DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the intelligent display terminal and related base features must be shown or the features canceled from claims 1 and 11-13. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding these claims, claim 1 defines an intelligent health care system with a hardware part comprising three separate elements: “a multifunctional intelligent medicine box, a companion interactive intelligent robot, and an intelligent display processing terminal”, but the display terminal and intelligent robot appears to be the same element. Further, Applicant’s specification fails to clarify this issue as the drawings do not illustrate the separate hardware elements and the written specification appears to describe the terminal as part of—i.e., not a separate element—of the robot (see e.g., para. 549 and 550 and fig. 49-50 teaching robot as intelligent terminal and para. 115 teaching terminal attached to robot base groove).
Claim 12 is also indefinite for the same reason as claim 12 describes “a base, wherein the base is provided with a companion interactive intelligent robot interface, an intelligent display processing terminal interface, or a combination thereof”. It is further unclear how the two separate elements are a “combination thereof”. Claim 12—and claim 13 that further defines the base--are regarded as unexaminable.
Claim 1 further defines “the software part integrating Internet of Things technology”, but it is unclear from the specification how IoT is integrated (e.g., what specific sensors and data processing via Internet), thus leaving the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the smart health care system”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner requests clarification and recommends amending the claims with language that clearly sets forth the claimed invention. In the interim, and in the interests of compact prosecution, the claims have been interpreted as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rufo et al. (“Rufo”)(US 11,581,099) in view of Angle et al. (“Angle”)(US 10,661,433) and Jiang et al. (“Jiang”)(CN 206569160)(with text citation to English translation attached herewith).
Rufo teaches a companion interactive intelligent health care system, comprising:
(re: certain elements of claim 1) a hardware part and a software part;
the hardware part comprising:
a multifunctional intelligent medicine box (fig. 4 and col. 28 teaching that intelligent system integrates with smart medication dispensers with col. 17, ln. 40-col. 18, ln. 1 teaching smart pill dispenser 154 configured to monitor medication taken dispensing via weight sensors and generate medication data—including compliance—for caregiver and family portals), and
an intelligent display processing terminal (fig. 1 near 101 and col. 8, ln. 44-col. 9, ln. 24 teaching intelligent displays configured as caregiver portals);
wherein, the medicine box is used to display a name and dosage information of a medicine and record medication information and to indicate a medicine compartment corresponding to the medicine (fig. 15, 16, 59 showing display including name and dosage information; col. 57-58 teaching smart medicine box configured to display reminder and medication dosage information and to illuminate specific compartment corresponding to medicine to be taken; col. 17, ln. 40+ and col. 27, ln. 50-col. 9, ln. 46 teaching generating and recording medication compliance data); and
the intelligent display processing terminal is used for system software operation, data acquisition, storage, and analysis, remote viewing and monitoring of medication records of the user, or any combination thereof (fig. 2 and 3 and col. 9-11, 14-15 teaching various communication portals including display terminals and sensors configured to facilitate remote viewing and monitoring); and
the software part integrating Internet of Things technology and artificial intelligence technology, and comprising a health care cloud platform, a family end, a service back end, a home intelligent end, an intelligent medicine box end, or any combination thereof (fig. 1 and 2 showing intelligent healthcare system connected via Internet/Healthcare Cloud and col. 8, ln. 44-col. 10, ln. 33 teaching array of sensors and controllers configured to monitor patient environment and generate associated data for central data store 100, wherein family portal 125 can be regarded as family end, central server 100 can be regarded as back end and home core system 121 can be regarded as home intelligent end; col. 13, ln. 32+ teaching that artificial intelligence uses data from sensors to assist in monitoring);
(re: certain element of claim 11) wherein the intelligent display processing terminal is detachable and can be carried and used alone (fig. 1, 2 showing intelligent mobile terminals near 101, 131);
the intelligent display processing terminal is capable of running system software, acquiring, saving, and analyzing daily health monitoring data, communicating data with the cloud platform, and communicating with system hardware devices (fig. 1, 2 showing cloud connectivity of system elements and col. 8, ln. 44-col. 9, ln. 24);
data transmission between the intelligent display processing terminal and the medicine box is transferred via WIFI using the cloud platform (Id.); and
the intelligent display processing terminal and a third-party health monitoring hardware equipment realize data collection through WIFI/Bluetooth communication technology (fig. 2 and col. 9, ln. 35-col. 10, ln. 30 teaching that array of sensors including wearable devices connected via various network interfaces such as WiFi);
