DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tinaphong et al (USPN 2009/0207034).
Regarding claim 1, Tinaphong discloses a surge protector apparatus (a surge protection apparatus 12, see figure 1), comprising:
one or more metal oxide varistors (MOVs of the surge protection module 12, see par. 0095) operatively coupled to an electrical system (an AC power supply system), the electrical system comprising a line side and a load side (a line side and load side shown in figure 3), the one or more metal oxide varistors (the MOVs of the surge protection module 12) being configured to divert excess voltage during a transient event on the line side thereby protecting the load side (the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 configured to divert surge event to ground, e.g. see par. 0021);
at least one processor (a CPU 32);
a communication interface (such as 58, 60) communicatively coupled to the at least one processor; and
a memory device (a memory 34) storing executable code that (see par. 0100, 0148) when executed, causes the at least one processor (the CPU 32) to:
monitor sensor data comprising measured voltage levels (the voltage levels and status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 monitored by the CPU 32 based on information from a MOV sensing circuit 54) and status of the one or more metal oxide varistors, the measured voltage levels comprising a voltage measurement of the transient event (see par. 0108);
detect, from the sensor data (the MOV sensing circuit 54), that (i) the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional to divert the excess voltage (such as failure of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 of the protector apparatus 2, see par. 0108), or (ii) an electronic device (televisions, computers, stereos, compact disk players) at the load side (the load side 4) is deactivated (by relays 52)(see par. 0124);
generate notification data of an electronic notification indicating that either (a) the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional to divert the excess voltage (the failure status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 generated by the CPU 32 to a communication device 58, 60, see par. 0110), or (b) that the electronic device is deactivated (see par. 0128);
convert (by the Zigbee module 58) a digital signal representing the sensor data and the notification data to a radio frequency signal (a RF antenna 60); and
transmit, via the communication interface and across a network (a wireless communication network shown in figure 6, see par. 0114), the radio frequency signal to a networking device (a personal computer 62, a wireless router 80, see figure 6),
wherein the networking device (42) is configured to dispatch the electronic notification and the voltage measurement of the transient event to a user device of a user (a personal computer 62), the electronic notification indicating that either the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional (the surge events and the failure status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 of the surge protection apparatus 2 sent to a personal computer 62, see par. 0114, 0115) or that the electronic device is deactivated.
Regarding claim 2, Tinaphong discloses wherein the surge protector apparatus (the surge protection module 12) is no longer functional due to failure of at least one of the one or more metal oxide varistors (see par. 0108).
Regarding claim 3, Tinaphong discloses wherein the networking device comprises a wireless router (a wireless router 80).
Regarding claim 4, Tinaphong discloses a sensor (a MOV sensing circuit 54) configured to generate the sensor data, wherein the sensor is configured to detect that the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional (a failure of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12, e.g. see par. 0108).
Regarding claim 5, Tinaphong discloses wherein the sensor (the MOV sensing circuit 54) is further configured to detect that at least one of the one or more metal oxide varistors is not operatively connected to a neutral wire (such as when the circuit 150 coupled to V2, see figure 17, par. 0148) such that the one or more metal oxide varistors is able to divert the excess voltage away from the load side (see par. 0143).
Regarding claim 6, Tinaphong discloses wherein the one or more metal oxide varistors (the MOVs of the surge protection module 12) is configured to divert the excess voltage via at least one neutral wire (see figure 17).
Regarding claim 7, Tinaphong discloses wherein the sensor data (the detected voltage surges) is stored to a storage location (the memory 34) that comprises a log of measured voltage levels (the surges are time stamped and displayed in a display in figure 8, see par. 0100) that are detected via a sensor of the surge protector apparatus (the MOV sensing circuit 54see par. 0154).
Regarding claim 8, Tinaphong discloses wherein the status of the one or more metal oxide varistors is derived based on capacitance of the one or more metal oxide varistors (see par. 0100, 0101).
Regarding claim 9, Tinaphong discloses wherein the status of the one or more metal oxide varistors (the failure of MOVs of the surge protection module 12) is derived based on a decrease in conduction voltage (such as a conductive voltage of the MOVs is decreased after absorbing a number of surges during a certain periods of time, see par. 0021).
Regarding claim 10, Tinaphong discloses an electrical system (an electrical system shown in figure 6), comprising:
an electronic device (an electronic device televisions, computers, stereos, compact disk players coupled to receptacles 4 of the protection strip 2, see par. 0094); and a surge protector apparatus (a surge protection module 12 of a protection strip 2), the surge protector apparatus comprising:
one or more metal oxide varistors (MOVs of the surge protection module 12, see par. 0095) operatively coupled to an electrical system (an AC power supply system), the electrical system comprising a line side and a load side (a line side and load side shown in figure 3), the one or more metal oxide varistors (the MOV module 12) being configured to divert excess voltage during a transient event on the line side thereby protecting the load side (the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 configured to divert surge event to ground, e.g. see par. 0021);
at least one processor (a CPU 32);
a communication interface (such as 58, 60) communicatively coupled to the at least one processor; and
a memory device (a memory 34) storing executable code that (see par. 0100, 0148) when executed, causes the at least one processor (the CPU 32) to:
monitor sensor data comprising measured voltage levels (the voltage levels and status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 monitored by the CPU 32 based on information from a MOV sensing circuit 54) and status of the one or more metal oxide varistors, the measured voltage levels comprising a voltage measurement of the transient event (see par. 0108);
detect, from the sensor data (the MOV sensing circuit 54), that (i) the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional to divert the excess voltage (such as failure of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 of the protector apparatus 2, see par. 0108), or (ii) the electronic device (televisions, computers, stereos, compact disk players) at the load side (the load side 4) is deactivated (by relays 52) (see par. 0124);
generate notification data of an electronic notification indicating that either (a) the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional to divert the excess voltage (the failure status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 generated by the CPU 32 to a communication device 58, 60, see par. 0110), or (b) that the electronic device is deactivated (see par. 0128);
convert (by the Zigbee module 58) a digital signal representing the sensor data and the notification data to a radio frequency signal (a RF antenna 60); and
transmit, via the communication interface and across a network (a wireless communication network shown in figure 6, see par. 0114), the radio frequency signal to a networking device (a personal computer 62, a wireless router 80, see figure 6),
wherein the networking device (42) is configured to dispatch the electronic notification and the voltage measurement of the transient event to a user device of a user (a personal computer 62), the electronic notification indicating that either the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional (the surge events and the failure status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 of the surge protection apparatus 2 sent to a personal computer 62, see par. 0114, 0115) or that the electronic device is deactivated.
