DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/8/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 12, 14-18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,162,073. Please see chart below comparing independent claims 1, 11, and 16 of the instant patent application to independent claims 1, 12, and 18 of the US Patent.
Instant Patent Application
US Patent No. 12,162,073
Notes
1. An additive manufacturing machine, comprising:
1. An additive manufacturing machine, comprising:
same
an energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam utilized in an additive manufacturing process;
an energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam utilized in an additive manufacturing process;
same
one or more optical elements utilized by, or defining a portion of, the energy beam system and/or an imaging system of the additive manufacturing machine, the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters of the
additive manufacturing process;
first and second optical elements utilized by, or defining a portion of, the energy beam system and/or an imaging system of the additive manufacturing machine, the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters of the additive manufacturing process;
one or more optical elements is not patentably distinct from first and second optical elements
a light source configured to emit an assessment beam that follows an optical path incident upon the one or more optical elements;
a light source configured to emit an assessment beam that follows an optical path incident upon the first and second optical elements;
one or more optical elements is not patentably distinct from first and second optical elements
one or more light sensors configured to detect a reflected beam comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam, wherein the one or more light sensors are configured to detect the reflected beam at a perimeter edge of the one or more optical elements; and
one or more light sensors configured to detect a reflected beam that is either refracted by the first optical element, internally reflected by a proximal surface and a distal surface of the first optical element, or reflectively propagated between the distal surface of the first optical element and a proximal surface of the second optical element, the reflected beam comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam; and
this limitation for instant patent application is merely a broader representation of the US Patent limitation, therefore the instant patent application is not patentably distinct from the US Patent
a control system configured to determine, based at least in part on assessment data comprising data from the one or more light sensors, whether at least one of the one or more optical elements exhibits an optical anomaly.
a control system configured to determine, based at least in part on assessment data comprising data from the one or more light sensors, whether at least one of the first and second optical elements exhibits an optical
anomaly.
one or more optical elements is not patentably distinct from first and second optical elements
11. A method of determining an optical anomaly exhibited by an optical element utilized in an additive manufacturing machine, the method comprising:
12. A method of determining an optical anomaly exhibited by an optical element utilized in an additive manufacturing machine, the method comprising:
same
emitting, with a light source, an assessment beam that follows an optical path incident upon one or more optical elements;
emitting, with a light source, an assessment beam that follows an optical path incident upon first and second optical elements;
one or more optical elements is not patentably distinct from first and second optical elements
detecting, at a perimeter edge of the one or more optical elements with one or more light sensors, a reflected beam comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam; and
detecting, with one or more light sensors, a reflected beam comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam that is either refracted by the first optical element, internally reflected by a proximal surface and a distal surface of the first optical element, or reflectively propagated between the distal surface of the first optical element and a proximal surface of the second optical element; and
this limitation for instant patent application is merely a broader representation of the US Patent limitation, therefore the instant patent application is not patentably distinct from the US Patent
determining, with a control system, whether at least one of the one or more optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly based at least in part on assessment data comprising data from the one or more light sensors; and
determining, with a control system, whether at least one of the first and second optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly based at least in part on the assessment data comprising data from the one or more light sensors; and
one or more optical elements is not patentably distinct from first and second optical elements
wherein the one or more optical elements are utilized by, or define a portion of, an energy beam system and/or an imaging system of an additive manufacturing machine, the energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam utilized in an additive manufacturing process, and the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters of the additive manufacturing process.
wherein the first and second optical elements are utilized by, or define a portion of, an energy beam system and/or an imaging system of an additive manufacturing machine, the energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam utilized in an additive manufacturing
process, and the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters of the additive manufacturing process.
one or more optical elements is not patentably distinct from first and second optical elements
16. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions, which when executed by a processor associated with an additive manufacturing system, cause the additive manufacturing system to perform a method comprising:
18. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising
computer-executable instructions, which when executed by a processor associated with an additive manufacturing system, cause the additive manufacturing system to perform a method comprising:
same
emitting, with a light source, an assessment beam that follows an optical path incident upon one or more optical elements;
emitting, with a light source, an assessment beam that follows an optical path incident upon first and second optical elements;
one or more optical elements is not patentably distinct from first and second optical elements
detecting, at a perimeter edge of the one or more optical elements with one or more light sensors, a reflected beam comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam; and
detecting, with one or more light sensors, a reflected beam comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam that is either refracted by the first optical element, internally reflected by a proximal surface and a distal surface of the first optical element or reflectively propagated between the distal surface of the first optical element and a proximal surface of the second optical element; and
this limitation for instant patent application is merely a broader representation of the US Patent limitation, therefore the instant patent application is not patentably distinct from the US Patent
determining, with a control system, whether at least one of the one or more optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly based at least in part on assessment data comprising data from the one or more light sensors; and
determining, with a control system, whether at least one of the first and second optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly based at least in part on the assessment data comprising data from the one or more light sensors; and
one or more optical elements is not patentably distinct from first and second optical elements
wherein the one or more optical elements are utilized by, or define a portion of, an energy beam system and/or an imaging system of an additive manufacturing machine, the energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam utilized in an additive manufacturing process, and the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters of the additive manufacturing process.