(re: certain elements of claim 14) wherein the health care cloud platform is an integrated system platform capable of bi-directionally communicating with the family end, the service back end, the home intelligent end, or any combination thereof (fig. 1, 2 and 4 showing intelligent healthcare system modules bi-directionally connected via Internet/Healthcare Cloud; col. 8, ln. 32-col. 10, ln. 33 and col. 26-28 teaching smart home system configured to provide in-home healthcare elements via cloud-based system, e.g., medication management, operation monitoring and message management);
the health care cloud platform is used for providing functions comprising health management, medication management, alarm management, report management, algorithm management, device linking management, user management, family management, operation monitoring, data management and control, message management, video calling, or any combination thereof (Id.);
the family end is mounted on a smart device and is used for implementing functions comprising linking with the user, receiving health reports of the user, video calling with the user, or any combination thereof (col. 8, ln. 44-col. 10, ln. 33 teaching family portal 125 configured with linking user and system elements with family members);
the service back end is used for management of a system back end and access to a third-party service resource, and is capable of providing functions comprising call center calling, service allocation, service access, or any combination thereof (fig. 5 showing administrative module; col. 8, ln. 60-col. 9, ln. 18 teaching that central server 100 can include a central datastore configured to be perform administrate functions and that smart system includes caregiver portal as well as third-party/emergency responder module to provide immediate communication with emergency services);
the home intelligent end comprises a health management module, a medication management module, an exercise rehabilitation module, a sleep management module, a video calling module, a health report module, an emergency calling module, a device linking module, or any combination thereof, and is used for implementing functions comprising health management, medication management, exercise rehabilitation, sleep management, video calling, health reporting, emergency calling, device linking, or any combination thereof (fig. 1 showing home core system 121 that can be regarded as home intelligent end; fig. 2 showing core system 121 linked with various sensors and tablets/smart phones; fig. 8 showing interface with emergency call button);
the intelligent medicine box end communicates with the health care cloud platform, and is capable of acquiring medication information of the user, reminding the user of medicine types, dosages, medication precautions, or any combination thereof, at set times and, after detecting that the user has taken medicine from the intelligent medicine box, synchronizing information to the health care cloud platform, so as to implement functions including medication reminding and medication statistics (fig. 15-17 and col. 26, ln. 63-col. 29, ln. 46 teaching medication module configured to acquire medication info, remind patient of medication and dosage and record medication compliance data);
(re: certain elements of claim 15) wherein the 20 and col. 32 teaching intelligent display elements configured to track and display wellness data, e.g., blood oxygen and heart rate via wearable devices, thus access protocol from wearable devices is inherent in data acquisition).
Rufo as set forth above teaches all that is claimed except for expressly teaching
(re: certain elements of claim 1) a companion interactive intelligent robot,
the companion interactive intelligent robot integrates voice, expression, and action, and is used to remind a user to take the medicine on time and in a right amount through multiple sensory interactions, provide emotional companionship, and remote communication with family members of the user;
(re: claim 10) wherein the companion interactive intelligent robot comprises:
a head mechanism, a neck mechanism, and a body mechanism; the head mechanism and the body mechanism are connected via the neck mechanism;
the head mechanism comprises:
a display screen, a microphone, a camera, and a capacitive touch sensor, which are used for user interaction and voice or visual feedback, and rotation and shaking of the head mechanism are controlled by a motor;
the neck mechanism controls movements of the head mechanism in different directions, and comprises: a neck DC motor, a neck gear set, and a neck bearing structure; and
the body mechanism supports the overall rotational movement of the robot, and comprises: a turntable DC motor and transmission structure thereof, and a turntable;
(re: certain elements of claim 11) the intelligent display processing terminal and the companion interactive intelligent robot realize scenario-triggered interactive operations through WIFI, and the intelligent display processing terminal sends to the robot voice broadcast contents, comprising user health measurement data and home environment monitoring data; and
(re: certain elements of claim 14) the robot end communicates with the health care cloud platform via bi-directional communication and is capable of triggering interactions with the user under a preset environment, and executing a corresponding action and expression instruction according to an interactive scenario, so as to implement functions comprising voice recognition, situational dialogue, care reminding, action and expression presentation, or any combination thereof.
