side, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side coincides with the third long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side, as taught by Chen so as to so as to provide a common material to form a display device and improve wiring density (¶25).
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Chang teaches further comprising: a first data line (fig. 2, item L1 and connected to Z2; ¶34), located in the active area and receiving the first data signal through the first fan-out line and the multiplexer circuit (fig. 2); and a second data line (fig. 2, data line extending from P11 and connected to Z1; ¶31; ¶33), located in the active area and receiving the first data signal through the first fan-out line and the multiplexer circuit (fig. 2).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated, Chang teaches further comprising: a first display unit (fig. 2, item P21), located in the active area and coupled to the first data line (fig. 2, via item Z2); and a second display unit (fig. 2, item P11), located in the active area and coupled to the second data line (fig. 2, via item Z1), wherein the first display unit and the second display unit output lights of different colors (fig. 2, Red on P11 and Green on P21).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 2 is incorporated, Chang teaches further comprising: a third data line (fig. 2, item L2), located in the active area and receiving the second data signal through the second fan-out line and the multiplexer circuit (fig. 2, via item Z5 of M21 and S2; ¶24).
With respect to Claim 6, claim 5 is incorporated, Chang teaches wherein the third data line (fig. 2, item L2) is located between the first data line (fig. 2, item L1 and connected to Z2; ¶34) and the second data line (fig. 2, data line extending from P11 and connected to Z1; ¶31; ¶33 – in a region A14).
With respect to Claim 7, claim 5 is incorporated, Chang teaches wherein the multiplexer circuit comprises: a third switching element (fig. 2, item Z5), coupled to the third data line (fig. 2, item L2: third data line) and the second fan-out line (fig. 2), and being turned on according to a first control signal (fig. 2, item G1; ¶33).
With respect to Claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Chang does not teach wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the first long side and the second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the third long side and the fourth long side, wherein in the direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side is located between the third long side and the second long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side.
Chen teaches a substrate (figs. 1 and 2, item 1; ¶41), having an active area (fig. 2, item 11: display portion; ¶41) and a fan-out area (fig. 2, item 12; ¶41), the fan-out area comprises: a first fan-out line having a first segment (fig. 2, item 121a: first segment overlapped with item 121b: second segment) and a second fan-out line having a second segment (fig. 2, item 121b: second segment overlapped with item 121a: first segment; ¶43); wherein the projection of the first segment overlaps a projection of the second segment in a vertical direction of the substrate (fig. 2; ¶43); wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the first long side (fig. 4, item 121a has a left side = first long side) and the second long side (fig. 4, item 121a has a right side = second long side), and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the third long side (fig. 4, item 121b has a left side = third long side) and the fourth long side (fig. 4, item 121b has a right side = fourth long side), wherein in the direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side is located between the third long side and the second long side (fig. 4)), and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side (fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Chang, wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the first long side and the second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the third long side and the fourth long side, wherein in the direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side is located between the third long side and the second long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side, as taught by Chen so as to improve wiring density (¶25).
With respect to Claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated, Chang does not teach wherein a ratio of a length of the first segment to a length of the shorter of the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line is between 15% and 99%.
Chen teaches a substrate (figs. 1 and 2, item 1; ¶41), having an active area (fig. 2, item 11: display portion; ¶41) and a fan-out area (fig. 2, item 12; ¶41), the fan-out area comprises: a first fan-out line having a first segment (fig. 2, item 121a: first segment overlapped with item 121b: second segment) and a second fan-out line having a second segment (fig. 2, item 121b: second segment overlapped with item 121a: first segment; ¶43); wherein a ratio of a length of the first segment to a length of the shorter of the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line is between 15% and 99% (figs. 3-4, where the ratio of a length of the first segment to a length of the shorter of the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line falls within the range of 15% to 99% since figures 3-4 of Chen are the same as FL1 and FL2 shown in figure 3 of the applicant’s drawings).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Chang, wherein a ratio of a length of the first segment to a length of the shorter of the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line is between 15% and 99%, as taught by Chen so as to improve wiring density (¶25).
