DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1, line 1 – 2, “A control device configured to deactivate an activated anti-theft function of a vehicle component of a motor vehicle, wherein the control device is configured to:”
Claim 2, “wherein the control device is configured to deactivate the activated anti-theft function ..”
Claim 15, “wherein the control device is configured to deactivate the activated anti-theft function …”
The “control device” is described as an ECU (Specification of publication, par. [0009])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 14, 16 – 18, 20are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wagner Armin (English Translation of DE4240596A1; hereinafter Wagner).
Regarding to claim 1, Wagner teaches A control device configured to deactivate an activated anti-theft function of a vehicle component of a motor vehicle, ([Par. 0022], “If the vehicle is parked with the central locking and anti-theft alarm system (ZV-DWA) deactivated and the button T of the radio key (FS) is pressed after leaving the vehicle, the central locking and anti-theft alarm system (ZV-DWA) is switched on or armed (On). … B. 1001011) is issued, which is stored in the memory S of the engine control unit MS as a comparison code (1001011) and by which the engine control unit MS prevents all functions for starting up the internal combustion engine M via the control output lines… If the two code words match as in the case shown, the functions necessary for starting up the internal combustion engine M are released again via the control output signals.” wherein the control device is configured to:
determine whether a previously determined event has occurred, ([Par. 0022], “Pressing button T again switches off or disarms the central locking and anti-theft alarm system (ZV-DWA), thereby transmitting the transmission code (1001011) to the engine control unit MS again via the information line CS. The engine control unit MS compares this transmitted transmission code with the comparison code stored in memory S. If the two code words match as in the case shown, the functions necessary for starting up the internal combustion engine M are released again via the control output signals.” Wherein the code matching corresponds to the “determined event has occurred”) and
deactivate the activated anti-theft function of the vehicle component in a case in which the previously determined event has occurred. ([Par. 0022], “The engine control unit MS compares this transmitted transmission code with the comparison code stored in memory S. If the two code words match as in the case shown, the functions necessary for starting up the internal combustion engine M are released again via the control output signals.”)
Regarding to claim 3, Wagner teaches the device of claim 1.
Wagner further teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises the control device receiving a release signal. ([Par. 0022], “The engine control unit MS compares this transmitted transmission code with the comparison code stored in memory S. If the two code words match as in the case shown, the functions necessary for starting up the internal combustion engine M are released again via the control output signals.” Wherein when the transmission code matched, it indicates a releasing signal sent to the anti-thef device to release the drive control unit.)
Claims 14, 16 recite the motor vehicle with substantially same scope as claims 1, 3 respectively, thus being rejected for the same basis as claims 1, 3 respectively above.
Claim 17 recites the method with substantially similar scope as claim 1, thus being rejected for the same basis as claim 1 above.
Claim 18 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium with substantially similar scope as claim 17 and 1, thus being rejected for the same basis as claim 17 and 1 above.
Claim 20 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium with substantially similar scope as claim 3, thus being rejected for the same basis as claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner in view of Bornschlegl et al. (English Translation of DE102019110055A1; hereinafter Bornschlegl).
Regarding to claim 2, Wagner teaches the device of claim 1.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose canceling a cryptographically protected coupling between the vehicle component and the motor vehicle.
However, Bornschlegl teaches canceling a cryptographically protected coupling between the vehicle component and the motor vehicle. ([Par. 0022], “Component protection requires basic training or basic assignment of the component to the first vehicle 202. Thus, the component will only become functional after a coupling, secured by a cryptographic process, with the first vehicle 202… The backend 206 sends back the cryptographic keys necessary for basic learning and enables the basic learning or assignment of the component to the first vehicle 202 .”; [Par. 0034], “the customer can also perform the second action 24, whereby the customer deactivates the online cross-exchange prevention assigned to the component in his online account 20.As a second alternative reaction 28, it follows that the status indicator or The flag for preventing cross-swapping is adjusted, deleting the status indicator for preventing cross-swapping, allowing cross-swapping from the customer's first vehicle 2 to another vehicle 4, in particular cross-swapping of a use of the component (status indicator = "cross-swapping possible"), and enabling the component for this second vehicle 4.” This is interpreted as the component is coupled via a cryptographic process and it can be deactivated by canceling the coupling via deactivating the online cross-exchange prevention.)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft system to incorporate Bornschlegl’s cryptographically secured component-to-vehicle coupling and its reversible deactivation mechanism in order to enhance theft protection. Born teaches preventing unauthorized reuse of stolen components in other vehicles and allowing controlled reassignment. A person of ordinary skill would have applied this known cryptographic coupling technique to Wagner’s system to improve component-level security in a predictable manner.