wherein the one or more optical elements are utilized by, or define a portion of, an energy beam system and/or an imaging system of an additive manufacturing machine, the energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam utilized in an additive manufacturing process, and the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters of the additive manufacturing process.
same
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant patent application and US Patent No. 12,162,073 teach determining whether optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly based on assessment data from one or more light sensors. However, the instant patent application is not patentably distinct from the US Patent due to the plurality of optical elements being claimed differently. Further, the instant patent application is not patentably distinct from the US Patent with it boarder representation of how the reflected beam is detected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wighton et al. [Wighton] (US PGPub 2020/0282657).
As to claim 1
Wighton discloses an additive manufacturing machine (additive fabrication device 100, see Fig. 1), comprising:
an energy beam system (light source 106 used to cure liquid photopolymer; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0057, lines 1-2) configured to emit an energy beam (light 108, see Fig. 1/light; see paragraph 0052, line 9) utilized in an additive manufacturing process (see paragraph 0057, lines 1-5);
one or more optical elements (optical element 104, see Fig. 1) utilized by, or defining a portion of, the energy beam system and/or an imaging system of the additive manufacturing machine, the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters (contamination; see paragraph 0051, lines 12-13/parameters; see paragraph 0090, line 12/light intensity; see paragraph 0054, line 6) of the additive manufacturing process (see paragraph 0051, lines 10-20);
a light source (light source 106, see Fig. 1) configured to emit an assessment beam (light 108 reflected; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0051, lines 8-9) that follows an optical path incident upon the one or more optical elements (see paragraph 0052, lines 8-11);
one or more light sensors (light sensor 110, see Fig. 1) configured to detect a reflected beam (light 108 reflected; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0051, lines 8-9) that is either internally reflected by the first optical element or reflectively propagated between comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam, wherein the one or more light sensors are configured to detect the reflected beam at a perimeter edge of the one or more optical elements (see paragraph 0051, lines 10-15); and
a control system (one or more processors 112, see Fig. 1) configured to determine, based at least in part on assessment data (received light intensity values; see paragraph 0088, line 7) comprising data from the one or more light sensors, whether the one or more optical elements exhibits an optical anomaly (scattered and/or absorbed; see paragraph 0051, lines 17) (see paragraph 0054, lines 2-11).
As to claim 3
Wighton discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, wherein the light source is utilized by the imaging system (see paragraph 0022, lines 2-8).
As to claim 4
Wighton discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, wherein the one or more optical elements comprise a window that separates one or more components of the energy beam system and/or the imaging system from a process chamber within which powder material is irradiated by the energy beam during the additive manufacturing process (see paragraph 0042, lines 10-15).
As to claim 5
Wighton discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, comprising:
a scanner configured to orient the assessment beam to a scanner position, the scanner position mapped to a scan field corresponding to the one or more optical elements; and
wherein the control system is configured to determine a beam incidence location based at least in part on the scanner position corresponding to the data from the one or more light sensors (see paragraph 0045, lines 15-29; paragraph 0061, lines 1-5; and paragraph 0089, lines 1-10).
As to claim 6
Wighton discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 5, wherein the beam incidence location is determined at least in part by mapping the scanner position to the data from the one or more light sensors (see paragraph 0045, lines 15-29).
As to claim 7
Wighton discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to determine whether the one or more optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly based at least in part on a comparison of the assessment data to reference data (expected value of light intensity; see paragraph 0088, lines 7-8) (see paragraph 0054, lines 2-12 and paragraph 0088, lines 1-9).
As to claim 8
Wighton discloses the additive manufacturing machine of claim 7, wherein the reference data comprises a threshold value (see paragraph 0054, lines 2-12 and paragraph 0088, lines 1-9).
