DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Double Patenting
2. Claims 1-11 have been provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 plus 3, 4, 5, 5, 7, 1, 1 plus 7, 13, 14, 15, and 16 respectively of copending Application No. 18/887,065 (reference application) in further view of JP052’ (JP Pub: 2019119052) and Niino (US Pub: 2018/0099510)’s teaching on increasing the number of non-discharge nozzles in a part of the first gradation portion. The combined teaching of all would have made the claimed invention obvious for better discharge coverage and optimal control. See detailed rejection below. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP052’ (JP Pub: 2019119052) and in further view of Niino (US Pub: 2018/0099510).
Regarding claim 1, JP052’ teaches: A liquid discharge apparatus comprising: a liquid discharge head including multiple nozzles to discharge two or more types of droplets each having a different discharge amount from the multiple nozzles onto a medium to form an image having gradation of density in accordance with an input gradation value input to the liquid discharge apparatus [page 6: p05; page 7: p01; page 9: p04], the input gradation value increasing from a first gradation portion to a second gradation portion higher than the first gradation portion [page 10: p04]; and circuitry configured to: cause the liquid discharge head to selectively discharge the largest droplets of the two or more types of droplets from the multiple nozzles in the second gradation portion of the gradation value and cause the liquid discharge head to decrease a number of non-discharge nozzles that do not discharge droplets in the multiple nozzles from the first gradation portion to the second gradation portion while increasing the number of non-discharge nozzles in a part of the first gradation portion [page 9: p05; page 10: p04, p05; page 11: p01; page 15: p02].
JP052’ teaches that proportion of large droplets increases as density gradation value increases. For a redundant teaching in the same field of endeavor, Niino teaches: cause the liquid discharge head to decrease a number of non-discharge nozzles that do not discharge droplets in the multiple nozzles from the first gradation portion to the second gradation portion while increasing the number of non-discharge nozzles in a part of the first gradation portion [page 18: table 6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to select the largest droplets for the highest gradation and adjust number of non-discharge nozzles from the first gradation to second gradation for better discharge coverage and optimal result.
Regarding claim 3, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP052’ does not specify gradation range. In the same field of endeavor, Niino teaches: The liquid discharge apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry controls the liquid discharge head to discharge the smallest droplets of the two or more types of droplets only when the gradation value is equal to or smaller than 13% [page 18: table 6 (15% or lower for small droplet)]. Therefore, given Niino’s teaching on smallest droplets on 15% or lower gradation, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to use the smallest droplets for gradation 15% or less such as a nearby value of 13% per design choice.
Regarding claim 4, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Claim 4 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP052’ does not specify gradation range. In the same field of endeavor, Niino teaches: The liquid discharge apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry causes the liquid discharge head to: selectively discharge three or more types of droplets each having a different discharge amount from the multiple nozzles; and discharge second smallest droplets among the three or more types of droplets from the multiple nozzles when the gradation value is equal to or smaller than 15% [page 18: table 6 (Large, middle, and small droplets (15% or lower for small droplet)]. Therefore, given Niino’s teaching on smallest droplets on 15% or lower gradation, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the two to use the smallest droplets for gradation 15% or less per design choice.
Regarding claim 6, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP052’ teaches that the system can decrease the number of discharged dots while increasing the amount of each droplet. In the same field of endeavor, Niino teaches: The liquid discharge apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry causes the liquid discharge head to decrease the number of non-discharge nozzles from the second gradation portion to the first gradation portion at least in a part having the input gradation value of equal to or smaller than 20% [page 18: table 6]. Niino teaches controlling gradation by changing the respective amounts of small droplets and non-discharge positions. Niino uses 20 small droplet position and 80 non-discharge positions at 20% gradation, while using 85 non-discharge position at 15%. Niino identifies two control variables: small droplet discharge and non-discharge to obtain a desired lower gradation. Therefore, it would have been obvious alternatives to adjust one of the known variables: decrease small droplet discharge, increase non-discharge, or adjust both in opposite or combined directions for desired density.
Regarding claim 7, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP052’ further teaches: The liquid discharge apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry controls the liquid discharge head to discharge at least two or more types of droplets each having different size from the multiple nozzles in a portion of the input gradation value in which the number of the non-discharge nozzles decreases from the first gradation portion to the second gradation portion in the input gradation value [page 9: p04, page 10: p04].
Regarding claim 8, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP052’ further teaches: A liquid discharge device comprising: the liquid discharge head according to claim 1; and at least one of a head tank, a carriage, a supply mechanism, a maintenance mechanism, and a main-scanning moving mechanism [page 4: p05; page 5: p05].
Regarding claim 9, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP052’ further teaches: A liquid discharge apparatus comprising: the liquid discharge head according to claim 1; and circuitry configured to drive the liquid discharge head to discharge liquid [page 6: p05; page 7:p01].
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with JP052’s further teaching on: A non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform a method [page 7: p05].
5. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP052’ (JP Pub: 2019119052) and Niino (US Pub: 2018/0099510); and in further view of JP534’ (JP Pub: 2018158534).
Regarding claim 2, the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. JP052’ further teaches: The liquid discharge apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry controls the liquid discharge head to linearly increase total discharge amount of two or more types of droplets discharged from the multiple nozzles with respect to an increase in the input gradation value input to the liquid discharge apparatus [page 10: p04].
JP052’ in view of Niino teaches increasing discharge amount with respect to increasing of gradation value. JP534’ in the same field of endeavor specifies linear relationship in [page 15: p03]. Therefore, the combined teaching of all would have made linear relationship between total discharge amount and increasing of gradation value obvious to a skilled in the art for easy configuration.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682