Regarding to claim 4, the combination of Wagner and Bornschlegl teaches the device of claim 2.
Wagner further teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises the control device receiving a release signal. ([Par. 0022], “The engine control unit MS compares this transmitted transmission code with the comparison code stored in memory S. If the two code words match as in the case shown, the functions necessary for starting up the internal combustion engine M are released again via the control output signals.” Wherein when the transmission code matched, it indicates a releasing signal sent to the anti-thef device to release the drive control unit.)
Claim 15 recites the vehicle with substantially similar scope as claim 2, thus being rejected for the same basis as claim 2 above.
Claim 19 recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium with substantially similar scope as claim 2, thus being rejected for the same basis as claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner in view of Friedrich et al. (English Translation of DE19532744A1; hereinafter Friedrich).
Regarding to claim 5, Wagner teaches the device of claim 1.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined mileage of the motor vehicle.
However Friedrich teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined mileage of the motor vehicle. (page 2, “An odometer for storing the current mileage of the motor vehicle and for specifying at least one limit value (maxidistance): the distance traveledmeter is in a non-volatile, not directly accessible from the outside stores and not directly changeable memory; only as long as none the specified limit values for the mileage can be reached the control unit containing the immobilizer function is activated will.” This is interpreted as the immobilizer is activated by the mileage threshold. When the mileage threshold reached, the immobilizer is deactivated.)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft control system to include the usage-dependent limitation taught by Fried—specifically, disabling or restricting vehicle operation upon reaching a predetermined mileage threshold. Fried teaches that monitoring mileage and requiring reauthorization after a preset limit increases theft deterrence and long-term security. Incorporating Fried’s mileage-based event trigger into Wagner’s anti-theft system would have predictably enhanced security by limiting continued vehicle use without periodic authorization, thereby improving theft prevention using known techniques for their intended purpose.
Regarding to claim 7, Wagner teaches the device of claim 3.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined mileage of the motor vehicle.
However Friedrich teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined mileage of the motor vehicle. (page 2, “An odometer for storing the current mileage of the motor vehicle and for specifying at least one limit value (maxidistance): the distance traveledmeter is in a non-volatile, not directly accessible from the outside stores and not directly changeable memory; only as long as none the specified limit values for the mileage can be reached the control unit containing the immobilizer function is activated will.” This is interpreted as the immobilizer is activated by the mileage threshold. When the mileage threshold reached, the immobilizer is deactivated.)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft control system to include the usage-dependent limitation taught by Fried—specifically, disabling or restricting vehicle operation upon reaching a predetermined mileage threshold. Fried teaches that monitoring mileage and requiring reauthorization after a preset limit increases theft deterrence and long-term security. Incorporating Fried’s mileage-based event trigger into Wagner’s anti-theft system would have predictably enhanced security by limiting continued vehicle use without periodic authorization, thereby improving theft prevention using known techniques for their intended purpose.
Regarding to claim 11, Wagner teaches the device of claim 1.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the motor vehicle.