As to claim 11
Wighton discloses a method of determining an optical anomaly exhibited by an optical element utilized in an additive manufacturing machine (additive fabrication device 100, see Fig. 1), the method comprising:
emitting, with a light source (light source 106, see Fig. 1), an assessment beam (light 108 reflected; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0051, lines 8-9) that follows an optical path incident upon one or more optical elements (optical element 104, see Fig. 1) (see paragraph 0052, lines 8-11);
detecting, at a perimeter edge of the one or more optical elements with one or more light sensors (light sensor 110, see Fig. 1), a reflected beam (light 108 reflected; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0051, lines 8-9) comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam (see paragraph 0051, lines 10-15); and
determining, with a control system (one or more processors 112, see Fig. 1), whether the one or more optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly (scattered and/or absorbed; see paragraph 0051, lines 17) based at least in part on assessment data (received light intensity values; see paragraph 0088, line 7) comprising data from the one or more light sensors (see paragraph 0054, lines 2-11);
wherein the one or more optical elements are utilized by, or define a portion of, an energy beam system (light source 106 used to cure liquid photopolymer; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0057, lines 1-2) and/or an imaging system of an additive manufacturing machine, the energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam (light 108, see Fig. 1/light; see paragraph 0052, line 9) utilized in an additive manufacturing process (see paragraph 0057, lines 1-5), the energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam utilized in an additive manufacturing process, and the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters (contamination; see paragraph 0051, lines 12-13/parameters; see paragraph 0090, line 12/light intensity; see paragraph 0054, line 6) of the additive manufacturing process (see paragraph 0051, lines 10-20).
As to claim 12
Wighton discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising determining, with the control system, whether at least one of the one or more optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly based at least in part on a comparison of the assessment data to reference data (expected value of light intensity; see paragraph 0088, lines 7-8) (see paragraph 0054, lines 2-12 and paragraph 0088, lines 1-9).
As to claim 14
Wighton discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising:
orienting, with a scanner, the assessment beam to a scanner position, the scanner position mapped to a scan field corresponding to the one or more optical elements; and
determining, with the control system, a beam incidence location based at least in part on the scanner position corresponding to the data from the one or more light sensors (see paragraph 0045, lines 15-29; paragraph 0061, lines 1-5; and paragraph 0089, lines 1-10).
As to claim 16
Wighton discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions, which when executed by a processor associated with an additive manufacturing system (additive fabrication device 100, see Fig. 1), cause the additive manufacturing system to perform a method comprising:
emitting, with a light source (light source 106, see Fig. 1), an assessment beam (light 108 reflected; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0051, lines 8-9) that follows an optical path incident upon one or more optical elements (optical element 104, see Fig. 1) (see paragraph 0052, lines 8-11);
detecting, at a perimeter edge of the one or more optical elements with one or more light sensors (light sensor 110, see Fig. 1), a reflected beam (light 108 reflected; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0051, lines 8-9) comprising at least a portion of the assessment beam (see paragraph 0051, lines 10-15); and
determining, with a control system (one or more processors 112, see Fig. 1), whether the one or more optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly (scattered and/or absorbed; see paragraph 0051, lines 17) based at least in part on assessment data (received light intensity values; see paragraph 0088, line 7) comprising data from the one or more light sensors (see paragraph 0054, lines 2-11);
wherein the one or more optical elements are utilized by, or define a portion of, an energy beam system (light source 106 used to cure liquid photopolymer; see Fig. 1 and paragraph 0057, lines 1-2) and/or an imaging system of an additive manufacturing machine, the energy beam system configured to emit an energy beam (light 108, see Fig. 1/light; see paragraph 0052, line 9) utilized in an additive manufacturing process (see paragraph 0057, lines 1-5), and the imaging system configured to monitor one or more operating parameters (contamination; see paragraph 0051, lines 12-13/parameters; see paragraph 0090, line 12/light intensity; see paragraph 0054, line 6) of the additive manufacturing process (see paragraph 0051, lines 10-20).
As to claim 17
Wighton discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein determining whether at least one of the one or more optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly comprises:
determining, with the control system, whether at least one of the one or more optical elements exhibit an optical anomaly based at least in part on a comparison of the assessment data to reference data (expected value of light intensity; see paragraph 0088, lines 7-8) (see paragraph 0054, lines 2-12 and paragraph 0088, lines 1-9).
