DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (U.S. PGPub # 2024/0061060 which claims priority to and is the English translation of CN 202110477311.7).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Liu teaches:
A method, implemented by a computing device including a storage device and at least one processor, the method including:
obtaining initial signals (Fig. 2 Element 202.) and first interference signals collected (Fig. 2 Element 202.) in at least one first time window during a Magnetic Resonance (MR) scan of a target subject (Fig. 2 Element 202. Paragraph 0003.), the nuclei in the target subject being in an excited state in the at least one first time window (Paragraphs 0003 & 0024-0027 wherein states are disclosed.), the initial signals being collected by a receiving coil of a Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) device (Fig. 2 Element 202.), and the first interference signals being collected by an interference signal acquisition device (Fig. 2 Element 202.);
determining second interference signals collected by the receiving coil in the at least one first time window based on the first interference signals (Fig. 2 Element 204.); and
determining imaging signals collected by the receiving coil in the at least one first time window by correcting the initial signals based on the second interference signals (Fig. 2 Element 205.).
Claims 10, 11, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Schlemper et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0294287)
Regarding Independent claim 10, Schlemper teaches:
A coil assembly for Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), comprising:
a housing forming an accommodation space configured to accommodate a target subject (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B.);
a receiving coil configured to collect initial signals during an MR scan of the target subject (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B. See paragraphs 0071, 0079, 0092-0093, 0097, & elsewhere throughout the document where R coils are disclosed.); and
an interference signal acquisition device configured to collect interference signals during the MR scan (Paragraphs 0069, 0071-0072, 0093, 0095, 0099-0100, & elsewhere wherein the suppression of interference necessitates the acquisition of the interference signals.), wherein the interference signals are used to correct the initial signals to determine imaging signals collected during the MR scan (Paragraphs 0069, 0071-0072, 0093, 0095, 0099-0114, & elsewhere wherein the suppression of interference is disclosed using various machine learning techniques.).
Regarding claim 11, Schlemper teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends.
Schlemper teaches the housing includes a first external surface facing the target subject and a second external surface opposite to the first external surface (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B.), the receiving coil is arranged within the housing between the first external surface and the second external surface of the housing (Paragraphs 0069, 0071-0072, 0093, 0095, 0099-0100, & elsewhere wherein the suppression of interference necessitates the acquisition of the interference signals.), and the interference signal acquisition device is arranged outside the housing on the second external surface of the housing (Fig. 22 wherein the processing elements are external to the chamber that observes the target. Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2450, 2470, & 2475. See paragraph 0442.).
Regarding claim 20, Schlemper teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends.
Schlemper teaches the housing includes a flexible housing that is deformable to adapt to the surface of the target subject (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B wherein all materials have some degree of flexibility.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 & 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlemper et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0294287).
Regarding claim 12, Schlemper teaches all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Schlemper teaches the interference signal acquisition device includes one or more acquisition units each of which includes an acquisition coil (Paragraphs 0069, 0071-0072, 0093, 0095, 0099-0100, & elsewhere wherein the suppression of interference necessitates the acquisition of the interference signals.), a surface of the acquisition coil and a surface of each coil unit of the receiving coil forming a preset angle (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B wherein when built the coils are all preset. Paragraphs 0069, 0071-0072, 0093, 0095, 0099-0100, & elsewhere wherein the suppression of interference necessitates the acquisition of the interference signals.).
Schlemper does not explicitly teach and a size of the acquisition coil being smaller than a size of each coil unit of the receiving coil.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have a size of the acquisition coil be smaller than a size of each coil unit of the receiving coil because this is both a change in size/proportion discussed in MPEP Section 2144.04 IV A and a routine optimization of a sensor system as discussed in MPEP Section 2144.05 II A. Wherein when the proportionality between the coils is the only difference between the prior art and the claims, this “recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device(s).” Therefore, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 13, Schlemper teaches or makes obvious all elements of claim 12, upon which this claim depends.
Schlemper teaches an axial direction of the acquisition coil is determined based on a direction of a main magnetic field that is used to scan the target subject (See paragraphs 0425, 0427-0428, 0430-0431, & 0438 wherein the placement of the coils is disclosed in regards to the best functionality of the entire device for capturing images.).
Regarding claim 18, Schlemper teaches or makes obvious all elements of claim 12, upon which this claim depends.