Regarding claim 11, Tinaphong discloses wherein the surge protector apparatus (the surge protection module 12) is no longer functional due to failure of at least one of the one or more metal oxide varistors (see par. 0108).
Regarding claim 12, Tinaphong discloses wherein the networking device comprises a wireless router (a wireless router 80).
Regarding claim 13, Tinaphong discloses a sensor (a MOV sensing circuit 54) configured to generate the sensor data, wherein the sensor is configured to detect that the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional (a failure of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12, e.g. see par. 0108).
Regarding claim 14, Tinaphong discloses wherein the sensor (the MOV sensing circuit 54) is further configured to detect that at least one of the one or more metal oxide varistors is not operatively connected to a neutral wire (such as when the circuit 150 coupled to V2, see figure 17, par. 0148) such that the one or more metal oxide varistors is able to divert the excess voltage away from the load side (see par. 0143).
Regarding claim 15, Tinaphong discloses wherein the sensor data (the detected voltage surges) is stored to a storage location (the memory 34) that comprises a log of measured voltage levels (the surges are time stamped and displayed in a display in figure 8, see par. 0100) that are detected via a sensor of the surge protector apparatus (the MOV sensing circuit 54see par. 0154).
Regarding claim 17, Tinaphong discloses a computer-implemented method for transmitting an electronic notification, the method comprising:
monitoring sensor data of a sensor of a surge protector apparatus, the sensor data comprising measured voltage levels and status of one or more metal oxide varistors, the measured voltage levels comprising a voltage measurement of a transient event (sensor data includes voltage levels and status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 monitored by the CPU 32 based on information from a MOV sensing circuit 54, see par. 0108);
detecting, from the sensor data (by the MOV sensing circuit 54 and a CPU 52), that (i) the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional to divert the excess voltage (such as failure of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 of the protector apparatus 2, see par. 0108), or (ii) an electronic device (such as televisions, computers, stereos, compact disk players) at the load side (the load side 4) is deactivated in response to the transient event (by relays 52)(see par. 0124);
generating notification data of an electronic notification indicating that either (a) the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional to divert the excess voltage (the failure status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 generated by the CPU 32 to a communication device 58, 60, see par. 0110), or (b) that the electronic device is deactivated (see par. 0128);
converting (by the Zigbee module 58) a digital signal representing the sensor data and the notification data to a radio frequency signal (a RF antenna 60); and
transmiting, via the communication interface and across a network (a wireless communication network shown in figure 6, see par. 0114), the radio frequency signal to a networking device (a personal computer 62, a wireless router 80, see figure 6),
wherein the networking device (42) is configured to dispatch the electronic notification and the voltage measurement of the transient event to a user device of a user (a personal computer 62), the electronic notification indicating that either the surge protector apparatus is no longer functional (the surge events and the failure status of the MOVs of the surge protection module 12 of the surge protection apparatus 2 sent to a personal computer 62, see par. 0114, 0115) or that the electronic device is deactivated.
Regarding claim 18, Tinaphong discloses wherein the sensor data (the detected voltage surges) is stored to a storage location (the memory 34) that comprises a log of measured voltage levels (the surges are time stamped and displayed in a display in figure 8, see par. 0100) that are detected via a sensor of the surge protector apparatus (the MOV sensing circuit 54see par. 0154).
Regarding claim 19, Tinaphong discloses wherein the surge protector apparatus (the surge protection module 12) is no longer functional due to failure of at least one of the one or more metal oxide varistors (see par. 0108).
Regarding claim 20, Tinaphong discloses wherein the one or more metal oxide varistors (the MOVs of the surge protection module 12) are operatively coupled to an electrical system (an electrical system shown in figure 3, 6), the electrical system comprising a line side and a load side, the one or more metal oxide varistors being configured to divert excess voltage during a transient event on the line side thereby protecting the load side (e.g. see par. 0021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinaphong et al (USPN 2009/0207034) in view of Li et al (USPN 2017/0063260).
Regarding claim 16, Tinaphong discloses the electronic device, but does not explicitly the electronic device as claimed.
However, providing a surge voltage protection for an electronic device including a compressor of an air conditioning system is known in the art. Typically,
Li discloses a protection apparatus comprises a surge protection device (418, see figure 4) for a compressor of an air conditioning system (100 shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertain to have used the surge protection apparatus of Tinaphong for a compressor of an air conditioning system because the surge protection apparatus of Tinaphong can provide an earlier prediction a failure of surge protection device so that minimize a risk of user’s equipment from damage.
Conclusion
/DANNY NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838