DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 pending and are currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al (WO2016/176466)(IDS Reference) and Kern (Whole Dog Journal).
Mao teaches a pet food composition comprising a fat content of 2-13%, an amino acid content of at least 0.01% of the product and at least 5% based on the weight of the dry matter (see entire document, for instance, [0052] and [0049]). The amino acid is taught as being selected from the group including glycine (see entire document, for instance, [0050]). The composition further comprises protein in an amount of 5-50% (see entire document, for instance, [0054] and [0055]). The composition can be in the form of a loaf or pate with a volume of 20-2,000 cm3 (see entire document, for instance, [0057]). The protein component is taught as being from animal meat (see entire document, for instance, [0056]). It is noted that Applicant has not established a material difference between animal meat and reconstituted animal meat. Mao teaches that the wet pet food can further comprise fat, antioxidants, and carbohydrates (see entire document, for instance, [0034]). The meat pieces are taught as having a density of 0.8-1.2 g/ml (see entire document, for instance, [0051]). The composition can be in the form of slices with dimensions of 10mm x 7mm x 6 mm (see entire document, for instance, [0015]). The pet food can have 30-90% of the meat pieces (see entire document, for instance, [0059]). The water content of the composition is taught as being 50-75% (see entire document, for instance, [0035]). The composition is taught as being a wet pet food, wherein Mao teaches that the moisture content of wet pet foods is greater than 50% (see entire document, for instance, [0002]). Mao teaches that the protein content of the meat pieces can be 20-42% (see entire document, for instance, [0054]). The meat pieces can comprise 50% animal protein (see entire document, for instance, [0055]). The fat is taught as comprising animal fat, vegetable oil, marine oil, or combinations thereof (see entire document, for instance, [0053]). The meat pieces are taught as comprising at least 50% triglycerides (see entire document, for instance, [0053]).
Mao, while teaching all of the instantly claimed components and ranges that overlap the instantly claimed ranges, does not provide a singular example with the claimed components all within the instantly claimed ranges and ratios. Further, Mao does not indicate the amount of fiber present.
Kern teaches that most dog foods range from 1-10% in fiber content, but moderate levels of fiber, in the 2-4% range, may be a realistic goal when selecting a dog food (see entire document, page 5, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the components taught by Mao, in the amounts taught by Mao, and thereby arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so since Mao directly teaches the instantly claimed components and amounts, wherein it would have required no more than merely following the guidance of Mao in order to arrive at the instantly claimed composition.
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a moderate level of fiber in the composition of Mao, namely 2-4% as taught by Kerns. One would have been motivated to do so since Kerns teaches the benefits of fiber in a dog food composition, but also teaches the disadvantages of too much fiber. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would look to the moderate range taught by Mao of 2-4%.
Regarding the amounts of the components and the ratio of the fat component to the protein component, it is noted that the prior art teaches amounts that overlap said ratio, thereby rendering the amounts and ratio obvious. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Further, MPEP 2144.05 states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,739. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued patent is also directed to a pet food composition comprising similar amounts of fat, protein, glycine, and with the same density, dimensions, and water content.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611