Schlemper teaches the interference signal acquisition device further includes one or more mounting bases configured to support the one or more acquisition coils on the second external surface of the housing (Fig. 22 wherein the processing elements are external to the chamber that observes the target. Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2450, 2470, & 2475. See paragraph 0442.).
Regarding claim 19, Schlemper teaches or makes obvious all elements of claim 18, upon which this claim depends.
Schlemper teaches each of the one or more mounting bases includes a support and a mounting part (Fig. 22 wherein the processing elements are external to the chamber that observes the target. Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2450, 2470, & 2475. See paragraph 0442.), the support is mechanically connected to the second external surface of the housing (Fig. 22 wherein the processing elements are external to the chamber that observes the target. Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2450, 2470, & 2475. See paragraph 0442.), and the mounting part is mechanically connected to a portion of the support away from the second external surface and configured to limit a corresponding interference signal acquisition unit to maintain a preset distance from the second external surface of the housing (Fig. 22 wherein the processing elements are external to the chamber that observes the target. Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2450, 2470, & 2475. See paragraph 0442.).
Claim 14 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlemper et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0294287) in view of Han et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0271736).
Regarding claim 14, Schlemper teaches or makes obvious all elements of claim 12, upon which this claim depends.
Schlemper does not explicitly teach the acquisition coil includes a toroidal inductor configured to collect interference signals along a central axis of the toroidal inductor.
Han teaches the acquisition coil includes a toroidal inductor configured to collect interference signals along a central axis of the toroidal inductor (Fig. 11, 12, & 13. See paragraphs 0101-0103 and paragraphs 0032-0033 wherein RF chokes are disclosed which are described as being toroidal coils.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Han to the teachings of Schlemper such that the acquisition coil includes a toroidal inductor configured to collect interference signals along a central axis of the toroidal inductor because this allows the coil to have an RF choke to prevent an RF current but allow a DC current in the loop. See paragraph 0032.
Claims 2, 5, & 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (U.S. PGPub # 2024/0061060) in view of Schlemper et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0294287).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which his claim depends.
Liu teaches the second interference signals are determined based on the first interference signals using an interference signal determination model (Fig. 2 Elements 203-204.).
Liu does not explicitly teach the interference signal determination model including a trained machine learning mode.
Schlemper teaches the interference signal determination model including a trained machine learning mode (Paragraphs 0002, 0069, 0071-0073, 0089, 0127, 0156, & elsewhere throughout the publication.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Schlemper to the teachings of Liu such that the interference signal determination model includes a trained machine learning mode because the ““end-to-end” deep learning processing pipeline allows any improvements made in individual earlier processing stages to propagate to and be used by subsequent processing stages in the pipeline” wherein, “as a result, the quality and SNR of MR images generated by the deep learning pipeline is higher than that produced by conventional processing pipelines, which is an improvement in MRI technology.” See paragraph 0073 of Schlemper.
Regarding claim 5, Liu & Schlemper teach all elements of claim 2, upon which his claim depends.
Liu teaches the interference signal acquisition device includes a plurality of acquisition units, and the receiving coil includes a plurality of coil units (Paragraphs 0071, 0079, 0092-0093, 0097, 0100, & elsewhere throughout the publication wherein various pluralities of different coils are disclosed.).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which his claim depends.
Liu does not explicitly teach the target subject is accommodated in an accommodation space formed by a housing during the MR scan, the housing includes a first external surface facing the target subject and a second external surface opposite to the first external surface, the receiving coil is arranged within the housing between the first external surface and the second external surface of the housing, and the interference signal acquisition device is arranged outside the housing on the second external surface of the housing or inside the housing.
Schlemper teaches the target subject (Fig. 25A-25B Element patient in the device.) is accommodated in an accommodation space formed by a housing during the MR scan (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2560, 2565, & 2462. See paragraphs 0441-0442. See also patient in the device.), the housing includes a first external surface facing the target subject and a second external surface opposite to the first external surface (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2560, 2565, & 2462 wherein the shields have inner and outer surfaces. See paragraphs 0441-0442.), the receiving coil is arranged within the housing between the first external surface and the second external surface of the housing (Paragraphs 0071, 0079, 0092-0093, 0097, 0100, & elsewhere throughout the publication wherein the coils are necessarily inside the shielding elements listed above.), and the interference signal acquisition device is arranged outside the housing on the second external surface of the housing or inside the housing (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2450, 2470, & 2475. See paragraph 0442.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Schlemper to the teachings of Liu such that the target subject is accommodated in an accommodation space formed by a housing during the MR scan, the housing includes a first external surface facing the target subject and a second external surface opposite to the first external surface, the receiving coil is arranged within the housing between the first external surface and the second external surface of the housing, and the interference signal acquisition device is arranged outside the housing on the second external surface of the housing or inside the housing because this is how MRI systems need to function. The patient is placed inside the machine to be analyzed and the computing elements are outside the device to prevent interference both ways.