However, Friedrich teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the motor vehicle. (page 2, “This "immobilizer" control unit contains depending on the intended use dependent sizes at least one of the following components:- A timer to store the time duration of the force vehicle and for specifying at least one time limit (maximalwert): for this, the current time is either via an internal(battery operated and cannot be switched off) clock or an external central Clock (e.g. time signal transmitter) and at short intervals(at once a minute, for example) in a non-volatile, not from the outside directly accessible and not directly changeable timer stored (the Timer can also be used as a time counter incremented at short intervalsbe trained); only as long as none of the specified time Limit values is reached, may include the immobilizer function Control unit can be activated,”)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft control system to incorporate Fried’s time-based limitation mechanism, such that deactivation of the anti-theft function occurs upon reaching a predetermined time threshold. Fried teaches monitoring elapsed time and restricting vehicle operation when a defined limit is reached to enhance theft protection. Applying this known time-triggered restriction to Wagner’s anti-theft system would have predictably improved long-term security by conditioning continued activation on the age or elapsed time associated with the vehicle.
Regarding to claim 13, Wagner teaches the device of claim 3.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the motor vehicle.
However, Friedrich teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the motor vehicle. (page 2, “This "immobilizer" control unit contains depending on the intended use dependent sizes at least one of the following components:- A timer to store the time duration of the force vehicle and for specifying at least one time limit (maximalwert): for this, the current time is either via an internal(battery operated and cannot be switched off) clock or an external central Clock (e.g. time signal transmitter) and at short intervals(at once a minute, for example) in a non-volatile, not from the outside directly accessible and not directly changeable timer stored (the Timer can also be used as a time counter incremented at short intervalsbe trained); only as long as none of the specified time Limit values is reached, may include the immobilizer function Control unit can be activated,”)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft control system to incorporate Fried’s time-based limitation mechanism, such that deactivation of the anti-theft function occurs upon reaching a predetermined time threshold. Fried teaches monitoring elapsed time and restricting vehicle operation when a defined limit is reached to enhance theft protection. Applying this known time-triggered restriction to Wagner’s anti-theft system would have predictably improved long-term security by conditioning continued activation on the age or elapsed time associated with the vehicle.
Claim(s) 6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination Wagner and Bornschlegl in view of Friedrich.
Regarding to claim 6, the combination of Wagner and Bornschlegl teahes the device of claim 2.
The combination of Wagner and Bornschlegl teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined mileage of the motor vehicle.
However Friedrich teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined mileage of the motor vehicle. (page 2, “An odometer for storing the current mileage of the motor vehicle and for specifying at least one limit value (maxidistance): the distance traveled meter is in a non-volatile, not directly accessible from the outside stores and not directly changeable memory; only as long as none the specified limit values for the mileage can be reached the control unit containing the immobilizer function is activated will.” This is interpreted as the immobilizer is activated by the mileage threshold. When the mileage threshold reached, the immobilizer is deactivated.)
It would have been obvious to modify the combination of Wagner and Bornschlegl to include the usage-dependent limitation taught by Fried—specifically, disabling or restricting vehicle operation upon reaching a predetermined mileage threshold. Fried teaches that monitoring mileage and requiring reauthorization after a preset limit increases theft deterrence and long-term security. Incorporating Fried’s mileage-based event trigger into Wagner’s anti-theft system would have predictably enhanced security by limiting continued vehicle use without periodic authorization, thereby improving theft prevention using known techniques for their intended purpose.
Regarding to claim 12, the combination of Wagner and Bornschlegl teaches the device of claim 2.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the motor vehicle.
However, Friedrich teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the motor vehicle. (page 2, “This "immobilizer" control unit contains depending on the intended use dependent sizes at least one of the following components:- A timer to store the time duration of the force vehicle and for specifying at least one time limit (maximalwert): for this, the current time is either via an internal(battery operated and cannot be switched off) clock or an external central Clock (e.g. time signal transmitter) and at short intervals(at once a minute, for example) in a non-volatile, not from the outside directly accessible and not directly changeable timer stored (the Timer can also be used as a time counter incremented at short intervalsbe trained); only as long as none of the specified time Limit values is reached, may include the immobilizer function Control unit can be activated,”)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft control system to incorporate Fried’s time-based limitation mechanism, such that deactivation of the anti-theft function occurs upon reaching a predetermined time threshold. Fried teaches monitoring elapsed time and restricting vehicle operation when a defined limit is reached to enhance theft protection. Applying this known time-triggered restriction to Wagner’s anti-theft system would have predictably improved long-term security by conditioning continued activation on the age or elapsed time associated with the vehicle.