With respect to Claim 11, Chang teaches a circuit layout structure (figs. 1-2; ¶16) on a panel (fig. 1, item 110; ¶16-17) of an electronic device (fig. 1, item 100: display device; ¶16), wherein the electronic device (fig. 1, item 100: display device; ¶16) comprises the panel (fig. 1, item 110; ¶16-17) and a multiplexer circuit (fig. 1, item A13 includes a plurality of multiplexers; ¶16; ¶23), the panel has an active area (fig. 1, item D; ¶17) and a fan-out area (fig. 1, item A12; ¶21), and the circuit layout structure comprises: a first fan-out line (figs. 2-3, item T1: T11 and T12), located in the fan-out area and having a first segment (figs. 2-3, portion of T12 extending into D1); and a second fan-out line (figs. 2-3, item T2: T21 and T22), located in the fan-out area and having a second segment (figs. 2-3, portion of item T22 extending into D1’), wherein a projection of the first segment overlaps a projection of the second segment in a vertical direction of the substrate (figs. 2-3; ¶30, “The first trace T12 and the second trace T2 form at least one cross point D1 which is corresponding to a projection point D1′ in a vertical projection direction”), wherein a multiplexer circuit (fig. 1, item A13 includes a plurality of multiplexers; ¶16; ¶23) is located between the active area (fig. 1, item D) and the fan-out area (fig. 1, item A12), and is coupled to the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line (see figs. 1-2), wherein the first fan-out line (figs. 2-3, item T1: T11 and T12) receives a first data signal (¶26; ¶34, since S11, S12 is connected to a trace with a polarity and connected to a data line, a first data signal must be received by the first fan-outline), the second fan-out line (figs. 2-3, item T2: T21 and T22) receives a second data signal (¶26; ¶34, since S21, S22 is connected to a trace with a polarity and connected to a data line, a second data signal must be received by the second fan-outline), and polarities of the first data signal and the second data signal are opposite (¶26, “A polarity of each of the first polarity pins is opposite to a polarity of each of the second polarity pins”).
Although Chang teaches the panel to have the active area and the fan-out area, Chang does not explicitly mention that the panel comprises a substrate; wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a first long side and a second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a third long side and a fourth long side, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side coincides with the third long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side.
Chen teaches a substrate (figs. 1 and 2, item 1; ¶41), having an active area (fig. 2, item 11: display portion; ¶41) and a fan-out area (fig. 2, item 12; ¶41), the fan-out area comprises: a first fan-out line having a first segment (fig. 2, item 121a: first segment overlapped with item 121b: second segment) and a second fan-out line having a second segment (fig. 2, item 121b: second segment overlapped with item 121a: first segment; ¶43); wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a first long side (fig. 4, item 121a has a left side = first long side) and a second long side (fig. 4, item 121a has a right side = second long side), and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a third long side (fig. 4, item 121b has a left side = third long side) and a fourth long side (fig. 4, item 121b has a right side = fourth long side), wherein in a direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side coincides with the third long side (fig. 4), and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side (fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circuit layout structure on a substrate of an electronic device of Chang, such that the panel comprises a substrate to have the active area and the fan-out area, wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a first long side and a second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a third long side and a fourth long side, wherein in a direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side coincides with the third long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side, as taught by Chen so as to so as to provide a common material to form a display device and improve wiring density (¶25).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Chang teaches further comprising: a first data line (fig. 2, item L1 and connected to Z2; ¶34), located in the active area and receiving the first data signal through the first fan-out line and the multiplexer circuit (fig. 2); and a second data line (fig. 2, data line extending from P11 and connected to Z1; ¶31; ¶33), located in the active area and receiving the first data signal through the first fan-out line and the multiplexer circuit (fig. 2).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 12 is incorporated, Chang teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises: a first display unit (fig. 2, item P21), located in the active area and coupled to the first data line (fig. 2, via item Z2); and a second display unit (fig. 2, item P11), located in the active area and coupled to the second data line (fig. 2, via item Z1), wherein the first display unit and the second display unit output lights of different colors (fig. 2, Red on P11 and Green on P21).