As to claim 19
Wighton discloses the on-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, the method further comprising:
orienting, with a scanner, the assessment beam to a scanner position, the scanner position mapped to a scan field corresponding to the one or more optical elements; and
determining, with the control system, a beam incidence location based at least in part on the scanner position corresponding to the data from the one or more light sensors (see paragraph 0045, lines 15-29; paragraph 0061, lines 1-5; and paragraph 0089, lines 1-10).
As to claim 20
Wighton discloses the on-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, the method further comprising:
determining an operational state and/or a remedial event for an additive manufacturing machine, the operational state and/or the remedial event determined based on at least in part on one or more optical anomalies having been determined upon at least one of the one or more optical elements (see paragraph 0051, lines 15-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wighton et al. [Wighton] (US PGPub 2020/0282657) in view of Goodwin et al. [Goodwin] (US PGPub 2022/0252392).
As to claim 2
Wighton discloses the additive manufacturing machine as cited in claim 1; however, Wighton fails to specifically disclose the additive manufacturing machine wherein the light source comprises an energy beam source of the energy beam system, and wherein the assessment beam emitted by the light source has a first energy level and the energy beam utilized in the additive manufacturing process has a second energy level when the energy beam is utilized to additively manufacture a three-dimensional object, and wherein the first energy level is less than the second energy level.
Goodwin discloses an additive manufacturing machine (processing machine 10, see Fig. 1A) wherein a light source (light source; see paragraph 0508, line 1) comprises an energy beam source of the energy beam system, and wherein an assessment beam (patterned electron beam; see paragraph 0508, line 2) emitted by the light source has a first energy level and an energy beam (energy beam; see paragraph 0508, line 3) utilized in the additive manufacturing process has a second energy level when the energy beam is utilized to additively manufacture a three-dimensional object, and wherein the first energy level is less than the second energy level (see paragraph 0508, lines 1-6; patterned electron beam has an intensity less than that of the electron beam that is used for printing).
Wighton and Goodwin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is detection of changes in object topography in an additive manufacturing system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wighton’s invention with Goodwin’s in order to require less intensity for illumination for assessment, since doing so would impart not enough heat to melt the powder and change the printed pattern when performing assessment (see Goodwin paragraph 0508, lines 4-6).
As to claim 15
Wighton discloses the method as cited in claim 11; however, Wighton fails to specifically disclose the method wherein the light source comprises an energy beam source of the energy beam system, and further comprising emitting the assessment beam by the light source at a first energy level, and wherein the energy beam utilized in the additive manufacturing process has a second energy level when the energy beam is utilized to additively manufacture a three-dimensional object, and wherein the first energy level is less than the second energy level.
Goodwin discloses a method wherein a light source (light source; see paragraph 0508, line 1) comprises an energy beam source of the energy beam system, and wherein an assessment beam (patterned electron beam; see paragraph 0508, line 2) emitted by the light source has a first energy level and an energy beam (energy beam; see paragraph 0508, line 3) utilized in the additive manufacturing process has a second energy level when the energy beam is utilized to additively manufacture a three-dimensional object, and wherein the first energy level is less than the second energy level (see paragraph 0508, lines 1-6; patterned electron beam has an intensity less than that of the electron beam that is used for printing).
Wighton and Goodwin are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor which is detection of changes in object topography in an additive manufacturing system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wighton’s invention with Goodwin’s in order to require less intensity for illumination for assessment, since doing so would impart not enough heat to melt the powder and change the printed pattern when performing assessment (see Goodwin paragraph 0508, lines 4-6).
Other Related Art
Ohno et al. (US Patent No. 5,404,019) teaches an additive manufacturing machine which detects an anomaly in a beam shaping aperture (optical element) by comparing an observed pattern and an expected pattern where the difference of the observed pattern and expected pattern exceeding a threshold indicates an anomaly in the beam shaping aperture (see Abstract and Fig. 7 below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, 13, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable (pending a timely filed Terminal Disclaimer to obviate the above Double Patenting rejection) if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Wighton and Goodwin, individually or in combination, fail to specifically disclose the additive manufacturing system and method wherein the control system is configured to determine location coordinates of the optical anomaly on at least one of the one or more optical elements (in regards to dependent claims 9, 13, and 18). Further; Wighton and Goodwin, individually or in combination, fail to specifically disclose the additive manufacturing machine wherein the one or more optical elements comprise a first optical element and a second optical element wherein the first optical element is a proximal optical element and the second optical element is a distal optical element (in regards to dependent claim 10). Accordingly, the listed dependent claim include allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/Michael J Brown/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115