Claim(s) 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner in view of Zimmermann et al. (English Translation of DE102018126334A1; hereinafter Zimmermann).
Regarding to claim 8, Wagner teaches the device of claim 1.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the vehicle component.
However, Zimmermann teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the vehicle component. ([Par. 0037], “When it is determined that the end-of-life state has been reached, the control unit 112 and/or the control device 112 can cause the deactivation component 114 to be (irreversibly) deactivated and/or destroyed in order to take the vehicle component 113 out of service. This ensures that a (safety-relevant) vehicle component 113 is no longer used once it has reached it send-of-life state. This ensures the safe operation of vehicle 110.” Wherein deactivating the component also implies that the component is deactivated from any protection from any anti-thef function if applicable.)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft control system to incorporate Zimmermann’s lifecycle-based deactivation mechanism, such that the anti-theft function is deactivated upon reaching a predetermined age or end-of-life state of the vehicle component. Zimmermann teaches determining, via a control unit, when a component has reached a predefined lifecycle threshold and disabling the component in response. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that integrating such lifecycle-based control into Wagner’s anti-theft system would predictably enhance security by preventing continued use or reuse of aging or unsupported components, thereby improving theft deterrence and operational safety.
Regarding to claim 10, Wagner teaches the device of claim 3.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the vehicle component.
However, Zimmermann teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the vehicle component. ([Par. 0037], “When it is determined that the end-of-life state has been reached, the control unit 112 and/or the control device 112 can cause the deactivation component 114 to be (irreversibly) deactivated and/or destroyed in order to take the vehicle component 113 out of service. This ensures that a (safety-relevant) vehicle component 113 is no longer used once it has reached it send-of-life state. This ensures the safe operation of vehicle 110.” Wherein deactivating the component also implies that the component is deactivated from any protection from any anti-thef function if applicable.)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft control system to incorporate Zimmermann’s lifecycle-based deactivation mechanism, such that the anti-theft function is deactivated upon reaching a predetermined age or end-of-life state of the vehicle component. Zimmermann teaches determining, via a control unit, when a component has reached a predefined lifecycle threshold and disabling the component in response. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that integrating such lifecycle-based control into Wagner’s anti-theft system would predictably enhance security by preventing continued use or reuse of aging or unsupported components, thereby improving theft deterrence and operational safety.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Wagner and Bornschlegl in view of Zimmermann.
Regarding to claim 9, the combination of Wagner and Bornschlegl teaches the device of claim 2.
Wagner teaches to deactivate the anti-thef function of the vehicle component based on a previously determined event as described in claim 1 above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the vehicle component.
However, Zimmermann teaches wherein the previously determined event comprises reaching a previously determined age of the vehicle component. ([Par. 0037], “When it is determined that the end-of-life state has been reached, the control unit 112 and/or the control device 112 can cause the deactivation component 114 to be (irreversibly) deactivated and/or destroyed in order to take the vehicle component 113 out of service. This ensures that a (safety-relevant) vehicle component 113 is no longer used once it has reached it send-of-life state. This ensures the safe operation of vehicle 110.” Wherein deactivating the component also implies that the component is deactivated from any protection from any anti-thef function if applicable.)
It would have been obvious to modify Wagner’s anti-theft control system to incorporate Zimmermann’s lifecycle-based deactivation mechanism, such that the anti-theft function is deactivated upon reaching a predetermined age or end-of-life state of the vehicle component. Zimmermann teaches determining, via a control unit, when a component has reached a predefined lifecycle threshold and disabling the component in response. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that integrating such lifecycle-based control into Wagner’s anti-theft system would predictably enhance security by preventing continued use or reuse of aging or unsupported components, thereby improving theft deterrence and operational safety.
Conclusion
/STEVEN VU NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3668