Here, it is noted that Rufo already teaches that the smart home system is configured to provide “communication, safety and companionship” (col. 8, ln. 32-35) and that smart home elements can be integrated into robots (col. 42 teaching configuration of smart system to become digital companion via customized setting and familiarization with user routine, e.g., personalized greetings and knowledge of daily routines).
Angle further teaches that it is well-known in the intelligent home/caregiver arts
(re: claims 1, 11 and 14)
- to integrate a home robot into a smart home system to—in addition to administering and monitoring medication compliance- provide better companionship and a richer interactive experience for a user (fig. 1A, 1B and 10A showing robot 10 comprising body 12 and head 16 configured with emotional interactions; fig. 8A, 8B showing robot connected to computing/data elements and caregiver portals; fig. 16 showing compliance process; col. 17, ln. 55-col 20 teaching robot components including videoconferencing elements; col. 3, ln. 38-col. 5 teaching robot configured to provide medication compliance management that includes notification and to provide robot-human interaction including voice as well as robot head movement; col. 44 teaching that robot provides richer interactive experience to user by utilizing visual cues, image displays and “head or other physical movements to convey reactions”); and
(re: certain elements of claim 10)
to configure the robot with head, neck and body elements that convey reactions and richer feedback to improve bonding with a user (fig. 1A, 1B showing a head mechanism 16 and a body mechanism 12 with wheels that allow rotation of robot; fig. 5A-5B and col. 19, ln. 15-26, col. 21 and 44 teaching head and body connected via a neck mechanism that controls movements of the head mechanism in different directions, wherein a differential drive mechanism with a motor and gear set may be used to control movement of the neck to generate “head or other physical movements to convey reactions”; col. 21 teaching use of tactile sensors 34 to increase the likelihood of bonding between the robot and user; col. 17, ln. 55-col. 21 teaching head element comprising a microphone 305, a camera 28, and a capacitive touch sensor 18 and a display 26, which are used for user interaction and voice or visual feedback).
Jiang further teaches that it is well-known in the robot arts
(re: certain elements of claim 10)
to configure the body mechanism with a turntable and related motor and transmission structure to enable rotational movement of the robot (fig. 4 and p. 3 teaching rotating turntable near 31 with a rotary drive motor 33 engaging rotary disc through a transmission gear).
It would thus be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the base reference with these prior art teachings—with a reasonable expectation of success—to arrive at the claimed invention. The rationale for this obviousness determination can be found in the prior art itself as cited above. Further, the prior art discussed and cited demonstrates the level of sophistication of one with ordinary skill in the art and that these modifications are predictable variations that would be within this skill level. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Rufo for the reasons set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
Any references not explicitly discussed above but made of record are regarded as helpful in establishing the state of the prior art and are thus considered relevant to the prosecution of the instant application.
Alternatively, to contact the examiner, send an E-mail communication to Joseph.Rodriguez@uspto.gov. Such E-mail communication should be in accordance with provisions of the MPEP (see e.g., 502.03 & 713.04; see also Patent Internet Usage Policy Article 5). E-mail communication must begin with a statement authorizing the E-mail communication and acknowledging that such communication is not secure and may be made of record. Please note that any communications with regards to the merits of an application will be made of record. A suggested format for such authorization is as follows: "Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file”.
/JOSEPH C RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
Jcr
---
October 6, 2026