With respect to Claim 15, claim 12 is incorporated, Chang teaches further comprising: a third data line (fig. 2, item L2), located in the active area and receiving the second data signal through the second fan-out line and the multiplexer circuit (fig. 2, via item Z5 of M21 and S2; ¶24).
With respect to Claim 16, claim 15 is incorporated, Chang teaches wherein the third data line (fig. 2, item L2) is located between the first data line (fig. 2, item L1 and connected to Z2; ¶34) and the second data line (fig. 2, data line extending from P11 and connected to Z1; ¶31; ¶33 – in a region A14).
With respect to Claim 17, claim 15 is incorporated, Chang teaches wherein the multiplexer circuit comprises: a third switching element (fig. 2, item Z5), coupled to the third data line (fig. 2, item L2: third data line) and the second fan-out line (fig. 2), and being turned on according to a first control signal (fig. 2, item G1; ¶33).
With respect to Claim 18, claim 11 is incorporated, Chang does not teach wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the first long side and the second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the third long side and the fourth long side, wherein in the direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side is located between the third long side and the second long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side.
Chen teaches a substrate (figs. 1 and 2, item 1; ¶41), having an active area (fig. 2, item 11: display portion; ¶41) and a fan-out area (fig. 2, item 12; ¶41), the fan-out area comprises: a first fan-out line having a first segment (fig. 2, item 121a: first segment overlapped with item 121b: second segment) and a second fan-out line having a second segment (fig. 2, item 121b: second segment overlapped with item 121a: first segment; ¶43); wherein a projection of the first segment overlaps a projection of the second segment in a vertical direction of the substrate (fig. 2; ¶43); wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a first long side (fig. 4, item 121a has a left side = first long side) and a second long side (fig. 4, item 121a has a right side = second long side), and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises a third long side (fig. 4, item 121b has a left side = third long side) and a fourth long side (fig. 4, item 121b has a right side = fourth long side), wherein in a direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side is located between the third long side and the second long side (fig. 4)), and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side (fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circuit layout structure on a substrate of an electronic device of Chang, wherein the projection of the first segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the first long side and the second long side, and the projection of the second segment in the vertical direction of the substrate comprises the third long side and the fourth long side, wherein in the direction perpendicular to the first long side, the first long side is located between the third long side and the second long side, and the second long side is located between the first long side and the fourth long side, as taught by Chen so as to improve wiring density (¶25).
With respect to Claim 20, claim 11 is incorporated, Chang does not teach wherein a ratio of a length of the first segment to a length of the shorter of the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line is between 15% and 99%.
Chen teaches a substrate (figs. 1 and 2, item 1; ¶41), having an active area (fig. 2, item 11: display portion; ¶41) and a fan-out area (fig. 2, item 12; ¶41), the fan-out area comprises: a first fan-out line having a first segment (fig. 2, item 121a: first segment overlapped with item 121b: second segment) and a second fan-out line having a second segment (fig. 2, item 121b: second segment overlapped with item 121a: first segment; ¶43); wherein a ratio of a length of the first segment to a length of the shorter of the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line is between 15% and 99% (figs. 3-4, where the ratio of a length of the first segment to a length of the shorter of the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line falls within the range of 15% to 99% since figures 3-4 of Chen are the same as FL1 and FL2 shown in figure 3 of the applicant’s drawings).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circuit layout structure on a substrate of an electronic device of Chang, wherein a ratio of a length of the first segment to a length of the shorter of the first fan-out line and the second fan-out line is between 15% and 99%, as taught by Chen so as to improve wiring density (¶25).