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which his claim depends.
Liu does not explicitly teach the target subject is accommodated in a detection region of the MRI device during the MR scan, the receiving coil is arranged within the detection region, and acquisition units of the interference signal acquisition device are arranged at two ends of the detection region.
Schlemper teaches the target subject is accommodated in a detection region of the MRI device during the MR scan (Fig. 25A-25B Element patient in the device.), the receiving coil is arranged within the detection region (Paragraphs 0071, 0079, 0092-0093, 0097, 0100, & elsewhere throughout the publication wherein the coils are necessarily inside the shielding elements listed above.), and acquisition units of the interference signal acquisition device are arranged at two ends of the detection region (Fig. 24A-24B & 25A-25B Elements 2420, 2450, 2470, & 2475. See paragraphs 0441-0442.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Schlemper to the teachings of Liu such that the target subject is accommodated in a detection region of the MRI device during the MR scan, the receiving coil is arranged within the detection region, and acquisition units of the interference signal acquisition device are arranged at two ends of the detection region because this is how MRI systems need to function. The patient is placed inside the machine to be analyzed and the computing elements are outside the device to prevent interference both ways.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-7, & 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 3, Liu & Schlemper teach all elements of claim 2, upon which his claim depends.
Liu does not explicitly teach the interference signal determination model is determined by: obtaining first sample interference signals and second sample interference signals collected in at least one second time window during the MR scan, the nuclei in the target subject being in an unexcited state in the at least one second time window, the first sample interference signals being collected by the receiving coil of the MRI device, and the second sample interference signals being collected by the interference signal acquisition device; and generating the interference signal determination model by training a preliminary model using the first sample interference signals and the second sample interference signals.
Regarding claim 4, Liu & Schlemper teach all elements of claim 2, upon which his claim depends.
Liu does not explicitly teach the interference signal determination model includes a first model and a second model, the first model is configured to determine amplitude information of the second interference signals by processing amplitude information of the first interference signals, and the second model is configured to determine phase information of the second interference signals by processing phase information of the first interference signals.
Regarding claim 6,
The method of claim 5, wherein the determining second interference signals collected by the receiving coil in the at least one first time window based on the first interference signals includes: dividing a k-space matrix into a plurality of portions each of which includes one or more columns; for each of the plurality of portions, determining first K-space data in the one or more columns of the portion corresponding to the first interference signals; and determining second K-space data in the one or more columns of the portion corresponding to the second interference signals by inputting the first K-space data into the interference signal determination model; and determining the second interference signals based on the second K-space data corresponding to each of the plurality of portions.
Regarding claim 7,
The method of claim 5, wherein the interference signal determination model includes a plurality of sub-models each of which corresponds to one of the plurality of coil units, and the determining second interference signals collected by the receiving coil in the at least one first time window based on the first interference signals includes: for each of the plurality of coil units, determining a second k-space matrix corresponding to the second channel by inputting a first k-space matrix corresponding to the first interference signals to the sub-model corresponding to the second channel; and determining the second interference signals based on the second K-space matrix corresponding to each of the plurality of coil units.
Regarding claim 15, Schlemper teaches or makes obvious all elements of claim 12, upon which this claim depends.
Schlemper teaches the interference signal acquisition device further includes a detuned circuit electrically connected to the acquisition coil, the detuned circuit being configured to adjust the acquisition coil to a detuned state or a resonant state.
Regarding claim 16,
The coil assembly of claim 15, wherein the interference signal acquisition device further includes a preamplifier circuit and a wave trap unit, the preamplifier circuit being electrically connected to the detuned circuit and the wave trap unit.
Regarding claim 17,
The coil assembly of claim 15, wherein the second external surface of the housing is provided with one or more slots; each of the one or more acquisition units is provided with a buckle at a bottom of the acquisition unit, wherein the buckle corresponds to one of the one or more slots and is provided with a through hole through which a connection wire of the interference signal acquisition device is passed to connect the corresponding acquisition coil with the detuned circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858