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang and Chen as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Tao et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0071331 A1) hereinafter referred to as Tao.
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Chang teaches wherein the multiplexer circuit comprises: a first switching element (fig. 2, item Z2; ¶33-34), coupled to the first data line and the first fan-out line (fig. 2), and being turned on according to a first control signal (fig. 2, item G1; ¶34, “receive a control signal form the second sub pixel G1”); and a second switching element (fig. 2, item Z1; ¶31; ¶33), coupled to the second data line and the first fan-out line (fig. 2), and being turned on according to a second control signal (fig. 2, item R1; ¶33, “the control end of each of the first switch Z1 and the second switch Z4 is configured to receive a control signal from a first sub pixel R1”).
Chang and Chen combined do not teach wherein the first switching element and the second switching element are turned on at different times.
Tao teaches a multiplexed display device (fig. 7; ¶63), comprising: an active area (fig. 7, location of pixels) connected to a multiplexer circuit (fig. 7, item 100; ¶67), the multiplexer circuit located between the active area and the plurality of input channels (fig. 7, item S1, S2, S3, etc are input channels); wherein the multiplexer circuit comprises: a first switching element (fig. 7, switch connected to MUX1 and R and S1), coupled to the first data line (fig. 7, data line connected to R on far left = first data line) and the first fan-out line (fig. 7, S1: first fan-out line), and being turned on according to a first control signal (fig. 7, item MUX1= first control signal); and a second switching element (fig. 7, switch connected to MUX1 and B and S1), coupled to the second data line (fig. 7, data line connected to B on the far left = second data line) and the first fan-out line (fig. 7, S1: first fan-out line), and being turned on according to a second control signal (fig. 7, item MUX2 = second control signal); wherein the first switching element and the second switching element are turned on at different times (see fig. 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined electronic device of Chang and Chen, wherein the first switching element and the second switching element are turned on at different times, as taught by Tao so as to reduce surface noise (¶5).
With respect to Claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated, Chang teaches wherein the multiplexer circuit comprises: a first switching element (fig. 2, item Z2; ¶33-34), coupled to the first data line and the first fan-out line (fig. 2), and being turned on according to a first control signal (fig. 2, item G1; ¶34, “receive a control signal form the second sub pixel G1”); and a second switching element (fig. 2, item Z1; ¶31; ¶33), coupled to the second data line and the first fan-out line (fig. 2), and being turned on according to a second control signal (fig. 2, item R1; ¶33, “the control end of each of the first switch Z1 and the second switch Z4 is configured to receive a control signal from a first sub pixel R1”).
Chang and Chen combined do not teach wherein the first switching element and the second switching element are turned on at different times.
Tao teaches a multiplexed display device (fig. 7; ¶63), comprising: an active area (fig. 7, location of pixels) connected to a multiplexer circuit (fig. 7, item 100; ¶67), the multiplexer circuit located between the active area and the plurality of input channels (fig. 7, item S1, S2, S3, etc are input channels); wherein the multiplexer circuit comprises: a first switching element (fig. 7, switch connected to MUX1 and R and S1), coupled to the first data line (fig. 7, data line connected to R on far left = first data line) and the first fan-out line (fig. 7, S1: first fan-out line), and being turned on according to a first control signal (fig. 7, item MUX1= first control signal); and a second switching element (fig. 7, switch connected to MUX1 and B and S1), coupled to the second data line (fig. 7, data line connected to B on the far left = second data line) and the first fan-out line (fig. 7, S1: first fan-out line), and being turned on according to a second control signal (fig. 7, item MUX2 = second control signal); wherein the first switching element and the second switching element are turned on at different times (see fig. 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined circuit layout structure on a substrate of an electronic device of Chang and Chen, wherein the first switching element and the second switching element are turned on at different times, as taught by Tao so as to reduce surface noise (¶5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONNA V Bocar/ Examiner, Art Unit 2621